Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby copper_shot » August 3rd, 2011, 11:39 am

just got me an IPAD2

recommend some good/cool must have apps

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » August 3rd, 2011, 11:54 am

safe to download iOS5 if i need jb and gevey unlock????

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 3rd, 2011, 1:36 pm

Apple will begin to merge its OS X and iOS operating systems in 2012 according to predictions made by Jefferies & Co. analyst Peter Misek.”We believe Apple is looking to merge iOS (iPhones/iPads) with OS X (Macs) into a single platform for apps and cloud services starting in 2012-13,” Misek said. He believes that the A6 processor is “capable of PC-like strength,” and that Apple will implement it into its iPad 3 during the first quarter of 2012, into the iPhone 5 next summer, and into the MacBook Air in 2012 or 2013. “Users want to be able to pick up any iPhone, iPad, or Mac (or turn on their iTV) and have content move seamlessly between them and be optimized for the user and the device currently being used,” Misek said. “We believe this will be difficult to implement if iOS and OS X are kept separate.” There have been rumors that Apple has considered building its own TV, which Misek refers to as the “iTV,” although that has been pure speculation.

------

According to “industry sources”, Apple has placed orders for the next-generation iPhone, likely to be known as the iPhone 5, and plans to begin shipping it in September as most insider sources and analysts had predicted. The company is also diversifying its supply chain by hiring multiple companies to build the iPhone instead of just Foxconn, which was largely responsible for assembling previous iPhone models.

The brief report claims that Apple has hired Pegatron, a Taiwan-based contract manufacturer, to build 10 million next-generation iPhones for the initial release and likely more throughout the life of the product. In addition, Pegatron is said to be attempting to secure contracts to build additional Apple hardware with a wider profit margin, such as MacBook Airs and iPads:

As iPhone gross margins are relatively small, Pegatron aims to compete for orders for iPad, MacBook Air and other Apple products and has increased production equipment and employment, the sources said.

Foxconn is still expected to take a large share of the orders, although Apple clearly isn’t settling with just one manufacturer for reasons that are as of yet unclear, although we can speculate that that this move was aimed at cutting costs above all else. As Foxconn struggles to become profitable amid higher labor and manufacturing costs, it might have actually begun charging more for the products it builds, putting the contractor at a strong disadvantage to its competitors. This shift began earlier this year when Apple contracted Pegatron to build the CDMA iPhone, commonly known as the iPhone on Verizon in the US.

Much like other major tech companies, Apple has outsourced virtually all of its manufacturing work to large contractors, such as Foxconn, Pegatron, most of them based in Asia. While the company still designs the products and sets strict specifications, these Asian contractors are the ones responsible for putting the devices together and shipping them to other countries for retail. This move has allowed the company to take advantage of cheap labor conditions overseas and focus on engineering products instead of doing the hard work of putting them together.

Rumors of a next-generation iPhone have been ongoing for many months. Yesterday, we reported on a claim that suggested that the iPhone 5 would become available on October 1st, based on an allegedly leaked document from the Canadian carrier Telus. Today’s report, on the other hand, suggests that the next iPhone will be available in September at least in some parts of the world, likely the United States, while an international launch could indeed take place in October.

Postby Sky » August 3rd, 2011, 9:54 pm

So I have a brand new 32GB ipad 2. Yay? No.

To get anything worth using, I need to get it on the app store.
To get anything there I need to create an itunes id (as all of you know)
To create the id, they need my cc info. Not like I'm gonna use any apps costing anything, but ok.
Now guess what. I surrender my info and I get this message, "Payment processing is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later."

So where do I go from here? Can someone lend me a broke id or something so I can get my rdp, team viewer and office or am I jailbreaking this pos tonight?
Pay so much money for this thing and now it useless until they say otherwise. It's the same reason I hate apple, and the one time I decide to give them a chance because I see benefit for myself, they fk me.

Postby Sky » August 3rd, 2011, 10:01 pm

GREAT!!!! The games need the ID too :D :D :D :D

Steups I shoulda get a Galaxy S2 yes.

Postby S_2NR » August 3rd, 2011, 10:04 pm

Everything with an apple logo is proprietary BS and can only be used with Apple proprietary software (unless jailbroken).
Other than my ipod touch i will never buy an apple product.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 3rd, 2011, 10:08 pm

Postby Kenjo » August 3rd, 2011, 10:13 pm

then buy some itunes gift cards and you are good t go!

Postby tr1ad » August 3rd, 2011, 10:20 pm

copper_shot wrote:just got me an IPAD2

recommend some good/cool must have apps

Not sure of the 2 but idynamic helped me with my first gen a lot..... To the point where I get fre&$@$)!)

