Re: tyres

Postby TrinbagoMan » July 29th, 2010, 2:09 pm

I want to get some 215/45/17 tyres.

Any assistance?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » July 29th, 2010, 3:32 pm

The purpose of the thread is really to ask advice on models and brands etc... We can't really call places and drive around to check prices for you...

Advice.. Call around see if anyone have your size, then come here and give us the rundown and we will gladly advise what you should buy

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » July 30th, 2010, 2:32 pm

guys i need some new tyres and i need some help... need to get 205/40/17

i currently run Kumho ecsta ast, which is a no no due to the experiences i had with them.

Looking for a tyre which is for all-season and low on noise.

So far i have found -:

nitto neogen/NT555@ $1000 each

toyo proxes 4 @ $1000 each

goodyear eagle F1 @ $1000 each

which one do you recommend or which other brand to look into..

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » July 30th, 2010, 4:10 pm

all-season

All season tyres handle SUMMER (equals wet and dry weather) and WINTER (cold temperature traction, mild ice conditions).

Does it have ice where you live?

I'd go with teh F1s.

Where are you getting NT555's btw....post location/contact info for the shop!

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » August 2nd, 2010, 9:18 pm

Parvin

Postby Parvin » September 7th, 2010, 8:55 am

Need some advice regarding tires guys.

I was looking for Dunlop Direzzas but they kinda difficult to find and wherever I getting them, the prices are too ridiculous.

Not interested in Nexen at all and i getting a link with the Firestone brand.

Can anyone provide some feedback on the Firestone tires?

Profile i am looking for is 215/45/17 ... daily regular driving.

Thanks

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » September 7th, 2010, 8:57 am

I was looking for Dunlop Direzzas but they kinda difficult to find and wherever I getting them, the prices are too ridiculous

They are one of the cheaper tyres on the market.

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 7th, 2010, 9:20 am

Alpha_2nr wrote:
I was looking for Dunlop Direzzas but they kinda difficult to find and wherever I getting them, the prices are too ridiculous

They are one of the cheaper tyres on the market.

Additionally, doesn't every corner shop have these? They seem to be as common as Roadstone to me.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » September 7th, 2010, 11:01 am

^^Correct is right. and it's 215/45-17's to boot....that's a pretty common tyre size.

Which model FIRESTONE TYRES????????? if yuh just want someone to say...."yea jed bai, dem firestone duz be bess! Duz grip like glue"...then this isn't the thread for you.

Postby X_Factor » September 7th, 2010, 5:01 pm

lancer3 wrote:guys i need some new tyres and i need some help... need to get 205/40/17

i currently run Kumho ecsta ast, which is a no no due to the experiences i had with them.

Looking for a tyre which is for all-season and low on noise.

So far i have found -:

which one do you recommend or which other brand to look into..

i saw a tire shop selling some local used michelin of that size u wanted
i cant remember what model but it has michelin engraved in the center thread
they wanted 1400 for the set and it looked in really good condition

Parvin

Postby Parvin » September 7th, 2010, 5:17 pm

Alpha_2nr wrote:^^Correct is right. and it's 215/45-17's to boot....that's a pretty common tyre size.

Which model FIRESTONE TYRES????????? if yuh just want someone to say...."yea jed bai, dem firestone duz be bess! Duz grip like glue"...then this isn't the thread for you.

Ah ketch what ulyuh saying bout the Dunlops but last time i paid $485 each brand new and now places calling around $650-$700 for one.

And about the Firstone tires ... I asking in general. Maybe if you have advice on any of their product lines you can tell me so i can decide. i have never used the brand so I would like to know if it is recommended and which model in particular.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » September 7th, 2010, 7:44 pm

MOst tyre brands e.g. Firestone, Bridgestone, Sumitomo, Dunlop, BF Goodrich, goodyear etc etc etc are all fine you know.

Stay away from crap like Nexen, Roadstone, Linglong ( :lol: ), triangle....and you should be fine.

My 2c.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » September 7th, 2010, 8:09 pm

Alpha_2nr wrote:MOst tyre brands e.g. Firestone, Bridgestone, Sumitomo, Dunlop, BF Goodrich, goodyear etc etc etc are all fine you know.

Stay away from crap like Nexen, Roadstone, Linglong ( :lol: ), triangle....and you should be fine.

My 2c.

Thanks man ... I know bout that fuh sure

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » September 8th, 2010, 12:53 am

Well, did you call around? I fairly sure the you can find your size in Kumho which would fit your price and needs quite nicely...
See if they have the Kumho SPT (KU31) .. Excellent tyre for the price...

Call both Laughlin and DeGannes and also Mileage Mack and see what they have for you in the size

Also, call around and see what other brands you can come with.. Firestone itself isnt a bad brand but like everything else, it depends on what model tyre... Give me the model and im sure I can find some reviews for you

Postby X_Factor » September 8th, 2010, 6:23 am

Considering those Hankook's Ventus 195/55/15 for around 630.00 a pop which is only 100.00 more than those DZ101's
Anyone using them?...will post the actual model # of the tyre later

dervynayr

Postby dervynayr » September 8th, 2010, 9:27 pm

Alpha_2nr wrote:
all-season

All season tyres handle SUMMER (equals wet and dry weather) and WINTER (cold temperature traction, mild ice conditions).

Does it have ice where you live?

I'd go with teh F1s.

