Re: Fiberglass build (updated pg3)

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 6th, 2011, 8:52 pm

very nice man!!!!

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 14th, 2011, 12:10 am

veryyy nice build rene! i wud like to do a build like this somthin in d L2! :)

Postby 3stagevtec » February 14th, 2011, 6:31 pm

^ fiber glass builds can be fun and you can make some really cool / unique stuff!

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 14th, 2011, 10:01 pm

welll i can see that...! goin to try it as soon as i buy back a amp and sub!

TEAM SPL

Postby TEAM SPL » February 18th, 2011, 9:17 pm

hw much u paid for that sundown 8''

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » February 18th, 2011, 10:06 pm

TEAM SPL wrote:hw much u paid for that sundown 8''

At the time, we paid $800 for the Sundown E8. However, I don't think it's in production still, so if you have to get a Sundown 8", try the SA-8".

Right. My new amp has arrived. Presenting the Kicker KX850.4.
It's BIG!
It's HEAVY!
It's rated at 850 Wrms, but the Birth Sheet says 1020Wrms. :drinking:
And it has all the speakers in the van crying...

I didn't get a chance to give the amp full volume yet for fear that the electrical system in the van isn't good enough. I will have to re-run bigger and better wires to the back of the van behind the seat as this amp certainly will not fit under the passenger seat. Right now, my focus is on the fiberglass enclosure. Will begin to modify that tomorrow. So far, all I did was cut out the original port. I must say, damn resin and fiberglass is strong... Sat down with a saw and crowbar trying to get it out.

Will post more pics as I continue and will give a review of the Kicker when I upgrade the electrical. I can also do a power test later on...

Postby nervewrecker » February 18th, 2011, 10:20 pm

you sellin that nokia lol

nice amp, I cant imagine how great its gonna sound with more power, keep us posted.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » February 18th, 2011, 11:22 pm

nice amp !

now what d ol man doing bout d front door speakers ... :mrgreen:

Postby 3stagevtec » February 19th, 2011, 2:26 pm

^ We will get some better drivers in time. My bro as alot more access to this vehicle now, so it will be properly tuned for daily listening.. :wink:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » February 19th, 2011, 8:41 pm

very 1st ting is to move d tweeters by yuh kneecyap ...... :lol: :lol: :lol:

shaker

Postby shaker » February 19th, 2011, 10:33 pm

man di seck d amp yes ..............

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » February 19th, 2011, 10:44 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:very 1st ting is to move d tweeters by yuh kneecyap ...... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Already planning to get rid of those tweeters... Infact, one of them not working anymore. Don't know why, but going to get these new tweeters next month:
http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PUSA/Car/Speakers/Special+Application/TS-T110

We had them a while ago in the other vehicle and they sounded great. They will be installed in the dash board by the base of the front pillars facing upwards. If I can find some Mazda B2500 front pillars in good condition to buy, I will put away the original pillars and cut/install the tweeters in the new pillars to face to the side.

shaker wrote:man di seck d amp yes ..............

You know us already. Had to make sure everything inside was stock and never repaired. The amp was used (Previous owner drilled 2 holes in the mounting bracket where you screw down the amp), but everything is just 100% good. It was a good buy. No regrets. Thanks for the great deal...

Postby 3stagevtec » February 19th, 2011, 11:16 pm

Those Pioneers do sound amazing.. excellent SQ..

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » February 19th, 2011, 11:31 pm

Alright guys. I said I was going to work on the enclosure and leave the amp install for later, but due to heavy rain, I couldn't work outside. So I decided to get some work done on the amplifier.

The new location of the amp. The Mazda B2500 has very little room behind the back seat. Don't know any flat sub that can fit behind that in a proper enclosure. Thank goodness the Kicker amp can fit.

Two railings made out of flat steel which will be mounted to the van and the amp mounted to it.

This is basically how the amp will be mounted to the flat steel.

Flat steel mounted to the van.

Amp mounted in place. It's quite strong and I'm sure it will not move no matter how rough the ride gets.

Installed the back rest and it fits properly. When the back rest is folded close, there is still some room from the face of the amp and the seat. Just enough for the cooling from the internal fan. Also, there is still enough room behind the seat to store jumper cables, an umbrella, the jack and its components, tarpaulin, a good bit of rope and the always handy, 2 empty beer bottles for the rough evening...

That is all for today. Tomorrow, hopefully if I get some good weather, I will continue work on the enclosure and source some wires to connect the Kicker amp.

Postby nervewrecker » February 20th, 2011, 12:00 am

are those purlin screws I see there being used to secure the brackets to the van?

