Is it a must to transfer a vehicle when purchasing?

Havoc

Re: Is it a must to transfer a vehicle when purchasing?

Postby Havoc » March 16th, 2015, 8:15 am

Stick wit somting Japanese as ur first vehicle, parts easier to get wen u forq up

Bad Dog

Postby Bad Dog » March 18th, 2015, 12:42 pm

kevk3v wrote:Hi Tuners, I just found a really good deal on a car, but the guy who is the current owner did not transfer it to his name. He has a certified copy though. Do you recommend I make sure and get the car transferred or is the receipt enough? He said he can get me in touch with the guy he purchased it from to get it transferred. :cry:
This is my first time buying/owning a car, everyone wants me to buy this.

Your mechanic already gave you the best advice. If, however you really want to buy this car make sure of the following:
1. Have the seller update the engine change on the certified copy, i.e. going to LO and doing a legit engine change and paying the taxes if required.
2. Make sure the seller's name is on the certified copy (because you are paying him) also, it proves that it's his car.
3. There are no liens on the car.

HSA

Postby HSA » March 19th, 2015, 1:37 pm

this day and age men debating whether or not to buy a tie up car......25k is a decent b12 or b13..parts easy..alot on the road so it easy finding one...my advice is doh hurt your head with this tie up scene.....

This is what I do when looking for a car

1) locate a car
2)go with a trusted mechanic
3) check certified copy to see if its in the person's name
4) if not walk away.
5) if it is proced to check engine #, chassis # etc to make sure its the same vehicle.
6) check body,undercarriage etc. for previous damages from accidents
7) check engine, brakes, transmission, lights etc by a test drive.
8 ) when test driving, come to a complete stop and mash out, any faults with injectors, carb, throttle body etc will be noticed by the mechanic.
8.5) lock steering all on either side and do some turns...listen to any knocking, grating noise etc.
9) get a nice stretch and run it flat out for about 5mins..any engine issues will most likely appear
10)ask for a best price and cry the man down....could save you some 1000s if you lucky

redrum

Postby redrum » March 19th, 2015, 2:34 pm

What does this long story have to do with topic? Men who usually come with cry story, run them!!!!!! cause they ain't have no money to buy.......

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » March 26th, 2015, 10:39 pm

ive bought a few cars in the recent years and would never get into the headache of buying a vehicle from someone who doesnt have it in their name.

usually the sweeter the deal, the more bs behind the scenes.