Laptops to now cost $15,000 EACH

Re: Laptops to now cost $15,000 EACH

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 4th, 2010, 3:13 am

There are software with just a couple plugins that costs like $33,000 one which I happen to use called 3DS STUDIO MAX

And this is cheap compared to the likes of MAYA 3D

I guess people who getting these stuff would be happy. But if was up to me I would just buy them cheap netbooks with Linux and Open Office which does the job just as fine at a fraction of the price.

But compared to the money squandered by the previous administration I guess we really cannot bash this project since its for learning purposes. The PP has vision and its better kids get this than the money goes to corrupted people around the world.

The PP deserves a thumbs up for atleast putting the children first.

This idea I remember was originally envisioned by Mr. Dookeran. This will also create more jobs for PC technicians in this country we have endless unemployed PC techs.

This project is a very noble effort regardless of how it turns out.

There is an old saying, "No price is to high for the greater good"

We must all remember there will always be people in this world out to cause mischief and who will never have a vision.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 4th, 2010, 6:11 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:There are software with just a couple plugins that costs like $33,000 one which I happen to use called 3DS STUDIO MAX

And this is cheap compared to the likes of MAYA 3D

I guess people who getting these stuff would be happy. But if was up to me I would just buy them cheap netbooks with Linux and Open Office which does the job just as fine at a fraction of the price.

But compared to the money squandered by the previous administration I guess we really cannot bash this project since its for learning purposes. The PP has vision and its better kids get this than the money goes to corrupted people around the world.

The PP deserves a thumbs up for atleast putting the children first.

This idea I remember was originally envisioned by Mr. Dookeran. This will also create more jobs for PC technicians in this country we have endless unemployed PC techs.

This project is a very noble effort regardless of how it turns out.

There is an old saying, "No price is to high for the greater good"

We must all remember there will always be people in this world out to cause mischief and who will never have a vision.

Digi Data has been contracted as the local service centre for the laptops which Government is distributing to students, Education Minister Tim Gopeeisngh said yesterday. He gave the information in reply to a question from PNM MP Colm Imbert In Parliament. He prefaced his reply by pointing out to Imbert he was answering the question — listed on the agenda — within two weeks of receiving it and was not delaying at length the way he said the PNM ministers had done while in office. Imbert said that was irrelevant. Gopeesingh gave the cost of the 20,300 computers at TT$82.1 million.
He said each cost $4,000, not $15,000. He also said the supplier was the HP Group. Gopeesingh said the National Information and Communication Technology Co Ltd acted as the agent for Government and HP. It was agreed that HP would do after-sales service, through its service centre, and would also recruit a service depot locally. Gopeesingh said the local contracted service depot was Digi Data. On another question, MP Roodal Moonilal said the cost of the Prime Minister’s trip to New York in August 13 to 22 was $400,000. He said the trip was part of the Prime Minister’s Investment Outreach Programme and part of rebranding T&T.
Moonilal said some $6,000-plus was returned unspent to the consolidated fund since it was unused funding. He said the PM’s airfare cost was $56,000 with other sums for telephones, faxes, hotel and allowances. Those accompanying the Prime Minister on the trip were the press secretary, two national security officers and two assistants. He said three ministers who went to New York also used their own funds and spent only a few days. Moonilal said during the trip the Prime Minister succeeded in raising pledges of $1 million for the Children’s Life Fund. He also said during her trip to Yew York — for UN business — last week, the Prime Minister held talks with the Shriners’ association which has 22 hospitals.
The organisation would do free surgeries for T&T children, Moonilal said.

http://guardian.co.tt/news/politics/201 ... ce-laptops

You really think so eh :|

Strauss

Postby Strauss » October 4th, 2010, 6:17 am

Snags wrote:^Lmao, it is against the rules to have dvd/cd drives in any computer that is to be issued to a school, that's why the systems came without them. If you were to submit a tender for a government contract, they would discard it if they saw dvd/rw/cd etc as it "promotes file and media sharing". It has nothing to do with mac's, or dick sizes or anything else.