Postby Sky » August 3rd, 2011, 10:45 pm

^^^ Thank you very much. Gonna do it now

Postby M_2NR » August 4th, 2011, 12:05 am

Sky wrote:So I have a brand new 32GB ipad 2. Yay? No.

To get anything worth using, I need to get it on the app store.
To get anything there I need to create an itunes id (as all of you know)
To create the id, they need my cc info. Not like I'm gonna use any apps costing anything, but ok.
Now guess what. I surrender my info and I get this message, "Payment processing is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later."

So where do I go from here? Can someone lend me a broke id or something so I can get my rdp, team viewer and office or am I jailbreaking this pos tonight?
Pay so much money for this thing and now it useless until they say otherwise. It's the same reason I hate apple, and the one time I decide to give them a chance because I see benefit for myself, they fk me.

i stopped after that. :lol:
even on apple website (the link SRASC posted) it shows how to get an apple id without a CC.
calm down aite.

BTW, use the US store. dont use the TT AppStore. Um... oh make sure you are downloading a FREE app, dont just "create a new account" without clicking on the free app (its outlined in the tutorial) thats why u didnt get the no cc option.

Also, from iOS 5, you won't need a pc to activate any iDevice.

S_2NR, i dont see an apple logo on my pc... or my monitor and my iPhone syncs/restores/etc without any issue :| comeback again ;)

Postby Sky » August 4th, 2011, 8:22 am

Repost:p

Postby S_2NR » August 4th, 2011, 8:26 am

M_2NR wrote:S_2NR, i dont see an apple logo on my pc... or my monitor and my iPhone syncs/restores/etc without any issue :| comeback again ;)

so u disagree with me when i say buying an Apple device also comes with proprietary BS.
everything is locked down to itunes and apple software.
(unless jailbroken)

Postby Chimera » August 4th, 2011, 10:53 am

wonder what the release of the iphone 5 will do do iphone 3GS prices in Trinidad

Postby Sky » August 4th, 2011, 1:16 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:wonder what the release of the iphone 5 will do do iphone 3GS prices in Trinidad

Nothing, its Trinidad.

Another ipad noob question. I'm the admin for a gmail Corp account, where I can change passwords for users, add them, delete them etc. This can only be done through a browser, not with outlook, thunderbird etc.
When I acces my account with this thing, safari conveniently changes the interface, leaving me to manage my mail only. I'm looking for a way to revert to the normal, usual web based interface S I can manage users.

Postby M_2NR » August 4th, 2011, 1:30 pm

Sky wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:wonder what the release of the iphone 5 will do do iphone 3GS prices in Trinidad

Nothing, its Trinidad.

Another ipad noob question. I'm the admin for a gmail Corp account, where I can change passwords for users, add them, delete them etc. This can only be done through a browser, not with outlook, thunderbird etc.
When I acces my account with this thing, safari conveniently changes the interface, leaving me to manage my mail only. I'm looking for a way to revert to the normal, usual web based interface S I can manage users.

not jailbroken right? you /may/ need a browser to change your useragent. I'm jailbroken so i use a User Agent Faker with safari.

I dunno how men like Duane does survive without jailbreaks.

S_2NR, really?
son, pay a visit to www.google.com and do some reading. You would realize you can sync music with other applications. If i remember right, you can also use other tools (like iphone explorer) to access User Application data without using iTunes app or being jailbroken. Jailbreaking gives you root access, which is both a great thing and for some not so great. I don't think you would be happy if you went a party and thieving wifi and someone gains root access and steals everything?
That said, if apple runs a said system a certain way, doe beat up, just go elsewhere ;)
Apple thrives on KISS.
I'm not even gonna start the Apple vs whoever war either.
That said, yes i jailbreak, not for Installous or the "freeing of the propriety BS" but because I want my root access... dont tell me anything now about Android eh :lol:

Postby Sky » August 4th, 2011, 1:53 pm

Thats why i'm not jailbreaking. Atleast not yet. I got it for a tool for work. If it limits me that much ill have to jailbreak. I just hope this thing gets on a domain with a vpn fine without having to jailbreak. As for stealing the software, thats no reason to jb imo.

Postby M_2NR » August 4th, 2011, 2:22 pm

^glad at least someone else sees this. I do things that a majority of people wont need with a JB and sadly i have grown too accustomed to it. I'm sure at some pt you will JB from the type of things you may want to do.

VPN's are super easy to setup. For pandora i use this:
http://www.bestfreevpn.com/iphone-ipad-free-vpn/

but if you want to max out your connection check out VPN Express on the appstore. ;)

___

i think im gonna do a recommended apps post yes.

