what's wrong with european cars?

Conrad

Re: what's wrong with european cars?

Postby Conrad » November 8th, 2012, 10:56 am

Upcfordcruiser wrote:James May said it best... "There are fewer things more expensive in life than owning a 9 year old European car"

That being said, yes they're built like tanks. Yes, the parts are higher quality. Yes, you're more likely to survive a crash in one. These are points nobody should dispute.

But... you have to have an income to match the car. It's called the Gillette syndrome. Everyone can afford a new Gillette razor kit, it's the damn blade refills that cost a bloody fortune. An Audi, Mercedes, or Beamer with some years and miles on it will have an attractive price on the showroom floor, but that price is made up for in the back, at the parts counter.

Okay, I can't afford dealer parts. Let me head on down to Joe's Parts store and you'll find out why these cars are so damn expensive to work on. There's just no 3rd party parts available with the exception of belts and hoses.

So people then do the #1 thing you should never do with a euro car. They neglect the repairs. Run Merc's or BMW's ELC red antifreeze? Nope, get the cheap green 50/50 premix because "it's all the same" (it's not). Run Mobile 1? Nah, can't afford the syn. juice, the conventional 10w-30 that's on sale will work just fine (it won't). And the worst of all... "..premium cost too much, it'll run just fine on 87 octane..". So then you have a vehicle that overheats, blows oil coolers, runs ragged and gets terrible gas mileage, but it's the car's fault the owners didn't follow mfr recommended service. Those damn euro cars!

Crazy part is, once you remove the air intake ducting and all the plastic engine covers, they're no harder to work on than a typical Honda Accord. If you can't afford to have the dealer service your ride, then put on your big boy pants, get a tool set, get the parts, and buy a service guide.

How is the air up there? Euro-owner feeling superior much?

Postby honda hoe » November 8th, 2012, 11:07 am

Upcfordcruiser wrote:James May said it best... "There are fewer things more expensive in life than owning a 9 year old European car"

That being said, yes they're built like tanks. Yes, the parts are higher quality. Yes, you're more likely to survive a crash in one. These are points nobody should dispute.

But... you have to have an income to match the car. It's called the Gillette syndrome. Everyone can afford a new Gillette razor kit, it's the damn blade refills that cost a bloody fortune. An Audi, Mercedes, or Beamer with some years and miles on it will have an attractive price on the showroom floor, but that price is made up for in the back, at the parts counter.

Okay, I can't afford dealer parts. Let me head on down to Joe's Parts store and you'll find out why these cars are so damn expensive to work on. There's just no 3rd party parts available with the exception of belts and hoses.

So people then do the #1 thing you should never do with a euro car. They neglect the repairs. Run Merc's or BMW's ELC red antifreeze? Nope, get the cheap green 50/50 premix because "it's all the same" (it's not). Run Mobile 1? Nah, can't afford the syn. juice, the conventional 10w-30 that's on sale will work just fine (it won't). And the worst of all... "..premium cost too much, it'll run just fine on 87 octane..". So then you have a vehicle that overheats, blows oil coolers, runs ragged and gets terrible gas mileage, but it's the car's fault the owners didn't follow mfr recommended service. Those damn euro cars!

Postby cinco » November 8th, 2012, 11:10 am

honda hoe wrote:

sez the man who considering public transport rather than full premium

Postby honda hoe » November 8th, 2012, 11:19 am

cinco wrote:
honda hoe wrote:

sez the man who considering public transport rather than full premium

PTSC for it :fist:

Upcfordcruiser

Postby Upcfordcruiser » November 8th, 2012, 11:21 am

Conrad wrote:

How is the air up there? Euro-owner feeling superior much?

Never owned a euro car in my life. Have worked on them, and my mother owns a 2002 Mercedes E430. It has been a very good car but has had some unusual problems you just don't see in a typical Japanese or even an American car.

Off the top of my head, in the last 3 years it's had...
- New air conditioning temp sensor (car has dual climate control and with a/c on, the driver side would blow hot, passenger side blew cold. Part was $20 from dealer)
- Crank position sensor
- New o2 sensors
- New catalytic converters (done under warranty at 80k miles)

And the oddest item of all... the gas cap has been replaced 3 times. Apparently it's a two-piece cap and the upper plastic part will strip and separate from the lower metal part, making removing the cap next to impossible. I eventually soaked the metal parts in synthetic moly lubricant and it hasn't been a problem since.

