Re: Leaving Trinidad for good...

Postby 88sins » March 5th, 2024, 9:33 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
88sins wrote:Small update.
Whole clan gt. Who eh get Canadian pr get their multiple entry visas & super visas.

All I studying now, is when to say "we moving on ××/××, allyuh pack allyuh bag"
I just want to finish this phase of my construction project before I decide

congrats

thnx.
but the thing is, boi, I personally really eh WANT to go yuh kno. I born here, grow here, and wouldn't mind dying here of old age in comfort and peace.
Is just that between tribal politics, crime, infrastructure issues, and the myriad of various other aspects of manure that the so-called "powers that be" (who can be bought and sold wholesale for a shilling mind you), consider par for the course, make one's options other than departure kinda limited.

Postby paid_influencer » March 5th, 2024, 9:58 pm

island is a shiethole
failed state
stay here only if you have no other option
hope that helps

Postby Habit7 » March 5th, 2024, 10:11 pm

good luck in Canada

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » March 5th, 2024, 10:22 pm

Every country in this day and age might be a shitehole. Best to stay in your own shitehole that you know than someone else's shitehole that you don't know.

Postby alfa » March 5th, 2024, 10:58 pm

Habit7 wrote:

good luck in Canada

You just had to be a sour puss :roll: . What's the point of posting this after the man and he whole family done get through, steups.

Postby Habit7 » March 5th, 2024, 11:25 pm

So declaring T&T, a place where most of us we born and grew up and our families live, as a failed state is the harsh truth that we must confront and used to be the impetus for us leaving this God forsaken place.

But the statistical reality that 1 in 5 immigrants to Canada leave will cause hurt feelings?

I sorry, I will also petition YouTube and social media to remove the countless commentary of immigrants warning ppl not to come to Canada.

Postby Chimera » March 6th, 2024, 6:12 am

DMan7 wrote:Every country in this day and age might be a shitehole. Best to stay in your own shitehole that you know than someone else's shitehole that you don't know.
The crime is the main thing here though.
Not safe anywhere. You could say that you and the family don't go out to lime and avoid Bars or the nightlife but home invasions is a normal thing here now.

Postby Dave » March 6th, 2024, 6:51 am

Key thing is don't make yourself a victim or an easy target.
It's almost a prison life.
Don't say it can't happen to you as almost everyone here has an actual experience of a personal nature or close contact incident.

Postby pugboy » March 6th, 2024, 7:19 am

that’s the kicker
everybody knows somebody knows somebody firsthand a victim of serious crime now
no longer something you hear about

Dave wrote:Key thing is don't make yourself a victim or an easy target.
Don't say it can't happen to you as almost everyone here has an actual experience of a personal nature or close contact incident.

Postby Dave » March 6th, 2024, 7:43 am

pugboy wrote:that’s the kicker

Prime example. I am one and I know you had a crime against your folks.
Can call a few other tuners as well.

The Bamboo Online

Postby The Bamboo Online » March 6th, 2024, 10:03 am

Hmmm Venezuelan committing all kinds of crimes in NYC so if anyone thinking of heading there be careful. The city has given all migrants a curfew to be back inside every night to cut down on the madness

Dave wrote:
pugboy wrote:that’s the kicker

Prime example. I am one and I know you had a crime against your folks.
Can call a few other tuners as well.

Postby 88sins » March 6th, 2024, 10:36 am

Habit7 wrote:

good luck in Canada

This is one of the many ways in which we differ son.
In my and my family case wrt migration, luck got nothing to do with it. What some people call luck, is to us simply the product of what happens when preparedness and a willingness to take calculated risk meets opportunity. And we been preparing for this for a while now.

I'll tell you something.
We not making that move with hollow or shallow pockets. My personal resources for the transition is around CAD $40K, and everyone else is moving with a minimum of CAD$20K, but a few moving with a lot more than I am.

Some may wonder, why so much money? And the answer to that is simple. Because is plenty of us, and our 1st acquisition upon arrival will be to rent a couple houses or apartments for 3 years maximum (is plenty ah we, one house will in all probability not have enough room), which we already have the finances to cover. After that 3 year span, time to buy property. 2nd acquisition is 2-3 vehicles (again, which we have the finances to purchase, but will probably buy on credit to build credit ratings). After that, is just a matter of finding employment, getting used to the culture and temperature difference, and so on. Additionally, the retirees in the family aren't many, but they are going to remain retired with support from the rest of us. Same for minors, not many kids in the group Whilst we not here, some houses will lock up, most will rent out, bringing in income. And everyone looking forward to leaving. One old timer done asking me when is whitetail deer season and caribou season & what we go do :lol:

Short tip for you bro.
Anyone can live well anywhere, even immigrants to a foreign country, or those who choose to remain in their homeland. You just have to understand and accept 2 things. One is that no matter who you are or where you are, nowhere is perfect and everywhere have problems, so adaptability will be an asset for you if you can develop it within yourself. The other and more important thing, is that your life no matter who you are or where you live will be as easy or as difficult as you are willing to work to make it and the choices you make, and to make it easier you have to be overly prepared BEFORE you move for anything that can come after you move. If you fail to prepare, be prepared to fail.

