COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 25801 cases, 556 deaths, 10049 active, 15196 recovered in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » June 6th, 2021, 10:30 pm

drchaos wrote:
Data supporting this including Humoral and Cell mediated immunity response being less than 50%?

See here - https://www.bmj.com/content/373/bmj.n879

The coronavirus variant originally found in Manaus in Brazil and detected in six cases in the UK was able to infect 25% to 61% of the people in the Amazonian city who might have expected to be immune after a first bout of Covid, researchers say.

Wraith King wrote:
I never said if I was or wasn't taking the vaccine. All I'm saying is each individual free to make their personal choice.

So you're ok if most people don't take the vaccine and we continue to have covid outbreaks and new variants which evade vaccines and lockdowns continue in a perpetual cycle?

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 25801 cases, 556 deaths, 10049 active, 15196 recovered in T&T

Postby redmanjp » June 6th, 2021, 10:40 pm

is 1 ting ppl making a choice but it has to be an informed choice. like oh ah go get blood clot! when that is 1 in 250000 ppl. and mostly women under 50 btw. u more likely to get in ah accident and dead than that happening- also u are more likely to get that clot from COVID-19!

the economy should reopen safely- so besides masks etc. that would now include allowing some indoor dining/drinking for instance for fully vaccinated ppl - i think new york or some other state doing that. the unvaccinated can perhaps dine outdoors

when cases go down as we head towards herd immunity u can relax that rule with the expectation that herd immunity will be enough to keep spread very low.
Last edited by redmanjp on June 6th, 2021, 10:50 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 6th, 2021, 10:43 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
drchaos wrote:
Data supporting this including Humoral and Cell mediated immunity response being less than 50%?

The coronavirus variant originally found in Manaus in Brazil and detected in six cases in the UK was able to infect 25% to 61% of the people in the Amazonian city who might have expected to be immune after a first bout of Covid, researchers say.

Wraith King wrote:
I never said if I was or wasn't taking the vaccine. All I'm saying is each individual free to make their personal choice.

So you're ok if most people don't take the vaccine and we continue to have covid outbreaks and new variants which evade vaccines and lockdowns continue in a perpetual cycle?

There's no guarantee that scenario is going to take place if some persons decide not to take the vaccine.

Postby redmanjp » June 6th, 2021, 10:47 pm

Wraith King wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
drchaos wrote:

Wraith King wrote:

There's no guarantee that scenario is going to take place if some persons decide not to take the vaccine.

covid, especially the variants WILL continue to spread, the variants at a faster rate once we doh have enough ppl vaccinated- it would not just decide one day 'yuh know i done' once u have unvaccinated ppl to spread to it will. and new variants will merge and reinfect those already infected.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 6th, 2021, 10:57 pm

Vaccine or no vaccine ... Variants are inevitable.

This isn't going away anytime soon.

The issue is also made worse by the fact that not all vaccines are created equally.
Third world vaccines are no where near as effective ( and safety is also a concern) vs first world vaccines.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 6th, 2021, 10:58 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Wraith King wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
drchaos wrote:

Wraith King wrote:

covid, especially the variants WILL continue to spread, the variants at a faster rate once we doh have enough ppl vaccinated- it would not just decide one day 'yuh know i done' once u have unvaccinated ppl to spread to it will. and new variants will merge and reinfect those already infected.

Are you saying the vaccine will prevent you from getting and spreading the virus and its variants?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 6th, 2021, 11:06 pm

Wraith King wrote:
Are you saying the vaccine will prevent you from getting and spreading the virus and its variants?

Yes, especially the mRNA vaccines.

drchaos wrote:Vaccine or no vaccine ... Variants are inevitable.

The issue is also made worse by the fact that not all vaccines are created equally.
Third world vaccines are no where near as effective ( and safety is also a concern) vs first world vaccines.

Nope, the world isn't binary. In the space of a year and a half, we've had 4 dangerous covid variants, despite many persons having 'natural' immunity.

Vaccinations will greatly reduce that. Less virus, less variants. I don't see why that's so hard to understand.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » June 6th, 2021, 11:12 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Wraith King wrote:

Nope, the world isn't binary. In the space of a year and a half, we've had 4 dangerous covid variants, despite many persons having 'natural' immunity.

Vaccinations will greatly reduce that. Less virus, less variants. I don't see why that's so hard to understand.

