Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby M_2NR » July 17th, 2011, 7:53 pm

Apple is still signing 4.3.3 so make sure you have those SHSHs

kthxbai.

(the way things going, 4.3.3 is the safest F/W to be on so make sure if you are on another f/w, go use TinyUmbrella because Cydia wont pull those SHSH's.)

[by "the way things going" i mean, save at least one SHSH so that you can /maybe/ downgrade later on to in case iOS 5 aint your thing, this is esp for 3GS users, we dont want a repeat of iOS 4 and 3G lags. Remember, Apple has so far in iOS 5 hampered the old way of downgrading.]

Parvin

Postby Parvin » July 17th, 2011, 8:27 pm

Fellas, you think the HP Mini netbook will be capable of running Mac OSX Lion?

Looking to try the Mac OS and the netbook is my only intel system.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 18th, 2011, 2:38 pm

Things are looking wonderful for Apple's iPhone these days, according to a study of US smartphone buyers by ChangeWave. The study results show that of Americans expecting to buy a smartphone in the next 90 days, 46 percent are planning to get an iPhone while only 32 percent are thinking about an Android phone.

This shows that the demand for iPhones is highest ever for a non-launch period, second only to the launch of the iPhone 4 last year when a full 50 percent said they'd go with an Apple product. ChangeWave speculates that the introduction of the Verizon iPhone is what caused the change. At the end of 2010, demand for Android and iPhone was about even; once the Verizon iPhone hit the market, interest in Motorola's Droid phones waned.

Other fun facts from the ChangeWave study show that iCloud has the attention of both existing Apple owners and others; that about 70 percent of iPhone owners are very satisfied with their device, compared to a dismal 26 percent for RIM/BlackBerry owners; and that Windows Phone 7 is showing remarkably good satisfaction levels (about 57 percent).

The results of the ChangeWave study could be a foretaste of tomorrow's Apple financial call, which will probably divulge spectacular numbers for iPhone and iPad sales for the last quarter.

------

Apple will reportedly debut a $350 iPhone sometime this year, will lower the price for the iPhone 4, and unveil a new iPhone 4S/5 in late August, according to BGR.

We just received some new information from an incredibly solid source of ours. According to our source, Apple will indeed be launching a prepaid / lower cost iPhone this year. We are told the handset will retail for no more than $350 without contract. Ready for the really interesting part? It's entirely possible that the low-cost iPhone will in fact be the iPhone 3GS.

BGR also confirmed that the iPhone 5 features a radical new design; however, its unclear whether this device or an iPhone 4S is to be released next. Their source says whichever device is to be released will be "at least announced by the end of Summer, late August-ish."

Finally, the site has been told that Apple will continue to sell the iPhone 4 creating low, mid, and high price points for the popular Apple smartphone.

------

CNN has updated their applications for the iPhone and iPad with the ability to watch live CNN TV.

Experience the new CNN App for iPad. Share and comment on news & insights, watch live and breaking news video, and take yourself deeper into the stories.

Features:
- Go beyond breaking news with top headlines, in-depth feature stories and video
- Choose your view from different navigation options; quickly scan the headlines or immerse yourself in a slideshow
- Take part in the conversation by commenting on stories and reading others' responses
- Share stories on Facebook and Twitter or via e-mail
- Save stories for offline viewing
- Watch live video streams of breaking news and other major news events

What's New In This Version:
• New! Watch LIVE CNN TV (iOS 4 and above)
• Improvements to Facebook and Twitter sharing
• Minor stability enhancements

You can download CNN from the App Store for free.

------

Apple is set to release Mac OS X Lion and new MacBook Airs as early as Wednesday, according to a new report by AppleInsider.

According to people with proven track records who would be in a position to know, the new product launches are set to occur later this week. Specifically, one person said the products would be released on Wednesday at 8:30 a.m. Eastern.