I was responding to the argument of why people need optical drives.

And you are correct – this has always been the case. I remember we used to even disable diskette drives for the same reason, and had a central 'drive/scan station' (with full anti-virus et al) if you'd like to get your files to the network.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 4th, 2010, 7:37 am

:fist: :fist:
Last edited by evo-STI-k on January 31st, 2011, 1:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Snags

Postby Snags » October 4th, 2010, 11:39 am

Strauss wrote:
Snags wrote:^Lmao, it is against the rules to have dvd/cd drives in any computer that is to be issued to a school, that's why the systems came without them. If you were to submit a tender for a government contract, they would discard it if they saw dvd/rw/cd etc as it "promotes file and media sharing". It has nothing to do with mac's, or dick sizes or anything else.

I was responding to the argument of why people need optical drives.

And you are correct – this has always been the case. I remember we used to even disable diskette drives for the same reason, and had a central 'drive/scan station' (with full anti-virus et al) if you'd like to get your files to the network.

Ai, I was just setting the record straight so that people wouldn't focus on anything other than the true reason why it was left out. There's all sorts of talks about things that are obsolete and it making it harder for the kids to do their work when the simple reality is that it's against the policy for the aforementioned reason. You knew it, I know it, now everyone else knows it as well and they can move on to something else.

RadeonHD

Postby RadeonHD » October 4th, 2010, 4:46 pm

People in supertech told me that PC Expertz in freeport and tunapuna does honor HP warranty

Anyone knows how true this is?

douglaking

Postby douglaking » October 5th, 2010, 8:34 am

^^ give them a call......

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » October 5th, 2010, 9:18 am

jeez time to change meh signature, these ppl failing miserably...

1. HP is sheit, motherboard issues are rampant
2. dem young chirren cyar take care of nuttin
3. I eh too business nah, more work for me cause i will gladly wipe it clean and reinstall untraceable software, do wat allyuh want...

Strauss

Postby Strauss » October 5th, 2010, 1:17 pm

nos_specialist wrote:jeez time to change meh signature, these ppl failing miserably...

1. HP is sheit, motherboard issues are rampant
2. dem young chirren cyar take care of nuttin
3. I eh too business nah, more work for me cause i will gladly wipe it clean and reinstall untraceable software, do wat allyuh want...

1. I hate anything running Windows, so I can't comment cept that DELL is the WORST imo.
2. True. They can't take care of shoes, clothes, books, phones, cars, toys etc but they still get it.
3. Yes, this will create employment – which is what the government said.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 6th, 2010, 3:03 pm

^ you know you are correct.

Windows always runs like crap compared to say Linux or OSX.

I don't use OSX but I do use Ubuntu 10 linux which has like a million times more special effects than windows or even OSX.

You should try ubuntu with something called compiz fusion and cairo dock. LOL you won't want to use either windows or osx after that.

But only thing linux is a lil more difficult for people new to it and most stuff not compatible with it.

However with something called WINE a program that allows windows .exe files to run in linux I found a few that worked for me.

Photoshop CS5

Maxon Cinema 4D

and well a good amount of other stuff. It would have been a better idea to give students netbooks with linux. This would be the cheapest and what not. But hey they get good stuff so say what.

For $15,000 the government could have gotten MAC though. Hell they could have gotten it for a lot less. MAC would have been better in my opinion. But then again software is another issue.

Open Office does everything you need it to do. And its FREE. Its a shame in this day and age people are still a slave to microsoft and all these high cost products.

Blender 3D can do almost the same graphical work that 3DS MAX can do and its free compared to 3ds max which is like $5000 US

But because of the different interface and lack of plugin support is why I use 3DS MAX cause thats what the college taught me in Miami. However this does not in anyway mean that Blender can't create the same work.