*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

ru$$ell

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby ru$$ell » July 13th, 2010, 7:50 am

nareshseep wrote:
ado15mk3 wrote:paid about 11k for the HD65 in late 2008.
that price for the HD66 is really good.
once you have a good screen and controlled lighting you good to go.
it is NOT a replacement for a good HDTV though.
these things also generate a considerable amount of heat so use in A/C if possible.

Apart from bulb life and heat, why is it not a good replacement?.
Planning to use it for movies and some sports program eg top gear in 720P

Will that optoma hd66 be better than a normal 42/47 lcd.

if its a 120/240hz lcd.no,it wont. have ours on a 120" diagonal screen,and does a good job on movies,and my memory gone through apparently,i know i said we paid more than double raptors price for it last year,but it was actually late 2008 :oops:

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » July 13th, 2010, 8:52 am

in the picture settings for my TV
there are "movie, sports, in store" etc.

I noticed the "in store" which added a note "for showroom display" shows the best picture quality i.e colour and brightness IMO
should i leave it there? or would it cause any damage after some time?

Postby shogun » July 13th, 2010, 9:06 am

Plasma? LCD?

If Plasma,for the break in period (100 hrs,or so) you should try to use tamer settings,to reduce the chance of "burn in"

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » July 13th, 2010, 9:38 am

LCD...

Postby crazybalhead » July 13th, 2010, 10:01 am

copper_shot wrote:in the picture settings for my TV

I noticed the "in store" which added a note "for showroom display" shows the best picture quality i.e colour and brightness IMO

Copershot, showroom display usually saturates colour and has the backlighting and brightness turned right up, this will shorten the life of your TV, and will not show pictures as they should.

I think by now everyone has a starwars DVD, on every one there is a THX menu to set your audio and picture, if you have not done it, please go through the menu and set your colour brightness etc. accordingly, and it will help set up your sound as well.

Now the THX setting is great for movies, but a little dim for some TV channels, so you may have to adjust the brightness a bit for TV shows.

Good luck! 8-)

Postby sharkman121 » July 13th, 2010, 10:14 am

len meh yuh starwars deeveedee nah :|

Postby crazybalhead » July 13th, 2010, 10:21 am

LOL, go and buy one. Some Lord of the Rings DVD's has the menus as well.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » July 13th, 2010, 11:13 am

crazybalhead wrote:

Copershot, showroom display usually saturates colour and has the backlighting and brightness turned right up, this will shorten the life of your TV, and will not show pictures as they should.

I think by now everyone has a starwars DVD, on every one there is a THX menu to set your audio and picture, if you have not done it, please go through the menu and set your colour brightness etc. accordingly, and it will help set up your sound as well.

[b]Now the THX setting is great for movies, but a little dim for some TV channels, so you may have to adjust the brightness a bit for TV shows.
[/b]

Good luck! 8-)

not so much brightness,maybe turn up the backlight,its what i do for mines.For some of the best calibration settings,check out this site,its where i get mines from.Please note for optimal settings,make these adjustments in the night,or if the room is really really dark,and just turn up the backlight during the day:

http://www.tweaktv.com/tweak-my-tv/

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Re: BLU-RAY Movies & DVD BOX Sets - updated 07/07/2010

Postby RapToR » July 13th, 2010, 11:14 am

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » July 13th, 2010, 11:16 am

btw,check how duane change the topic easy easy,and never posted pics nah,ninja moves ftw :|

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 13th, 2010, 2:09 pm

nick009 wrote:duane , do you get gigabit connection out from the ps3 or is it 100?

the PS3 supports gigabit

nareshseep wrote:
ado15mk3 wrote:paid about 11k for the HD65 in late 2008.
that price for the HD66 is really good.
once you have a good screen and controlled lighting you good to go.
it is NOT a replacement for a good HDTV though.
these things also generate a considerable amount of heat so use in A/C if possible.

Apart from bulb life and heat, why is it not a good replacement?.
Planning to use it for movies and some sports program eg top gear in 720P

Will that optoma hd66 be better than a normal 42/47 lcd.

bulb life, heat, constant controlled light, and considerably more expensive than a 42/47" LCD.

in price it only makes sense to compare a projector with a 60"+ TV as you will be looking at about 100" screen on the projector at least!

Projectors are NOT ideal for casual watching TV/Cable. Projectors are more controlled environment movie night kinda thing.

eeek! store mode is known as torch mode
it wont cause any damage but it looks like CRAP!
they just turn up all the brightness and saturation and that can never be the true colour.
They set it like that to contend with the bright lights in the store and to attract attentionso people will buy it.
People pay hundreds of US$ to get their TV professionally calibrated to get AWAY from the store/box settings so that they will see the movie as the director intended with proper colour. Having the brightest, most colour is NOT necessarily the best.