The latest details align with what AppleInsider was told earlier this month, when it reported that new MacBook Air models with backlit keyboards and Thunderbolt ports would launch the week of July 21.

The rumor mill had Apple releasing its new OS and notebooks last week; however, that date passed with no sign of new product updates. The WSJ's AllThingsD has also predicted that the release will actually be this week. When criticized for guessing, Kara Swisher stated, "We're not guessing. We never guess. You'll see."

Apple has only officially announced that Lion will be released in July.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » July 19th, 2011, 12:23 pm

Any reccs on an Ipad 2 case?
In the market for one.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 19th, 2011, 12:44 pm

------

Google+ app for iOS available now

eel7

Postby eel7 » July 19th, 2011, 8:11 pm

can sum1 pm the link for the 3.1.2 firmware for 1st gen itouch.and also the jailbreaking link....don't know which to use since i keep seeing bad reviews on some on youtube.

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » July 19th, 2011, 9:43 pm

SRASC wrote:

------

Google+ app for iOS available now

been eyeing down this case a while now ...think I may buy it soon , I'm really impressed with all their videos I have seen thus far

kar_freak

Postby kar_freak » July 19th, 2011, 9:47 pm

google+ for ios working for anyone? i cant download it on my idevice for some reason

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 19th, 2011, 10:27 pm

kar_freak wrote:google+ for ios working for anyone? i cant download it on my idevice for some reason

No problem here. Got it too early apparently when Google released test version accidentally. It was updated about an hour and 40 mins after the initial launch.

Oh & a quick note. OS X Lion is launching tomorrow.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 20th, 2011, 8:11 am

MacOS X Lion
r e l e a s i n g . t o d a y

Tuesday 20th July 2011

Parvin

Postby Parvin » July 20th, 2011, 8:56 am

Apple News | Mac OS X Lion is Now Available in the Mac App Store

http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=16124

Anyone knows if this will work properly on a HP Mini 110-3100 ?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 20th, 2011, 9:58 am

You need a Mac with minimum Core2 Duo processors running SNOW LEOPARD.

If you want a Hackintosh of Lion, you will need a functioning hackintosh already fully supporting Snow Leopard. Plus you need to wait till they modify the Lion download file to install on your PC.

Postby M_2NR » July 20th, 2011, 11:16 am

sir, its OSX Lion.

I'll be waiting for this guy to do a file with it here:
http://mahmood1.com/Windows_Mac_Google_ ... sation.php

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 20th, 2011, 11:48 am

Apple has unleashed their Lion!

Alongside OS X Lion and the iWork 6 update today, Apple has released iTunes 10.4 for full OS X Lion compatibility. The new version of Apple’s digital media player features support for Lion’s native full-screen abilities, 64 bit Cocoa support for OS X Lion users, improved stability, and better performance overall. The update is available via the Mac’s software update application or through Apple’s online download page.

As expected, Apple has released update 6 (version 9.1) for their iWork productivity suite. The update was built around OS X Lion compatibility and includes support for Lion’s native full-screen functionality, Resume, auto saving of documents, and versions. The update is available now via the Mac App Store and Software Update.

iWork 9.1

Adds support for Mac OS X Lion, including:
    Full-Screen
    Resume
    Auto Save
    Versions
    Character picker
    Keynote 5.1

Adds new builds:
    Anvil
    Fall Apart

------

It appears that Apple has dropped the White MacBook from its lineup today with the release of its new MacBook Airs. Searching for White MacBook still brings up cached pages but going to them yields the Mac Homepage.

------

Apple Store has been down since late yesterday and a lot of folks have been keeping their credit cards ready for new products. Well, Apple has just upgraded Mac minis and MacBook Airs featuring the latest Sandy Bridge processors and Intel’s speedy Thunderbolt I/O technology. As a bonus, Cinema Displays have been refreshed with Thunderbolt technology as well. In line with 9to5Mac’s report, the new MacBook Air family finally features backlit keyboard. Just like before, the new MacBook Airs come in 11.6-inch and 13-inch flavors, each is available in baseline, more powerful and build-to-order flavors.

