Curfew may revert back to 9-5

MBC Autotronix

Re: Curfew may revert back to 9-5

Postby MBC Autotronix » September 28th, 2011, 10:26 pm

^^ well said pioneer.

I do feel it for ppl who make a livelihood at nights though (esp club owners)...although i am sure they an work around their times to suit.

Most ppl who complain are the hardcore limers tho..

Postby pioneer » September 28th, 2011, 10:58 pm

Strategic planning in times of a disaster/mishap/emergency. Smart business owners may know how to work around the curfew. Many popular "night clubs" now have parties starting at 1-3pm and finishing at 10pm. You would be amazed at the crowds that turn up.

It also may be a plus for some as they can now save up some money instead of splurging it all, same money that would go in a club owner pocket perhaps? But weren't they making money prior to the SoE? Did they plan ahead?

Humes

Postby Humes » September 29th, 2011, 12:18 am

"Revert back" is redundant.

commonsense01

Postby commonsense01 » September 29th, 2011, 7:29 am

So you'll are telling me that SOE is the solution to stop crime so is curfew. Will this will sure increase crime when unemployment levels reach a high. What about the industry that was made my Trinidadians and Tobagians the night Industry. The eating places that open late, the casinos, the 24hr gas stations, the quick shop. The taxi man who bought a car to supplement is income by plying a 2 trip in the night. Single mothers, youth man and woman who choose to work in these places and not do crime who are either have shorten hours on their already small paycheck or worst lost their jobs. Those who have loans and hire purchases to pay and can't what happens. What happens when the car loans can't be paid and the banks start reposing and their liabilities get too high. Yes crime is big serious problem but SOE and curfew not the answer unless its going to on forever. The police need to work and find evidence and get convictions.This great PP gov't did ads talking about shutting down the nation and its wrong for the economy but this SOE and curfew is doing the same damn thing So all you selfish people who studying quiet nights and the rest of bull they are law abiding persons who are suffering.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » September 29th, 2011, 9:24 am

brickman wrote:
S_2NR wrote:crime is being committed during curfew hours.
how exactly increasing the hours gonna help anything?

Shorter or longer curfew hours making no sense when there's barely any or no police patrols or activity in hotspots.

IMHO the gov't shouldn't have extended the SOE for 3 mths in the first place. Criminals would have grown accustomed to it by now, hence the crime continues somewhat.

1 month SOE, then back to normal, then another when they least extend it.

As far as I see, it's business as usual, and the sense of complacency by the security forces must have kicked in by now.

such a horrible way to live tho.. we have no rights and a curfew.. this cannot be a long term solution for crime..but im all for lessening crime so whatever helps at the moment

It isn't a solution at all. Crime continues, does it not? True it's not in the same magnitude...and progress is being made however.

Postby RBphoto » September 29th, 2011, 10:22 am

commonsense01 wrote:So you'll are telling me that SOE is the solution to stop crime so is curfew. Will this will sure increase crime when unemployment levels reach a high. What about the industry that was made my Trinidadians and Tobagians the night Industry. The eating places that open late, the casinos, the 24hr gas stations, the quick shop. The taxi man who bought a car to supplement is income by plying a 2 trip in the night. Single mothers, youth man and woman who choose to work in these places and not do crime who are either have shorten hours on their already small paycheck or worst lost their jobs. Those who have loans and hire purchases to pay and can't what happens. What happens when the car loans can't be paid and the banks start reposing and their liabilities get too high. Yes crime is big serious problem but SOE and curfew not the answer unless its going to on forever. The police need to work and find evidence and get convictions.This great PP gov't did ads talking about shutting down the nation and its wrong for the economy but this SOE and curfew is doing the same damn thing So all you selfish people who studying quiet nights and the rest of bull they are law abiding persons who are suffering.

I prefer the current situation, but your concerns are noted. IMO, better the taxi driver get the car forclosed than get stab in the night for his earnings, rims and hard pong. Single mothers should spend more time with their children too.

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » September 29th, 2011, 2:23 pm

crossdrilled wrote:
commonsense01 wrote:So you'll are telling me that SOE is the solution to stop crime so is curfew. Will this will sure increase crime when unemployment levels reach a high. What about the industry that was made my Trinidadians and Tobagians the night Industry. The eating places that open late, the casinos, the 24hr gas stations, the quick shop. The taxi man who bought a car to supplement is income by plying a 2 trip in the night. Single mothers, youth man and woman who choose to work in these places and not do crime who are either have shorten hours on their already small paycheck or worst lost their jobs. Those who have loans and hire purchases to pay and can't what happens. What happens when the car loans can't be paid and the banks start reposing and their liabilities get too high. Yes crime is big serious problem but SOE and curfew not the answer unless its going to on forever. The police need to work and find evidence and get convictions.This great PP gov't did ads talking about shutting down the nation and its wrong for the economy but this SOE and curfew is doing the same damn thing So all you selfish people who studying quiet nights and the rest of bull they are law abiding persons who are suffering.

