HP awarded $83Million Contract by KAMLA

Snags

Re: HP awarded $83Million Contract by KAMLA

Postby Snags » October 1st, 2010, 12:38 pm

Lmao@Rene being ownt. When you're wrong, you should admit you're wrong bro, seriously, you really are starting to sound crazy now:/.
@Wagonrunner, you and I both know that any "security" they are offering is a whole load of BS. I find it hard to believe that you can't "secure" your citizens and their safety, but you can secure those laptops that you're going to give out - they're making the parents accept liability for a reason. I bet the security firms that are in charge of this already protected themselves from the...uhm, well, security risks involved in this entire fiasco. I find it hard to understand how HP's could have been outlawed before and dells were the standard for anything government related and now, we're going to spend 83million on a bunch of HP's, thus removing the restrictions placed on contractors who had to supply schools before. I'd be interested to know what changed to permit this. Also, did anyone of you actually see the tender for this contract digidata "won"? It's corruption, don't be mad at it, but it's happened and now we do have more serious issues to deal with circling around this. I believe someone else mentioned the electricity and cooling in these beat-down schools :lol: I know for a fact that some schools have already gotten the big NO because the electrical supply is crap and it'd damage the computers. A classroom FULL of laptops means AC units too, so riddle me this, how much money does the entire process really require? What are the lucky contractors to charge for electrical work to be done at the schools and AC work too?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » October 1st, 2010, 12:43 pm

i am guessing, not every class every day will require the laptop to eb on for the entire day.. I am thinking this is more for homework/internet access for research.. battery life of 4-6 hrs should suffice most days..

Snags

Postby Snags » October 2nd, 2010, 12:28 am

^If that were true, there wouldn't have been restrictions placed on any of the schools for "electrical issues" bro. Also, it's a classroom ae, you must remember school days man, classrooms are hot enough as is! You put on thirty laptops and it's going to be an oven! They would need to outfit the classrooms designated for computer usage - at least - with air conditioning, have to do it, even if the systems are only going to be on for ten to fifteen minutes, it's the proper thing to do.

Snags

Postby Snags » October 2nd, 2010, 12:34 am

There's - hopefully- opportunity for IT companies to really step up and offer services to the government to aid these students in better learning how to utilize and care for their computers too. I think a little course would be good for the students. Really let them take pride in what they got.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 4th, 2010, 9:49 pm

I was in a school today when the laptops were distributed.....I stood in amazement as I saw the laptops arrive on a flat bed truck escorted by armed police.....A crane arm from the truck was used to offload the laptops...There on about 200 ppl lined up for them (parents)

Just stood and looked on and imagined the hurt that Laptop sellers may be going through right now....It seemed that this move to give each Household a laptop has destroyed the market for laptop sellers....

On top of that the were also given FREE LAPTOP BAGS also.....Amazing ...Totally amazing.......
will load pics soon....

Postby wagonrunner » October 4th, 2010, 11:02 pm

Nigson wrote:Just stood and looked on and imagined the hurt that Laptop sellers may be going through right now....It seemed that this move to give each Household a laptop has destroyed the market for laptop sellers....

On top of that the were also given FREE LAPTOP BAGS also.....Amazing ...Totally amazing.......
will load pics soon....
what's amazing?
the necessary kickbacks................ normal for them
the lack of consideration for the citizens.......... normal.
whats being created downstream here to positively affect the local economy......................? ISP's & powergen? scene, oho gunta-tech.

apple

Postby apple » October 5th, 2010, 4:40 am

hmmm....

Swisha

Postby Swisha » October 7th, 2010, 12:02 am

Kamla: Paint laptops yellow to deter thieves

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar said yesterday she too was concerned about the safety of the laptops being distributed to first form pupils.

And to ensure that the equipment is not stolen, Persad-Bissessar said it was suggested that increased penalties be implemented for anyone caught with a stolen laptop.

It was also suggested that the laptops distributed to pupils be painted in a different colour, she said.

"I received these two suggestions and they are being considered. It was suggested that we take to Parliament a legislation to increase the penalties when it comes to stolen laptops, that is, increase the penalties for larceny and persons receiving stolen items. And we are also considering painting all the laptops a different colour, so when you see it you know that it belongs to a student. We are taking this into consideration for the next batch of laptops," she said.

Persad-Bissessar said she would suggest that the laptops be painted yellow. "I particularly like yellow because it is the colour of the sunshine, the rising sun. And you can spot it from a mile away," she said.

Persad-Bissessar yesterday addressed pupils of the Holy Faith Convent, Penal where laptops were distributed. She attended four distribution ceremonies yesterday—Iere High School, Holy Faith Convent, Penal Secondary School and Shiva Boys Hindu College. Persad-Bissessar was accompanied by Minister of Education Dr Tim Gopeesingh, Minister in the Ministry of Education, Clifton De Couteau, Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Sport and Youth Affairs, Stacy Roopnarine, Minister of Housing and the Environment Dr Roodal Moonilal, among other Parliamentarians.
Persad-Bissessar was treated to a mini-concert during her brief visit to her alma mater, Iere High School. And as she handed out the laptops she urged pupils to take advantage of their opportunities.

