Should I do A Levels to go into IT

Cross Blood

Should I do A Levels to go into IT

Postby Cross Blood » September 3rd, 2012, 4:42 pm

I've just finished writing CXC and I want to know if it is vital that I do A levels if I want to become something in the field of IT (preferably network engineer or IT technician). I don't want to go UWI St. Augustine campus because I live in South. Should I do A's or go straight to SBCS, COSTAATT or SAM?

Re: Should I do A Levels to go into IT

Postby MG Man » September 3rd, 2012, 4:46 pm

plant peas

Postby teems1 » September 3rd, 2012, 4:47 pm

Do your A levels

Postby shogun » September 3rd, 2012, 4:48 pm

teems1 wrote:Do your A levels

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » September 3rd, 2012, 4:49 pm

MG Man wrote:plant peas

LOL....not in this lifetime bro :lol:

Postby DVSTT » September 3rd, 2012, 4:50 pm

shogun wrote:
teems1 wrote:Do your A levels

Is CAPE now, but you should do it. It's very different to CSEC though, much more challenging

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » September 3rd, 2012, 4:53 pm

It isn't a pre-req for your undergrad program?
You will also find out that IT market is specialised. You have to shine early on, get into a good co-op program where they will hire you and train you or pursue additional industry certifications.
I would talk to some people and figure out where in IT you want to land.

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » September 3rd, 2012, 4:55 pm

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:It isn't a pre-req for your undergrad program?
You will also find out that IT market is specialised. You have to shine early on, get into a good co-op program where they will hire you and train you or pursue additional industry certifications.
I would talk to some people and figure out where in IT you want to land.

wow....thanks for the info man...most IT courses/degrees are not cape required....

Postby stev » September 3rd, 2012, 4:56 pm

A levels was a waste of 2 years for me...I'm in telecom

it never helped with anything I studied after nor was it a pre-req...went UTT by d way

palmiste indian

Postby palmiste indian » September 3rd, 2012, 5:01 pm

go utt padna and sign up for the diploma in it

Postby stev » September 3rd, 2012, 5:03 pm

diploma in UTT is 2 years ent? only then u can do the BaSC. people who jump straight into BaSC from A levels (idk how) does ketch dey arse.

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » September 3rd, 2012, 5:19 pm

stev wrote:diploma in UTT is 2 years ent? only then u can do the BaSC. people who jump straight into BaSC from A levels (idk how) does ketch dey arse.

so you can jump straight to BSc from CAPE?

Postby stev » September 3rd, 2012, 5:57 pm

Cross Blood wrote:
stev wrote:diploma in UTT is 2 years ent? only then u can do the BaSC. people who jump straight into BaSC from A levels (idk how) does ketch dey arse.

so you can jump straight to BSc from CAPE?

as far as i know, u cant do that. but there are a lot of younger people in the university i know who came straight from CAPE. :S

so the only way to really know is call them and ask them...

edit: dont be afraid to call for info. call any campus and ask to be transferred to 'Student Services'. they will inform u if its possible.

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » September 3rd, 2012, 6:07 pm

ok stev....thanks so much for the info....

thanks guys for the info

Postby tr1ad » September 3rd, 2012, 6:22 pm

Cross Blood wrote:

yet more money in the long run from the peas than the oversaturated IT field.....

hard work pays off

Postby Bizzare » September 3rd, 2012, 6:24 pm

I never advise anyone on this cuz you may regret your decision later on if you are not EXTREMELY sure what route you gonna take. Students often change their academic path. Tertiary education if full of regrets if you don't have a proper plan b4 hand

palmiste indian

Postby palmiste indian » September 3rd, 2012, 6:26 pm

yo padna yes from A levels you can come UTT and do the BASc and well if you do the diploma you get first preference to the BASc so make your choice wisely

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » September 3rd, 2012, 6:40 pm

well I'm thinking of doing A's because it's much easier for me but if you all saying that the diploma is better then I should do it....

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » September 3rd, 2012, 6:48 pm

Well I work for one of Cisco's Canada Partners(no TAC presence here) and at this level at least a tertiary level diploma is required but certs cert certs. Literally today I met with a recruiter for juniper and checkpoint and you need those 2-4 years. Tertiary level educations teaches you how to think critically and discipline in study. Every couple months I have to recertify or get new certs and that discipline is needed.

Oh and I did my diploma at UTT back when it was still TTIT in computer technology.Don't use those spcific skills but it shows that the person is at that level.

I have friends and family in Trinidad that are in various IT fields all having studied locally. Some are mgrs some work for oil and gas others solution providers. I think the ones that did study at a post secondary institution moved ahead quicker.

khandman

Postby khandman » September 3rd, 2012, 7:10 pm

mg man is a kant

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 3rd, 2012, 7:17 pm

tr1ad wrote:
Cross Blood wrote:

yet more money in the long run from the peas than the oversaturated IT field.....

hard work pays off

X2.

Look at the ride farmers does have. Brand new Hilux and Navara etc.

I also do planting and never regretted it. You sure food will sell and will be in demand. Compared to oversaturated IT. I even know people who offered to work for real small money in IT just so they can get experience.

Advice to OP. Move smart and go ATC I even see them advertising on tuner. Go there and do MEEET or EEET straight up till the advanced diploma with city and guilds.

Much easier to get a Job with that than any IT degree. They outsourcing real IT jobs now as much as they can to India. freelancers building programs for $40 US and stuff.

