The Official Car Care Thread

Re: What kind of car polish or wax you use on your car?

Postby Stephon. » June 8th, 2012, 8:39 pm

Sooo, I have.

Meguiars Smoothe Surface Clay Kit
Meguiars Tech Wax NXT 2.0
Meguiars Hot Shine Tire Coating
Meguiars Perfect Clarity Glass Cleaner
Mirror Glaze Ultimate Wipe
Meguiars 2 Pack Soft Buff Terry Towels
Meguiars Interior Detailer
Meguiars Water Magnet Drying Towelx2
Meguiars Ultimate Quik Detailer
Meguiars Scratch X 2.0
Meguiars Brake Dust Barrier
Meguiars Ultimate Compound
Meguiars Even Coat 2 pack
Meguiars Soft Foam Applicator Pads 2 pack
Meguiars Body Wash Brush

&& I am yet to use any of these, every time I decide I'm going to wash the car, rain starts falling or something else comes up and I just end up driving through Peaks the next day.

Postby Stephon. » June 8th, 2012, 8:42 pm

Here they are just bundled up in a corner of the guest room :lol:

Postby r3iXmann » June 8th, 2012, 8:46 pm

Stephon, where u living again? Teggy need a wash this weekend :lol:

Postby cinco » June 8th, 2012, 8:47 pm

and the one thing i cant seem to find u are also missing no plast-x

Postby shogun » June 8th, 2012, 9:08 pm

'D hell! you lookin to blind people with that car, when you done man?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » June 8th, 2012, 9:42 pm

Stephon, nice Meguiar's collection man!!! Now you need to post the pic of the car when you finish !

aidan

Postby aidan » June 8th, 2012, 11:14 pm

Karim Khan wrote:
aidan wrote:Guys, I need some advice. I have a Suzuki SX4, which has the black trim right around the body. What can I use on it? I tired Mothers protectant, and back to black, but it goes away after a week or a little more and wash with water only. What could I use to keep it looking black and is available locally so I can get it by weekend.
Also, should I wax first and then handle the trim? The trim is a bit annoying to clean since some product always gets on the paint. Is that a problem?

Thanks.

Got it today! Got it in a store on Aranguez Main road. I think the name of the place is Sameera's auto supplies or sumting so. They have EVERYTHING MEGUIARS. Wish I walked with more cash.

trvs

Postby trvs » June 9th, 2012, 12:15 am

Nice, will check them out soon.

Postby Chimera » June 9th, 2012, 12:33 am

Stephon. wrote: every time I decide I'm going to wash the car, rain starts falling or something else comes up and I just end up driving through Peaks the next day.

i have the same problem..everytime i say i guh wash the car...is either rain or something else come up

for the past 2 weeks i have all my cleaning products in my trunk along with my DA polisher because I say i guh wash it a evening when i by my gf or sum...never get time

if u see how nasty meh car is yes :(

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 9th, 2012, 1:24 am

cinco wrote:and the one thing i cant seem to find u are also missing no plast-x

I now coming to ask where I can find this to buy in south.

Any other recogmendation I could use in place of the plastx?

I just want a few drops to clean my deck face, idk what the car wash guys used to clean my center console and now the deck face is clouded. I tried wiping it off but no nothing. It was recommended I use the plastx.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » June 9th, 2012, 8:04 am

About the Squeezy: I doh even bother with these people. Advise them, if they doh listen, doh bother. Last time I was home I was discussing cleaning with someone, showed them the beading and shine on my car.. after which the comment was : "It looking good, but hear dis nah, when you Rain-x the whole car like that it doh damage the paint?"
End of convo.

Kurpal I believe I saw Plast-X in Bel Air store in Marabella. Was a few mths ago though. If not, there are other plastic polishes around. Try something.

Stephon : Shoulda leave out the NXT and try some of the products separately from the Mirror Glaze line.

Postby r3iXmann » June 9th, 2012, 8:12 am

nemesis wrote:About the Squeezy: I doh even bother with these people. Advise them, if they doh listen, doh bother. Last time I was home I was discussing cleaning with someone, showed them the beading and shine on my car.. after which the comment was : "It looking good, but hear dis nah, when you Rain-x the whole car like that it doh damage the paint?"
End of convo.

same. used to warn my father about washing his previous car with squezy and he didnt take me on til i showed him some comparison pics of the paint when he first got it compared to a year later :lol: :x

Karim Khan

What kind of car polish or wax you use on your car?

Postby Karim Khan » June 9th, 2012, 9:06 am

This is want I am using today ,

Postby eliteauto » June 9th, 2012, 9:38 am

anyone knows where I can get both a car wash concentrate and tyre shine in bulk? I need 100gals of each would take them in 5 gal containers if possible

Postby Stephon. » June 9th, 2012, 10:42 am

Kind of off topic but slightly on topic, where can I get paper mats to buy to protect my rubber mats after I clean it?

Also the sun is up and I will attempt to actually do some work today.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » June 9th, 2012, 1:35 pm

eliteauto wrote:anyone knows where I can get both a car wash concentrate and tyre shine in bulk? I need 100gals of each would take them in 5 gal containers if possible

Karim could organize you for Meguiar's stuff most likely.
Must have some other dealers around Trini if you want a different brand though. Otherwise, Autogeek for it.

Stephon. wrote:Kind of off topic but slightly on topic, where can I get paper mats to buy to protect my rubber mats after I clean it?

Also the sun is up and I will attempt to actually do some work today.

Doh be driving around with paper over your mat eh. Much more likely to allow your foot to slip. It eh too safe.

Postby Stephon. » June 9th, 2012, 7:31 pm

Went to price smart today and got a Smart Vac vacuum.