"When I was a pupil here at Iere High School I had no laptop, so think about how much more you can do now with your laptop," she said.

Persad-Bissessar said the laptops were gifts to pupils and a promise that her administration worked hard to fulfil.

"Your parents have also contributed to these laptops, as they are taxpayers. Take these laptops and go to the mountain tops. Take this gift and turn it into a prize. You must also share it with your brothers and sisters," she said.

Persad-Bissessar also took some time to recall her days as a pupil at Iere High School. "I was involved in everything—sports, drama, public speaking. My first public speech was right here on this platform. I never thought of being a politician or a prime minister, I wanted to be a teacher. So I want you to dream your dreams and have a vision. As long as you are prepared to work for it, it will work for you," she said.

During her visit at the Penal Secondary School, Persad-Bissessar urged pupils to take good care of the laptops. And she added that her goal was that every secondary school pupil have a laptop in the next five years. "Take good care of your laptops and it will take care of you. The future of the nation is in the laptops of our children," she said.

http://goo.gl/hKTW

apple

Postby apple » October 7th, 2010, 12:10 am

yellow? no eh...

Postby RASC » October 7th, 2010, 7:20 am

YELLOW LAPTOPS ...well yes :lol:

Postby RASC » October 7th, 2010, 7:28 am

So this was the Gov'ts crime plan all along...
Paint everything yellow to deter thieves.

Yellow Cellphone, Yellow Car, Yellow Silver Necklace

HAHAHAHA

nismoid

Postby nismoid » October 7th, 2010, 7:36 am

^ yeah cuz allyuh doh wanna touch anyting yellow cuz of allyuh yellow tabanca.
so paint it yellow and allyuh aint gonna teef it

Postby RASC » October 7th, 2010, 7:40 am

Ministry of Agriculture=Ministry of Food Production
Crime Plan=Paint them YELLOW

Mickey Mouse Gov't yes...what a freaking joke!

Picasso

Postby Picasso » October 7th, 2010, 8:05 am

nismoid wrote:^ yeah cuz allyuh doh wanna touch anyting yellow cuz of allyuh yellow tabanca.

Explain what you mean by "allyuh" :?

Picasso

Postby Picasso » October 7th, 2010, 8:10 am

Postby A172 » October 7th, 2010, 8:16 am

Picasso wrote:
nismoid wrote:^ yeah cuz allyuh doh wanna touch anyting yellow cuz of allyuh yellow tabanca.

nignogs.

nismoid

Postby nismoid » October 7th, 2010, 8:43 am

Picasso wrote:

it means anything 'allyuh' want it to mean

Postby AllTrac » October 7th, 2010, 8:49 am

A172 wrote:
Picasso wrote:

nignogs.

basically.

Postby RASC » October 7th, 2010, 10:40 am

I not even taking on nismoid, cause he's clearly running out of personalized insults :lol:

But the fact remains this has to be one of the most foolish excuses for a security measure ever.

I thought all this GPS, tracking integration was the major deterrent. Now you talking 'bout YELLOW laptops as your major theft measure? She joking right?

Picasso

Postby Picasso » October 7th, 2010, 10:44 am

Someone drinking on the job again carrying to work their rum cork ideas * tisk tisk *

Strauss

Postby Strauss » October 8th, 2010, 8:49 am

RASC wrote:I not even taking on nismoid, cause he's clearly running out of personalized insults :lol:

But the fact remains this has to be one of the most foolish excuses for a security measure ever.

I thought all this GPS, tracking integration was the major deterrent. Now you talking 'bout YELLOW laptops as your major theft measure? She joking right?

Clearly she's joking. She's taking a shot at guys like you and the Opposition who had a habit of wearing a balisier for every damn thing, as if it represented T&T.

Also concerning the care of laptops...

You telling me that someone give you a FREE laptop and you can't put in the money or effort to take care of the damn thing? This dotish gimme gimme crap has to stop.

Edit: There are poor people who may not have the resources but in this case allowances should be put in place for parents. Otherwise, as far as I see it, if you can put $1000 shoes on your foot and come to school with your blackberry, you can divert resources.

apple

Postby apple » October 8th, 2010, 12:43 pm

Strauss wrote:Clearly she's joking. She's taking a shot at guys like you and the Opposition who had a habit of wearing a balisier for every damn thing, as if it represented T&T.

Also concerning the care of laptops...

You telling me that someone give you a FREE laptop and you can't put in the money or effort to take care of the damn thing? This dotish gimme gimme crap has to stop.