Postby Habit7 » March 6th, 2024, 11:10 am

I honestly hope for all the best for you. I have studied and lived abroad and I will encourage all ppl to at least do so for some period of their life. Nevertheless, the video highlights relevant factual info that you will have to weigh as we all do with all things, good vs bad.

Bad Dog

Postby Bad Dog » March 6th, 2024, 11:19 am

There is some truth in that WION report.
Mostly, people from Hong Kong, China, Taiwan and other Far East countries who immigrated 20 or more years ago were admitted as investors and entrepreneur categories has emigrated within 20 years of admission. These categories include wealthy immigrants who tend to be highly mobile and who may have planned to leave Canada in the future to return to their homeland leaving their children in Canada. Their children integrated into Canadian society, well educated and hold very good jobs in stable positions and driving BMWs, Mercedes', Audis even some Ferraris and Maserati's.

However, a lot of Indian students come to Canada in the hope that after their studies they will secure a work permit and be on their way to full citizenship. The failure is that most of them apply to non-accredited schools (as we say fly by night schools) thinking that they are enrolling in a post grad program that will provide them with a top notch education and prepare them for lucrative jobs. These people ends up in retail, restaurants, uber, deliver pizzas and other menial jobs which pays minimum wages. As a result they cannot maintain a living standard above the poverty line.

Recently, I spoke to an Indian guy working in a 7Eleven. He completed his post grad program only to find out that it has no value in securing a good paying job, he is earning $1600 a month and renting a one bedroom basement apartment for $1500. His wife and children is anxiously waiting for him to get citizenship and sponsor them but he is planning to return to India very soon.

Housing is expensive, high immigrants intake, high interest rates, cost of new builds, inflation and high demand drives the costs.

Postby 88sins » March 6th, 2024, 1:18 pm

Bad Dog wrote:There is some truth in that WION report.
Mostly, people from Hong Kong, China, Taiwan and other Far East countries who immigrated 20 or more years ago were admitted as investors and entrepreneur categories has emigrated within 20 years of admission. These categories include wealthy immigrants who tend to be highly mobile and who may have planned to leave Canada in the future to return to their homeland leaving their children in Canada. Their children integrated into Canadian society, well educated and hold very good jobs in stable positions and driving BMWs, Mercedes', Audis even some Ferraris and Maserati's.

However, a lot of Indian students come to Canada in the hope that after their studies they will secure a work permit and be on their way to full citizenship. The failure is that most of them apply to non-accredited schools (as we say fly by night schools) thinking that they are enrolling in a post grad program that will provide them with a top notch education and prepare them for lucrative jobs. These people ends up in retail, restaurants, uber, deliver pizzas and other menial jobs which pays minimum wages. As a result they cannot maintain a living standard above the poverty line.

Recently, I spoke to an Indian guy working in a 7Eleven. He completed his post grad program only to find out that it has no value in securing a good paying job, he is earning $1600 a month and renting a one bedroom basement apartment for $1500. His wife and children is anxiously waiting for him to get citizenship and sponsor them but he is planning to return to India very soon.

Housing is expensive, high immigrants intake, high interest rates, cost of new builds, inflation and high demand drives the costs.

Some truth in it, but a bit of untruth by omission as well. They trying to push a narrative.
But that's what you get when you unprepared and believing in pipe dreams and looking to spend the least and reap the most.
buh wha yuh go do?

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » March 6th, 2024, 2:14 pm

As with any country, you have to factor in a lot of things before making a move, whether to Canada, the US or elsewhere.

I would say the main concerns for most folks would be (after consular affairs)

1) Choosing a place to live. Will you live where the rent/housing is cheap, or will you go become part of the diaspora that sticks to certain locations and carries on the same way they did in Trinidad because they are enabled by other Trinis abroad.
2) Asset Base ( How will you sustain yourself in a foreign country after you arrive )
3) Employment/Income ( Did you get a good job offer? Are you gonna do gig work or work at Walmart? Do you make passive income off rentals in Trinidad/other investments?)
4) Accruing assets/wealth for future generations (Can you do that where you have chosen to live and are not stuck in a paycheck to paycheck cycle).
5) How often you wish to visit Trinidad (Once a year/a decade/never again)

Bad Dog

Postby Bad Dog » March 6th, 2024, 3:58 pm

Bad Dog wrote:There is some truth in that WION report.

Some truth in it, but a bit of untruth by omission as well. They trying to push a narrative.
But that's what you get when you unprepared and believing in pipe dreams and looking to spend the least and reap the most.
buh wha yuh go do?