The base line 11.6-incher includes a 1.6 GHz processor, 2GB RAM and 64GB of flash storage and the pricier model doubles RAM and storage. Note: Because the memory is soldered onto the motherboard, you must decide on RAM at purchase time. The same goes for storage, configurable only at the online Apple Store. The entry-level 13-incher sports a 1.7 GHz processor, 4GB RAM and 128GB of flash storage while the more expensive 13-inch MacBook Air doubles the storage to 256GB. Build-to-order options for both 11.6-inch and 13-inch models include a 1.8 GHz chip, 4GB RAM and 256 GB of flash storage for 13-inchers. Note that a 1.8 GHz processor and 256GB flash storage upgrades are the firsts for the 11.6-incher. All models run on Intel’s HD Graphics 3000 processor with either 256MB (11.6-inch machines) or 384MB (13-inchers) of DDR3 SDRAM shared with main memory. Another thing worth mention: The built-in FaceTime camera has not been upgraded to high-definition. Go past the break for information about the new Mac minis and nice press shots.

The new Mac minis include Sandy Bridge Core i5 and Core i7 chips, new AMD Radeon HD 6630M discrete graphics and Thunderbolt I/O, delivering “up to twice the processor and graphics performance of the previous generation”. This time around, however, the minis come without an optical disc drive. Instead, you can access the optical drives on other PCs and Macs or hook up an external MacBook Air SuperDrive if you’re feeling old century. The new lineup has the same aluminum design like its predecessor and measures 7.7-inches square and are 1.4-inches thin. The entry-level model includes a 2.3 GHz dual-core Intel Core i5 with 2GB RAM and a 500GB hard drive storage. The pricier machine has a 2.5 GHz dual-core Intel Core i5 processor, 4GB RAM and a 500GB hard drive, with build-to-order options including a 2.7GHz dual-core Core i7 processor, up to 8GB RAM and a 750GB hard drive with an option to add or replace with a 256GB solid state drive. The server variant with Lion Server included runs a 2.0 GHz quad-core Intel Core i7 processor and comes with 4GB RAM and dual 500GB hard drives, with build-to-order options including 8GB RAM, two 750GB hard drives or up to two 256GB solid state drives. Customization options on all models include up to 8GB RAM, a faster 7200 RPM hard drive and a 256GB solid state drive. The entry-level Mac mini retails for $599. The more powerful model will set you back $799, or $999 for the server version . Both machines are available for order today via the online Apple store and in stores tomorrow.

------

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 21st, 2011, 10:43 am

MacRumors points at a Financial Times report (subscription required) asserting that Apple has now officially surpassed Nokia to become the #1 smartphone maker globally. IDC Worldwide Mobile Phone Tracker had Nokia ship 24.2 million smartphones versus 18.7 million iPhones. A quarter later, however, iPhone sales have gone through the roof while sales of Nokia smartphones fell down the cliff as the world’s once leading mobile phone maker fights to regain influence. The financial paper explains:

Shipments of Nokia smartphones declined by 34 per cent to 16.7m units, compared with the 20.3m iPhones shipped by Apple in its second quarter. Apple was already the biggest smartphone maker by revenue and profits, but the April-June period marked the first time it had surpassed Nokia in volume.

Apple,which just four years ago wasn’t even on the radar, managed to become the world’s #1 smartphone maker with a year old handset, a limited footprint and with just one high-end handset model refreshed once a year. The news must be tremendously humiliating for the people at Nokia who are holding on to their burning platform. Remember how cocky Nokia executives used to laugh off the iPhone and boast in public how Nokia sells a quarter’s worth of iPhones in a week? Apple’s feat isn’t entirely surprising given a Nomura analysis from earlier this month that predicted Apple topping Nokia’s volume by the end of June.