I prefer the current situation, but your concerns are noted. IMO, better the taxi driver get the car forclosed than get stab in the night for his earnings, rims and hard pong. Single mothers should spend more time with their children too.

^^ utter nonesense..you cant tell people how to live their life. Not everyone can be fortunate as you to enjoy what ever you enjoy, we are not a police\military state...neither are we living in a middle-eastern extremist country.

Under any Democratic society people have freedom to seek, enjoy and pursue whatever they see fit. This SOE cant last forever and is already starting to loose steam, we are having luke warm results and the motives are being questioned more now than when it was first called.

Postby dougla_boy » September 29th, 2011, 2:46 pm

people....please stop speaking common sense!!! its just not making sense!!

Postby TRAE » September 29th, 2011, 4:13 pm

5onDfloor wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:

^^ utter nonesense..you cant tell people how to live their life. Not everyone can be fortunate as you to enjoy what ever you enjoy, we are not a police\military state...neither are we living in a middle-eastern extremist country.

Under any Democratic society people have freedom to seek, enjoy and pursue whatever they see fit. This SOE cant last forever and is already starting to loose steam, we are having luke warm results and the motives are being questioned more now than when it was first called.

you fail to realize that we are the ones at fault here eh... we caused this so we hadda deal with the consequences. If you dont feel like you have your rights then power to you dude... i dont feel that way at all. the state is under emergency and is correct in going this way before things get more outta control. if a man gets locked up for not paying a ticket, you can be sure he wont make that mistake again, and if you are feeling deprived of rights sorry to hear that but i'm in a new hot spot and everyone on my end dont really feel a pinch ( btw we are business owners as well)

Postby S_2NR » September 29th, 2011, 4:15 pm

all this talk about curfew hours and no talk about a long term crime plan?

this country too jokey.

dread_2002

Postby dread_2002 » September 29th, 2011, 4:27 pm

As far as im conncerned if a police or army could come in yr house, search anything they want, do almost anything they want.. arrest u cause they feel like and detain u for a period of time without any evidence.. means we have no rights... they come in my neighbour house normall.. search d place, cause we were liming in the yard at 8 o clock..lol.... and soe aint stop anything cause where i live 6 houses got robbed 2 streets away from me during the first week of the curfew and in curfew hrs and i from a very posh area in d west.. sooo yea.. if someone u know got arrested and detained wrongfully with no evidence u would think differently about our so called rights

Postby S_2NR » September 29th, 2011, 4:54 pm

dread_2002 wrote:As far as im conncerned if a police or army could come in yr house, search anything they want, do almost anything they want.. arrest u cause they feel like and detain u for a period of time without any evidence.. means we have no rights... they come in my neighbour house normall.. search d place, cause we were liming in the yard at 8 o clock..lol.... and soe aint stop anything cause where i live 6 houses got robbed 2 streets away from me during the first week of the curfew and in curfew hrs and i from a very posh area in d west.. sooo yea.. if someone u know got arrested and detained wrongfully with no evidence u would think differently about our so called rights

dont waste your time..
trinis dont see a problem with anything unless it affects them personally.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » September 29th, 2011, 7:02 pm

yay curfew!

Postby Habit7 » September 29th, 2011, 8:12 pm

When you guys came home today, did anyone reverse back into their garage?

Postby S_2NR » September 29th, 2011, 8:16 pm

Habit7 wrote:When you guys came home today, did anyone reverse back into their garage?

lolwhy

Postby K74T » September 29th, 2011, 8:33 pm

dread_2002, what "very posh area in d west" are you from?

Postby pioneer » September 29th, 2011, 9:18 pm

People with real jobs have no complaints

Running and working in a business at night was and always will be a huge risk, deal with it.

Postby Habit7 » September 29th, 2011, 9:28 pm

S_2NR wrote:
Habit7 wrote:When you guys came home today, did anyone reverse back into their garage?

lolwhy

Ascend up the page and read the title

Postby S_2NR » September 29th, 2011, 9:35 pm

Habit7 wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

lolwhy

Ascend up the page and read the title

didn pick up that na..
OP need to go back to primary school..

commonsense01

Postby commonsense01 » September 29th, 2011, 9:55 pm

pioneer wrote:People with real jobs have no complaints

Running and working in a business at night was and always will be a huge risk, deal with it.

Can you tell what is real job.

Postby ronsin1 » September 30th, 2011, 6:22 am

5onDfloor wrote:
^^ utter nonesense..you cant tell people how to live their life. Not everyone can be fortunate as you to enjoy what ever you enjoy,

I hope you do know most on this board work very hard right

Postby Dizzy28 » September 30th, 2011, 8:32 am

[/quote]
Under any Democratic society people have freedom to seek, enjoy and pursue whatever they see fit. This SOE cant last forever and is already starting to loose steam, we are having luke warm results and the motives are being questioned more now than when it was first called.[/quote]

Oh really???? Then why are drugs like cocaine illegal? Why are alcohol, tobacco and gambling heavily taxed?