Where are you getting NT555's btw....post location/contact info for the shop!

heh :shock: :shock: :shock: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby cinco » September 9th, 2010, 7:03 am

in the market for 195/60/14
i refuse to buy dunlop 702s again they suck in standing water
options right now are
Kumho Kr21
Toyo TPT
Sumitomo HTR200
Falken 912
Dunlop sport maxx??? (as far as i know these come in only 15+ but a retailer said they have them in 14s i will go visit them and verify)
I LOVE SPORT MAXX's so im leaning towards those if not next in line i might go with the 912s
anyone have experience with these tires? btw if anyone wants the pricing and suppliers on these tires i have it and am willing to share

Postby X_Factor » September 9th, 2010, 7:08 am

the first tyre shop on the left when entering chaguanas from the highway
at the back of chag auto.
i saw some bridgestone potenza GIII's i believe in 14" size....a really sweet tyre!

Postby cinco » September 9th, 2010, 7:19 am

rattans has the g3s for 700 a pop :| really not willing to shell that cashola out on 14s im lookin to spend max 500 per V&S also said they had some bf's but he wasnt sure of the type (i assume its the g force ss since they come in that size)

oxidation

Postby oxidation » September 9th, 2010, 11:16 pm

cinco wrote:in the market for 195/60/14
i refuse to buy dunlop 702s again they suck in standing water
options right now are
Kumho Kr21
Toyo TPT
Sumitomo HTR200
Falken 912
Dunlop sport maxx??? (as far as i know these come in only 15+ but a retailer said they have them in 14s i will go visit them and verify)
I LOVE SPORT MAXX's so im leaning towards those if not next in line i might go with the 912s
anyone have experience with these tires? btw if anyone wants the pricing and suppliers on these tires i have it and am willing to share

yo man i have the KR21, i opted for this tyre cause on tirerack, this tyre has pretty good ratings

and the ratings didnt lie....

tyre is pretty quiet, holds out nice in dry and wet also.

sidewall is a bit soft so you might have to get used to it......

got it at mileage mack---$460 installed with nitrogen air....

Postby cinco » September 10th, 2010, 1:41 am

thanks for the review what vehicle you running it on?
from a stand still can u squeal the tire?
honestly that disappoints me most on the 702
my stupid little 1.5 should NOT be able to rip these tires from a stand still worse yet on the other car they squeal like a little girl once u just think about pressing the X

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » September 10th, 2010, 2:35 am

Well, you need some more objective means of judging tyres than that....

check reviews online, read up on all the options etc

The KR21 kumho is a good tyre for what it is, 640 treadwear... If you want something more grippy, then you barking up the wrong tree.. Try for a summer tyre, and something with a lower treadwear rating...

If you just want something to work OK in all conditions, and last forever, then the Kumho is a great option
That said, treadwear isnt the end of everything.. My Continental ExtremeContact DWS is 540 treadwear and I guarantee you it outgrips most ~300 treadwear tyres on the market in trinidad..
Its all about the rubber compound used and the design of the treads..

oxidation

Postby oxidation » September 10th, 2010, 9:51 am

cinco wrote:thanks for the review what vehicle you running it on?
from a stand still can u squeal the tire?
honestly that disappoints me most on the 702
my stupid little 1.5 should NOT be able to rip these tires from a stand still worse yet on the other car they squeal like a little girl once u just think about pressing the X

lol man, my qg 15 e-throttle, with its delayed response timing, hardle ever gets tyre squeal

ohhhh wait i did get some yesday but the road was wet.... :lol: :lol:

Postby X_Factor » September 11th, 2010, 3:49 pm

u all can look into the Hankook's ventus
the 195/55/15 is around 630.00 each
the 14's should be less...and online reviews are pretty good on the ventus

Postby cinco » September 11th, 2010, 11:05 pm

finding this size seems to be rough most people carry 205 60
gettin bf traction t/a for 475 installed but im on the fence about these
and of course its not the sport maxxes they have it was 702s steups

Swankish

Postby Swankish » September 12th, 2010, 11:30 am

evolve wrote:can anyone give me sum views on using triangle tyres,like long lastin,handling & stuff... :wink:

would not recommend that brand.it always ends up cracking at the walls and no matter how new the tyre is,if that occurs well the tyre is no use.also not as gripping as we would like a tyre to be.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » September 12th, 2010, 10:06 pm

Depends on which model BF Goodrich Traction T/A you talking about..
If the one in question is the Traction T/A H or the T/A T, they are very good tyres that will do quite adequately for your purpose...

Concerning the Hankook Ventus, I still consider it highly overpriced for what it is.. While it has positive results in its V12 Evo form, I still think hankook is charging WAY too much in Trinidad for what is considered an average at best tyre here in the states....

oxidation

Postby oxidation » September 12th, 2010, 10:14 pm

i had the bf goodrich traction T/A (cant rembr which exact model) but this tyre was pretty good

think was 500 threadwear, and used to be good in wet and dry, tyre compound was a bit hard as compared to the khumo's im running now

a bit noisy tough, but lasts pretty long also.

but you knw whats funny,

why is it that plp in trini does bad talk bf tyres dread, saying that it does skid and ting............

ive never had this problem with this tyre.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » September 12th, 2010, 11:37 pm

threadwear

Do you have a lisp or something?

It's spelt TREADwear.

but you knw whats funny,

why is it that plp in trini does bad talk bf tyres dread, saying that it does skid and ting............

ive never had this problem with this tyre.

Don't the majority of trinis drive on Nexens and Roadstones?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » September 13th, 2010, 12:32 am

hahaha Alpha, you beat me to it yes...
I was about to say cause trinis find "Nexen, Triangle and DZ101 does ride and grip bessssss"

So, BF is one of the most respected brands over here in the states and thats for good reason.. They do tend to have a rep of being slightly noisy, but they will last and offer very good grip based on whatever purpose you bought it for....

The biggest problem is the dealers for BF.. Either pay $1200 or get it from people who don't reallly tend to keep regular stock