Edit: There are poor people who may not have the resources but in this case allowances should be put in place for parents. Otherwise, as far as I see it, if you can put $1000 shoes on your foot and come to school with your blackberry, you can divert resources.

exactly!!

nismoid

Postby nismoid » October 8th, 2010, 5:16 pm

RASC wrote:I not even taking on nismoid, cause he's clearly running out of personalized insults :lol:

everything is always clear to you except " the fact that we could buy papers here also and we could also read them online" so why the fack you keep posting?
and in case yuh dont know, it wasnt an insult, its 'clearly' the truth :drinking:
I was gonna paint the text yellow just to piss you off, but i changed my mind, you might take it as a personal insult

Postby pete » October 8th, 2010, 5:27 pm

Side note.. who de hell giving their children $1000 shoes to go to school with?

Postby wagonrunner » October 8th, 2010, 7:09 pm

pete wrote:Side note.. who de hell giving their children $1000 shoes to go to school with?

the fully fully "spaceship pilots"? :lol:

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 18th, 2011, 10:03 am

well is that time of the year again. only the thread title might need to change since Lenovo will be supplying laptops this time around...

Postby Stephon. » September 18th, 2011, 10:14 am

Best she goes with Dell. She obviously doesn't seem to care about the durability of the laptops with this choice anyway.

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » September 18th, 2011, 10:55 am

Stephon, it won't matter which brand the children get, they gonna mash up those laptops just like the now current form 2s did.

Sources tell me distribution will start int eh next 2 weeks. And the poor techs gonna be overworked, running from school to school. no improvements made in the delivery/distribution process from last year.. steups.

And not a damn thing has been done to upgrade any of the schools' buildings or network infrastructure to accommodate.

A guy in MoE ICT Division who was supposed to use a few of the more experienced school technicians to redesign the school domain resign de wuk for a better offer in another Caribbean country.

Like myself, many a techie resigned and those who remained just counting down the days till gratuity. They not even sure if their contracts will be renewed.

This time around, 'tis the Lenovo ThinkPad T420 the kids getting (TSL must be licking their lips...)

http://shop.lenovo.com/us/notebooks/thi ... eries/t420

To close this post, see article here in laptop delivery

http://www.newsday.co.tt/hotline/0,147346.html

Chinese firm delivers SEA laptops

By RESHMA BAAL Friday, September 16 2011

The first batch of laptops to be distributed to Form one students are scheduled to arrive in the country next Tuesday.

This is according to Minister of Education, Dr Tim Gopeesingh, who spoke with Newsday on Wednesday.

He said 6,000 of the 17,300 laptops will arrive in the first batch. “During the rest of that week the remaining laptops should arrive in the country.”

Gopeesingh also said distribution of the laptops should begin one week subsequent to its arrival and is scheduled to be completed in two-weeks’ time.

This year, the second year of the programme, leading Chinese computer manufacturer, Lenovo, won the contract to provide approximately 17,300 laptops.

In an earlier interview, Gopeesingh said Gov-

ernment spent an estimated $53 million to provide the laptops, which is $30 million less than last year’s sum.

“Each laptop will cost approximately US$460, US$100 less than last year. A digital portal will also be purchased to store information from the curriculum for students’ use,” Gopee-

singh said.

The minister also said the software on the new laptops, which will be painted in the national colours, will be improved from their earlier counterparts.

“These new laptops will have 14 software packages installed, while the previous had only seven. There will also be improved security and monitoring features,” Gopeesingh said.

In 2010, Hewlett Packard (HP), was awarded an $83 million contract to deliver 24,000 fully loaded HP425 laptops, complete with carrying cases. Gopeesingh said each laptop cost the Government approximately $4,000, but had a commercial value of approximately $15,000.

The laptops had features such as Microsoft XP professional 2010, and other microsoft applications have brought up the worth of the laptops significantly, Gopeesingh had said.

The laptops were outfitted with faster processing speeds, improved wireless capability, Bluetooth (wireless) connectivity, larger internal storage, faster hard drive speed, extended battery life, Microsoft Office Home and Student 2007 and Learning Essentials 2.0 for Microsoft Office.

About Lenovo
Lenovo is one of the world’s largest makers of personal computers and manufactures the Thinkpad notebook, as well as products carrying the ThinkCentre, ThinkStation, ThinkServer, IdeaCentre and IdeaPad sub-brands.

Lenovo came about as the result of the merger of two leaders in technology and business: Legend Holdings in China and IBM’s Personal Computing Division in the United States.

As a result, Lenovo allows for the joining of North American and China-based technology players in the creation of a unified global PC leader with growing
market positions in developed and emerging markets alike.

With more than $16 billion in annual revenue, Lenovo’s market strength spans not only market geographies but also the world’s consumer and business PC markets.

Lenovo is a global corporation, operating in more than 60 countries and selling products in 160. We view our differences and diversity as a source of strength in building a collaborative culture.

The company employs more than 23,000 people worldwide, including 1,700 designers, scientists and engineers, representing a broad collection of nationalities and languages but at the same time working with one unified language and vision: to build the world’s most exceptionally engineered personal computers.

Postby AllTrac » September 18th, 2011, 11:35 am

Microsoft XP professional 2010

Postby K74T » September 18th, 2011, 11:41 am