PAP letter for Rachel Price.

Re: PAP letter for Rachel Price.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 24th, 2014, 1:50 am

http://m.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-10-23 ... -tolerated—carmona

President Anthony Carmona says “unwarranted attacks” which seek to bring members of his family and his office into disrepute will not be tolerated. A statement from his office yesterday confirmed a CNC3 report on Tuesday that attorneys representing his wife, Reema, had sent a pre-action protocol letter to comedienne and radio talk show host Rachel Price last Friday over alleged defamatory and offensive statements related to the First Lady’s attire at the UN last month.

The constitutional right of freedom of expression was not a licence to defame, the statement said. “The Office of the President respects and values the constitutional right of every individual to freedom of expression and the principles of fair comments. Freedom of the press remains sacrosanct,” the statement said.

It said the pre-action protocol letter was issued on the advice of Senior Counsel and was in respect of defamatory statements only. “The Office of the President will be vigilant to protect the dignity of Office of the President and ensure that the citizens of the Republic of T&T continue to maintain respect for the office,” the statement said. During her radio programme yesterday, Price said she was yet to get the letter. But saying it was an attack on freedom of speech and her right to speak on a public figure and on an incident which drew public attention and comment, Price vowed to fight it in court.

sbocus

Postby sbocus » October 24th, 2014, 5:38 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/REE ... 41992.html

REEMA VS RACHEL
Wife’s dress: President threatens to sue radio talk-show host for defamation

By Ria Taitt Political Editor
Story Created: Oct 22, 2014 at 11:27 PM ECT
Story Updated: Oct 22, 2014 at 11:40 PM ECT
In an unprecedented move, the Office of the President has joined with the wife of the President, Reema Carmona, in threatening legal action against comedienne and talk-show host Rachel Price for “offensive” utterances made about Mrs Carmona’s attire. A release issued by the Office of the President confirmed yesterday that a pre-action protocol letter was sent last Friday to Price by attorneys acting “on behalf of Her Excellency Reema Carmona and the Office of the President in respect of certain defamatory statements”.
It is the first time the Office of the President has attached itself to potential legal proceedings being threatened on behalf of the President’s wife.
The complaint arises out of Mrs Carmona’s dress, which came into sharp focus after a picture of her, with her mid-section exposed, standing alongside the conservatively-dressed Mrs Ban Ki-Moon at a United Nations function for first ladies in New York, USA.
The picture, which was given front-page coverage by the Express, provoked widespread comment, much of it adverse.
The President stressed yesterday he would defend Mrs Carmona’s reputation as well as the dignity of his office.
“Unwarranted attacks which cross the line into defamation and which seek to bring members of the family of His Excellency the President, and by extension the Office of the President into disrepute, will not be tolerated.
“The Office of the President will be vigilant to protect the dignity of Office of the President and ensure that the citizens of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago continue to maintain respect for the Office,” the release stated.
The release added, “The Office of the President respects and values the constitutional right of every individual to freedom of expression and the principles of fair comments. Freedom of the press remains sacrosanct. Freedom of expression is not, however a licence to defame. The pre-action protocol letter issued on the advice of senior counsel was in respect of defamatory statements only.”
The release did not identify exactly what comments Price had made to warrant the legal threat from the Office of the President and Mrs Carmona.
Price has however made reference to Reema Carmona in an advertisement for her show at NAPA. The ad was played repeatedly on radio.
In the ad, a male voice asks: “Price, whey is dat yuh have on dey?”
Price responds: “Is a priceless outfit.”
Male voice: “Priceless outfit? That is very inappropriate.”
Price: “You could talk to me about inappropriate? Why yuh doh go and talk to Carmona wife? I on radio, nobody seeing my belly, you know.”
Price, speaking on her morning programme on RED 96.7 FM yesterday, was undaunted and defiant as she spoke on the matter.
“Mrs Reema Carmona, I afraid of yuh pre-action? ... Let me let all yuh know in Trinidad and Tobago, I will fight to the death to disagree with you. This is a democracy! I don’t live in Mugabe’s Zimbabwe or Idi Amin’s Uganda...This is a democracy and if I can’t talk about the President’s wife belly that was in meh eye, then something very wrong....Yuh damn right, I doh know meh place. But I know meh citizenship. I mightn’t know meh place but yuh know meh home. This is Trinidad and Tobago. Carmona, send yuh letter and when you coming, come strong. Come hard. Come at me like a convict that now come out.”
Legal sources expressed alarm yesterday and questioned whether it was an abuse for the Office of the President to attach itself as a potential complainant to action, based on statements made about Mrs Carmona.
“Mrs Carmona, like any individual, can take legal action but the Office of the President cannot be defamed. You can only defame a legal personality recognised by law. The Office of the President is not a legal personality. There is no President of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago Incorporated. So it is quite wrong for the Office of the President to lend its authority to the cause of someone, albeit that it is a person to whom the President as a individual is connected,” one lawyer noted.
Though the release from the President stated the pre-action protocol letter was sent to a radio talk show host, the e-mail was tagged “Press release PreAction letter Rachel Price”.
The release said the Office of the President had sought and obtained the advice of senior counsel regarding certain offensive statements recently made by a radio talk show host. The release did not identify the senior counsel.
“Consistent with that advice, a pre-action protocol letter in accordance with the Civil Proceedings Rules 1998 was sent by attorneys-at-law on behalf of Her Excellency Reema Carmona and the Office of the President on Friday 17 October, 2014 in respect of certain defamatory statements,” the release said.
Up to press time yesterday, Price stated she had not yet received the pre-action protocol letter.
News of the matter lit up social media, as Facebook and Twitter were littered with comments from members of the public who also expressed their views on the radio talk shows.
Most people expressed solidarity with Price, though some persons were supportive of the President and Mrs Carmona.

