Homepage send us an email homepage Buckle Up -Racers against Street Racing
See homepage for most recent events Featured Rides Our Reader's Rides - submit your own! FREE classifieds! Car Audio garage auto tuning tips Automotive links
T&T's Largest Automotive Website: 8000+ visitors a day; 15,000+ registered members; HUGE classifieds

Want to get your ad here? Click for details...

© Copyright 2000-2008
Duane Boodasingh, Daren Dhoray and TriniTuner.com™
All Rights Reserved
| Legal Statements |
All rights to this product will be vigorously defended.
Concept & Design by
Duane Boodasingh
Maintainance by
Duane Boodasingh, Paul Adam and Lyden Thomas.
Programming by Richard WIlliams and Daren Dhoray.
| info@trinituner.com |

Made with pride in the Republic of Trinidad & Tobago W.I.

3NE 2NR™ & TriniTuner™
are registered trademarks of
TriniTuner Co. Ltd.

D Shop

Painted Brake Calipers

Estimated Time: 1 hour

Tools:
Wheel Spanner
Guardian Newspaper (smiles, trini does call all newspaper guardian paper)
Masking tape
High temp spray paint (chinese laquer and a brush works ok too)

Jack up the car. Trini, please remember to put a block of some kind behind the back wheel. We doh want to read about you in the same newspapers. Next, remove the wheel using the wheel spanner. Clean the caliper using a degreaser or gas. I used lacquer thinner it did the work, sometimes lye works best. Tape off the entire wheel well and surrounding brake area using the newspaper and masking tape. Be sure to cover the rotors really well. Apply the paint using nice, thin, even strokes. Allow time (approx. 15 minutes) between coats. I did 3 coats and that looked good. We even put cut vinyl stickers on the calipers of a 323 and they lasting over 2 years now, but make sure and apply the stickers while the paint is still slightly dry to touch. After you are sure the calipers are dry remove the newspaper and tape. Then put the wheel back on, take off the jack and you are ready to flam. I see some people do this to their brake hubs in the back sometimes too - matter of preference.

Also check out our Glossary of Terms or refer to De Forum for interactive help from people in the know.

Questions or comments? let us know - email us at info@trinituner.com

About Us