Sins congrats on getting your documents.
I just highlighted 2 extremes from the well to do that does very well to the other extreme where people are living below the poverty line. The omission is the in between that finds success in planning and have the funds to execute the plan. Most immigrants who qualify under the points system do vey well because of their education, occupation, family ties and finances. Canada is a great place to raise a family, get a good education, integrate into society and live happily after.

It gets cold in winter...dress in warm clothing, get involve in winter sports and you good.
Word of caution... stay away from Trinidad suffers that you meet in your new homeland.

Postby matr1x » March 6th, 2024, 8:37 pm

Why would anyone want to live in Canada?

Postby 88sins » March 7th, 2024, 1:19 am

matr1x wrote:Why would anyone want to live in Canada?

Depending on where in the country you choose to live,it can actually be quite nice.
Peace and quiet, reduced chances of being robbed and murdered, clean fresh air, a vast array of options and opportunities for work and education and recreation, you get to see your tax dollars work for you, and the weather ain't terrible all year round. When it cold it blasted cold. But similar can be said for this region, when it hot it blasted hot.

But to each their own

Postby zoom rader » March 7th, 2024, 7:53 am

Cause it have zero PNM guntas wanting to buss u up or invade ur home.

Postby matr1x » March 7th, 2024, 8:28 am

Yeah, but they hate east Indians

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » March 7th, 2024, 9:21 am

Went to university in Canada a few years back, Canada is nice, safer than TnT, more expensive than the US tho.

Winters are of course cold, but you get used to it. Plenty Indian people in Toronto, Chinese as well. Not as white as you would think. The outer provinces are less diverse.

There is also something called the Atlantic Immigration program or similar, makes it easier to migrate to the Atlantic provinces.

Postby Dave » March 7th, 2024, 9:58 am

Ppl always comment about the health care in Canada is top notch.
Is it?

Postby 88sins » March 7th, 2024, 10:29 am

Dave wrote:Ppl always comment about the health care in Canada is top notch.
Is it?

Public-decent, kinda similar to public health care here. You will get emergency care quick, everything else hold strain.
Private -top notch, but expensive af, again much like here.

Most ppl, if they have to do major surgery, and want to do it private for the sake of time, will come back here because it's cheaper. For example, cardiac bypass surgery can cost about CAD $150K on the low end there, but will be about TTD $350-$400K here. And when you convert CAD$150K@5:1 that's TTD$750K, so you saving a whole lot doing so.
Only problem with this is, your Canadian insurer may reject your claim if you submit it from an out of country service provider. Depending on who you insured with an the policy restrictions

Bad Dog

Postby Bad Dog » March 7th, 2024, 11:05 am

Dave wrote:Ppl always comment about the health care in Canada is top notch.
Is it?

Public-decent, kinda similar to public health care here. You will get emergency care quick, everything else hold strain.
Private -top notch, but expensive af, again much like here.

Most ppl, if they have to do major surgery, and want to do it private for the sake of time, will come back here because it's cheaper. For example, cardiac bypass surgery can cost about CAD $150K on the low end there, but will be about TTD $350-$400K here. And when you convert CAD$150K@5:1 that's TTD$750K, so you saving a whole lot doing so.
Only problem with this is, your Canadian insurer may reject your claim if you submit it from an out of country service provider. Depending on who you insured with an the policy restrictions

It's important to find a family doctor as the Covid epidemic ravaged the health care system with burnouts and people leaving the profession or moving out of province.
Public healthcare is free because patients are not required to pay any fees to receive medical attention at a healthcare facility. Also, some employers provide supplementary health plan that covers medication, vision and dental costs. Public healthcare is is funded by a tax paid by Canadian citizens and permanent residents.

Cardiac surgery is free. However, wait times may vary depending on the urgency and target times for cardiac surgeries in Ontario are set by surgeons, specialists and health care administrators across the province.

Postby matr1x » March 7th, 2024, 11:18 am

Moving to anywhere is going to have challenges.

Postby pugboy » March 7th, 2024, 11:52 am

canada public health is oversubscribed now
very long wait times for appointments
so much so if you at a doc for one thing and say something else hurting they make you get another appt
also the insurance system is skewed so private is not really covered or something like that i was told

Postby zoom rader » March 9th, 2024, 11:54 am

matr1x wrote:

Uk hated East Indians too in the 60s & 70s,

Who's the Prime minister? And Scotland?

Only a matter of time for an Indian leader in Canada

Postby matr1x » March 9th, 2024, 12:58 pm

matr1x wrote:

Uk hated East Indians too in the 60s & 70s,

Who's the Prime minister? And Scotland?

Only a matter of time for an Indian leader in Canada

Hindus in particular

xtech

Postby xtech » March 9th, 2024, 1:17 pm

White people such weak pushovers they can’t go Japan or India or china or Africa and get elected to prime minister lol jokes on them
Last edited by xtech on March 9th, 2024, 2:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.