At the end of the day its up to you, it is after all your TV.
I am thinking you may look at a professionally calibrated US$7000 Pioneer Kuro Pro and think it looks like crap :o

For a basic calibration you can check those THX DVD's as CHB and ru$$ell suggested. it works well and gives you an idea of what the picture SHOULD look like. Good advice from them.

ru$$ell wrote:btw,check how duane change the topic easy easy,and never posted pics nah,ninja moves ftw :|

LOL aight nah - I still need to take the photos!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 14th, 2010, 12:24 am

ok before ru$$ell suffers from an aneurysm

Samsung Plasma PN58B860

I need to do some cleaning and dusting!
Pioneer Elite VSX-23TXH and PS3 fat

Panamax M5400-PM

Bluray on top, DVD below

Klipsch Quintet LCR center channel

Klipsch Satellite surround

been saving up and researching for years on this.
Plan to change the speakers eventually, but they are spectacular sounding as is.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 14th, 2010, 12:40 am

^^ Duane I like that setup, simple and sweet.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » July 14th, 2010, 6:13 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:ok before ru$$ell suffers from an aneurysm.

ha! It's who you rile me up and pm'ed me your gear specs and the teaser pic with the cabinet.lol.

Looks effing awesome.Sweet install. I was gonna make a joke about your cordless phone,but i just played it back in my head
ME: does your cordless phone fall everytime your sub goes thump? :lol:

Duane:No,technically when i'm watching a movie,i usually have the cordless phone next to me,so that would be mathematically improbable,its the fact of having a cordless phone in the 1st place

Postby shogun » July 14th, 2010, 7:18 am

Loving the cabinet also,Duane.Not sure if the colour is stain or varnish,but it's an awesome piece.

Postby crazybalhead » July 14th, 2010, 8:13 am

1jealous.

Postby sharkman121 » July 14th, 2010, 9:05 am

Nice...

*takes notes*

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » July 14th, 2010, 9:09 am

*quietly removes my pic*

besss...

where did you get that shaggy rug?
i went all over yesterday, cant find one that size

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:...been saving up and researching for years on this.
Plan to change the speakers eventually, but they are spectacular sounding as is.

i"ll take the old set up :)

i wanna get rid of that sony HTIB crap that i got
Last edited by copper_shot on July 14th, 2010, 9:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby crazybalhead » July 14th, 2010, 9:11 am

Mode alive valsayn.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » July 14th, 2010, 9:17 am

^ negative.. only small ones

i'm looking for the type and size in duane pic, but not that colour

Postby crazybalhead » July 14th, 2010, 10:02 am

Scene. Keep checking though.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 14th, 2010, 10:23 am

Yeah mode alive has the rugs (bought about 4 and joined them!).

Actually the phone base goes ontop the cabinet but I rest it on the sub to get it out of the way for the photo

its hard to get the colour of the stain in the photo without using sunlight. The colour is dark oak.
A joiner from Ariapita Ave. (opposite Wood You) built it for me.

I did the drawings myself in Google Sketchup so it was pretty easy for him to follow.

Postby crazybalhead » July 14th, 2010, 10:31 am

Look a crappy pic. Homemade Sub/Stands and ole TV cabinet built for a 27" CRT a few years ago. Next project is to build a proper cabinet. I will leave mine open faced.

Speakers, paradigm atoms and infinity primus center and surrounds.

Ole ass Sony 5.1 amp.
:drinking: :drinking: :drinking:
IMG00002-20100714-1025.jpg

Postby crazybalhead » July 14th, 2010, 10:33 am

Yes, that is my wife's Nintendo, which we never use. :/

Postby shogun » July 14th, 2010, 10:39 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Image

*Click,save*

Have to get one made.Tastefully done,dude.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 14th, 2010, 11:14 am

^ I can give you the Google Sketchup file if you want.
Its 3D so you can rotate it however you want and change dimensions or move stuff around.

@CBH what size TV is that? Looks big!
My 58" looks small in the photos for some reason :|

I contemplated a homemade sub but when I saw the down facing Klipsch Sub10 and how well it matched sonically with the Klipsch Quintet LCRs I went the easy route. With the Advanced MCAAC on the Pioneer THX receiver I can use the omnidirectional microphone to set up the system automatically, sub and all.

paradigm atoms and infinity primus center and surrounds are GREAT speakers!

Postby sharkman121 » July 14th, 2010, 11:42 am

^ Yeh the pictures really didnt do it justice, coudve sworn it was smaller.

The lighting and color adds a lot to the room though.

Send me the link for the sketchup as well. This is my samsung 56" also but after reading the link on calibration yesterday i believe mine really needs calibrating badly.

U said u werent finished, what else u intend on doing to the room?
IMG00352-20091107-1233.jpg

Postby crazybalhead » July 14th, 2010, 12:50 pm

@Duane, it's a 42". It looks big because the shelf is waaay too small for it.

And well, yuh know music is my thing. Bought the paradigms 11 years ago. Yes folks...11

And brought in the AMP in a suitacse 6 or 7 years ago. I in this thing long time. Before the paradigms I experimented endlessly with car speakers in a couple 6 1/2" boxes I built. Still have a pair of pioneer coaxes in them and two twelve inch boxes with 25 year old woofers.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » July 14th, 2010, 2:41 pm

lend meh yuh 007 set nuh

Last edited by RapToR on July 14th, 2010, 2:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby tr1ad » July 14th, 2010, 2:42 pm

*swat gear in check to raid Duane house*