Geert vanden bossche disagrees

https://www.geertvandenbossche.org/faq

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 6th, 2021, 11:20 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
Wraith King wrote:

No point ... Dohplaydat won't listen to experts unless they're in his ECHO chamber.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 6th, 2021, 11:24 pm

drchaos wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
Wraith King wrote:

No point ... Dohplaydat won't listen to experts unless they're in his ECHO chamber.

https://www.mcgill.ca/oss/article/covid ... en-bossche

Take-home message:

- Dr. Geert Vanden Bossche is a veterinarian who recently released an open letter boldly claiming that the COVID-19 vaccines will be harmful to humanity by allowing the virus to mutate in dangerous ways
- If we are worried about dangerous variants emerging, it is much riskier to allow the virus to spread between unvaccinated people
- If coronavirus variants emerge for which the current vaccines offer little to no protection, the vaccines can be reformulated to be a better fit, much like the annual flu vaccine
- Dr. Bossche proposes the use of a new type of vaccine based on natural killer cells, which he claims he is working on but for which there is no published evidence

Please learn to do credible research.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 6th, 2021, 11:36 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
drchaos wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
Wraith King wrote:

https://www.mcgill.ca/oss/article/covid ... en-bossche

Take-home message:

- Dr. Geert Vanden Bossche is a veterinarian who recently released an open letter boldly claiming that the COVID-19 vaccines will be harmful to humanity by allowing the virus to mutate in dangerous ways
- If we are worried about dangerous variants emerging, it is much riskier to allow the virus to spread between unvaccinated people
- If coronavirus variants emerge for which the current vaccines offer little to no protection, the vaccines can be reformulated to be a better fit, much like the annual flu vaccine
- Dr. Bossche proposes the use of a new type of vaccine based on natural killer cells, which he claims he is working on but for which there is no published evidence

Please learn to do credible research.

Prof. Luc Montagnier shares this same view ... Guess he is a nut job as well?
He's a nobel prize winner ... but hey, not in your ECHO chamber right?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 6th, 2021, 11:50 pm

drchaos wrote:

Yes, he is. The fact that you can't see their own motivation for relevance is alarming.

https://www.factchecker.in/fact-check/n ... ion-751214

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 7th, 2021, 12:00 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
drchaos wrote:

Yes, he is. The fact that you can't see their own motivation for relevance is alarming.

Your article actually claims that the Prof is right, that mass vaccination will favor variants to survive/spread. The author just disagrees with him that we shouldn't mass vaccinate.
Prof also claimed at the beginning that this virus was created in a Lab ... which even Fauci is now saying is possible after claiming it wasn't.
He was also right about Remdesivir ...

Sooo you trying to disprove your point?

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 26410 cases, 577 deaths, 9922 active, 15911 recovered in T&T

Postby MaxPower » June 7th, 2021, 1:11 am

Vaccinate to Operate appears to be the new motto.

Trinis would have learnt nothing from this pandemic and it will be all back to square one when another virus comes around.

Get vaccinated people, go and have a great time, but also try your best to be hygienic.

A warm welcome back to our colleague, matr1x aka Slim, who has returned from Bantanamo.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 7th, 2021, 1:16 am

drchaos wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
drchaos wrote:

Your article actually claims that the Prof is right, that mass vaccination will favor variants to survive/spread. The author just disagrees with him that we shouldn't mass vaccinate.
Prof also claimed at the beginning that this virus was created in a Lab ... which even Fauci is now saying is possible after claiming it wasn't.
He was also right about Remdesivir ...

Sooo you trying to disprove your point?

Mass vaccination doesn't favor variants, it's because the only viable variants will be the ones that evade vaccines. It doesn't change the fact that vaccines will reduce the prevalence of the virus thus reducing the chance of new variants.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » June 7th, 2021, 3:58 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Vaccines
T&T will get 800,000 Johnson and Johnson one dose vaccines. First batch in August.  Next shipment of Sinopharm next week.

johnson and johnson approved my FDA /CDC for use in USA? of is this a next foreign used dump item ?

axe

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 26410 cases, 577 deaths, 9922 active, 15911 recovered in T&T

Postby axe » June 7th, 2021, 4:27 am

https://be.linkedin.com/in/geertvandenbossche

Geert Vanden Bossche, PhD, DVMIndependent Researcher at Ghent University
Profile: Experienced management professional; expert in vaccine R&D and early vaccine dvpt,; proficiency in program and grant management; used to working in a heavily interconnected environment (in private and nonprofit sector) while managing the needs of numerous stakeholders. Proven track record of success in designing and developing vaccines, managing dynamic, high-performing consortia, developing efficient processes to deliver impact, offering expert scientific-technical advice on complex immunisation projects, leading vaccine R&D work as CSO. Proficiency in program management, team leadership, patent writing, laboratory research, immunology, epidemiology, microbiology, vaccine technologies, preclinical vaccine dvpt. Substantial experience in strategic budgeting, CMC- and IP-related matters, incl. patent infringement and litigations. Over 2 decades of professional experience working in Europe and the US in managing implementation of immune interventions to address unmet medical needs. Highly familiar with major challenges in Global Health (as previously engaged with B. & M. Gates Foundation and GAVI).
I am particularly interested in engaging with international companies or organisations in the private or public sector or which are involved in public-private partnerships targeted at translational medicine programs, preferably in the field of Vaccine Innovation or Intellectual Property (e.g., IP issues, litigations related to infringement of vaccine patents)

Postby pugboy » June 7th, 2021, 5:51 am

i wonder what has been the jab take up by ttps now that a good few cops have died and hundreds got sick

i recall the cop union saying they wouldn’t be forced

Postby hover11 » June 7th, 2021, 6:05 am

Not FDA approved and Americans don't want it so yes another dumping set happening
daring dragoon wrote:
T&T will get 800,000 Johnson and Johnson one dose vaccines. First batch in August.  Next shipment of Sinopharm next week.

johnson and johnson approved my FDA /CDC for use in USA? of is this a next foreign used dump item ?