BlueGalant HD

Postby BlueGalant HD » August 5th, 2011, 2:36 am

I'm looking for a bumper case ANYBODY?

Parvin

Postby Parvin » August 5th, 2011, 2:51 am

The ones that just goes around the border?

If so, I have a light blue one you could get. I don't use it. If you want to meet up to collect it.

I was thinking about it for a while and was wondering what s the best tracking/location app in the even an iphone is lost or stolen ?

BlueGalant HD

Postby BlueGalant HD » August 5th, 2011, 3:07 am

Parvin wrote:^^^

The ones that just goes around the border?

If so, I have a light blue one you could get. I don't use it. If you want to meet up to collect it.

I was thinking about it for a while and was wondering what s the best tracking/location app in the even an iphone is lost or stolen ?

CHECK PM

To answer your question: http://www.apple.com/iphone/find-my-iphone-setup/

Postby M_2NR » August 5th, 2011, 4:04 am

u mean u had a bumper... all this time... to give away... and u eh tell nobody :|

and yea findmyiphone or google lattitude. Lattitude will drain your battery depending on its usage but you can share your location with people really easily etc.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » August 5th, 2011, 8:48 am

Lol, well in was not sure anybody used them. I know everyone has them in silicone cases.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » August 5th, 2011, 10:35 am

With the introduction of the BlackBerry Bold 9900 RIM has made it clear that it has no interest in joining the modern world. While it is great to see a capacitive touchscreen that doesn’t click coming to a BlackBerry, it’s just sad when you compare the Bold 9900 against the competing phones on the market.

When the iPhone was revealed in early 2007 it turned the industry on it’s head. Within the next 3 years, every phone maker on the planet had a flagship phone with a large multitouch display and an array of tappable icons. Every manufacturer except for BlackBerry.

Even though many of the phones may look similar at least superficially, there is a wide array of design choices here that, while they mimic the iPhone, don’t copy it completely. Regardless of whether you think they’re good touches or bad, things like soft touch buttons, sliding keyboards and the highly customizable Android OS differentiate most modern manufacturers from the iPhone’s mold.

This is great because consumers need choice, no one suffers when we have lots of options.

What does show up as a common thread is the large capacitive display and a focus on apps as the future of phones. These things aren’t copied because these companies wish they could be the iPhone, they’re copied because it’s the way a modern phone should work. Apple was just the first one to figure it out.

Which brings us to the BlackBerry, which is suffering severely from a case of Porsche. By that I mean that their designs haven’t changed significantly in years, especially the last five.

Here’s a chart of the way that the iPhone has influenced phone design in the last half-decade.

You can see the common thread here. In all but the last entry on the list you can see that manufacturers have been convinced that the core features that made the iPhone such a major success are things that they need to offer consumers.

RIM on the other hand is convinced that what they’re doing is just great and that all they needed to do was shoehorn a capacitive display onto their older Curve models and they’d be in the money.

Unfortunately for RIM, the tech world isn’t like the car world. A 5-year-old design in mobile phones just means that you’re clinging to nonessentials. Sure there is some nostalgic allure in the physical keyboard and a half-sized screen, but it’s not going to make the Curve as attractive to consumers or half as usable as a modern phone from another manufacturer.

Postby tr1ad » August 5th, 2011, 10:42 am

my 8700 still works eh

apple did change the industry

but for me my blackberry works fine
the only thing i see that can keep RIM afloat is the BBM service which has 45 million users and their security features

many companies prefer that, and maybe will continue to use RIM
i have had all major devices, Android, iPhone, Blackberry
but no matter what i keep going back to RIM just as my personal preference

streetlifestyle

Postby streetlifestyle » August 5th, 2011, 10:58 am

the ONLY reason i use BB is for bbm because BB is the trini me2 and it cheaper to communicate. Got a pearl 8100 for $300 and i good dey oui

rawCpoppa

Postby rawCpoppa » August 5th, 2011, 5:36 pm

Until iMessage really takes off and all my friends have apple devices I'll keep my 9700.
People need to remember not everyone can simply run out and buy an iPhone and it's way easier to just get a bb and use bbm right now.

Anyways, are the prices quoted on the Trinidad iTunes store in TTD? I've been browsing the store on an iPhone and the prices look identical to the US store prices even though I'm quite sure I am on the TT store.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » August 5th, 2011, 5:42 pm

Still in US dollars

Postby M_2NR » August 5th, 2011, 7:13 pm

There is whatsapp, pingchat, etc. saying that chat is a reason is semi flawed btw eh. Unless if your friend has a social plan then you'd need bbm.

Postby tr1ad » August 5th, 2011, 7:23 pm

Chat is excuse now? Please