Its up to you. You can still do the IT if you want but be warned you will face massive competition. Often you applying for a position that 70 other people also applying to. Most cases people with more experience than you and it will be very frustrating.
As for A levels I know lots of people with that who can't get a Job. Since GATE everyone has a degree now cause it free. A levels get like CXC. Best bet is what I said, MEEET or EEET or Process Plant with city and guilds.

Offcourse if yuh have land then plant. Better than all the rest believe me. 1 harvest yuh raking in all kinda $30,000.

Food more expensive than microchips now. And it will only keep getting more expensive. Technology on the other hand will go down.

Whatever you decide, all the best.

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » September 3rd, 2012, 7:31 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
tr1ad wrote:
Cross Blood wrote:

hard work pays off

X2.

Look at the ride farmers does have. Brand new Hilux and Navara etc.

I also do planting and never regretted it. You sure food will sell and will be in demand. Compared to oversaturated IT. I even know people who offered to work for real small money in IT just so they can get experience.

Advice to OP. Move smart and go ATC I even see them advertising on tuner. Go there and do MEEET or EEET straight up till the advanced diploma with city and guilds.

Much easier to get a Job with that than any IT degree. They outsourcing real IT jobs now as much as they can to India. freelancers building programs for $40 US and stuff.

Its up to you. You can still do the IT if you want but be warned you will face massive competition. Often you applying for a position that 70 other people also applying to. Most cases people with more experience than you and it will be very frustrating.

As for A levels I know lots of people with that who can't get a Job. Since GATE everyone has a degree now cause it free. A levels get like CXC. Best bet is what I said, MEEET or EEET or Process Plant with city and guilds.

Offcourse if yuh have land then plant. Better than all the rest believe me. 1 harvest yuh raking in all kinda $30,000.

Food more expensive than microchips now. And it will only keep getting more expensive. Technology on the other hand will go down.

I know there's a lot of competition in the field of IT....but I'm not really into electrical....I like I.T and well I build computers and stuff.....electrical may be kinda hard for me because I didn't do Physic but in a way it would be easy because I love Maths..

Postby stev » September 3rd, 2012, 7:38 pm

^^^there are at least 3 electrical courses u have to do if u doin IT in UTT :lol:

idk if its similar in UMI

Postby sMASH » September 3rd, 2012, 7:39 pm

IT field is very saturated in tnt. to me, the only good reason to do a's is if u goin to go uwi. if u can get to do your degree straight out of cxc then why waste two years.

check this, my two small cousins have a year again to do in cape. one might have to re sit some exams. another small padnah already in year two in his civil eng. in utt and did not do cape.
my cousin may end up doing sumting in utt any way. and would be like two years behind. my youth padnah would be employable, if at least in an apprenticeship capacity earning money while getting experience by the time my cousin start to do the degree.

what ever u do, don't go sam's. they are not value for money.

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » September 3rd, 2012, 7:51 pm

stev wrote:^^^there are at least 3 electrical courses u have to do if u doin IT in UTT :lol:

idk if its similar in UMI

Small thing....I go handle it

sMASH wrote:IT field is very saturated in tnt. to me, the only good reason to do a's is if u goin to go uwi. if u can get to do your degree straight out of cxc then why waste two years.

check this, my two small cousins have a year again to do in cape. one might have to re sit some exams. another small padnah already in year two in his civil eng. in utt and did not do cape.
my cousin may end up doing sumting in utt any way. and would be like two years behind. my youth padnah would be employable, if at least in an apprenticeship capacity earning money while getting experience by the time my cousin start to do the degree.

what ever u do, don't go sam's. they are not value for money.

Some good advice there....and yes I'm not going SAMs...I heard they have bad reviews

Postby ismithx » September 3rd, 2012, 8:03 pm

forget A levels... get some solid certification like CompTIA A+ and Network+ (check Bordercom/SBCS for training and exams)

and get lots of experience working with computers (i.e. fixing them but don't mashup anybody's system)

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » September 3rd, 2012, 8:12 pm

ismithx wrote:forget A levels... get some solid certification like CompTIA A+ and Network+ (check Bordercom/SBCS for training and exams)

and get lots of experience working with computers (i.e. fixing them but don't mashup anybody's system)

:lol: I build/repair computers and repair laptops....I don't mash them up though.... :lol: :D

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » September 3rd, 2012, 8:16 pm

Go ahead and do As if you want a managerial position

If you want to get involved in the technical aspect, go straight for the basic stuff (A+, Net+ etc) and work from there

Postby stev » September 3rd, 2012, 8:19 pm

pablo_tt wrote:Go ahead and do As if you want a managerial position

If you want to get involved in the technical aspect, go straight for the basic stuff (A+, Net+ etc) and work from there

how does A levels help in a managerial position though?

Postby ismithx » September 3rd, 2012, 8:21 pm

right, and that's where you start. look into the A+ and Net+ exams, those can be useful. I do have some reservations about the A+ in particular, I find some of the content to be a thorough waste of time because it is not stuff I have had to actually deal with. Those certs can be useful for providing some theoretical knowledge. However, experience is still the king. It would be nice for you to work in an organization to see how things work, besides student work in a university I can't think of any other way you can get into a job like that with little qualifications.... another idea would be to get some friends who are into IT, hang out with them and pick their brains for knowledge (i.e. how do you all do this, why would you all do that)