HP awarded $83Million Contract by KAMLA

Re: HP awarded $83Million Contract by KAMLA

Postby S_2NR » September 18th, 2011, 2:24 pm

so windows 8 comin out soon and them there saying windows xp bring up the value of the system ..
steups..

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 18th, 2011, 2:40 pm

nah is ah Newsday article yuh reading so take everything yuh read with a grain of salt.

they were referring to the laptops from last year. only they came with Windows 7 Professional and Office 2010... :roll:

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 18th, 2011, 2:48 pm

S_2NR wrote::roll:
so windows 8 comin out soon and them there saying windows xp bring up the value of the system ..
steups..

You would be surprised to see how many Trinis fall for that :rofl:

Postby AllTrac » September 10th, 2012, 8:58 am

just to update, COURTS FURNITURE STORE got the contract to supply the laptops for this next rounds of laptop rollouts.

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » September 10th, 2012, 9:17 am

children may get a free blender also...

Postby stev » September 10th, 2012, 9:26 am

Courts? buh wah d jel is dis. LMAO

Postby Sky » September 10th, 2012, 9:51 am

The problem with Couts and notebooks is the after sale support. Or lack of. Otherwise it's the same stuff you'll get anywhere else.

Postby SmokeyGTi » September 10th, 2012, 9:56 am

courts? d phoq is dis i hearing here...u serious?

Postby Stephon. » September 10th, 2012, 11:55 am

I'm happy courts got the contract cuz now we get 3 years to pay off for the laptops and it won't be as hard on the taxpayers onetime na!

Postby hustla_ambition101 » September 10th, 2012, 12:22 pm

Courts cheaper than direct from manufacturer?

Still see this laptop thing as a waste of money though, has anything improved in the secondary school system??? Have the previous recipients done anything beneficial? Or are we prepping for wikipedia laced projects

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 10th, 2012, 12:43 pm

RASC wrote:
vrampersad14 wrote:..and seriously do they REALLY need bluetooth?

THANK YOU!

Really? A key tech you have a problem with? That's kinda backward thinking there. Or is it just that you don't use Bluetooth for anything important that you feel everyone else can do without it?

W2J

Postby W2J » September 10th, 2012, 12:49 pm

AllTrac wrote:just to update, COURTS FURNITURE STORE got the contract to supply the laptops for this next rounds of laptop rollouts.

That's incorrect, DIGIDATA got it again!!!

Postby AllTrac » September 10th, 2012, 1:59 pm

de fcuk is dis??? if i tell you is Courts, IS COURTS! stupesss!!

Postby eliteauto » September 10th, 2012, 2:13 pm

I was supposed to get a free laptop, but I told them I'll take mine around Christmas so I can get a free ham

Postby AllTrac » September 10th, 2012, 3:06 pm

And grog

W2J

Postby W2J » September 10th, 2012, 4:05 pm

AllTrac wrote:de fcuk is dis??? if i tell you is Courts, IS COURTS! stupesss!!

:shock: ok nah

Postby AllTrac » September 10th, 2012, 4:35 pm

Postby ~Vēġó~ » September 11th, 2012, 10:15 pm

^^^BESS!!!! :lol:

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 14th, 2012, 4:11 pm

what a waste of taxpayers money....this 83million could be used to pay teachers what are owed to them...

kids just use this for games and pornography....

Thanks Dookeran......this was the stupidest election promise ever...what a waste of resources....

Students are being told to not bring these to schools unless instructed by a teacher.....

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » September 14th, 2012, 9:32 pm

Distribution started Tuesday in the southwest peninsula...

daniel135

Postby daniel135 » September 14th, 2012, 9:33 pm

heard courts got it as well but the company i wrk 4 might get the warranty part everybody eating a food lol

Postby gt4tified » September 14th, 2012, 10:09 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:what a waste of taxpayers money....this 83million could be used to pay teachers what are owed to them...

Thanks Dookeran......this was the stupidest election promise ever...what a waste of resources....

Students are being told to not bring these to schools unless instructed by a teacher.....

I'm guessing you're either a teacher or your significant other is, and not the parent of a first form student, ent?

I wonder how many parents out there who would, never having the means to buy their child a laptop for passing SEA, bump their gum now about this being a waste of taxpayers money....ask them to show by raise of hands nah?

daniel135

Postby daniel135 » September 14th, 2012, 10:13 pm

skidz feel all children like that they are very fortunate, only thing i find is still to much money my opinion

Postby nemisis » September 14th, 2012, 10:16 pm

gt4tified wrote:
*$kїđž!™ wrote:what a waste of taxpayers money....this 83million could be used to pay teachers what are owed to them...

I'm guessing you're either a teacher or your significant other is, and not the parent of a first form student, ent?

I wonder how many parents out there who would, never having the means to buy their child a laptop for passing SEA, bump their gum now about this being a waste of taxpayers money....ask them to show by raise of hands nah?

why buy the child a laptop for passing sea, to masturbate or watch movies?? If it is such an integral tool the computer labs and library facilities for schools should be upgraded. How much of the secondary school classes digitized? How many teachers embrace methods such as pod casts, how many of the texts books available as digital downloads?

Postby gt4tified » September 14th, 2012, 10:41 pm

nemisis wrote:why buy the child a laptop for passing sea, to masturbate or watch movies?? If it is such an integral tool the computer labs and library facilities for schools should be upgraded. How much of the secondary school classes digitized? How many teachers embrace methods such as pod casts, how many of the texts books available as digital downloads?

Why do you assume the worst? Can children not do that with a desktop computer too? Or a smart phone? Or a portable DVD player? You should do a survey and find out what the well-to-do in T&T bought their children for passing SEA, before this whole laptop giveaway came about.

The other questions are not for me to answer...I ent no political advocate.

Postby stev » September 14th, 2012, 11:40 pm

question....maybe i cant remember...but why buy laptops for students? what work they have to do so? isnt there computer labs available in schools for those who dont have a computer?

CXC is not an online exam last time i checked.....

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 15th, 2012, 4:39 am

gt4tified wrote:

if they dont have the means then I am going on the assumption that they dont make enough money to be paying considerable PAYE taxes or even none at all if they fall below the bracket in terms of income.......

So why should my tax paying dollars be used to buy laptops for them?.....

again waste of my taxpaying dollars......Trinidad is all about freeness...and it starting from early......

doesnt matter which school the child passes for ...once he sits his butt down and write sea...he will be given a laptop....why are we rewarding this?.....Rewards should be given in terms of performance......

Thats why some of them will drop out before they reach form 5 .....make children and expect the goverrnment to give them free house free groceries and monthly stipends......which happens btw....

too much nonsense in this country...... IMPOV.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 15th, 2012, 4:41 am

nemisis wrote:
gt4tified wrote:

why buy the child a laptop for passing sea, to masturbate or watch movies?? If it is such an integral tool the computer labs and library facilities for schools should be upgraded. How much of the secondary school classes digitized? How many teachers embrace methods such as pod casts, how many of the texts books available as digital downloads?

EXACTLY

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » September 15th, 2012, 5:34 am

How much one of those laptops costing this year?

Postby nemisis » September 15th, 2012, 8:05 am

gt4tified i assume the worst because it is the smartest way to approach any situation. I not going to watch two men with guns liming outside my home and assume its plain clothes police.......The laptops are going to help a % of children who couldn't afford one that is true but like with gate they shoud only provide it to deserving student for example those who pass for prestige schools or had scores in sea over a certain minimum value.