The Official Car Care Thread

Re: What kind of car polish or wax you use on your car?

Postby pioneer » April 7th, 2012, 6:23 pm

I was a bit disturbed when the cashier jus handed me a wired machine with some kinda dot-matrix display...i was like what is this?...she said thaz de linx machine :?

At one point the plug came out and she stuck it back in with a piece of tape :?

Karim Khan

What kind of car polish or wax you use on your car?

Postby Karim Khan » April 7th, 2012, 7:11 pm

Guys I think we are losing the point of the topic. Let's focus on automotive detailing.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » April 8th, 2012, 7:16 am

Meh...decent selection for the "common" person I guess.

If I may suggest a couple things:

Their wash mitt is a let down (the "noodle" MF wash mitts are alot better. I didn't like the Megs at all ). I would have bought the NXT SPeed Detailer over what you bought there (I'm assuming that the red bottle is Quik Wax or Quik Detailer). The red bottle ones are for n00bs honestly. Speed Detailer is much better in terms of lubricity for dust removal, has a darkening effect on paint, and costs not much more. And for a detailer, it will outlast QuikWax. Plus it gives AMAZING water beading.

The Gold Class is probably the only really good thing in that pic (it is the awesomeest car wash evar! :D ).

I was a bit disturbed when the cashier jus handed me a wired machine with some kinda dot-matrix display...i was like what is this?...she said thaz de linx machine

Well if there was a better distribution of Megs products locally, you wouldn't have had to go thru that to get them. So far, I've only come across one place with their stuff -i.e. price club.

Can't even find a simple megs foam applicator anywhere else. By contrast, the majority of the Mothers full line is easily available in many stores around the country.

It's good that Ltech is catering to the "masses", but are they bringing in any higher end stuff for actual detailing enthusiasts? I'm not talking pleb stuff like wash mitts and whatnot that was posted previously. I mean like:

1) Hi-Tech Yellow Wax

2) Ultimate WaWAnywhere

3) M105? M205?

4) G110v2?

etc etc

So far, I still have to buy online.
Last edited by DSM_05 on April 8th, 2012, 9:30 am, edited 3 times in total.

Postby Stephon. » April 8th, 2012, 7:31 am

DSM_05 you're an aspiring detailer?

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » April 8th, 2012, 9:17 am

As a business, no, I don't care to. I'm just particular when it comes to detailing.

gfbl

Postby gfbl » April 8th, 2012, 10:40 am

anywhere locally has 6.5 inch meguiars polishing pads or lake country polishing pads?

Postby pioneer » April 8th, 2012, 12:19 pm

Hence I said i bought what i needed :|

Yeh it's the quik detailer to deal wid bird droppins n other random crap

nemesis

Postby nemesis » April 8th, 2012, 1:47 pm

gfbl wrote:anywhere locally has 6.5 inch meguiars polishing pads or lake country polishing pads?

For which machine? What type of pads?
I went 2 weeks ago to Lubetech to attempt to get foam pads but didn't. Bought Lake Country CCS online.
My Griot's pads were behaving strange recently. Haven't tried the Lake Country yet. Will do in a few weeks.

Postby pioneer » April 8th, 2012, 1:56 pm

I have these 3 i bought and never used...won't be using it soon since i need to paint over first

Could give you all 3 for $300

http://www.amazon.com/Meguiars-6-5-Inch ... 722&sr=8-1

http://www.amazon.com/Meguiars-6-5-Inch ... 722&sr=8-3

http://www.amazon.com/Meguiars-6-5-Inch ... 722&sr=8-4

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » April 8th, 2012, 5:56 pm

This is one of the best tire products that i have ever used

Postby MG Man » April 8th, 2012, 7:10 pm

meh..Super Clean tyre shine does same, no rubbing

gfbl

Postby gfbl » April 8th, 2012, 7:25 pm

nemesis wrote:
gfbl wrote:anywhere locally has 6.5 inch meguiars polishing pads or lake country polishing pads?

For which machine? What type of pads?
I went 2 weeks ago to Lubetech to attempt to get foam pads but didn't. Bought Lake Country CCS online.
My Griot's pads were behaving strange recently. Haven't tried the Lake Country yet. Will do in a few weeks.

its for the meguiars 110v2, how is the ccs working for you. will try for the lake country first then the megs pads. Thanks though pioneer

Postby pioneer » April 8th, 2012, 7:26 pm

no prob it here if you want it

nemesis

Postby nemesis » April 8th, 2012, 9:35 pm

gfbl, I haven't tried them yet. Will let you know when I do. That is of course if I'm good enough to tell the difference.
Karim for some reason I can't see which product you posted there. What is it?

Karim Khan

What kind of car polish or wax you use on your car?