Postby shogun » October 24th, 2014, 6:17 am

Sounds like the President is being White-Knighted into making this unprecedented and ridiculous move.

So many burning issues where we'd need a cool head at the helm, yet this is what time, effort and resources will be spent on?.

Postby Les Bain » October 24th, 2014, 7:13 am

So if we had freedom of speech how come DMX and Foxy Brown had get arrested for cursing? The Police is Cypress Hill fans?

tdavies

Postby tdavies » October 24th, 2014, 7:37 am

This issue will be gone tomm and erased from our minds. Rachael Price will still be a kant tho .........

Postby Slartibartfast » October 24th, 2014, 8:18 am

sbocus wrote:In the ad, a male voice asks: “Price, whey is dat yuh have on dey?”
Price responds: “Is a priceless outfit.”
Male voice: “Priceless outfit? That is very inappropriate.”
Price: “You could talk to me about inappropriate? Why yuh doh go and talk to Carmona wife? I on radio, nobody seeing my belly, you know.”

AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAH

HAHAHAHAAHAHAH

HAHAH

HA

AAAAAAAAAAA

HA

HA

HA

If that's comedy then I don't know what is

Postby sliderz1 » October 24th, 2014, 8:50 am

so Rachel counter sueing?

Average

Postby Average » October 24th, 2014, 10:03 am

Rachel just jealous that she doesn't have a man who actually is concerned about her like how Carmona is for his wife.

I feel sorry for this big belly beyotch.

ok, no I don't.

firetruck she.

Postby SR » October 24th, 2014, 10:07 am

Gladiator did care dais whe she sue him for the same thing and beat a man on the street and rough up the school teacher.....her reputation precedes her

Average

Postby Average » October 24th, 2014, 10:16 am

well.....she IS a guntress eh. I can just imagine how she flare up she nose and open up she eyes big,big and heave up she chest when she hear about the letter. The powder on she neck musbe start to roll up and cause mock with them hysterics.

Postby sliderz1 » October 24th, 2014, 10:50 am

Postby 1UZFE » October 24th, 2014, 11:02 am

Average wrote:well.....she IS a guntress eh. I can just imagine how she flare up she nose and open up she eyes big,big and heave up she chest when she hear about the letter. The powder on she neck musbe start to roll up and cause mock with them hysterics.

Babahahahahhah

Postby Redman » October 24th, 2014, 12:16 pm

So lemme get this straight

Allyuh vex because

the first lady wear something 'fashionable' to a Fashion for Development thingy in NY

RP who is a comedian say something 'out of line'

and the President who is a husband/lawyer/judge issue a legal letter...

sounds to me like everybody doing what they supposed to do.

