stev wrote:pablo_tt wrote:Go ahead and do As if you want a managerial position
If you want to get involved in the technical aspect, go straight for the basic stuff (A+, Net+ etc) and work from there
how does A levels help in a managerial position though?
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:tr1ad wrote:Cross Blood wrote:MG Man wrote:plant peas
LOL....not in this lifetime bro
yet more money in the long run from the peas than the oversaturated IT field.....
hard work pays off
X2.
Look at the ride farmers does have. Brand new Hilux and Navara etc.
I also do planting and never regretted it. You sure food will sell and will be in demand. Compared to oversaturated IT. I even know people who offered to work for real small money in IT just so they can get experience.
Advice to OP. Move smart and go ATC I even see them advertising on tuner. Go there and do MEEET or EEET straight up till the advanced diploma with city and guilds.
Much easier to get a Job with that than any IT degree. They outsourcing real IT jobs now as much as they can to India. freelancers building programs for $40 US and stuff.
Its up to you. You can still do the IT if you want but be warned you will face massive competition. Often you applying for a position that 70 other people also applying to. Most cases people with more experience than you and it will be very frustrating.
As for A levels I know lots of people with that who can't get a Job. Since GATE everyone has a degree now cause it free. A levels get like CXC. Best bet is what I said, MEEET or EEET or Process Plant with city and guilds.
Offcourse if yuh have land then plant. Better than all the rest believe me. 1 harvest yuh raking in all kinda $30,000.
Food more expensive than microchips now. And it will only keep getting more expensive. Technology on the other hand will go down.
Whatever you decide, all the best.
ismithx wrote:still if OP wants to go into managerial, I advise he start from ground level as an IT tech, _then_ look at getting managerial training. It's always better when you know what sort of environment you are managing, and hands-on is the best way to know.
Cross Blood wrote:I know there's a lot of competition in the field of IT....but I'm not really into electrical....I like I.T and well I build computers and stuff.....electrical may be kinda hard for me because I didn't do Physic but in a way it would be easy because I love Maths..
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Cross Blood wrote:I know there's a lot of competition in the field of IT....but I'm not really into electrical....I like I.T and well I build computers and stuff.....electrical may be kinda hard for me because I didn't do Physic but in a way it would be easy because I love Maths..
AND THAT my friend is why you should do Electrical Engineering Technician.
Because everybody afraid to do it. Requires studying. Hard Work!!!
Hard work pays off!!!!
IT easy so everybody want to go into IT. Even down to tire shop offering PC repairs now. Every man and his pet dog can fix a PC now. You really want to go into that kind of saturated market?
I urge you to think very long and very hard about what you want to do because the last thing you want is regretting wasting your life in the end.
Even a Prison Officer Job right now better than IT. Heck regular police right now does clock $13k a month with plenty overtime. And to Join the Prison or Police all you need is 5 olevels.
Just have a look at the freelancer websites right now. Everything they outsourcing and people from India and Pakistan willing to do programming for $50 and $60 US. Thats really sad.
You cannot outsource a Electrical or Mechanical Engineering Technician. You need the actual person right here to do the work with his hands. You can't expect him to magically type a code and expect the equipment to be fixed from India.
The advice me and MG Man has given you is very valuable and I suggest you think about it very hard before you go into IT.
You know what I tell you makes sense. You know what MG Man tell you makes sense.
You know owning a B14 makes sense.
pablo_tt wrote:ismithx wrote:still if OP wants to go into managerial, I advise he start from ground level as an IT tech, _then_ look at getting managerial training. It's always better when you know what sort of environment you are managing, and hands-on is the best way to know.
I can guarantee you, if he has the die hard technician spirit, it would be very hard for him to want to become the I.T. Manager, but who knows, things could change as you get older
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Boy trust me I know regular police who build House that Doctors still trying to afford.
Doh get tie up with police work. It has real ways to make money when yuh is ah police, especially in Trinidad.
teems1 wrote:Do your A levels
Cross Blood wrote:Ok so what I've learnt from this thread is that PLANTING PEAS -_- would be more profitable because the IT industry in Trinidad is saturated. I understand that so I guess I should do A levels because I think I may need more time to think about this and watch how the economy is changing.....EFFECTIC DESIGNS are right by saying that even the tyre shop down d road offering computer repairs so I guess its truly saturated, SHAKE D LIVIN WAKE D DEAD also said that the IT industry is saturated and NERVEWRECKER is correct by saying that I don't have space to plant garden and they are a lot of sprangers in d area
rfari wrote:Cross Blood wrote:Ok so what I've learnt from this thread is that PLANTING PEAS -_- would be more profitable because the IT industry in Trinidad is saturated. I understand that so I guess I should do A levels because I think I may need more time to think about this and watch how the economy is changing.....EFFECTIC DESIGNS are right by saying that even the tyre shop down d road offering computer repairs so I guess its truly saturated, SHAKE D LIVIN WAKE D DEAD also said that the IT industry is saturated and NERVEWRECKER is correct by saying that I don't have space to plant garden and they are a lot of sprangers in d area
hoss hoss
Cross Blood wrote:Ok so what I've learnt from this thread is that PLANTING PIES -_- would be more profitable because the IT industry in Trinidad is saturated. I understand that so I guess I should do A levels because I think I may need more time to think about this and watch how the economy is changing.....EFFECTIC DESIGNS are right by saying that even the tyre shop down d road offering computer repairs so I guess its truly saturated, SHAKE D LIVIN WAKE D DEAD also said that the IT industry is saturated and NERVEWRECKER is correct by saying that I don't have space to plant garden and they are a lot of sprangers in d area
DVSTT wrote:Cross Blood wrote:Ok so what I've learnt from this thread is that PLANTING PIES -_- would be more profitable because the IT industry in Trinidad is saturated. I understand that so I guess I should do A levels because I think I may need more time to think about this and watch how the economy is changing.....EFFECTIC DESIGNS are right by saying that even the tyre shop down d road offering computer repairs so I guess its truly saturated, SHAKE D LIVIN WAKE D DEAD also said that the IT industry is saturated and NERVEWRECKER is correct by saying that I don't have space to plant garden and they are a lot of sprangers in d area
lol at the summary, but do CAPE just so you have it as a fall back. You'd be glad you did if your IT plans don't pan out.
nervewrecker wrote:IT saturated and it have men with nuff big talk gonna try to take jobs from you (even though they eh know jack sh!t and bussing price). Lets not get into the bad talking you and tryna put you down as a newb.
