TTKA Race Day #5

TTKA Race Day #5

The Arima Race Club Car Park was once again transformed by the Trinidad and Tobago Karting Association to host their 5th event of the 2018 Championship Series. At the midpoint of the season, the competition is heating up in their two premier classes. 
In the Sportsman class, current championship leader Scott Wortman had to miss the event in order to travel to Uruguay for the 2017 FIA Americas Award Ceremony after being nominated for his outstanding achievements in the 2017 Championship Series. Though most of the sportsman drivers may have been willing to swap places with him and be in Uruguay, there was valuable championship points up for grabs, so they shunned the black tie for their race suit and attacked the course.

Shane Sheppard picked up exactly where he left off last race day and put his kart in pole position in qualifying, followed by Jonathan Aqui in 2nd and Rossi Lochan in 3rd, with Siddique Mohammed rounding of the field in 4th. As the races progressed all drivers took jabs at Shane trying to take the checkered flag off him, but for every attack, he had a stellar counter-attack and went on to win all three races on the day and take over the championship lead.

Both Jonathan and Rossi provided the crowd with some nice wheel to wheel action as they battled to round off the podium, but just like qualifying they ended all the races in 2nd and 3rd respectively. Rookie driver Siddique Mohammed showed great improvement in his driving and it looks like soon he will be challenging the front-runners for those podium positions.

Over in the Rotax International Class, there was also a shakeup in the championship standings. With championship leader Reza Ali absent from the event both Justyn Kanta Persad and Matthew Singh were focused on taking over the championship lead. In qualifying, Matthew struck first qualifying on pole, with  Dillon Ali  2nd, Justyn Kanta Persad 3rd, Christopher Ramnauth 4th, Justin Wortman 5th and Anil Singh rounding off the field in 6th.

In the first heat, there was a three-way battle for the top spot between Dillon, Matthew, and Justyn but with two laps to go Matthew took advantage of a mistake from Dillon and took the checkered flag. Heat 2 meant that the grid was now reversed and Dillon took full advantage of this, on the second lap he found his way through the grid and took the lead of the race, bringing home his first Rotax win. The battle for second was fierce with Christopher finishing a mere tenth of a second ahead of Matthew for the second position. 

In the last race of the day, Matthew showed his dominance, taking the lead on the first lap and kept it consistent until the checkered flag. But when the dust settled, Justyn’s consistent results throughout the day meant that he now sits at the top of the championship standings with 5 points separating him from Matthew.

In between the championship races, the club hosted three invitational races which allowed newcomers to the sport the opportunity run their karts and gain valuable track time. Judging from the smile on their faces after it seems as if they are eager to continue and join the next championship series.
The next event is scheduled for August 12th at the Arima Race Club Car Park from 12pm. So mark your calendars and come on down to witness the future of motorsports in Trinidad and Tobago battle wheel to wheel.
1st. Shane Sheppard
2nd. Jonathan Aqui
3rd. Rossi Lochan
4th. Siddique Mohammed
Rotax International:
1st. Matthew Singh
2nd. Dillon Ali
3rd. Justyn Kanta Persad
4th. Christopher Ramnauth
5th. Anil Singh
6th. Justin Wortman

Leave a Reply