The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby SUPAstarr » September 12th, 2011, 11:07 am

crazybalhead wrote:In your opinions, what are the benefits of a tablet over a laptop and a phone? Which most people have anyway? Especially in the work environment.

Portability, communications on the go, my tab is a phone so i eliminate that extra device in my pocket as well. Everyday i answer emails, browse websites, interface with maps, edit documents (excel and word), all while on the road or attending meeting, in addition to talk smack on whats app and watch movies, an play old Nintendo games. Because im a power user i only get 3hrs out of the tab, but i have car charger so i never really out of juice.

Postby nemisis » September 12th, 2011, 5:37 pm

Looking to get a new phone had an iPhone, went to n900 and now looking to go android have an iPad so don't see any point in getting an iPhone as my cell. Where locally have htc sensation in stock? Checked dusty but he not answering pm....

Postby S_2NR » September 12th, 2011, 8:05 pm

if is dushantyx u referring to.
he takes two to three weeks to get your phone after downpayment.
i tell him udfr and organise my phone myself.

Postby nemisis » September 12th, 2011, 8:32 pm

S_2NR wrote:if is dushantyx u referring to.
he takes two to three weeks to get your phone after downpayment.
i tell him udfr and organise my phone myself.

Yup looking to do the same hence the question I would like the sensation this week so unless I really have to order it in I would like to find it locally

Postby S_2NR » September 12th, 2011, 8:35 pm

doh bother too much with down here.
way overpriced.
i dont even know where it sells but i can tell u since its trinidad it will be.

order it on amazon, let somebody bring it for u from the US.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 13th, 2011, 9:02 pm

Android and Intel Are Together at Last

Intel's gushing about a pretty huge team-up: in the near future, every single release of Android will be optimized for x86 chips. Intel processors in Android phones. Intel processors in Android tablets. This is big.

Intel showed off a mystery Android tablet running on their Atom processor—a pairing we should expect to see a lot more of soon. The prospect of handsets and tablets being able to choose from both ARM and x86 processors means we'll have a substantially wider choice of guts to power our phones and tabs—definitely good news. It also means Android can officially be run on anything—complete ubiquity.

Intel

Gizmodo

haterforever

Postby haterforever » September 13th, 2011, 9:10 pm

looking to buy the samsung ace 5830 from bmobile. anyone have a on hand review of the phone

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 14th, 2011, 10:19 am

GOOGLE BID AGAINST ITSELF: Motorola Tricked Google Into Paying $3 Billion More Than It Had To