-Vacuumed the interior and trunk
-Took out mats
-Used the glimour foam gun with the citrus foam thingy
-Proceeded to wash with mit using the two bucket method
-Rinse / Dry with Meguiars water magnet (which was unimpressive by the way)
-Rubbed hand on the surface and didn't really hear any kind of "noises" so I skipped claying (I was already tired at this point)
-Used Meguiars NXT 2.0 with the foam thing and Meguiars 100% cotton wipe to dry
at this point I'm ready to go inside and sleep
-Used Meguiars quik detailer on the car after using the NXT
-Used Meguiars Perfect Clarity Glass Cleaner / Meguiars interior detailer for the inside bits
-Sprayed febreeze :lol:
-Used Meguiars hot tire shine and brake dust barrier on tires
-Drank a beer with my friend that came over to watch :lol:

We took some pics:

I didn't even use half of these I do not know why I brought them all downstairs :lol:

After exterior

Interior (sorry you probably can't really see the interior detailers work in here because it's a camera phone pic but it looks a lot better in person)

Looking forward to doing it again

Postby Rory Phoulorie » June 9th, 2012, 7:59 pm

eliteauto wrote:anyone knows where I can get both a car wash concentrate and tyre shine in bulk? I need 100gals of each would take them in 5 gal containers if possible

Are you looking for brand name stuff or generic stuff? Lanher and Unipet (both local brands) have their own line of car wash stuff. Perhaps you can contact either of them to see what they can offer in bulk quantities.

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 9th, 2012, 8:01 pm

Nice work steffy!!

Postby eliteauto » June 9th, 2012, 8:08 pm

Rory Phoulorie wrote:

Are you looking for brand name stuff or generic stuff? Lanher and Unipet (both local brands) have their own line of car wash stuff. Perhaps you can contact either of them to see what they can offer in bulk quantities.

generic is fine cause it's for a fleet of vehicles, called Lanher earlier this week and they have discontinued the bulk sales, will be talking with Roach on Monday to see if I can special order the quantity

Postby shogun » June 9th, 2012, 8:27 pm

Stephon. wrote:Went to price smart today and got a Smart Vac vacuum.

*envies*

How much did the smart vac, set you back?

Postby Stephon. » June 9th, 2012, 8:43 pm

Vac cost 600, I heard it was more last month

Postby equipped2ripp » June 9th, 2012, 9:18 pm

eliteauto wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:

generic is fine cause it's for a fleet of vehicles, called Lanher earlier this week and they have discontinued the bulk sales, will be talking with Roach on Monday to see if I can special order the quantity

Call Gable-X, they're in Chase Village. They have the car wash in the 5 gallon bottles. They might have a protectant too... Not sure about that one.

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 9th, 2012, 9:19 pm

dont rest your washing cloth etc on the floor man....better to put em in a bucket...

Postby eliteauto » June 9th, 2012, 9:31 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:
eliteauto wrote:
Rory Phoulorie wrote:

Call Gable-X, they're in Chase Village. They have the car wash in the 5 gallon bottles. They might have a protectant too... Not sure about that one.

Just googled them and yes they have both, will call them on Monday, thanks

GoS

Postby GoS » June 9th, 2012, 9:32 pm

where in south can u get Meguiars to buy

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » June 9th, 2012, 9:35 pm

^^Stephon, I don't mean to be harsh, but buying X amount of products makes no sense if you can't use them properly.

Resting your drying and washing tools on the dusty ground is a horrible horrible sin in the world of detailers. Take your watermagnet MEgs drying towel for instance. Nice towel but you've placed it directly on the ground from what I can see (maybe my eyes deceive me).

Mfibre is like a magnet when it comes to dust and dirt. Betcha that cloth picked up some minor grit from the ground....dusting out that cloth will NOT remove that grit (needs to machine wash).

SO that grit got on your cloth, then went grinding away on your paint as you dried.

So if you used that Megs Water Magnet towel that's on the ground in that pic, to dry your PAINT, you WILL have inflicted swirling on your paint. There is no if and but - it WILL happen.

Take a picture of the paint in direct/bright sunlight to see if it has swirls or not, and in the future, try to keep all cloths that touch your paint out of contact with surfaces that may have dirt/sand/the like.

My advice - keep a separate clean tub or bucket to toss your towels in when you use them. If you're as particular as I am, you keep polishing and waxing cloths separate/out of contact, since you don't want any polishing agents to end up on your waxing cloths.

I should be doing a quick detail for a friends car tomorrow. WIll endeavour to take pics if he brings his camera. Simple two bucket was, clay, and AIO. May follow up with Wolfgang Deep Gloss Spritz Sealant (yeah, spray sealant alone!) just for laughs and giggles, but we'll see how time and weather goes.

Postby equipped2ripp » June 9th, 2012, 9:51 pm

GoS wrote:where in south can u get Meguiars to buy

Bel Air Store in Marabella
Unipet in Harmony Hall also has, but not a wide range. Prices in Bel Air are better though.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » June 9th, 2012, 9:57 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:
GoS wrote:where in south can u get Meguiars to buy

Bel Air Store in Marabella
Unipet in Harmony Hall also has, but not a wide range. Prices in Bel Air are better though.

Bel Air Store's inventory is limited. I went there yesterday and did not really see a wide range of Meguiar's products.

Postby equipped2ripp » June 9th, 2012, 10:05 pm

Well I haven't really seen anywhere else in South that sells them, but their prices are good. If you're looking for the basics, then Bel Air would suit you. Price Club in CPM Chag has the widest range I've seen so far, but then again I don't really shop around much for car care locally.

BTW Stephon, Price Club sold out on the Body Wash brush eh... Didn't see any today!