Postby hover11 » June 7th, 2021, 6:06 am

Employers cannot force employees to take it , it is still a choice unless legislation changes regardless of profession
pugboy wrote:i wonder what has been the jab take up by ttps now that a good few cops have died and hundreds got sick

i recall the cop union saying they wouldn’t be forced

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 7th, 2021, 6:14 am

hover11 wrote:Not FDA approved and Americans don't want it so yes another dumping set happening
daring dragoon wrote:

https://www.fda.gov/emergency-preparedn ... 19-vaccine

Postby hover11 » June 7th, 2021, 6:25 am

That's for emergency use....

Currently, no coronavirus vaccine is fully approved by the FDA, but three were given emergency use authorization by the agency(JnJ is not one of them). If they were fully approved that means these big companies would have to accept liability so yeah use at your own risk
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
hover11 wrote:Not FDA approved and Americans don't want it so yes another dumping set happening
daring dragoon wrote:

Postby sMASH » June 7th, 2021, 7:22 am

same ting i say, bout the liability. they WILL not mandate it/make it compulsory

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 7th, 2021, 7:39 am

hover11 wrote:That's for emergency use....

Currently, no coronavirus vaccine is fully approved by the FDA, but three were given emergency use authorization by the agency(JnJ is not one of them). If they were fully approved that means these big companies would have to accept liability so yeah use at your own risk
daring dragoon wrote:

Ur a strong anti vaxer I see

Postby hover11 » June 7th, 2021, 7:54 am

You say anti vaxxer I say someone who doesn't follow the sheep , does his research and makes his own logical decision

daring dragoon wrote:

Postby Redman » June 7th, 2021, 7:55 am

I see that a county in CA has reduced it's death count by only counting the deaths that actually from Covid.
I think it was common practice to classify as C19 death once you had the virus when you died...even if you get run over by a truck.

https://www.abc10.com/article/news/heal ... 88d93d96f3

Postby aaron17 » June 7th, 2021, 8:17 am

Where can i find death types in tnt like heart and accidents for this year?

Postby adnj » June 7th, 2021, 9:02 am

daring dragoon wrote:

J&J (Janssen) has an FDA EUA.

US regulators have formally approved the single-shot Johnson & Johnson (J&J) coronavirus vaccine, the third jab to be authorised in the country.

The vaccine is set to be a cost-effective alternative to the Pfizer and Moderna vaccines, and can be stored in a refrigerator instead of a freezer.

Trials found it prevented serious illness but was 66% effective overall when moderate cases were included.

The vaccine was developed mainly by J&J's Janssen Pharmaceutica division.

The company has agreed to provide the US with 100 million doses by the end of June. The first doses could be available to the US public as early as next week.

The UK, EU and Canada have also ordered doses, and 500 million doses have also been ordered through the Covax scheme to supply poorer nations.

The European Medicines Agency could approve the drug for the EU in early March, with a speedy rollout to follow, French Industry Minister Agnès Pannier-Runacher said on Sunday.

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-56226979

On February 27, 2021, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration issued an emergency use authorization (EUA) for the third vaccine for the prevention of coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) caused by severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2). The EUA allows the Janssen COVID-19 Vaccine to be distributed in the U.S. for use in individuals 18 years of age and older.

Emergency Use Authorization Status:AuthorizedName:Janssen COVID-19 VaccineManufacturer:Janssen Biotech Inc.,
a Janssen Pharmaceutical Company of Johnson & Johnson

About Emergency Use Authorizations (EUAs)

The Emergency Use Authorization (EUA) authority allows FDA to help strengthen the nation’s public health protections against chemical, biological, radiological, and nuclear (CBRN) threats including infectious diseases, by facilitating the availability and use of medical countermeasures (MCMs) needed during public health emergencies.

https://www.fda.gov/emergency-preparedn ... horization

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 7th, 2021, 9:35 am

hover11 wrote:You say anti vaxxer I say someone who doesn't follow the sheep , does his research and makes his own logical decision

daring dragoon wrote:

Unless you a 1% or big in the politics then you getting pfizer/moderna(if it does reach here, legally).

I hear you with your research but we dont have much of a choice tbh.
AZ has been banned by so many countries around the world and J&J has similar side effects as AZ. Sinopharm is neither here or there. So im guessing you gonna hope for the best?

Postby redmanjp » June 7th, 2021, 9:38 am

aaron17 wrote:Where can i find death types in tnt like heart and accidents for this year?

i think someone posted causes of death some weeks ago