Motorola rejected two Google bids and managed to drive the final acquisition price up by about $3 billion -- even though there were no other bidders.
Key players in the deal included Motorola shareholder Carl Icahn, who suggested that Motorola shop its patents around, and Frank Quattrone, whose Qatalyst partners advised Motorola in the deal.
The full story came out today in an SEC filing from Motorola, and was pointed out by Dennis Berman of the Wall Street Journal.
Here's how it went down.
Android head Andy Rubin first approached Motorola in early July after Google lost out on the bid for a bunch of mobile patents owned by Nortel.
Motorola's Sanjay Jha let Google know it wasn't interested in selling the patents alone -- Google would have to buy the whole company.
The negotiations continued in earnest, with Motorola rejecting two Google bids -- a preliminary bid around $30 and a formal one at $37 per share -- before finally agreeing to the final price of $40 per share.
Throughout the process, Google showed how nervous it was, insisting that Motorola move quickly and keep the talks confidential. This gave Motorola the leverage to drive a harder bargain.
The whole story suggests that Google's original claim -- that this deal was mostly about patents -- was true, even though they've backtracked a bit since then.
More to the point, Google knew Android was in deep trouble if another company like Microsoft or Apple got a hold of these Motorola patents. Microsoft apparently was interested in striking a patent deal with Motorola, but talks stalled because Motorola wanted a full buyout.
Here's the text from the SEC filing, edited and with interesting bits boldfaced:
In early July 2011, Andrew Rubin, Senior Vice President of Mobile at Google, contacted Dr. Jha, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Motorola Mobility, to request a meeting to discuss the purchase by some of Google’s competitors of the patent portfolio of Nortel Networks Corporation and its subsidiaries (which we refer to in this proxy statement as “Nortel”) in an auction conducted by Nortel in June 2011, and the possible impact of and potential responses to the purchase.
After this initial contact, at meetings throughout early to mid-July 2011, senior management of Motorola Mobility and Google (Dr. Jha; Scott Offer, Senior Vice President and General Counsel of Motorola Mobility; Larry Page, Chief Executive Officer of Google; Nikesh Arora, Senior Vice President and Chief Business Officer of Google; Mr. Rubin; and Kent Walker, Senior Vice President and General Counsel of Google) discussed the strategic direction of Motorola Mobility’s Mobile Devices and Home product businesses and the opportunities and challenges faced by those businesses.
The parties also discussed the impact of the Nortel auction, intellectual property litigation and the potential impact of such litigation on the Android ecosystem, Motorola Mobility’s patent portfolio and potential strategic options relating to the Motorola Mobility patent portfolio and Motorola Mobility, including the potential sale of Motorola Mobility to Google.
At a July 6, 2011 meeting that occurred during this period, Dr. Jha and Mr. Arora discussed the protection of the Android ecosystem and, in the context of this discussion, Dr. Jha indicated to Mr. Arora that it could be problematic for Motorola Mobility to continue as a stand-alone entity if it sold a large portion of its patent portfolio.
Subsequently, on July 20 and July 21, 2011, Carl Icahn (who, together with his affiliates, was then the beneficial owner of approximately 11% of the then-outstanding Motorola Mobility common stock) and Daniel A. Ninivaggi, a director of Motorola Mobility designated by Mr. Icahn pursuant to that certain letter agreement, dated November 30, 2010, among Motorola Mobility, Mr. Icahn and certain of his affiliates, contacted Dr. Jha to express their view that Motorola Mobility should explore alternatives for the Motorola Mobility patent portfolio.
On July 28, 2011, Dr. Jha, Mr. Arora and David Drummond, Senior Vice President, Corporate Development and Chief Legal Officer of Google, met (with Mr. Drummond participating by phone) to discuss Google’s interest in Motorola Mobility, including its mobile devices and home businesses, the significant economic terms of a potential acquisition of Motorola Mobility by Google on a preliminary basis and a process relating to the negotiation of the terms of a potential acquisition that would be both confidential and expedited. The Google representatives indicated that they were preliminarily considering a per share purchase price range in the high $20s or low $30s.
On August 1, 2011, Google sent a letter to the Motorola Mobility Board of Directors proposing an acquisition of Motorola Mobility by Google for $30.00 in cash per share of Motorola Mobility common stock....On the same day, Motorola Mobility engaged Qatalyst Partners and Centerview as its financial advisors.
On August 2, 2011, the Motorola Mobility Board of Directors met telephonically, with representatives of Qatalyst Partners and Wachtell Lipton, to discuss Google’s August 1 letter. In light of the fact that management and Motorola Mobility’s financial advisors were still in the process of evaluating Google’s proposal, as well as other strategic alternatives that could hypothetically be pursued by Motorola Mobility, including the prospect of settling some or all of the intellectual property litigation, the Motorola Mobility Board of Directors made a decision to defer a definitive response to Google and instructed Qatalyst Partners to convey that decision to Google.
From August 2 through August 5, 2011, Dr. Jha and representatives of Qatalyst Partners engaged in various conversations with Mr. Drummond and Mr. Arora concerning Google’s proposal during which Mr. Drummond indicated that Google was willing to improve the terms of its proposal but reiterated that Google’s proposal must be kept confidential and that a response must be received quickly.
On August 5, 2011, the Motorola Mobility Board of Directors met telephonically, including representatives of its financial and legal advisors, to discuss a response to Google. After consideration of a number of factors, including the then current status of the intellectual property litigation and the prospects of settling some or all of the intellectual property litigation, Google’s willingness to negotiate improved terms and concerns regarding the risks of an unauthorized public disclosure of the Google proposal, the Motorola Mobility Board of Directors instructed Qatalyst Partners and management to reject Google’s proposed $30.00 per share purchase price and determine whether Google would increase its proposed purchase price.
After the meeting, a representative from Qatalyst Partners contacted Mr. Drummond to reject the $30.00 per share offer and suggested that Google increase its proposed price to $43.50 per share.
On August 9, 2011, Mr. Arora telephoned Dr. Jha to increase Google’s proposed purchase price to $37.00 per share.
Dr. Jha responded to Mr. Arora that he would be prepared to recommend that the Motorola Mobility Board of Directors consider accepting a proposed price of $40.50 or higher.
...on August 9, 2011, Google sent a letter to Dr. Jha increasing its proposed purchase price to $40.00 per share. The letter proposed that the parties immediately commence due diligence relating to the proposed merger and negotiation of a definitive merger agreement and be in a position to announce the execution of the merger agreement by August 14, 2011. The letter concluded by requesting a response by the close of business on August 10, 2011.
At the meeting, the Board also considered, with advice from Motorola Mobility’s advisors, whether to solicit proposals from other potential buyers. Following this discussion, and taking into account advice from Motorola Mobility’s advisors, the Board determined, for the reasons set forth below under “—Reasons for the Merger; Recommendation of the Motorola Mobility Board of Directors—Value Presented and Deal Terms”, that it was preferable to negotiate on a confidential basis with a single potential acquiror, rather than to conduct a private or public “auction” of Motorola Mobility.

