ryan99tt wrote:AGENT RORO wrote:Anyone knows if there are any HTC agents in Trinidad?
doubt it have any in trindad...sry dude...
mitch wrote:Google announces new ways to discover apps on Android Market, more tools for developers
Android Market may have a lot going for it, but most would surely agree that it could use some improvement when it comes to discovering apps that you aren't specifically looking for. Thankfully, it seems Google has indeed been aware of those concerns, and it's now announced five new features that should go so some way towards improving things. Those include some newly revamped top app charts that promise to be "fresher" and country specific, a brand new Editors' Choice section that highlights apps chosen by Google, a new Top Developers feature that places a special icon next to the name of developers that make the grade (currently more than 150), improved related apps on individual app pages and, last but not least, a new trending apps section that shows the apps growing fastest in terms of daily installs. What's more, while all of those features are currently exclusive to the web-based version, Google says they're also "coming soon" to the Android Market on both phones and tablets.
In other Android Market news, Google has also announced that it will be adding support for larger apps -- up to 4GB -- in June, and it will be giving developers the ability to exclude specific devices to avoid compatibility problems, or make multiple versions of an app available under a single Market listing, complete with aggregated ratings and stats. All that, plus personalized recommendations based on your apps (details on it are still a bit light), and paid app support for an additional 99 countries (coming within the next week or so).
Engadget
Android @ Home Will Turn Your House Into a Giant, Automated Smartbox
Adrian Covert — Ever dreamed of turning lights on and off with your Android smartphone? Want to push music around the house like iPhone fanboys can with AirPlay? Google is bringing that to you with Android @ Home and Google Tungsten, their latest creations.
Android @ Home will consist of a series of open source libraries which developers will be able to use to create home automation apps on the Android platform. Any device plugged into an Android @ Home receiver will work with Android's automation API's. Imagine carrying your tablet or phone around the house, and if you forgot to shut off a light or appliance, you can do it remotely by tapping a button on your screen. Or, imagine your house turning into a giant, Android-powered media streamer. It's going to use an as-of-yet undefined wireless protocol (we'd guess Bluetooth-related, since it's low-power and will be "open"), which means, yep, you'll need all-new gear for it to work.
Google Tungsten combines the Android @ Home framework with the Google Music cloud, resulting in system of audio streamers in the hope that function much like Sonos or Airplay-enabled devices. In the demo at Google IO, they showed off a little glowing box connected to speakers. Using your Android device, they pushed music to the device from Google Music, and theoretically could do the same for as many connected audio zones as you need.
Standalone devices that used to do this in the past seemed too gimmicky and pieced together to have a place in our daily lives. But because Android @ Home works these ideas into a device that we use all the time, it makes the idea of a smarthome alluring. [Google IO]
mitch wrote:In other Android Market news, Google has also announced that it will be adding support for larger apps -- up to 4GB -- in June
Engadget
mitch wrote:Angry Birds gets a web version, coming to Chrome Web Store
Yet another platform has been conquered by the affronted fowl: the web! Angry Birds' web client is built in WebGL, so presumably browsers other than Google's Chrome should be able to run it as well, and even if you can't handle WebGL, there's Canvas support too. 60fps are promised on most modern PCs, and we've spotted SD and HD labels, suggesting there'll be a choice of quality to match your computer's performance. Offline gaming will also be available.
Chrome will get some exclusive content, such as "Chrome bombs" and other cutesy bits. Rovio just noted it's "really, really happy about the 5 percent," referring to Google's pricing model of charging a flat fee of 5 percent to developers on in-app purchases in the Chrome Web Store. Yes, the Mighty Eagle will be a purchasable option for the impatient among you. The game will be available in the Store immediately after Google's I/O 2011 keynote, so look out for it shortly.
Engadget
Also the amount of countries, supporting paid apps has been increased by 99 new ones. This means that those countries will have the full access to the Android Market experience (and most of all, paid apps), without the need to employ hacks and mods. Here's the full list.
GSM Arena
2NR Smurf wrote:Great! Now if i could figure out why my market keeps crashing when i try to browse 'just in' apps ...
outlaw101 wrote:yea the just in apps problem happens on my mytouch 4g as well...
download paid apps from http://www.bestandroiddownloads.com
just loginw ith your fb account
stev wrote:outlaw101 wrote:yea the just in apps problem happens on my mytouch 4g as well...
download paid apps from http://www.bestandroiddownloads.com
just loginw ith your fb account
applanet.net
servers up and workin. jus downloaded ah whole set ah crap
LazyDroid Controls Your Android Phone from Your Web Browser
Android: If you're sitting at your computer, there's no reason to be hunched over your phone editing contacts and sending text messages. LazyDroid puts your Android phone's functions right in your web browser, so you don't even need to pick it up.
We've featured a few ways to use your phone from your desktop, but few have been as seamless as LazyDroid. If your phone and computer are on the same Wi-Fi network, you can open up your web browser and send text messages, browse your phone's filesystem, edit contacts, view your GPS location, and even receive calls.
Just install the LazyDroid server on your phone and start it up. It'll give you an IP address from which you can access your phone. Just type that address into your web browser of choice, and you'll get a Windows-like desktop with icons for SMS, Contacts, your Filesystem, your Camera, and other stuff. Just double-click on something to access that feature on your phone, without even picking it up off your desk. If your phone rings, you'll get a notification on the LazyDroid desktop—which you can use to answer your call and then talk through your phone with a Bluetooth headset. You can even check your phone's GPS location. If you're sick of using your phone's tiny keyboard, this is the app to get for remote control. Nothing we've tried yet has worked as smoothly as this.
LazyDroid is a free download for Android devices. If you want to use it via USB instead of Wi-Fi, you can download a Windows client for that too.
Lifehacker
outlaw101 wrote:alot of apps on applanet not working doh guys..just a heads up but its really good concept
mitch wrote:hmmm still only seeing free apps and still getting force closes here
mitch wrote:^oh u using MarketEnabler that's y u have access to the paid apps?
the official full Market access to the 99 additional countries wont happen till June...
mitch wrote:^oh u using MarketEnabler that's y u have access to the paid apps?
the official full Market access to the 99 additional countries wont happen till June...