PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 4th, 2011, 6:43 pm

^ agreed, I don't plan on running this system overclocked unless I really need to

all I've used so far is the automatic Auto Tune mode in the ASUS suite. Basically its just a button click and the system checks for the most stable overclock levels - in my case I got the CPU to 4.43Ghz on air.

captainjrr

Postby captainjrr » April 4th, 2011, 7:40 pm

Thanks Duane, Asus it is then

Postby M_2NR » April 4th, 2011, 11:03 pm

holy sh~t @ 4.43 :shock:

thanks guys good to know. I'm not a fan of OC'n as i said earlier but i liked to know.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 4th, 2011, 11:06 pm

4.43 is nice!!!!!!!!!

jus came from some cod4 online via steam..

get orn like somebody owe me money yes!

yall dont game online again?

Postby M_2NR » April 4th, 2011, 11:34 pm

yeh playing that a lot lately... mostly on LaW and on ESW a lil bit. i actually use xfire for it... never used steam... i should try it... hrmmm

marlo5

Postby marlo5 » April 4th, 2011, 11:46 pm

Chiney wrote:

jus came from some cod4 online via steam..

get orn like somebody owe me money yes

LOL @ chiney.........didn't know Asus started making their own overclocking utility....did the cd come with that model board??

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 5th, 2011, 12:18 am

^ yes the AI Suite II and the Management Interface came on the CD for the mainboard

the board is US$259 on newegg
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... -_-Product

that's where I bought it

jm3

Postby jm3 » April 5th, 2011, 1:08 am

i like the look of the revolution duane i didnt know that one existed good price for 4 pcie slots as well. the heatsinks look sweet first time ive seen a heat pipe from south bridge to the mosfets. i unfortunately cant get my 1155 stuff for awhile now though :( car troubles i knew that would happen lol as soon as i got all the money together the car is like hey wait thats mine biatch.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » April 5th, 2011, 9:06 am

nice set up they Duane.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 5th, 2011, 10:05 am

^ first time I built a PC from scratch for myself. I knew what went where and what is for what but never actually did it myself.

bought the parts on newegg, amazon and tigerdirect

Called a pardner a few times to make sure I didnt screw anything up during the actual build but turned out to be pretty simple - the hardest thing was cleaning out the case I had to reuse it with these parts.

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » April 5th, 2011, 10:21 am

Yea its pretty simple.
well enjoy your build.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 11th, 2011, 8:44 pm

ok pics as promised - excuse the mess of cables - will sort that out when I get some time

took these two off the net since I forgot to take pics after unboxing it

CPU Cooler is HUGE!!!!

these are all the parts I bought off of Amazon, TigerDirect and Newegg and shipped via skybox - they all came together in about 5 days

i7 2600K
ASUS P8P67 WS Revolution Workstation SATA 6GB & USB3 mainboard (the Deluxe was out of stock)
Corsair Vengeance 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz RAM
Corsair A70 CPU Cooler
EVGA GTX-460 1024MB DDR5 SSC (super-superclocked)
Intel X25 120GB SSD
Gigabyte 3D Aurora Aluminum Chassis
Thermaltake 750W Toughpower PSU

Running Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
Also running two WD 500GB 7200rpm drives - will set up a RAID soon

now for some numbers

ran ASUS AI Suite II and clicked the "Auto Tune" button and got this

Running all the case fans off one connector - will prolly change that soon

Minesweeper running bess!!!! lol

seriously though it was built to run Adobe CS5 which it is handling really well.
Yet to put it through a serious test but Lightroom 3 is flying!!!

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 11th, 2011, 9:13 pm

hmm very nicee duane!! well done! :)

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 11th, 2011, 10:43 pm

looking real shitty duane.. :shock:

meet me at the betham in 15mins. just bring the pc alone :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

marlo5

Postby marlo5 » April 12th, 2011, 5:29 am

^^Lmao....he jus on sheit eh!!...he know it hard....jus hide them wires a lil more and yuh done....it look good

Virus

Postby Virus » April 12th, 2011, 5:38 am

HIDE WIRES MY ARSE ent it working ? Looking Bess Chiney again and check the meet point, how long before you see a post Evo 7 and Wingroad getting scrapped on the Betham w/ PICS

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » April 12th, 2011, 9:25 am

bahahahaha!

TK!

Postby TK! » April 12th, 2011, 3:52 pm

motherf--r...
i needs an i7 now...

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 13th, 2011, 3:52 pm

lol..virus i dont have the wingroad again bro

unless de evo 7 have shatter resistant tint or glass.. with de help of big stone i driving off wid a new pc and a evo 7 rim!

:D

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 13th, 2011, 4:29 pm

^ lol

marlo5, did you build you system as yet?
interested in knowing how the Intel 510 SATA III SSD working out

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 13th, 2011, 4:36 pm

between the intel 510 and the crucial c300...... tops SSDs tested.

i want that crucial c300 128gb for my desktop soooo bad!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 13th, 2011, 4:45 pm

^ surprisingly that is only US$254 on Newegg

my Intel X25 SATA II SSD is a 120GB
it is showing up as 111GB
I am already using 46GB of that - but I have everything I need installed already and all the work files, data, photos, archives etc are on a 500GB 7200 HDD

boot time is not a real issue for me as my PC is always on.
Apps opening fast is a plus but with 16GB ram I dont really need to close anything! lol
So the SATA II SSD is working just fine
I am also using that SATA SSD as a scratch disk for the Adobe apps too - so I was thinking of getting a small SATA III SSD specifically for that.

Like this Crucial 64GB for US$134
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6820148357

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 13th, 2011, 4:52 pm

^ seems to be a good idea.

but

u really shud have waited the extra and get a sata 3 setup

all the wait and reviews and blah blah into the sandy bridge decision.... i well say u heading the sata 3 route one time... wat waz the reason u didnt?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 13th, 2011, 5:23 pm

^ cause at the time the SATA II drives were much more expensive - then they just dropped in price after I bought the SATA II SSD

my fault really I just didnt check the SATA III prices when I was buying, I just figured the SATAII would be overpriced

Virus

Postby Virus » April 13th, 2011, 6:49 pm

Chiney

But did you guys see how close the read and write speeds are when you compare the SATA II and SATA III on SOME drives like a few MB off

But i like how the prices are going down i will for the moment stick to SATA II because how i use my pc i may not even notice the difference am already so used to SSD's, Still in love with the Vertex 2 over my Intel x25

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 13th, 2011, 7:01 pm

^^ yeh u are right

but!

wen the controllers on MOBOs improve for sata 3 n so forth as what WILL happen in the very near future, you guys will sell those sata2 SSDs

Virus

Postby Virus » April 13th, 2011, 7:11 pm

And MOBOs too :)

Postby M_2NR » April 13th, 2011, 8:42 pm

For those who dont know what a scratch disk is, you can read it up here:
http://graphicssoft.about.com/od/photos ... chdisk.htm