Also of note is how Nokia’s market share in Australia fell spectacularly, from almost 50 percent in the first quarter to less than 25 percent as iPhone became the king of the hill in the country, per IDC. Android devices collectively outsell iPhones due to broader distribution and a wider range of sizes, models and price points, but no single Android vendor has been able to touch Apple in terms of volume. Apple is already the world’s biggest phone vendor by revenues and profit, controlling as much as half the total mobile phone industry’s income. Today, the iPhone is the main driving force behind Apple’s seemingly unstoppable growth, as seen in the below chart, courtesy of Asymco.

Apple reported sales of 20.3 million iPhones in the June quarter, representing 142 percent unit growth over the year-ago quarter. They ending the quarter with about 5.9 million units in channel inventory to serve new and existing carriers. Revenue from iPhone and related products and services topped $18.65 billion, representing an astounding 65 percent of the $28.57 billion of Apple’s quarterly revenue. The company’s international sales from the more than 40 million gadgets and computers Apple shipped accounted for 62 percent of the quarter’s revenue. AT&T posted earnings this morning, reporting 3.6 million iPhone activations during the June quarter, effectively matching their iPhone activations from March.

Nighttroll

Postby Nighttroll » July 21st, 2011, 2:41 pm

How can I purchase lion ?
I don't have a US credit card and I don't have US bank account to charge up my pay pal account.
Can I use a itunes gift card? where is the easiest place to buy this gift card ? Anyone bought it yet using the gift card?

Postby M_2NR » July 21st, 2011, 3:25 pm

yes you can get it via gift cards
check raptor. or you can get em off ebay as well. but raptor is teh safest.

gotta love VMware.

ADRENALINE KID

Postby ADRENALINE KID » July 21st, 2011, 4:47 pm

anyone get true with file transfer via blueetooth to other mobile devices??celeste doesnt work on my 3gs

Parvin

Postby Parvin » July 21st, 2011, 5:40 pm

@ M_2nr

Tell me how to get that too na.

Postby M_2NR » July 21st, 2011, 6:49 pm

Parvin wrote:@ M_2nr

Tell me how to get that too na.

http://www.mahmood1.com/Windows_Mac_Goo ... sation.php

posted about it before bai

Parvin

Postby Parvin » July 21st, 2011, 7:03 pm

oh lawd ... I thought it would have been easy to install.

All that look complicated :S

Postby S_2NR » July 21st, 2011, 7:07 pm

Parvin wrote:oh lawd ... I thought it would have been easy to install.

All that look complicated :S

i hav to agree with u here..looks intimidating.. :shock:

Postby M_2NR » July 21st, 2011, 7:47 pm

seriously... :?

all you have to do is install VMWare Workstation. Run the patch, then open VMware and select "open existing VM." Point it to the big file you downloaded and yuh in a gear. He even has a video on it lol.

How hard is that?

ulyuh should have had to get a hackintosh system working. (ulyuh making me sound like a big b1tch too :| )

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 21st, 2011, 8:10 pm

Roar!

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 21st, 2011, 10:51 pm

LION

IS

F-A-S-T

Really brainless install.

Double click --> Enter admin password
Installer: "Close all apps so I can restart?"
Me: "Go for it, baby"

Oooooh yeah...

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 21st, 2011, 11:01 pm

M_2NR wrote:seriously... :?

all you have to do is install VMWare Workstation. Run the patch, then open VMware and select "open existing VM." Point it to the big file you downloaded and yuh in a gear. He even has a video on it lol.

How hard is that?

ulyuh should have had to get a hackintosh system working. (ulyuh making me sound like a big b1tch too :| )

imagine if they had to unlock 10-20 iphones a day using running Firmware 1.1.2 via Terminal using iUnlock, AnySim and the god awful ZiPhone :lol:

and allya wonder why i not in the iphone business anymore lol

Postby M_2NR » July 21st, 2011, 11:19 pm

Bezman wrote:
M_2NR wrote:seriously... :?