Postby crazybalhead » November 8th, 2012, 11:21 am

Buses doh run in Dass Trace.

Postby cinco » November 8th, 2012, 11:26 am

crazybalhead wrote:Buses doh run in Dass Trace.

everything does run FROM Dass Trace

villain

Postby villain » November 8th, 2012, 12:16 pm

all i know is that when i have to do simple work on my 323 like for eg... service or change a/c part...like an evaporator..it's just go under dash unscrew panel and whatever else out, replace and go my way.....my Peugeot on the other hand have to scrap the whole dash, steering and center console, just to get to that same part.................the labor costs more than the part

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » November 8th, 2012, 11:30 pm

i have read alot of great points for both sides on this thread.

i still love the euro over jap anyday.......a lot of men who express love for their jap econo box would jump at owning a euro in the morning if their situation permits.

my dream garage would be Euro and a jap sports car RX7, Evo\WRX\STi.

Postby crazybalhead » November 9th, 2012, 7:19 am

5onDfloor wrote:i have read alot of great points for both sides on this thread.

i still love the euro over jap anyday.......a lot of men who express love for their jap econo box would jump at owning a euro in the morning if their situation permits.

Not me.

Postby cinco » November 9th, 2012, 7:23 am

crazybalhead wrote:
5onDfloor wrote:i have read alot of great points for both sides on this thread.

Not me.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » November 9th, 2012, 7:32 am

Euros have FAR superior Build quality , insulation and safety as apposed to their JDM counterpart.

However i still would NOT buy a used EUro, brand NEw and SELL after 4 yrs..... regardless of its giving trouble or not, because eventually it will.

And yes i do agree, most of the second hand audi's, bmw's and mercedes yuh seeing on big rims and pimped out now are being purchased by "WANNA Be's" and those stating some form of status upgrade.

Postby nemisis » November 9th, 2012, 7:41 am

How does this status car thing work? When I see a man in a vehicle crossing 270k brand new ist thing I think is he scrounging to pay his $5000 a month installments. Probably having expensive cars was a status back in the day but these days bank giving everybody loans, so unless I personally know you making real money my default thought is a man over compensating and hopefully ramen isn't dinner for his kids.....

Postby cinco » November 9th, 2012, 7:54 am

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:Euros have FAR superior Build quality , insulation and safety as apposed to their JDM counterpart.

However i still would NOT buy a used EUro, brand NEw and SELL after 4 yrs..... regardless of its giving trouble or not, because eventually it will.

And yes i do agree, most of the second hand audi's, bmw's and mercedes yuh seeing on big rims and pimped out now are being purchased by "WANNA Be's" and those stating some form of status upgrade.

contradict yourself much?

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » November 9th, 2012, 8:06 am

nemisis wrote:How does this status car thing work? When I see a man in a vehicle crossing 270k brand new ist thing I think is he scrounging to pay his $5000 a month installments. Probably having expensive cars was a status back in the day but these days bank giving everybody loans, so unless I personally know you making real money my default thought is a man over compensating and hopefully ramen isn't dinner for his kids.....

HMM, like yuh talkibg bout the man who have the crashed LAMBO there, all those cars and he doesnt have a house.

bolts on flame suit before his stupid cousin starts to come in and brag about how be bought ANother lambo cause he have so much money.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » November 9th, 2012, 8:08 am

I would like to encourage those of you who never drove a european car to ask a friend/co-worker/relative/new car salesman for a drive and then you would soon realize that the sonata, mazda6, camry, accord and teana you praised before requires a review :wink:

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » November 9th, 2012, 8:22 am

everybody should buy what they could afford :

If you could afford to buy a euro and pay for parts etc go for it (eg 100,000 repair bill , who cares i gots money yo)

If you could afford a jdm and parts etc go for it (eg 15000 repair bill, who cares i gots money yo)

it all comes down what they buyer can afford ...

Personally I think euros perform better further away from the equator ....