http://www.businessinsider.com/how-goog ... eal-2011-9

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » September 14th, 2011, 10:26 am

snapssss lol

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 14th, 2011, 4:38 pm

HTC Sensation XE gets official, packing 1.5GHz dual-core CPU and Beats Audio

The rumors can be laid to rest, because HTC has officially announced its Sensation XE handset, replete with some upgraded specs and Beats Audio. Powered by a 1.5GHz dual-core processor, this Android device features a 4.3-inch touchscreen with qHD (540 X 960) resolution and boasts a larger 1730mAh battery that promises prolonged run times. As the first smartphone produced under HTC's partnership with Beats Audio, this special edition Sensation also ships with a special pair of Beats by Dr. Dre headphones, along with an 8GB or 16GB microSD card and remote control that allows users to flip through tracks of take calls without ever reaching inside their pockets. Once these headphones are plugged in, the phone will automatically activate a Beats-optimized sound profile that, according to HTC, will deliver fuller bass, sharper vocals and broader range. The Sensation XE is slated to launch in Europe, Asia, Africa and the Middle East sometime this month, though price and a possible North America launch date remain unclear.

Engadget

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 14th, 2011, 7:25 pm

Finally, YouTube Will Let You Edit Your Videos Online

If you upload your videos to YouTube—or most video sharing sites for that matter—there isn't much you can do to improve them after the fact. Starting today, though, YouTube will finally provide basic tools to make your kitty videos suck less.

YouTube is rolling out the new feature in the form of a simple "Edit Video" button on your My Videos page. It's a little like if they just took their cloud-based editor and sucked it back into the site. All you have to do is select one of your videos, and it'll let you trim away excess footage, rotate, stabilize to get rid of shake, and changes the attributes to make things brighter, warmer, or more saturated. You can also add Instagram-style filters to make things look old-timey. And when you're done, the video won't lose views and its link won't change. All is right with the world. Thanks, guys.

Gizmodo

Postby S_2NR » September 14th, 2011, 8:23 pm

haterforever wrote:looking to buy the samsung ace 5830 from bmobile. anyone have a on hand review of the phone

google is your friend.

Postby S_2NR » September 14th, 2011, 9:56 pm

just restored my nexus s back to stock cause cm7 was giving trouble and got a pleasant surprise.
seems like bmobile is pushing the internet and mms settings to your android phone automatically.
didn have to set up anything.

nice.

sekhar_777

Postby sekhar_777 » September 15th, 2011, 2:01 pm

Folks don't know if this was discussed but this app enables you to download the daily Amazon free apps. You have to turn on 1-click ordering and use a US delivery address. I used my skybox address as my 1-click ordering default address and added my TT credit card as my 1-click ordering payment method...free app downloading now...no charges..but you have to turn 1-click ordering on to be able to download the free app. Be mindful to adjust your delivery address when you are actually ordering something from the Amazon store.

Here is the market link:
https://market.android.com/details?id=com.top.free.apps.amazon.appstore.free.apps

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » September 15th, 2011, 6:14 pm

sekhar_777 wrote:Folks don't know if this was discussed but this app enables you to download the daily Amazon free apps. You have to turn on 1-click ordering and use a US delivery address. I used my skybox address as my 1-click ordering default address and added my TT credit card as my 1-click ordering payment method...free app downloading now...no charges..but you have to turn 1-click ordering on to be able to download the free app. Be mindful to adjust your delivery address when you are actually ordering something from the Amazon store.

