100K KM Local NZE review

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

[X]~Outlaw

100K KM Local NZE review

Postby [X]~Outlaw » January 17th, 2008, 9:32 am

Have the car for 3yrs and 4months.

Parts change due to being defective : none

Parts changed for regular maintenance :

1. Front rotors
2. Went through 2 sets of OEM brake pads
3. Oil filters
4. Accessory belt
5. Plugs...been using Denso IK16's since 20K km

Fluids Change as part of regular maintenance :

1. Coolant...used Honda original since i couldn't find the Toyota original (its the same thing just a different color dye)
2. Oil every 5K km...use mobile 5w30/10w30
3. Tranny fluid flush

Problems with the Vehicle to date : None
Complaints with vehicle : none
Complaints with TTTL : their prices a bit high...but the does deal cool with yuh..and everything is always in stock most of the time or they bring it in for you in about a week. Can't comment on the service department as i do my own labour.

I've driven the vehicle on almost every type of road and in every weather condition we could experience here. In stock form the rough road suspension is great for our piss poor roads...you literally don't feel a thing. But is like a boat in hard corners and feels a little unstable at high speeds on the highway. However on lowered springs it sits on the road quite nicely and handles very well (this is using S-Tech springs)

Fuel economy is great 550 for 130$ in premium and thats with quite a bit of hard driving.

A/C works perfect to date and has never had to be serviced
Car is comfortable and the electronic steering still amazes me in how soft it is at low speeds.

All in all i am very pleased with this vehicle and with TTTL parts department.

Postby Dave » January 17th, 2008, 10:04 am

excellent report and nothing short of what we have come to expert from a toyota

Chemical

Postby Chemical » January 17th, 2008, 12:21 pm

Bought 1 for my wife, now doing 23,000 km after 18 months now & works/rides really great. No parts changed except front disc pads.

She gets approx 450km on 130.00 gas, with a drop in the box K&N air filter, but this is the 1.6 VVT-I, the olny time i drive it is to the gas station on a sunday to fill the tank which i'm never reimbursed for it.

BTW this car does only 50km/week so that could explain the lower fuel consumption.

maintenance i do myself, have a cousin which lives in Barbados so the front pads he bought from toyota barbados for TT $620.00 as TTTL was asking 1350.00 with no discount.

Find its unstable though @ hi speeds probably cause the wingroad suspension is stiffer.

ONLY FAULT............this NZE model does not have much turning radius.

Truly a perfect ladies car.

Chemical. :wink:

ilovebeti

Postby ilovebeti » January 17th, 2008, 3:27 pm

nice review Chevy

Toyota ftw

karl

Postby karl » January 17th, 2008, 5:33 pm

strange.......i find the turning radius very good....try driving a bigger car like an accord or any van.

good review outlaw.....i'm pleased to hear that

i have 2 a 1.6 roro(80,000kms) and 1.5 new(23,000kms)

and both give me 400kms with $80 super....short trip driving.....i get more kms on the hiway.

never changed anything on them except oil, brakes, plugs,tyres, air/oil filter...acc. belt on 1.6, wiper blade rubber (toyota)........thats it........

great car.

Postby RBphoto » January 18th, 2008, 9:52 am

Only a few bad things i noticed abot the car:

The suspension, as stated is not very good. This is accentuated by the better braking of 4 wheel disc brakes (great braking+ poor suspension + crappy tires=poor braking)

A few of the plastic interior trim components do not stand up very well.

Acceleration not that good for the size of engine

No other problems that i noticed.

That is my oppinion of one of the rentals my company had, brand new fom the firm.