Postby Karim Khan » April 8th, 2012, 9:59 pm

It's the Meguiar's High Endurance . One of the best products for tires

aidan

Postby aidan » April 8th, 2012, 10:03 pm

Guys what do you all use to dry after wash?

nemesis

Postby nemesis » April 8th, 2012, 10:09 pm

Karim Khan wrote:It's the Meguiar's High Endurance . One of the best products for <a href="http://motors.shop.ebay.com/eBay-Motors-/6000/i.html?_nkw=tires&_trksid=p5197.m570.l1313&_rdc=1" rel="nofollow" target="_blank" title="Link added by VigLink" class="vglnk">tires</a>

That's the extremely shiny one? Does it sling badly?

aidan wrote:Guys what do you all use to dry after wash?

Microfiber drying towel, compressed air or blower are what I use. Another common option is the jelly blade.

I use the towel wrongly though. I swipe instead of pat. It's one of those things I just prefer to do. I can't go around the car spreading the towel and patting lightly. Tried it, and it annoys me somehow. Point being, if you want to do it right, pat dry if you're with a towel or use a spray on drying aid and swipe. In some cases you can use speed detailers for this.

syntax

Postby syntax » April 8th, 2012, 10:11 pm

the hot tire shine in my opinion will out shine the endurance.

it has a deep wet looking shine but it does not last as long

the endurance however will last longgggggggg

i even tried it on my trims and two weeks now they are still black

aidan

Postby aidan » April 8th, 2012, 10:27 pm

Had some time today so I cleaned up meh Jimny.

Used Turtle Wax car wash (the one from price smart), then Mother's Step 1 and 2 from the 3 step system and then Meguiars Gold Class Caranuba wax and mothers back to black on the trim. Used some no touch wheel cleaner thing I bought in pricesmart a while back, but my wheels got back dirty when i drove out d road. Came out really well, the red is veryyy deep.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » April 8th, 2012, 10:48 pm

Good, but you did some extra work for no gain there.

Gold Class Wax will undo the glazing of the Mother's Step 2. Why you ask? Well Step 2 is a micro polish + glaze...so it adds gloss and fills swirls. Gold Class Wax is NOT just a straight wax. It also includes very mild cleaners and polishing agents which also serve to achieve the same glazing/filling effect. It also removes some of the existing fillers underneath it (so you can't really layer GC Wax)

So technically, you didn't have to use Step 2 at all.

Next time around, you can go from the Step 1 straight to Gold Class.

Van looks great man - make sure and keep that shine going by dumping the junk turtlewax wash and using a megs car wash to complement your megs wax :D

Meguiar's TnT

Postby Meguiar's TnT » April 9th, 2012, 9:05 am

DSM_05 wrote:
[img]<a%20class="vglnk"%20title="Link%20added%20by%20VigLink"%20target="_blank"%20rel="nofollow"%20href="http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c111/saudu/IMG-20120407-00111.jpg[/img][/quote">http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c111/saudu/IMG-20120407-00111.jpg[/img][/quote</a>]

Meh...decent selection for the "common" person I guess.

If I may suggest a couple things:

Their wash mitt is a let down (the "noodle" MF wash mitts are alot better. I didn't like the Megs at all ). I would have bought the NXT SPeed Detailer over what you bought there (I'm assuming that the red bottle is Quik Wax or Quik Detailer). The red bottle ones are for n00bs honestly. Speed Detailer is much better in terms of lubricity for dust removal, has a darkening effect on paint, and costs not much more. And for a detailer, it will outlast QuikWax. Plus it gives AMAZING water beading.

The Gold Class is probably the only really good thing in that pic (it is the awesomeest car wash evar! :D ).

I was a bit disturbed when the cashier jus handed me a wired machine with some kinda dot-matrix display...i was like what is this?...she said thaz de linx machine

Well if there was a better distribution of Megs products locally, you wouldn't have had to go thru that to get them. So far, I've only come across one place with their stuff -i.e. price club.

Can't even find a simple megs foam applicator anywhere else. By contrast, the majority of the Mothers full line is easily available in many stores around the country.

It's good that Ltech is catering to the "masses", but are they bringing in any higher end stuff for actual detailing enthusiasts? I'm not talking pleb stuff like wash mitts and whatnot that was posted previously. I mean like:

1) Hi-Tech Yellow Wax

2) Ultimate WaWAnywhere

3) M105? M205?

4) G110v2?

etc etc

So far, I still have to buy online.

We have quite a full line of the Detailer and Professional Products in stock and more arriving this week, including the 2012 products like the Wash & Wax Anywhere.

With regards to not finding the products anywhere but price club, find that hard to believe. There are a lot more shops carrying Meguiar's now (maybe not to the extent of price club) but some others do have quite a good range. If you wish, PM us with the area you are from and we can direct you to other locations.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » April 9th, 2012, 10:03 am

^^Well I'm not new to detailing...and I'm a long standing Meguiars customer (just before NXT version 1.0 came out :D ), and I still find sourcing your products locally to be a pain. Will PM you my location.