How hard is that?

imagine if they had to unlock 10-20 iphones a day using running Firmware 1.1.2 via Terminal using iUnlock, AnySim and the god awful ZiPhone :lol:

and allya wonder why i not in the iphone business anymore lol

how i know you woulda bring up that. Thank God i wasnt into iPhone back then yes.
but 10-20 iphones a day... the cash, yes but back then :shock: :wtf:

sir you used to be on stress blocking pills?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 22nd, 2011, 10:29 am

Shortly after OS X Lion hit the Mac App Store, Adobe promptly blamed Apple’s new operating system for a number of issues with its applications that users are experiencing after upgrading. One of its claims was that Lion disables hardware video acceleration, which has a huge impact on its Flash Player and results in it eating up a whole lot more of your processing power than it previously did.

It hasn’t taken long for Adobe to issue a retraction on that claim.

In a statement posted to its blog, and in its initial support article, Adobe clarifies its claims:

The final release of Mac OS X Lion (10.7) provides the same support for Flash hardware video acceleration as Mac OS X Snow Leopard (10.6). The previous “Known Issue” described in a tech note suggesting that video hardware acceleration was disabled in Lion was incorrect and based on tests with a pre-release version of Mac OS X Lion that related to only one particular Mac GPU configuration. We continue to work closely with Apple to provide Flash Player users with a high quality experience on Mac computers.

This obviously suggests that Lion isn’t really the Flash killer Adobe claimed it was, and instead, the problems are simply with Adobe’s software… and their failure to test it on Lion properly before release.

Although there is no mention of an upcoming update in its statement, we’re sure that Adobe will be issuing a Flash Player fix shortly.

------

We’ve received photos of a purported white iPod touch front panel. Specifically, this panel is the digitizer component, according to the iFixYouri iPhone repair shop. We obviously cannot confirm the legitimacy of these photos but according to iFixYouri, they fall in line with the fourth generation iPod touch’s build. Knowing this, these can either be photos of a scrapped white iPod touch 4 in white or (hopefully) photos of the fifth-generation iPod touch’s front panel in white.

Although we have been hearing some whispers of a new form-factor for the fifth-generation iPod touch, the previously accurate Ming-Chi Kuo has reported that the fifth-generation iPod touch will, in fact, come in white and will feature an overall design that is akin to that of the fourth-generation iPod touch. Additionally, iOS SDK data reveals that the iPod 4,2 (possibly the fifth-gen iPod touch) will be more about internal changes. On that note, we’ll likely see the dual-core A5 processor to move the iPod touch ahead in the growing mobile gaming industry, and maybe some better cameras.

Coupled with Kuo’s report and this white part, we think that a white iPod touch 5 is a possibility. Additionally, in an interview, Apple’s Steve Jobs and Phil Schiller revealed that Apple’s work and engineering on the white iPhone 4 has positively affected the company on a broader scale. With the existence of a white iPhone and a white iPad, a white iPod touch should fit in quite nicely.

Again, we cannot confirm that these images are legitimate, they just have come to us not too long before supply-chain rumors of a white fifth-generation iPod touch emerged. Keep in mind that Apple could be possibly be toying with a white iPod touch model, yet never release it.

All put together, this is what an iPod touch (with the fourth generation design) would look like in white (pretty sweet).

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » July 22nd, 2011, 12:49 pm

Do you need a US credit card to update to OS X Lion? I am trying, but it keeps telling me payment processing is temporarily unavailable....

Strauss

Postby Strauss » July 22nd, 2011, 12:52 pm

killerhyundai-DET wrote:Do you need a US credit card to update to OS X Lion? I am trying, but it keeps telling me payment processing is temporarily unavailable....

Kes suggested you use iTunes cards and use the credit from your AppleID a/c to purchase Lion.