teems1 wrote:Do your A levels
MG Man wrote:plant peas
shogun wrote:teems1 wrote:Do your A levels
.ROZAC:.. wrote:It isn't a pre-req for your undergrad program?
You will also find out that IT market is specialised. You have to shine early on, get into a good co-op program where they will hire you and train you or pursue additional industry certifications.
I would talk to some people and figure out where in IT you want to land.
stev wrote:diploma in UTT is 2 years ent? only then u can do the BaSC. people who jump straight into BaSC from A levels (idk how) does ketch dey arse.
Cross Blood wrote:stev wrote:diploma in UTT is 2 years ent? only then u can do the BaSC. people who jump straight into BaSC from A levels (idk how) does ketch dey arse.
so you can jump straight to BSc from CAPE?
Cross Blood wrote:MG Man wrote:plant peas
LOL....not in this lifetime bro
tr1ad wrote:Cross Blood wrote:MG Man wrote:plant peas
yet more money in the long run from the peas than the oversaturated IT field.....
hard work pays off
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:tr1ad wrote:Cross Blood wrote:MG Man wrote:plant peas
yet more money in the long run from the peas than the oversaturated IT field.....
hard work pays off
X2.
Look at the ride farmers does have. Brand new Hilux and Navara etc.
I also do planting and never regretted it. You sure food will sell and will be in demand. Compared to oversaturated IT. I even know people who offered to work for real small money in IT just so they can get experience.
Advice to OP. Move smart and go ATC I even see them advertising on tuner. Go there and do MEEET or EEET straight up till the advanced diploma with city and guilds.
Much easier to get a Job with that than any IT degree. They outsourcing real IT jobs now as much as they can to India. freelancers building programs for $40 US and stuff.
Its up to you. You can still do the IT if you want but be warned you will face massive competition. Often you applying for a position that 70 other people also applying to. Most cases people with more experience than you and it will be very frustrating.
As for A levels I know lots of people with that who can't get a Job. Since GATE everyone has a degree now cause it free. A levels get like CXC. Best bet is what I said, MEEET or EEET or Process Plant with city and guilds.
Offcourse if yuh have land then plant. Better than all the rest believe me. 1 harvest yuh raking in all kinda $30,000.
Food more expensive than microchips now. And it will only keep getting more expensive. Technology on the other hand will go down.
stev wrote:^^^there are at least 3 electrical courses u have to do if u doin IT in UTT
idk if its similar in UMI
sMASH wrote:IT field is very saturated in tnt. to me, the only good reason to do a's is if u goin to go uwi. if u can get to do your degree straight out of cxc then why waste two years.
check this, my two small cousins have a year again to do in cape. one might have to re sit some exams. another small padnah already in year two in his civil eng. in utt and did not do cape.
my cousin may end up doing sumting in utt any way. and would be like two years behind. my youth padnah would be employable, if at least in an apprenticeship capacity earning money while getting experience by the time my cousin start to do the degree.
what ever u do, don't go sam's. they are not value for money.
ismithx wrote:forget A levels... get some solid certification like CompTIA A+ and Network+ (check Bordercom/SBCS for training and exams)
and get lots of experience working with computers (i.e. fixing them but don't mashup anybody's system)
pablo_tt wrote:Go ahead and do As if you want a managerial position
If you want to get involved in the technical aspect, go straight for the basic stuff (A+, Net+ etc) and work from there