TTPBA Regatta #3

What more could you ask for….great Sunday weather, power boats eager to churn up the surf and conditions ripe for some epic captures. The Trinidad and Tobago Power Boat Association held its 3rd Regatta for the 2017 season, sponsored by IRP.

There were some notable boats missing from the line up, but there were also some returning faces to the starter’s orders. No Mr. Solo nor Big Thunder, nor Vortex….both Chris gone Wild and Wilder..( the big one and the lil one). However, not one but two of my favourite boats came ou from the same camp…Bacchanal and the always entertaining to say…Pum Pum Conqueror. Yes…you read that right. The boys from Tobago were present and Jesus came. With some choppy seas, it was always going to be an entertaining time to shoot the boats doing battle in the same format as the last Regatta. For Bacchanal however, racing nearly didn’t take place as an impeller issue saw them abort the first attempt to launch the boat, but some quick work saw things set right and the roared into the Yacht Club a bit late for the drivers meeting.

So….the racing. Iron Man had no one to play with so they took home maximum points and shadowed Sheriff Lobo all day. Lobo themselves were the class of their…..er…..class. Bacchanal was a joy to watch. Heatwave, Mobil One Outlaw….(…dey get fancy sponsor now) and Papi Chulo….played cat and mouse all day long. Heatwave in particular….attempted the long jump in the afternoon circuit and passed Timeless in the air…I kid you not. Speaking of Timeless….they, Pum Pum, Powered by God II, Trident, Fire Chief II…were tickling each others bow and stern all race day long and it made for some great side by side racing. Xtreme Measures had issues as did Jesus is Coming..(…that is the name.), and thus never made it pass the first sprint.

With only two Regattas left, the season’s point standing for some is all but locked whereas for others….it will be a fight to the finish. Full album is on TriniTuner.com and as usual….my Instagramers… @stomper75 is where you could find me. As for me….

…I’m having Koffee this Sunday.

Leave a Reply