V-tec controllers in VVL's

QG

Postby QG » June 1st, 2007, 10:23 am

SmokeyGTi wrote:
azis wrote:and my advice dont use the greddy mss cause it real hard to hookup and tune
i tried it in my b15 and i got fed up and used a cheaper less hassle way to do it
i used a tach with a shift light and just hooked up the light to the solenoids :D :D :D

that sounds so simple yet it in theory it should work! kudos to whoever originally came up with it - if is you well den yuh good!

Amm no Smokey GTi, Azis did not originally came up with the idea. This was out very long time but i just wanted more details on it... :lol: :lol:

QG

Postby QG » June 1st, 2007, 10:25 am

and welcome MRM, i'm a great fan of vvl power.

turbonator

Postby turbonator » June 1st, 2007, 11:05 am

^^ Who isn't a fan of vvl power :lol: .

azis

Postby azis » June 1st, 2007, 9:26 pm

well i maybe didnt come up with the idea first but i originally thought about it with out advice from ne one for my application .
Last edited by azis on June 1st, 2007, 9:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

azis

Postby azis » June 1st, 2007, 9:28 pm

hi azis
i'm from sri lanka & i have a Vz-R wih SR16VE engine,

when you connect the tach on the two ground wires on the both solenoids......
are you still going to keep the ECU line to to the solenoid??? or disconnect it .

your reply will be very very helpfull thanks inadvance

thats where the problem starts cause it's a original setup
i've heard people say when u disconnect the wire from the ecu the engine wont start
but this solution is for guys out there who did a conversion and the engine came with an automatic tranny and they are using a gearbox and vice versa

QG

Postby QG » June 1st, 2007, 9:58 pm

Azis, i have another great question 4 u; with the Greddy MSS isn't it possible to turbo the vvl with at least 7psi?

Now if you're using the tach light :D , can you still go about turboing the vvl with 7psi safely? Can the tach together with a JIM WOLF BRAIN manage the vvl and turbo on the engine?

MRM

Postby MRM » June 2nd, 2007, 12:45 am

azis wrote:
hi azis
i'm from sri lanka & i have a Vz-R wih SR16VE engine,

when you connect the tach on the two ground wires on the both solenoids......
are you still going to keep the ECU line to to the solenoid??? or disconnect it .

your reply will be very very helpfull thanks inadvance

thats where the problem starts cause it's a original setup
i've heard people say when u disconnect the wire from the ecu the engine wont start
but this solution is for guys out there who did a conversion and the engine came with an automatic tranny and they are using a gearbox and vice versa

thanks for your reply , i'm trying to work with my technician on this trying to find a solution,

meantime if you come across any solution it will be very helpfull too.

MRM

Postby MRM » June 2nd, 2007, 12:47 am

Nissan QG15DE wrote:and welcome MRM, i'm a great fan of vvl power.

thanks for the welcome guys

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » June 2nd, 2007, 12:59 am

Nissan QG15DE wrote:Azis, i have another great question 4 u; with the Greddy MSS isn't it possible to turbo the vvl with at least 7psi?

Now if you're using the tach light :D , can you still go about turboing the vvl with 7psi safely? Can the tach together with a JIM WOLF BRAIN manage the vvl and turbo on the engine?

azis

Postby azis » June 4th, 2007, 7:31 am

^^^^ what would the greddy mss do for you that the tach hooked up to the solenoids wont do when it comes to boost ?????????

Nothing.

the both is operating as the same thing except if you hook up the two solenoids on one of the mss switches u would have an extra switch to use probably for a water spray nozzle for ur intercooler or for a extra cooling fan

QG

Postby QG » June 6th, 2007, 6:57 pm

oh ok, thanks

wana-B-racer

Postby wana-B-racer » June 13th, 2007, 8:34 am

One question
You said that the Mss and the V manage are both expensive and hard to tune so i take it that with those you have to activate the cams as well as change the FUEL to compensate for the extra air in the combustion chambers, so they are tunable.But with just the tach and shiftlite how are you going to correct the fuel curve for the extra air in the combustion chambers or are you leaning out your engines? I think that in order to get the proper performance you need to use the right things made for it.IE Mss or V manage.

dry

Postby dry » June 13th, 2007, 8:42 am

MAF systems (like the SR engines) automatically take into account extra air coming in due to changes in an engine's volumetric efficiency, e.g. different cams or different cam profile, and add fuel as necessary. It measures the MASS of air coming in, not the pressure of it.

The ECUs on B16/B18,etc engines use a MAP sensor and need to be retuned when you change the engine's breathing significantly (hence the need to add fuel when you engage VTEC earlier).

So, long and short of it is: you can get by with a simple RPM switch with the SR16/20VE.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » June 13th, 2007, 10:52 am

you can get by with a simple RPM switch with the SR16/20VE.

Finally someone to support me. That Greddy MSS and tach gadget along with the MSD controler is not necessary. Summit RPM switches will do the job. :|

azis

Postby azis » June 13th, 2007, 10:52 am

^^^^thnx there dry

NiSmO-R

Postby NiSmO-R » September 5th, 2007, 12:46 pm

Picasso wrote:
you can get by with a simple RPM switch with the SR16/20VE.

Finally someone to support me. That Greddy MSS and tach gadget along with the MSD controler is not necessary. Summit RPM switches will do the job. :|

Yea but if you use switches then you can't put the VVL back to stock when you want to on the...... fly for some people thats a priority

BTW Great info azis I used the search lol!!!

DF1_2nR

Postby DF1_2nR » September 5th, 2007, 3:19 pm

Check here for more info if need be.

http://www.sr20forum.com/neovvl-guides/.

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » September 5th, 2007, 7:44 pm

Nice thread :P

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » October 19th, 2007, 3:22 am

questions

1 will the rpm switches and/or tach swicth work on a rb25de vvl

2 can it be put back to stock vvl after

3 how much hp gains would there be?

azis

Postby azis » October 19th, 2007, 5:55 pm

yes it would work and all you would have to knowis the stock setting so you could tune what ever unit you using back to that figure if needed, as in hp gains...... only a dyno will tell

QG

Postby QG » October 27th, 2007, 8:14 pm

There's a RB with VVL?

cjawahir

Postby cjawahir » October 27th, 2007, 10:48 pm

the tach with shift light idea works great , all you need is a ground signal to the vvl, taken from the shift light , you could always use a relay between the shift light and the vvl unit.

I also use MSD RPM SWITCH module set at 4000 rpm..

cj

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » October 30th, 2007, 2:33 pm

rb25vtc

QG

Postby QG » October 31st, 2007, 12:53 pm

oh i see, kinda figured is that u mean :? .

QG

Postby QG » July 23rd, 2008, 1:19 pm

azis wrote:and my advice dont use the greddy mss cause it real hard to hookup and tune
i tried it in my b15 and i got fed up and used a cheaper less hassle way to do it
i used a tach with a shift light and just hooked up the light to the solenoids :D :D :D

Sorry for bringing this up again, but it was brought to my attention that SR20VE has two cam switching mode. The 1st is the intake cam and then last is the exhaust cam. Vtec on the other hand switches both the intake and exhaust cams at the same time.
Now, can the tach simultaneously switch intake and exhaust cams on the VVL's?
Or does the tach switches them both at the same time?