Isnt there some issue with galvanic reaction between metals & yadda yadda yadda. I cant remember off hand if it occurs only between some types of metals.

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » February 20th, 2011, 1:04 am

slacker_jack wrote:are those purlin screws I see there being used to secure the brackets to the van?

Isnt there some issue with galvanic reaction between metals & yadda yadda yadda. I cant remember off hand if it occurs only between some types of metals.

Yea. They made life easy screwing down the flat steel to the van. Not sure if there will be a reaction to cause rusting. If I remember correctly, it occurs between anodic and cathodic metals. Aluminum is anodic, not sure what purlin is made from. I think it's steel, which is also anodic. I did spray the purlin screws and the van with Rust Inhibitor. If it still shows signs of rusting, I will coat it with some silicon to prevent oxygen from getting to it thus preventing rust.

shaker

Postby shaker » February 20th, 2011, 8:05 am

You know us already. Had to make sure everything inside was stock and never repaired. The amp was used (Previous owner drilled 2 holes in the mounting bracket where you screw down the amp), but everything is just 100% good. It was a good buy. No regrets. Thanks for the great deal...[/quote]

Sorry about but the person i got the amp from said it was new and well, u saw the packaging for yourself , i didn,t bother to open it ............. Again , sorry for the wrong info renul...

shaker

Postby shaker » February 20th, 2011, 8:08 am

cvt-7_RR wrote:

You know us already. Had to make sure everything inside was stock and never repaired. The amp was used (Previous owner drilled 2 holes in the mounting bracket where you screw down the amp), but everything is just 100% good. It was a good buy. No regrets. Thanks for the great deal...

Sorry about but the person i got the amp from said it was new and well, u saw the packaging for yourself , i didn,t bother to open it ............. Again , sorry for the wrong info renul...

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » February 20th, 2011, 11:13 am

shaker wrote:
cvt-7_RR wrote:

Sorry about but the person i got the amp from said it was new and well, u saw the packaging for yourself , i didn,t bother to open it ............. Again , sorry for the wrong info Runul...

Don't study it. I saw all that when I was looking at it and still bought it. Slight cosmetic damages don't really bother me. I looked inside and as far as I can see, it looked clean. Doesn't really show signs of long use (i.e. Dust build up). The insides wern't smelling burnt or anything either. So once the circuit board good, I more than happy. Besides, like I said, it was a bess price. 

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » February 20th, 2011, 1:05 pm

good job man ...

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » February 24th, 2011, 6:54 pm

Alright. Got some work done on the enclosure yesterday and today.

Went to a car glass tinting shop and asked for one of the plastic pipe rolls they wrap the tint on. Really didn't want to spend any money on an entire length of PVC pipe just for a short piece. Had to shrink the diameter of the pipe because it was slightly too big for the 3" flare hence the reason I was cutting out a piece of the pipe. Just have to put it over the stove now and join it together.

Bagged and taped up the port so the resin wouldn't get to it. Then taped it in place and made a paper mold that I can use to seal off the port. I'm planning on making it a little external for two reasons. The first one is because the more port length I can get, the lower the tuning. Second is because of how the side of the enclosure is slanted, the port cannot be flush with the side. In this picture, it is not going to be sticking out the side of the enclosure this much. I just made it come out this far to make the process of making the paper mold easier. I will go back in a little when I'm finished. I'm giving up a little comfort sitting in the middle of the back seat in the van for sound quality. But just a little.

Applied the resin and left it over night to dry.

The end result this morning was that. I didn't take a picture of when I trimmed the resin to allow the port to go into the enclosure more.

I placed the port back in and taped it up so I can full the hole with resin.

Finally I filled the hole up with resin and fiberglass. Also patched up the original hole where the old port was. Just have to wait until tomorrow to work on the outside of the port and shape it neat and curved.

Also, this is what happens when you get the mixture of resin and hardener wrong. 108.4 Degrees Celsius. It was actually smoking before I measured the temperature. First time we got it wrong, the resin developed cracks. But that was without the fiberglass. Not sure if it will crack up with the fiberglass. It shouldn't matter though because its just to hold the port in place.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » February 24th, 2011, 8:41 pm

wow thats hot!!!

DooMRR

Postby DooMRR » March 7th, 2011, 11:21 am

The amplifier has been installed and the enclosure has been put together.

The amp however is getting very hot under high power so I am in the process of building a back plate with fans on it. The heat sink is at the back of the amp.

The enclosure's port right now is held in place with duct tape because I still have to sand the resin smooth. Then I can screw down the port. Will take a video when I finish. 

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » March 7th, 2011, 11:32 am

looking bessss.........