Upcfordcruiser

Postby Upcfordcruiser » November 9th, 2012, 9:45 am

All this bickering between Euro and JDM... at Trinidad isn't saddled with Dodge/Chrysler built cars. They're just downright terrible vehicles. It's a joke in the automotive repair field that Dodge's come from the factory with at least one oil leak. A Dodge that doesn't leak oil is a Dodge without oil in the engine! LOL. Everytime someone brings me one to repair, I take an asprin. Not only are they badly made, they're designed almost entirely on computer, which means components in strange locations. Need to change a battery on a Dodge Intrepid? Jack up the car and take off the front passenger tire, remove from bottom of car. Need to change a water pump on a Dodge Neon? Whole front engine timing assembly (and accessories) have to come off. Most people just change out the entire engine - due to a bad water pump!. I could go on and on. Every mechanic in T&T count your lucky stars you don't have to deal with them.

Postby gastly369 » November 9th, 2012, 10:49 am

^^ :shock: :shock:

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » November 9th, 2012, 11:41 am

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:Euros have FAR superior Build quality , insulation and safety as apposed to their JDM counterpart.

^^ agreed.....and the same "wanna be's" can be said for those who want to live in over priced gated communities and $2-5mil homes paying 12-15k/mth mortgage for 25-30yrs.

it comes down to choice..have money will spend!

Postby eliteauto » November 9th, 2012, 12:12 pm

under priced gated community FTW

Postby cinco » November 9th, 2012, 12:15 pm

i like how he no bother to comment on my quote

partscentral

Postby partscentral » December 24th, 2012, 10:52 pm

there is nothing wrong with european cars .there is something wrong with trinidadians .an european car and parts would outlast any japan made cars (same age and mileage) parts for european cars are generally not cheap but very durable.japanise cars 2009 upwards are not cheap and dont last very long.when pple say dey prefer ah nissan etc over any euros is ole ting dey talkin bout like b14 etc and is only f.used parts dey buying not new parts,NOTHING CAN LIVE UP TO EUROPEAN CARS

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 25th, 2012, 12:56 am

Reez100 wrote:my family bought a 7 series bmw for $1.1M four years ago put it up for sale since june this year finally got it sold last week for $400k one of the reasons wrong with european cars no resale value

Ahh... BMW, the Trini drug-man car.
No way in hell I'm buying one to be tracked.

Postby De Dragon » December 25th, 2012, 3:48 am

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:
nemisis wrote:How does this status car thing work? When I see a man in a vehicle crossing 270k brand new ist thing I think is he scrounging to pay his $5000 a month installments. Probably having expensive cars was a status back in the day but these days bank giving everybody loans, so unless I personally know you making real money my default thought is a man over compensating and hopefully ramen isn't dinner for his kids.....

HMM, like yuh talkibg bout the man who have the crashed LAMBO there, all those cars and he doesnt have a house.

bolts on flame suit before his stupid cousin starts to come in and brag about how be bought ANother lambo cause he have so much money.

How exactly you know this?

eitech

Postby eitech » December 25th, 2012, 8:53 am

LMAO. I dunno where some ofyou gettin ur stastistics frm. Lol. Kidnappin, changing parts evry 3 mths, Lol

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » December 25th, 2012, 10:07 am

rspann wrote:That's why i asked when last you see a kidnapping,that's a thing of the past in Trinidad,except where young girls getting "kidnap".But every day car theft and accidents ,if it were you which would you prefer?Your kids in a safe vehicle,or fearing non existent kidnappers?And I ent no badman eh dan.

non existent kidnappers?? U living in hyatt or wha...

eitech

Postby eitech » December 25th, 2012, 12:01 pm

LMAO. He not livin here. Maybe under a rock

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » December 25th, 2012, 12:39 pm

acesinghit wrote:I would like to encourage those of you who never drove a european car to ask a friend/co-worker/relative/new car salesman for a drive and then you would soon realize that the sonata, mazda6, camry, accord and teana you praised before requires a review :wink:

It really depends on what you looking for in a car. Reliability and fuel efficiency are better in the JDM than euro. Euro cars though have a very stable feel on the road. For example how many euro cars can compare to the Corolla.

devrat

Postby devrat » December 25th, 2012, 12:59 pm

Fack all ah allyuh.....I love my Euros..............

oh btw Merry Christmas to all