Here is the market link:
https://market.android.com/details?id=com.top.free.apps.amazon.appstore.free.apps

That is interesting, found any hidden charges in ur CC bill?

Postby S_2NR » September 15th, 2011, 7:38 pm

sekhar_777 wrote:Folks don't know if this was discussed but this app enables you to download the daily Amazon free apps. You have to turn on 1-click ordering and use a US delivery address. I used my skybox address as my 1-click ordering default address and added my TT credit card as my 1-click ordering payment method...free app downloading now...no charges..but you have to turn 1-click ordering on to be able to download the free app. Be mindful to adjust your delivery address when you are actually ordering something from the Amazon store.

Here is the market link:

know this long time bro.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » September 15th, 2011, 8:36 pm

no it works and its free

Postby RASC » September 16th, 2011, 6:41 am

None of y'all excited about the Samsung Note? :\

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » September 16th, 2011, 9:15 am

RASC wrote:None of y'all excited about the Samsung Note? :\

Engadget is estimating this to cost US$1,000 :shock: -(http://www.engadget.com/2011/09/06/sams ... ets-video/). Whoever was probably initially excited about this most likely got a heavy dose of reality upon hearing this and isn't anymore :wink:

Postby nemisis » September 18th, 2011, 3:02 pm

Had purchased a htc sensation. It however started giving problems with screen becoming un responsive, the lock ring requiring between 2 and 10 swipes to unlock and capacitive buttons becoming non responsive. Any other sensation owners experience this and if so how did you guys deal with it. From info I got on xda it looks to be a common problem with no actual fix...

Postby S_2NR » September 18th, 2011, 3:23 pm

carry it back

Postby nemisis » September 18th, 2011, 9:56 pm

S_2NR wrote:carry it back

did just that, sad too when it did what it supposed to do it was a beast. Interesting thing is that it was a tmobile sensation and although they and htc dont admit it has a problem tmobile evidently has been replacing them no questions asked.

http://community.htc.com/na/htc-forums/ ... 51784.aspx

http://www.androidpolice.com/2011/06/06 ... -problems/

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=

Postby RASC » September 19th, 2011, 12:28 am

tiger balm wrote:
RASC wrote:None of y'all excited about the Samsung Note? :\

Engadget is estimating this to cost US$1,000 :shock: -(http://www.engadget.com/2011/09/06/sams ... ets-video/). Whoever was probably initially excited about this most likely got a heavy dose of reality upon hearing this and isn't anymore :wink:

zf 1 week ago in reply to fishkid13
You know how much SGS2 in euro and dollars?

This method of comparing euros and dollars is utter BS. Please stop doing that or at least give some disclaimer.

It won't cost that much. The conversion rate does not apply to consumer electronics like that. The Yank price will be alot less trust me...

Still...I want, just wish it were running the faster/more stable WP7 platform. :(

achillies

Postby achillies » September 19th, 2011, 11:01 am

Notion Ink CEO 'confirms' Ice Cream Sandwich in Oct., OMAP as reference platform; says Adam will update in Nov.

The CEO of Notion Ink, Rohan Shravan, has "outed" some more news about the Ice Cream Sandwich release. Yes, this is the same fellow who told us about Gingerbread a few days in advance last time around (which is why we looked twice). In a post at the Notion Ink blog about plans to improve the graphics performance of the Adam, Shravan says a couple really interesting things -- Google will be releasing Ice Cream Sandwich in late October, OMAP devices will be the preferred platform (and receive the update before Tegra devices), and the Notion Ink will have the Adam updated by November.

Additionally, the folks at Phone Arena have confirmed with Shravan that Google has already supplied OEMs with Ice Cream Sandwich, and that Notion Ink is not one of the manufacturers to be seeded with an early release of the source code.