I also visited Lubetech directly (out of curiosity), and was left disappointed. Poor selection (again, the only place I've ever seen a X3070/W0004 foam applicator was Price Club) - and the people @Ltech were not even helpful when I enquired about Meg products. I asked about availability Ultimate Quik Detailer, and the lady there (@ Lubetech) went as far brush off my request since she doubted that that product even existed! :roll:

I asked if I could order it...got a flat no. They bring in fixed shipments and only had the basic Quik Detailer coming in (luckily I got a bottle in Price Club).

By contrast, the agents for two other competing products (Mothers being one) are WELL stocked (for example) are much more accomodating.

Plus their products are easier to find. Let me paint a picture for you....a certain popular Care Care/Detailing store I went to had a full shelf of Mothers products (almost their full line, polishes, waxes, glazes, applicators). Next to it, they had a full rack of AG products. When I turned to the Meguiars shelf, well yes :lol:, two GC Wax tins, some basic quik detailer, Ultimate Compound, GC car wash, an DC car wash. No ultimate polish! No DC wax! no DC polish! Not even a foam applicator or supreme shine MF! The only place that has any decent stock is Price Club.

Sorry, but my comments still stand.

P.S. Aside from Price Club, I have seen Megs products in WHScott (north), a couple of automotive stores in north and south, but again, nothing comprehensive.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » April 9th, 2012, 7:15 pm

Agreed. Their products aren't spread throughout the country very well. The odd thing is that the places that carry good stock aren't car care retailers. For example, in the San Fernando area you can get an okish variety of Meguiar's products at Bel Air store in Marabella, but in Carplus you can't find anything past the gold class car wash and the NXT AIO and spray. Doesn't make sense simply because if I was home and decided to go look for car care products, I'd go to a store that sells specifically that. Worse yet if you try to ask for advice on which product to use. It's just not good for marketing.
And yes, the customer service at LubeTech isn't the best. Had quite a disappointing run there a few weeks ago. And that's after driving up the highway specifically to go there.

Considering it's not just one person having these experiences I'd say the marketing needs some repairs. But it can be done. And it might not take too long either.

Postby pioneer » April 9th, 2012, 7:17 pm

Cuz trinis believe in mothers...they only know mothers and amorall

sigh

People ain't gonna take the risk to bring in high end products for a niche market

Postby Stephon. » April 9th, 2012, 7:22 pm

Well I'd guess if Megulars aren't spread as much as Mothers, then people would just go for the Mothers products, maybe if Megulars were a bit more exposed in Trinidad people would start buying them. Still waiting on a reply from Meguiar's TnT.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » April 9th, 2012, 8:55 pm

aidan wrote:Had some time today so I cleaned up meh Jimny.

Used Turtle Wax car wash (the one from price smart), then Mother's Step 1 and 2 from the 3 step system and then Meguiars Gold Class Caranuba wax and mothers back to black on the trim. Used some no touch wheel cleaner thing I bought in pricesmart a while back, but my wheels got back dirty when i drove out d road. Came out really well, the red is veryyy deep.

Nice pics Aidan, keep up the good work. I admire people who are proud to post pics of their work as there are a lot of people on this thread who talk so much about detailing products and i never saw them post a pic of their work.

Blackbyrd

Postby Blackbyrd » April 9th, 2012, 9:09 pm

I use the Smart Wax, it's very easy to apply and buff off. I even use it on my kitchen counter tops.

The dealer is extremely helpful as well.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » April 9th, 2012, 9:45 pm

pioneer wrote:Cuz trinis believe in mothers...they only know mothers and amorall

sigh

People ain't gonna take the risk to bring in high end products for a niche market

Disagree.
1. Meguiar's should be sold alongside the Mother's. If you check the prices of the products that are available, it isn't much more expensive, if at all. I agree if you're bringing in expensive high end products it should only be in small volume, but i don't think that's the case here.
2. The fact that even just on this thread people are talking about it means that there is demand for it and that many would like to try the Meguiar's instead of the Mother's. The reason you might think trinis only believe in mother's may have a lot to do with it's availability.

Karim Khan wrote:
aidan wrote:Had some time today so I cleaned up meh Jimny.

[img]<a href="http://forums.trinituner.com/upload/data/3c/jimnybess2.jpg[/img" rel="nofollow" target="_blank" title="Link added by VigLink" class="vglnk">http://forums.trinituner.com/upload/data/3c/jimnybess2.jpg[/img</a>]

Nice pics Aidan, keep up the good work. I admire people who are proud to post pics of their work as there are a lot of people on this thread who talk so much about detailing products and i never saw them post a pic of their work.

That Jimny does look good. Can't really fault people for not posting pics here though I think. It's just a personal preference I think.

I might be posting a few pics in a 2 weeks though. We go see how i feeling den.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » April 10th, 2012, 7:55 am

Where can I get a meguairs washmitt to buy today;East Trindiad?

Got mr Khan to detail my vehicle on this Saturday coming, but it looks aweful; thing needs a washdown.

Postby cinco » April 10th, 2012, 8:34 am

no plast-x dere?
1sigh