Its the Government's responsibility to act for the collective good of the ppl and protect them from themselves.

dread_2002

Postby dread_2002 » September 30th, 2011, 8:40 am

d one ian alleyne always callin out on d tv.. hahaha.. westmoorings. ba on a real.. becarefull of d police still. cause the ppl who were robbing the houses had either security or police uniforms on apparently and were hardcore bandit

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » September 30th, 2011, 9:22 am

Under any Democratic society people have freedom to seek, enjoy and pursue whatever they see fit. This SOE cant last forever and is already starting to loose steam, we are having luke warm results and the motives are being questioned more now than when it was first called.[/quote]

Oh really???? Then why are drugs like cocaine illegal? Why are alcohol, tobacco and gambling heavily taxed?

Its the Government's responsibility to act for the collective good of the ppl and protect them from themselves.[/quote]

So you are saying by taxing Alcohol + Tobacco the government is protecting people from themselves???...hahahis this is the most imbecilistic statement i have heard since the SOE...

Why not BAN Casinos and Cigarettes?

How many broken homes + lives have we seen thru the effects of Gambling?

How many people have died tbecause of lung cancer?

Whats the strain on the health sector to deal with Cancer treatment?

Have youever lost a limb or family member due to some errant arsehole who was DUI?

How many wives\women fell prey to their abusive alcoholic husband\man?

All these are known facts WORLDOVER...so dont try and justify this SOE by saying the government has a responsibility to act for the collective good and protect people from themselves.........

NONESENSE!!!!!!!!!!!!

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » September 30th, 2011, 9:33 am

ronsin1 wrote:
5onDfloor wrote:
^^ utter nonesense..you cant tell people how to live their life. Not everyone can be fortunate as you to enjoy what ever you enjoy,

I hope you do know most on this board work very hard right

and your point is?
To avoid any ambiguity in my statement. I was trying to make a point that if a man decides to work taxi @ night for a living it is within his right to do so. I find it rather boldface and insensitive for someone to remark that its better to loose his(taxi driver) income thru this SOE as oppose to a bandit rob him of his car or rims or music or whatever.

Postby TRAE » September 30th, 2011, 10:21 am

5onDfloor wrote:

Its the Government's responsibility to act for the collective good of the ppl and protect them from themselves.[/quote]

So you are saying by taxing Alcohol + Tobacco the government is protecting people from themselves???...hahahis this is the most imbecilistic statement i have heard since the SOE...

Have youever lost a limb or family member due to some errant arsehole who was DUI?

All these are known facts WORLDOVER...so dont try and justify this SOE by saying the government has a responsibility to act for the collective good and protect people from themselves.........

NONESENSE!!!!!!!!!!!![/quote]

research before writing nonsense nah jed... the government does have a responsibility to protect its citizens eh... but due to all the complications in our lawbooks we cant attack everything at once. someone will always be affected, plus if they were to take everything into their hands at once we'll have a riot...everything takes time this SoE is just one attempt to stem crime, why do we as trinis always want to discredit every positive attempt? your rights are intact as they ever was

Postby Habit7 » September 30th, 2011, 10:28 am

How much we really want to get rid of crime? Let's just do the full fledged dictatorship and call it george.

Postby TRAE » September 30th, 2011, 10:48 am

a democracy government is just saying its democratic eh dude...

5onDfloor

Postby 5onDfloor » September 30th, 2011, 11:10 am

TRAE wrote:
5onDfloor wrote:

Its the Government's responsibility to act for the collective good of the ppl and protect them from themselves.

NONESENSE!!!!!!!!!!!![/quote]

research before writing nonsense nah jed... the government does have a responsibility to protect its citizens eh... but due to all the complications in our lawbooks we cant attack everything at once. someone will always be affected, plus if they were to take everything into their hands at once we'll have a riot...everything takes time this SoE is just one attempt to stem crime, why do we as trinis always want to discredit every positive attempt? your rights are intact as they ever was[/quote]

you telling me do research? HA!......your just blinded by party politics. 1 Baaaaaaaaaaa

Do your research and tell where the hell on earth an SOE was ever used to successfully combat crime.

furthermore i was not talking about rights....i was responding to claims being made on how people should live their lives....period with or without an SOE.

now eat some popcorn do some research and chill pally.

Postby pioneer » October 1st, 2011, 12:20 am

Who's really complaining? Night clubs are now open in the day, same party...

It seems to be the one's who involved in nefarious activities and not paying state taxes complaining - illegal dvd vendors...PH drivers...drug pushers...prostitutes...and the list can go on

People who have legit jobs and required to work at nights, their employers would have gotten curfew passes for them. So what's the issue here?

What about the insane profits people usually made, they spent it all out? Then blame yourself.