We're still going to be on the lookout for something a bit more official, and none of this news is really surprising -- it has been regurgitated across the Internet for the past few months. We'll see Ice Cream Sandwich when it's ready, and if that means next month none of us will be complaining.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 19th, 2011, 11:07 am

Duane, $3 Bn extra they say?!!

achillies

Postby achillies » September 19th, 2011, 7:00 pm

Samsung Galaxy Nexus Poem Outs Details and Launch Date [Rumors of Rumors]

Another day and another slew of Google Nexus Prime rumors. This time we have Twitter user @black_man_x AKA “The Panda King” who has been long known for accurately predicting some big launches in Verizon’s past whether it be the HTC Thunderbolt or specs on the HTC Vigor (Incredible HD). He’s recently come alive once again on his Twitter bring a slew of Nexus Prime riddled poems. In these poems he has announced the device’s supposed launch date (November 3rd) and the different flavors the device will launch in. After gaining enough followers, he then handed off the poem riddles to @tfleming223 (Tom Flemming) and according to this guy’s latest tweets, the Nexus Prime might not only come in GSM and CDMA varieties but also touchscreen only and keyboard versions as well. These guys either have some pretty deep sources inside the Verizon camp or they are just jerkin’ everyone around. Either way, I love me some good Android based poetry (I’m classy like that).

While things that go bump in the night, surely give you a fright,
It’s all in good fun as I share treats and panda fun.
So Instead of filling your belly with candies, jellies and other hollows eve fare,
Perhaps your palate will cast a ballot, for an ice cream sandwich instead.
With an internal date now set and LTE a sure bet,
Those that get Tim Cook’s new pet will be filled with green eyed regret.
But wait you cry for what date can you buy?
This the panda did shall share
Fore on the date Bruce Wayne’s true father did die;
you shall in fact be able to buy in stores of red and black.
But those who pay other masters don’t fret,
over exclusive deals and bets
For in many other favors you will get your treat
be they GSM or wimax radios inside, the nexus brand will ride world wide
But as he lays in the corner with a Beer and a boner the Panda said with a sigh
Be it a Droid or Nexus branded new toy,
With dual cores "hd" screens, fancy new widgets and more
The one with the keyboard is what I enjoy

Apparently, the “Prime” moniker we’ve been hearing for quite sometime was never in the cards. The most recent rumors are pointing to the official Samsung release of the device as being named the Galaxy Nexus while the Verizon version could find itself dubbed the Droid Prime or possibly even the Droid Charge 2. Seems the closer we get to this device’s release, the more clear and somehow murky things are becoming. Either way I don’t expect we’ll have to wait much longer with the device most likely being announced by Google late October, followed by the launch somewhere near early November.

Phandroid

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 20th, 2011, 4:49 pm

Google+ received some nice updates today including Hangouts for the Android mobile app and more importantly it's now open to the public, no more invites required.

also some cool features to come soon such as Hangouts with extras.

94, 95, 96, 97. Hangouts with extras

Spending time together goes hand in hand with actually doing things together. Dinner with family can easily turn into movie night at the local theater, for instance. And running into old friends can inspire anything from photo sharing to vacation planning. Hangouts has always included a basic set of in-room actions (like group chat and co-viewing of YouTube videos), but we want to make it easier to do a lot more. That’s why we’re previewing some extras, including:

* Screensharing: for when you want to show off your vacation photos, your high score, your lesson plan or whatever else is on your screen

* Sketchpad: for when you want to draw, doodle, or just scribble together

* Google Docs: for when you want to write, plan or present something with others

* Named Hangouts: for when you want to join or create a public hangout about a certain topic (like fashion or music or sports...)

Hangouts with extras: Screensharing (left), Sketchpad (right)

Hangouts with extras: Docs (left), Named Hangouts (right)

The Official Google Blog

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 20th, 2011, 5:23 pm

so how long before NFC hits us? :|

Polyamorous Google Wallet adds Visa to its arsenal

To the delight of shopaholics everywhere, Visa has announced that it's jumped on the Google Wallet bandwagon -- giving card users access to the snazzy, new NFC payment system. Much like MasterCard's announcement last week, the licensing agreement will allow Visa users to link their credit, debit and prepaid cards to Google's offering for fast mobile payments in places that accept the service. The credit card company has dabbled in mobile payments before through payWave, but with plans to integrate into GW, we'll surely be seeing more of it in the near future. As momentum over the NFC-powered mobile phones grows, it will be interesting to see if the Real Housewives can part with their phones long enough for their assistants to pay for those Manolos. Check out the full PR after the break.

Engadget

What is Google Wallet?

Engadget has a full write up on Google Wallet here

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » September 20th, 2011, 6:27 pm

soo...anyone got an invite for google+?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 20th, 2011, 6:40 pm

jeevdude199 wrote:soo...anyone got an invite for google+?

:S

ah hope yuh being sarcastic eh cos i jus posted above that Google+ has been opened up to the public from today, no more invites required.