Everybody have a berry now and kam's giving out free laptop. Everybody have a pc for free and who eh have dont want.
I did A's, waste of time if you ask me. I say learn a damn trade and done yes. You want quick money, thats the way.
Or do something that can get you into the industry and see if your dad brother can pull you in.
nervewrecker wrote:You have access to cars, men does sell stuff at affordable prices on the forum here. Go around by some of them IT places and see what they selling, try to find out how much they paying, look to buy from men on this same froum and sell them back. I think tech n fizz or something is one guy that sells at great prices, find out what his wholesale prices are.
Have one store that used to buy from someone whom buys from pricesmart, I went for a blank cd and told them flat out is only out of desperation on a sunday they get the sale (price was real high). Is only when I mention I usually buy from pricesmart they flag me down and ask me if I will buy for them, their supplier ripping them off etc. I walk out the store, back then la romaine didnt have an outlet.
It have real ways to make $$$.
If you dont have business brain look to learn a trade. PVC ceiling men hard to find, plumbers is drunkards and smartmen, nobody to wire houses round here, welders bussing price and doing sh!t work, simple painters aint wanna work. Look just sunday we was looking for a welder to tack up something, nobody available. My barber was looking for a plumber and electrician recently too, gave a man $$$ and man drunk since. If you good at your trade and willing to work, men will be knocking at your door.
Cross Blood wrote:DVSTT wrote:Cross Blood wrote:Ok so what I've learnt from this thread is that PLANTING PIES -_- would be more profitable because the IT industry in Trinidad is saturated. I understand that so I guess I should do A levels because I think I may need more time to think about this and watch how the economy is changing.....EFFECTIC DESIGNS are right by saying that even the tyre shop down d road offering computer repairs so I guess its truly saturated, SHAKE D LIVIN WAKE D DEAD also said that the IT industry is saturated and NERVEWRECKER is correct by saying that I don't have space to plant garden and they are a lot of sprangers in d area
lol at the summary, but do CAPE just so you have it as a fall back. You'd be glad you did if your IT plans don't pan out.
Yes that's exactly what I'm thinkingnervewrecker wrote:IT saturated and it have men with nuff big talk gonna try to take jobs from you (even though they eh know jack sh!t and bussing price). Lets not get into the bad talking you and tryna put you down as a newb.
Everybody have a berry now and kam's giving out free laptop. Everybody have a pc for free and who eh have dont want.
I did A's, waste of time if you ask me. I say learn a damn trade and done yes. You want quick money, thats the way.
Or do something that can get you into the industry and see if your dad brother can pull you in.
Everyone saying A's is a waste of time...and well IT is saturated so I guess I'll see what other fields I could pursue....
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Cross Blood wrote:DVSTT wrote:Cross Blood wrote:Ok so what I've learnt from this thread is that PLANTING PIES -_- would be more profitable because the IT industry in Trinidad is saturated. I understand that so I guess I should do A levels because I think I may need more time to think about this and watch how the economy is changing.....EFFECTIC DESIGNS are right by saying that even the tyre shop down d road offering computer repairs so I guess its truly saturated, SHAKE D LIVIN WAKE D DEAD also said that the IT industry is saturated and NERVEWRECKER is correct by saying that I don't have space to plant garden and they are a lot of sprangers in d area
Yes that's exactly what I'm thinkingnervewrecker wrote:IT saturated and it have men with nuff big talk gonna try to take jobs from you (even though they eh know jack sh!t and bussing price). Lets not get into the bad talking you and tryna put you down as a newb.
Everyone saying A's is a waste of time...and well IT is saturated so I guess I'll see what other fields I could pursue....
Bro I won't set you on the wrong path.
Rfari is correct there is no easy way in life. If you really wanna do the IT then go for it. I wish you the best of luck and who knows you might come out good. Peter luck ain't paul luck of however the ass they does say that. lol
But you know what I mean. lol I only told you about EEET over A levels because its the same amount of study and time and when you finish EEET in ACT you liverally have Jobs lined up for you. When you done A levels it has no jobs line up for you.
My brother did EEET in ACT and he got calls from 7 companies because he was their top student. He didn't take a single Job cause he driving Container crane and trailer truck.
Sure its hard work compared to EEET but its where the money is.
This is what I have been telling you all along. IT is the easy way out thats why it will be difficult to find a Job. EEET is hard work. Many attempt and many fail. Has limited men with EEET in the country. And well MEEET. Yuh go have jobs lined up for yuh.
I wasn't trying to discourage you bro. I was just shedding some reality on the whole scene. Its a cold and harsh reality and I didn't want you to regret anything.
Let me tell you something, one of the greatest mechanic ever pass through this country told me to sell my Benz and buy a B14. He said the B14 is a superior car, I taught he was insane and trolling. Little did I know the man was serious and knew very well what he was saying. Because he had experience before plenty experience, He didn't want to see me make the mistakes he made. I learned the hard way.
Whatever choice you take I wish you all the best man. I hope it works out for you.