TRD tiger

Postby TRD tiger » January 18th, 2008, 4:44 pm

I would have to agree with outlaw and disagree with bhagan, my acceleration is fantastic and Turning radius is excellent for a wagon as i have a fielder and i had a lancer and Elantra before this.

ilovebeti

Postby ilovebeti » January 18th, 2008, 6:16 pm

still not getting how the Toyota has a 'poor suspension' :|

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » January 18th, 2008, 8:12 pm

ilovebeti wrote:still not getting how the Toyota has a 'poor suspension' :|

note his tuner ride.. he come to cause confusion wid d toyota camp??

i good with that, cause it mean thats one less man to bash the honda camp :lol:

ilovebeti

Postby ilovebeti » January 18th, 2008, 8:53 pm

i feel he thinks an almera is leaps and bounds ahead of a corolla :|

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » January 18th, 2008, 9:07 pm

ilovebeti wrote:i feel he thinks an almera is leaps and bounds ahead of a corolla :|

a 1.3 almera wit hard pong?

Advil
Location: searching for an avatar that will not offend the idiots

Postby Advil » January 18th, 2008, 9:10 pm

redsupra101 wrote:
ilovebeti wrote:i feel he thinks an almera is leaps and bounds ahead of a corolla :|

a 1.3 almera wit hard pong?

TRDcorolla

Postby TRDcorolla » January 19th, 2008, 12:10 am

i gotta nze and mmy pull of sweet and toyota known for bess suspension, and i does be doin real madd ness with a stock suspension like solodex and pullin hand brakes tryin to make the back end slide out so i really doh kno wa that man mean cuz the nze is a good car and it hav a bess pull off for a lil 1.5 engine cuz it waxing them other 1.6 and 1.8 cars on the road

ilovebeti

Postby ilovebeti » January 19th, 2008, 12:19 am

he's just a Nissan fanboy

chill :|

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » January 19th, 2008, 6:51 pm

hmmm.....mine going onto 130,000km and works great.

Chevy......ah speak to yuh about that HONDA coolant alreadyyyyyyyy!!!! :lol: :lol:

TRDcorolla

Postby TRDcorolla » January 20th, 2008, 4:53 pm

hmm mines is at 50km

323_wagon_dude

Postby 323_wagon_dude » January 23rd, 2008, 6:43 am

My corolla is clocking roughly 14000 KM and its 14 months old. I have no issues with the car. The accelaration is great, it has a high top speed. I find it sits pretty well on the road except at high speeds.... it tends to feel like its not making proper traction.

The only issue i've had with that car is TTTL. They've billed me twice for the same service. Also their lack of customer service is amazing (barataria branch...I get good customer service in the south office).

V2NR 3.0

Re: 100K KM Local NZE review

Postby V2NR 3.0 » January 23rd, 2008, 9:47 am

[X]~Outlaw wrote:Have the car for 3yrs and 4months.

Parts change due to being defective : none

Parts changed for regular maintenance :

1. Front rotors
2. Went through 2 sets of OEM brake pads
3. Oil filters
4. Accessory belt
5. Plugs...been using Denso IK16's since 20K km

Fluids Change as part of regular maintenance :

1. Coolant...used Honda original since i couldn't find the Toyota original (its the same thing just a different color dye)
2. Oil every 5K km...use mobile 5w30/10w30
3. Tranny fluid flush

Problems with the Vehicle to date : None
Complaints with vehicle : none
Complaints with TTTL : their prices a bit high...but the does deal cool with yuh..and everything is always in stock most of the time or they bring it in for you in about a week. Can't comment on the service department as i do my own labour.

I've driven the vehicle on almost every type of road and in every weather condition we could experience here. In stock form the rough road suspension is great for our piss poor roads...you literally don't feel a thing. But is like a boat in hard corners and feels a little unstable at high speeds on the highway. However on lowered springs it sits on the road quite nicely and handles very well (this is using S-Tech springs)

Fuel economy is great 550 for 130$ in premium and thats with quite a bit of hard driving.

A/C works perfect to date and has never had to be serviced
Car is comfortable and the electronic steering still amazes me in how soft it is at low speeds.

All in all i am very pleased with this vehicle and with TTTL parts department.

