Ohms

Re: Ohms

Postby 3stagevtec » May 4th, 2011, 5:29 pm

Patman wrote:@kasey lets help..........2ohm stable..........4 channel bridge makes 2x700 watts????

ok........instead of eight wires from 4 channels, now you have 4 wires coming out from the NOW 2 BRIDGED CHANNELS............

so you parallel your speakers and should end up with all 3 speakers having 2 current wires........

so on the amp it bridged with 2 + and 2 -............

connect the 2 + to the + from the three speakers and the 2- to the - from the three speakers..............

I see the error here, wiring all speakers in parallel will result in a final load of 3.2ohms.. a typical 4CH amplifier is 4ohm stable when bridged, so this setup cannot work..

remember the amp is 2ohm stable per channel or 4ohm stable when bridged..

Postby 3stagevtec » May 4th, 2011, 5:34 pm

Norton12005 wrote:Tuners,

If you connect two 8 ohms speakers bridge you get 4 ohms

What would you get if you connect two 8 ohms and one 16 ohm speaker bridge?

how much speakers do you have in all? four 8ohms and two 16ohms?

mety57 wrote:fellas how can u test a speaker for wattage

the best method is to go with the speaker's spec sheet or manufacturer ratings..

but somehow I don't feel that is what you really want to know..

mety57

Postby mety57 » May 4th, 2011, 10:17 pm

aye fella what allyuh think about the lanzar 2channel monoblock the 1800watts that toiz wit noiz selling are those good product and it label as a class d amp

Postby nervewrecker » May 4th, 2011, 10:24 pm

mety57 wrote:aye fella what allyuh think about the lanzar 2channel monoblock the 1800watts that toiz wit noiz selling are those good product and it label as a class d amp

class d paper weight yo!

doublestenns

Postby doublestenns » May 4th, 2011, 10:55 pm

^^ that doz look cool 8-)

mety57

Postby mety57 » May 24th, 2011, 10:28 pm

aye fellas if a person plays a amp without the bass knob and cord attach would u get the true potential of the amp or does it matter attached or not

MONGO

Postby MONGO » May 24th, 2011, 10:45 pm

^^ it does not matter this knob just matches what is set on the amp i.e if the amplifier dial is lets say 0-15 and you set it to 8..then the max on the bass knob dial will be 8..and so on.

mety57

Postby mety57 » June 6th, 2011, 10:01 pm

hey guys does it matter with amps when coming to their fuse rating e.g. a lanzar 1800w v.s. a boss 3000w now the lanzar carries 3-30a fuses and the boss carries 2-35a fuses .......would the lanzar be more stable or more protected whats the purpose of the fuses

Postby 3stagevtec » June 6th, 2011, 10:25 pm

mety57 wrote:hey guys does it matter with amps when coming to their fuse rating e.g. a lanzar 1800w v.s. a boss 3000w now the lanzar carries 3-30a fuses and the boss carries 2-35a fuses .......would the lanzar be more stable or more protected whats the purpose of the fuses

Fuses are there to protect an amplifier from excessive overload. They can also be used to give you a general idea of the capability of an amplifier.

Looking at the both amps posted, you can safely say the Lanzar has more potential than the Boss..

Now there is a difference between peak power and RMS power. Basically, peak power is what an amplifier can produce in an instant.. and is more of a marketing gimmick than anything else..

RMS power is basically the average amount of power your amplifier can produce over a given time. Always use this figure when comparing amplifiers / speakers etc..

Both of those power figures you posted for the amplifiers are peak ratings. Ignore them both..

Postby 3stagevtec » June 6th, 2011, 10:37 pm

If you cannot find the RMS power figures for the amps, it means the manufacturer is intentionally hiding them, because their amps suck..

Look at the specs on this amplifier..

Sundown Audio SAZ 1500D
http://www.sundownaudio.com/index.php/products/item/saz-1500d-v2.html?category_id=1

Rated power output
----RMS power, 1 ohm mono
1500W x 1CH

----RMS power, 2 ohm mono 800W x 1CH
----RMS power, 4 ohm mono
400W x 1CH
Signal to Noise Ratio >90dB
Low pass frequency crossover 35Hz~300Hz
Subsonic filter 10Hz~60Hz
Bass boost @ 45Hz 0~18dB
Phase shift control 0~180 degree
Frequency response 10Hz~350Hz (+/- 1dB)
T.H.D @ 4 ohm <0.1%
Efficiency @ 4 ohm 86%
Fuse rating 40A x 4
Input Sensitivity 200mV to 6V (+/- 5%)
Dimensions 252(W) x 58(H) x 434(L)mm

Notice that even though it is only a '1500W' amplifier, you get a true 1500Wrms.. To make that, it requires 4 40A fuses!

From experience, that Boss 3000W(peak) only makes around ~750Wrms and the Lanzar would be around 1000Wrms.. Not as powerful as you expected eh..

FYI, that Sundown Amplifier can make as much as 1800Wrms @ 1ohm.. and if you know what you are doing, you can get as much as 2400Wrms out of it!!

Hope that clears this up abit..

mety57

Postby mety57 » June 7th, 2011, 8:26 pm

hey thanks alot man 1 more thing can a dual 4ohm speaker be hooked up to be 1ohm

Postby 3stagevtec » June 7th, 2011, 10:09 pm

mety57 wrote:hey thanks alot man 1 more thing can a dual 4ohm speaker be hooked up to be 1ohm

nope..

if you wire the sub in series, you will get 4 + 4 = 8ohms
if you wire it in parallel, you will get 4 / 2 = 2ohms..

google how to do series vs parallel wiring..

Norton12005

Postby Norton12005 » June 7th, 2011, 10:17 pm

mety mety, your boss gonna give you 900rms and d lanzar 700rms....

1 ohm no mety no mety

http://www.termpro.com/articles/spkrz.html

Postby 3stagevtec » June 7th, 2011, 10:41 pm

Norton12005 wrote:mety mety, your boss gonna give you 900rms and d lanzar 700rms....

1 ohm no mety no mety

Rough maths..

Boss has 2 35A fuses..

P = VI
P = 14V x 70A
P = 980W

Factor in efficiency at 80% and you end up with 784W..

Realistically, I just can't see that amp doing 900W...

Norton12005

Postby Norton12005 » June 8th, 2011, 5:34 pm

your correct............sry.........boss 700 lanzar 900

mety57

Postby mety57 » June 13th, 2011, 8:44 pm

3stagevtec wrote:
Norton12005 wrote:mety mety, your boss gonna give you 900rms and d lanzar 700rms....

1 ohm no mety no mety

Rough maths..

Boss has 2 35A fuses..

P = VI
P = 14V x 70A
P = 980W

Factor in efficiency at 80% and you end up with 784W..

Realistically, I just can't see that amp doing 900W...

hey what yuh saying really make sense but the thing about it the 70A fuse is really a safe zone so the amp would basically use less than 70A......... to really know how much amps it uses is too put a clamp on meter on the power wire

Postby 3stagevtec » June 13th, 2011, 10:12 pm

^ Agreed, the maths is really to give a rough idea..

notnice

Postby notnice » June 18th, 2011, 6:01 pm

simple.....multiply speaker1 by speaker2 an divide the total by the sum of all the speakers....eg 16*8=128
128/16+8....=128/24=5.3

mety57

Postby mety57 » October 15th, 2011, 10:57 pm

so if i have 2 4ohms and 2 8ohms what will be the sum