Postby ismithx » October 24th, 2014, 1:18 pm

Redman wrote:So lemme get this straight

Allyuh vex because

the first lady wear something 'fashionable' to a Fashion for Development thingy in NY

like good little minions in the system

8-)

TiidaBanton

Postby TiidaBanton » October 24th, 2014, 1:27 pm

Anyone here get a salary increase as a result of the belly in question or the letter issued?

no? then who cares :sucks:

DJ

Postby DJ » October 24th, 2014, 1:28 pm

Dat could show me she belly anyday anytime anywhere in any position.
tn_firstlady_statevisitportrait_dsc0061.png
tn_firstlady_statevisitportrait_dsc0061.png (104.19 KiB) Viewed 2588 times

Postby Les Bain » October 24th, 2014, 1:33 pm

I know who I going and court when she husband kick the bucket.

Postby sliderz1 » October 24th, 2014, 1:36 pm

*thumbs up*

Postby rfari » October 24th, 2014, 1:39 pm

racial price could hsmc yes

Postby desifemlove » October 24th, 2014, 2:15 pm

price ent dat bad looking....still tink envy....price is a 6.5/10, Ms. Fuss Lady a 9.......
rachel price.jpg
rachel price.jpg (14.67 KiB) Viewed 2555 times
Reema+Carmona+Fashion+4+Development+Luncheon+V1uRkTScJe_l.jpg

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 24th, 2014, 2:16 pm

desifemlove wrote:price ent dat bad looking....still tink envy....price is a 6.5/10, Ms. Fuss Lady a 9.......

fuss lady a nine?!!!

Postby desifemlove » October 24th, 2014, 2:16 pm

Redman wrote:So lemme get this straight

Allyuh vex because

Out of line. what? dis is de issue at hand.... i doh tink she said anything defamatory.... if yuh doh like freedom of expression, firetruck off to North Korea...

Postby desifemlove » October 24th, 2014, 2:19 pm

spaceman24 wrote:Ppl tend to use freedom of speech as a reason to slunder ppls name and a sorry excuse to vent their bad behaviour.rp is a fool sorry to say . we tend to forget what we were taught in primary school about having utter respect for ppl in high authority.

erm....so what she said? and how was it slander?

sorry dude, if yuh in public life, yuh get slated....

Postby desifemlove » October 24th, 2014, 2:24 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
desifemlove wrote:price ent dat bad looking....still tink envy....price is a 6.5/10, Ms. Fuss Lady a 9.......

fuss lady a nine?!!!

yes... and?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 24th, 2014, 2:29 pm

desifemlove wrote:

fuss lady a nine?!!!

yes... and?

and your scale needs calibrating.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 24th, 2014, 2:39 pm

callibrating what. theres a reason rachel price on radio and not tv. it is alleged she would cause nightmares if she show her face much less her belly in public. she need to close she syphilis teeth mouth and stop criticizing ppl. first lady is a very sweet simple lady. we aint going and let she get bobolize juss so by a wajang guntress playing she lecturing ppl about class.

Nissian for life

Postby Nissian for life » October 24th, 2014, 2:43 pm

fuss lady a nine?!!!

7+
1pt = partner holds highest position in the country
1pt = no woman can tell her anything literally

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 24th, 2014, 2:44 pm

Nissian for life wrote:

fuss lady a nine?!!!

7+
1pt = partner holds highest position in the country
1pt = no woman can tell her anything literally

Postby Morpheus » October 24th, 2014, 2:46 pm

bluesclues wrote:callibrating what. theres a reason rachel price on radio and not tv. it is alleged she would cause nightmares if she show her face much less her belly in public. she need to close she syphilis teeth mouth and stop criticizing ppl. first lady is a very sweet simple lady. we aint going and let she get bobolize juss so by a wajang guntress playing she lecturing ppl about class.

You gee she de STD? How u know?

Postby desifemlove » October 24th, 2014, 2:50 pm

desifemlove wrote:

fuss lady a nine?!!!

yes... and?

and your scale needs calibrating.

and you're a retard who can't accept the opinions of others...ok...a mental note for future interactions..