EXCELLENT POST - I HAVE ONE ALSO - A LOCAL AND ITS EXCELLENT. NOTHING CHANGED TO DATE, ROTORS STILL GOOD, REGULAR CHANGING OF FLUIDS ETC......

FullStop

Postby FullStop » January 23rd, 2008, 10:48 pm

i think somebody confusing a soft suspension with a poor suspension, let me explain the difference, soft suspension is what the toyotas have, the car was made for comfort and reliability, and i find it does accelerate sweet, poor suspension is what the sunny, or almera, or is it d b16 have, notice how day does be bouncing up and down d highway like if iz a good thing, my pops have a 1zzfe fielder, doin over 80000 kms, d only thing he ever change beside brake pads and fluids are the velocity joints, cus he had made the mistake of regreasing dem using np grease, beside dat , car iz great, i think d turning radius pretty nice too

Strauss

Postby Strauss » January 24th, 2008, 10:00 am

ilovebeti wrote:still not getting how the Toyota has a 'poor suspension' :|

Same here. This week has been littered with oxymorons.

Val

Postby Val » January 24th, 2008, 1:20 pm

I find the road noise is a bit on the high side (on stock suspension, Toyo Proxes T1R tyres 205/50/16), but everything else is as Chevy said. How have the additional "tweaks" held up?

Turning radius is better than most other similarly sized FF cars I've driven.

TTTL's level of service on the car is pretty good, which is reflected in the price. I can't say, though, that it's a bargain, but pretty much what you get is what you pay for. Maintenance is more in depth than the standard mechanic's version, where TTTL goes as far as lubricating the doors, "torquing" the suspension (really just tightening the nuts on the shock absorber mounts), replacing the stud used to drain the oil from the car etc.

So far I have intermittently used the Redline Fuel System Cleaner, and to date I have not had any problems requiring a fuel injector cleanup. The car has been good so far (38,000 kms) and has delivered what I expected of it (good fuel economy, comfortable ride and easy to maintain). It even got flooded out, water went as far as the rear muffler barrel and no more. However, I'm starting to hear a few creaks and squeaks, but I figure that's laziness on my part, plus driving on horrible roads daily.

Can't complain.

TRDcorolla

Postby TRDcorolla » January 24th, 2008, 1:29 pm

daz ah bess pic dey boi

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » January 24th, 2008, 1:52 pm

How have the additional "tweaks" held up?

A few more was added

Everything working real real good there is nothing left for me to do on it engine wise unless i go boost which im not.

I dynamat the entire car so i dont have that road noise issue.

Only 2 things i have left to do b4 i leave the car alone..braided brake lines and powerslot rotors later this yr.

Val

Postby Val » January 24th, 2008, 2:19 pm

What you using? EBC Greenstuff or stock Toyota pads?

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » January 24th, 2008, 4:04 pm

lol ebc does eat rotors.....i never used anything but OEM but when i get the powerslots i will be trying out Hawks ceramic

rjaggs

Postby rjaggs » January 25th, 2008, 3:02 pm

i bought a 1.5 in dec, manual.......wukking nice......the suspension is pretty soft, some stiffer springs will have to work ftw. But for ah lil 1.5 with a gearbox, dat ting does embarass rell men on the road, except for meh fadda mivec.....

ilovebeti

Postby ilovebeti » January 25th, 2008, 3:46 pm

^you got a g/b? :shock:

rjaggs

Postby rjaggs » January 25th, 2008, 4:14 pm

yeah boy, it come so.......tyres like WOW

ilovebeti

Postby ilovebeti » January 25th, 2008, 4:23 pm

how they pave the road inside by us yuh could make some late night wheelspin :lol:

some tuners already had the pleasure

damn honda drivers :|

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » January 31st, 2008, 2:35 pm

looks like the same replacement parts for most of the long mileage corolla owners......rotors and pad. Mine in serious need of replacement now so i think soon i'll be going to the powerslots. Already running on Hawk HPS and i'll probably continue with them

The EBC green i had on before were really way to abrasive for daily commuting.

Return to “TOYOTA”