Upcfordcruiser wrote:James May said it best... "There are fewer things more expensive in life than owning a 9 year old European car"
That being said, yes they're built like tanks. Yes, the parts are higher quality. Yes, you're more likely to survive a crash in one. These are points nobody should dispute.
But... you have to have an income to match the car. It's called the Gillette syndrome. Everyone can afford a new Gillette razor kit, it's the damn blade refills that cost a bloody fortune. An Audi, Mercedes, or Beamer with some years and miles on it will have an attractive price on the showroom floor, but that price is made up for in the back, at the parts counter.
Okay, I can't afford dealer parts. Let me head on down to Joe's Parts store and you'll find out why these cars are so damn expensive to work on. There's just no 3rd party parts available with the exception of belts and hoses.
So people then do the #1 thing you should never do with a euro car. They neglect the repairs. Run Merc's or BMW's ELC red antifreeze? Nope, get the cheap green 50/50 premix because "it's all the same" (it's not). Run Mobile 1? Nah, can't afford the syn. juice, the conventional 10w-30 that's on sale will work just fine (it won't). And the worst of all... "..premium cost too much, it'll run just fine on 87 octane..". So then you have a vehicle that overheats, blows oil coolers, runs ragged and gets terrible gas mileage, but it's the car's fault the owners didn't follow mfr recommended service. Those damn euro cars!
Crazy part is, once you remove the air intake ducting and all the plastic engine covers, they're no harder to work on than a typical Honda Accord. If you can't afford to have the dealer service your ride, then put on your big boy pants, get a tool set, get the parts, and buy a service guide.
Upcfordcruiser wrote:James May said it best... "There are fewer things more expensive in life than owning a 9 year old European car"
That being said, yes they're built like tanks. Yes, the parts are higher quality. Yes, you're more likely to survive a crash in one. These are points nobody should dispute.
But... you have to have an income to match the car. It's called the Gillette syndrome. Everyone can afford a new Gillette razor kit, it's the damn blade refills that cost a bloody fortune. An Audi, Mercedes, or Beamer with some years and miles on it will have an attractive price on the showroom floor, but that price is made up for in the back, at the parts counter.
Okay, I can't afford dealer parts. Let me head on down to Joe's Parts store and you'll find out why these cars are so damn expensive to work on. There's just no 3rd party parts available with the exception of belts and hoses.
So people then do the #1 thing you should never do with a euro car. They neglect the repairs. Run Merc's or BMW's ELC red antifreeze? Nope, get the cheap green 50/50 premix because "it's all the same" (it's not). Run Mobile 1? Nah, can't afford the syn. juice, the conventional 10w-30 that's on sale will work just fine (it won't). And the worst of all... "..premium cost too much, it'll run just fine on 87 octane..". So then you have a vehicle that overheats, blows oil coolers, runs ragged and gets terrible gas mileage, but it's the car's fault the owners didn't follow mfr recommended service. Those damn euro cars!
honda hoe wrote:Upcfordcruiser wrote:James May said it best... "There are fewer things more expensive in life than owning a 9 year old European car"
cinco wrote:honda hoe wrote:Upcfordcruiser wrote:James May said it best... "There are fewer things more expensive in life than owning a 9 year old European car"
sez the man who considering public transport rather than full premium
Conrad wrote:
How is the air up there? Euro-owner feeling superior much?
crazybalhead wrote:Buses doh run in Dass Trace.
5onDfloor wrote:i have read alot of great points for both sides on this thread.
i still love the euro over jap anyday.......a lot of men who express love for their jap econo box would jump at owning a euro in the morning if their situation permits.
my dream garage would be Euro and a jap sports car RX7, Evo\WRX\STi.
crazybalhead wrote:5onDfloor wrote:i have read alot of great points for both sides on this thread.
i still love the euro over jap anyday.......a lot of men who express love for their jap econo box would jump at owning a euro in the morning if their situation permits.
my dream garage would be Euro and a jap sports car RX7, Evo\WRX\STi.
Not me.
RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:Euros have FAR superior Build quality , insulation and safety as apposed to their JDM counterpart.
However i still would NOT buy a used EUro, brand NEw and SELL after 4 yrs..... regardless of its giving trouble or not, because eventually it will.
And yes i do agree, most of the second hand audi's, bmw's and mercedes yuh seeing on big rims and pimped out now are being purchased by "WANNA Be's" and those stating some form of status upgrade.
nemisis wrote:How does this status car thing work? When I see a man in a vehicle crossing 270k brand new ist thing I think is he scrounging to pay his $5000 a month installments. Probably having expensive cars was a status back in the day but these days bank giving everybody loans, so unless I personally know you making real money my default thought is a man over compensating and hopefully ramen isn't dinner for his kids.....
RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:Euros have FAR superior Build quality , insulation and safety as apposed to their JDM counterpart.
However i still would NOT buy a used EUro, brand NEw and SELL after 4 yrs..... regardless of its giving trouble or not, because eventually it will.
And yes i do agree, most of the second hand audi's, bmw's and mercedes yuh seeing on big rims and pimped out now are being purchased by "WANNA Be's" and those stating some form of status upgrade.
Reez100 wrote:my family bought a 7 series bmw for $1.1M four years ago put it up for sale since june this year finally got it sold last week for $400k one of the reasons wrong with european cars no resale value
RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:nemisis wrote:How does this status car thing work? When I see a man in a vehicle crossing 270k brand new ist thing I think is he scrounging to pay his $5000 a month installments. Probably having expensive cars was a status back in the day but these days bank giving everybody loans, so unless I personally know you making real money my default thought is a man over compensating and hopefully ramen isn't dinner for his kids.....
HMM, like yuh talkibg bout the man who have the crashed LAMBO there, all those cars and he doesnt have a house.
bolts on flame suit before his stupid cousin starts to come in and brag about how be bought ANother lambo cause he have so much money.
rspann wrote:That's why i asked when last you see a kidnapping,that's a thing of the past in Trinidad,except where young girls getting "kidnap".But every day car theft and accidents ,if it were you which would you prefer?Your kids in a safe vehicle,or fearing non existent kidnappers?And I ent no badman eh dan.
acesinghit wrote:I would like to encourage those of you who never drove a european car to ask a friend/co-worker/relative/new car salesman for a drive and then you would soon realize that the sonata, mazda6, camry, accord and teana you praised before requires a review