WTK about smoked headlights

sinnas

WTK about smoked headlights

Postby sinnas » August 23rd, 2013, 2:43 pm

Would like to find out if anyone smokes headlights and how? I'm not sure if I want to yet but I saw smoke tint. Wanted to try it to see if I wanted to keep it. Any suggestions?

Shio

Re: WTK about smoked headlights

Postby Shio » August 23rd, 2013, 8:30 pm

they use black paint spray it from a distance so that only fumes get on the light

nismoid

Postby nismoid » August 23rd, 2013, 8:31 pm

so what you saying is that you want less light?

sinnas

Postby sinnas » August 23rd, 2013, 10:55 pm

@shio - if its paint, don't want it. Will just buy a different set

@nismoid - what I'm saying is I wanted to know HOW it is done, because I didn't how it was done. I saw smoked tint so I was thinking to try that and if I didnt like it I could always take it off. but thanks for...well nothing really.

avimadvibez

Postby avimadvibez » August 24th, 2013, 8:30 pm

clearcoat with a couple drops of black paint in it. if you dont like it, can be rubbed and buffed right out.

sinnas

Postby sinnas » August 24th, 2013, 10:47 pm

Thanks man. Anyone ever heard of or knows the tint application?

Postby nervewrecker » August 24th, 2013, 11:03 pm

sinnas wrote:Thanks man. Anyone ever heard of or knows the tint application?

It's a vinyl they sell.

Just open the light and do the insides black with retrofitted projectors. Triniretrofits does that kinda work too

sinnas

Postby sinnas » August 25th, 2013, 7:23 am

Had projectors, they don't light up the road as good as the one Headlights. But it's something specific I'm doing, I'm just comparing the costs between smoking the headlights and just buying New black housing headlights.

Patman

Postby Patman » August 25th, 2013, 1:19 pm

Plastidip........ spray it on until u like the shade.......if it gets to dark...peel it off and respray it

Postby nervewrecker » August 25th, 2013, 10:58 pm

sinnas wrote:Had projectors, they don't light up the road as good as the one Headlights. But it's something specific I'm doing, I'm just comparing the costs between smoking the headlights and just buying New black housing headlights.

Something not sounding right here, its usually the other way around.

Or are you one of those that must have million watt lights in front that make you look like sunrise when coming over a hill?

Postby rollingstock » August 26th, 2013, 8:24 am

Plasti dip has a smoked spray application, if the looks it not right it peels off easily.

Why though is a different question.

moti

Postby moti » August 26th, 2013, 10:55 am

So when one heats these plastic headlights and opens them, what type of sealant is used when closing up.

Also does the plastic get damaged?

I did the headlight in my P11 Primera when I had it but that was glass lens and well I stuck the entire light in the oven.

Postby cinco » August 26th, 2013, 11:16 am

moti wrote:So when one heats these plastic headlights and opens them, what type of sealant is used when closing up.

I did the headlight in my P11 Primera when I had it but that was glass lens and well I stuck the entire light in the oven.

ive done about 6 cars and all but the corolla i was able to reseal using the factory glue.
i use a heatgun and pass it around the whole light quickly and as evenly as possible.
the corolla got a leak and i had to seal with clear silicone.
u can also stick the plastic lenses in the oven but i place it on a baking tray ontop of a damp kitchen towel and make sure the lens does not touch any exposed metal directly.

btw doh use d oven yuh mammy bakin d chrismass ham in to do this eh the vapours are harmful

moti

Postby moti » August 26th, 2013, 11:20 am

Now he tells me. :?

Thanks.

Postby nervewrecker » August 26th, 2013, 11:51 pm

cinco wrote:
moti wrote:So when one heats these plastic headlights and opens them, what type of sealant is used when closing up.

ive done about 6 cars and all but the corolla i was able to reseal using the factory glue.
i use a heatgun and pass it around the whole light quickly and as evenly as possible.
the corolla got a leak and i had to seal with clear silicone.
u can also stick the plastic lenses in the oven but i place it on a baking tray ontop of a damp kitchen towel and make sure the lens does not touch any exposed metal directly.

btw doh use d oven yuh mammy bakin d chrismass ham in to do this eh the vapours are harmful

Lost the literature with what sit called, can you remind me?

If you will be so kind to let me know where you got it that will be a big plus.

I have something to attempt soon.

Thanks.

Postby nervewrecker » August 26th, 2013, 11:52 pm

Oh, and heat gun worked with the ones I opened. (was scrap lights to experiment on)

Postby cinco » August 27th, 2013, 12:43 am

Eh?