WTK boostin a non turbo sr 20 (help)

Craver

WTK boostin a non turbo sr 20 (help)

Postby Craver » January 4th, 2007, 11:53 am

yeah people am havin some problems....
i wanna turbo my non tubo sr20 RWD and i have some questions....
1 All wat do i need to complete this
2 Will it work??
and an average price of how much this would cost... or!!! am getin an intercooler for $200..
????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
:wink:

droppa

Postby droppa » January 4th, 2007, 3:19 pm

a good fuel pump and regulator
stock SR20 turbo manifold and small turbocharger
intercooler and plumming.....oil/water/boost...

with this yuh cud run ah cool 3-5 psi and be out of harms way..... yuh lookin at about 3K maybe...... :roll:

if yuh want bigger boost and more performance, its gonna cost bout 3K jus for yuh management alone. yuh gonna have tuh upgrade injectors, and the ideal unit will be the T25 or T28 which came off the SR....colder plugs, and all in the first mentioned along with some monitoring systems and tunin and yuh cud be puttin out bout 250 horses, it will get on eh, buh the price is gonna be lil steep.... :|

Craver

Postby Craver » January 5th, 2007, 11:21 am

ok well dats some help... tankx
i have an sr20 in a RWD lancer and it runs a 16.31 1/4 mile i think dat sucks
every tings stock... i jus have in some 1/4 race cams ......
any advice ????????????

weapon-X

Postby weapon-X » January 8th, 2007, 11:46 am

droppa wrote:with this yuh cud run ah cool 3-5 psi and be out of harms way

so yuh could boost a stock sr20 de without any serious mods??

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » January 11th, 2007, 1:01 am

to boost ah SR not hard uh know..but whenever u boost ah N/A engine u always in harms way in my opinion...the best ting to do is jus buy ah turbo engine and done..but ah SR20 is like de easiest ting 2 turbo..check the nissan forum u sure 2 find REAL PLENTY topics like this when ppl asked.

but basic is fuel pump/DET rail with injectors,turbo and manifold,intercooler,gauges,ah small management like ah SAFC and ah boost controller and u dey..buh u cyah run plenty hence de reason for the boost controller jus incase..but better be safe than sorry buy ah DET :twisted: !

Polydor

Postby Polydor » January 12th, 2007, 9:22 am

Spend a little and get a water injection kit if you wanna boost the DE....it's insurance for your pistons.

havokkk

Postby havokkk » January 12th, 2007, 11:16 am

weapon-X wrote:
droppa wrote:with this yuh cud run ah cool 3-5 psi and be out of harms way

so yuh could boost a stock sr20 de without any serious mods??

sr20de's are ludicrously over-built... with stout, forged rods and an induction hardended crank. rod bearings are large and stroke short... as such there's significant rod and journal bearing overlap, components of a sturdy and strong bottom-end :D

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » February 14th, 2007, 9:48 pm

^^ so true.. boost it man..

Tired Accord

Re: WTK boostin a non turbo sr 20 (help)

Postby Tired Accord » March 1st, 2007, 4:12 pm

[quote="Craver"]yeah people am havin some problems....
i wanna turbo my non tubo sr20 RWD and i have some questions....
1 All wat do i need to complete this
2 Will it work??
and an average price of how much this would cost... or!!! am getin an intercooler for $200..
????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
:wink:[/quote]

Cuz - you doh have a problem! You have a dream...join www.sr20forum.com. Them men sikk on it too. Try this link: http://www.sr20forum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=102

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » March 1st, 2007, 4:50 pm

ye well if u wanna boost it gud u hadda spend a gud set ah money, if u wanna boost it jus 2 run boost and run uh engine unsafe then u spend less..so is accordin to how gud u wanna do this turbo, is the amt of money u will need to spend..

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » March 1st, 2007, 10:27 pm

If your going into street racing and you want too at lest run the car ona 1/4 mile and get good times, better you buy ah sr20det from the bamboo..

But if you want some more power and your sure you wouldnt over kill the engine on hot days then turbo the DE... Its more fun to turbo it your slef... :mrgreen:

good luck if you need help PM me...

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » March 2nd, 2007, 1:37 am

better you did go with ah esss arrrr 20DET!!!!

Make sure you turbo it properly before you wonder why this and that is giving trouble and how and why etc!

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » March 2nd, 2007, 5:11 am

yea boss i agree with H20...if u gonna turbo it, and when u finish u confused how u getting problems, well u should know your answer...the better thing to do would jus buy the Sr20det...think about it this way right...u gonna spend about a good 8k if u wanna do it good.maybe a little less right...and u gonna have a Sr20DE+T now remember although u did it safe..its still not a turbo engine meaning that u cud still get little problems here and there...also u gonna have to get a management, just 2 be safe nah...that gonna cost you more...so lets say that somehow that comes up 2 10k..

now a SR20DET FWD is like about 12K or so,.....so look at that...if u jus put in a lil extra u get an original Sr20DET and u doh even hadda go through the headache...also u cud even sell back your SR20De and make bak some money so u mite sell your sr20de for a 5k or so...so u really end up spending 7k and uh know u have ah original SR20DET...so in the long run u might save...it may seem like a good idea now..but the chances of getting problems not that fun...

it have alot of men who guh say they turbo sr20de and it working real good and ting..but at the end of the day when u have ah Sr20det u know u cud do wha u want wit it..and it still faithful...cause that engine made to handle boost....

but its all up 2 u with what u wanna do...thats jus my lil .02cents...also if u check on the nissan forum..u gonna see more than enough ppl asknig how to turbo a SR20de...i was also one but then after reading and listening i notice it dind't really make sense..when i cuda jus go out and buy ah DET.

:) lets know what u decide 2 do whenever.

KE70corolla

Postby KE70corolla » March 4th, 2007, 4:54 pm

dont forget oil lines to cool the pistons

Tuner Imports

Postby Tuner Imports » March 9th, 2007, 10:39 pm

Craver wrote:ok well dats some help... tankx
i have an sr20 in a RWD lancer and it runs a 16.31 1/4 mile i think dat sucks
every tings stock... i jus have in some 1/4 race cams ......
any advice ????????????

Are you running a brake shoe type diff? That maybe your hold back...The differential ratio maybe limiting you to a smaller ratio, hence causing alot of wheelspin and you losing out on top-end speed....Try a GSR diff for an SR20 torque to transfer the power properly...You will see a dramatic difference...I drove an SR20DE into 15 secs flat with no mods.....

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 10th, 2007, 2:21 am

jasonsjohn16,

de man wanna turbo he engine..

u and yuh DET..he said he wanna turbo it... so leave it dey na?? u always tellin ppl to swap swap swap...rest it up.. its jus fun for some ppl to mod their engine..like u said.. ah car is ah man's personal belonging.. he shud be able to choose wat he wants to do with it..

back to de topic.. u need to get ah good mech. to start with..budget, locate all your parts.. den start your build..remember the good mechanic part eh.. cuz in de end.. u gonna have to make sure the everything runnin smooth wen that boost gonna kick in! which might be like.. instant...