Postby zoom rader » January 15th, 2014, 9:55 am

pete wrote:Chinese people don't eat what we call "chinese food" :|

strange some dogs missing from the hood

New_SPECIES

Re: TRINIS SICK, LAZY

Postby New_SPECIES » January 15th, 2014, 9:56 am

teems1 wrote:
pete wrote:I can only imagine the nutritional facts for a box of chinese food. If ya think Mc Donalds is bad then you really shouldn't be eating that.

How come I rarely see any obese Chinese persons then?

They cook over high heat with lots of grains/veggies for a short time.

What is questionable are the sauces/salts they use when cooking (lots of MSG).

If you remove those from the equation, the basic Chinese stir fry isn't too bad for you.

You serious?

"Chinese stir fry isn't too bad for you"...

Like you forgetting the nasty habits of dem fast food chinee people? Or yuh just don't know?
And wat about all the old, stale, used, second grade ingredients that 99% of dem use?

FACT:
All... every single one.. of dem chinee places in POS, was closed down at least once by the Ministry of health for Rats, Rotten Goods, Nasty Kitchen, Deplorable Conditions!

So if yuh also take all dat out from d equation... den wat yuh hav?

Postby zoom rader » January 15th, 2014, 9:59 am

^^^ I get ban for saying chinee nasty, it was viewed as being racist

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » January 15th, 2014, 10:02 am

zoom rader wrote:^^^ I get ban for saying chinee nasty, it was viewed as being racist

Dem go ban me for talkin facts?
I wasn't makin an assumption about the reasons why they were ALL closed down...
Aside from the fact that I knew some of the Inspectors personally... I got to see the actual reports!

Postby pete » January 15th, 2014, 10:23 am

I didn't even mean that. I was talking about how much rice, oil and salt there is in a normal box of chinese food. Sure you at least get some vegetables in chow mein / mixed veg but the oil and amount of rice make it really unhealthy.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » January 15th, 2014, 10:58 am

increase the availability of healthy food and have a wider variety... drop taxes/ subsidize organic

Public hospitals really in a mess though... They need to build another 2 hospitals in POS alone..

outsource more foreign docs... these locals docs making their millions using public equipment for their private practice

Fearless

Postby Fearless » January 15th, 2014, 11:25 am

uncle sam wrote:increase the availability of healthy food and have a wider variety... drop taxes/ subsidize organic

Public hospitals really in a mess though... They need to build another 2 hospitals in POS alone..

outsource more foreign docs... these locals docs making their millions using public equipment for their private practice

i don't think building another 2 hospitals with no workers to put in them would help, and have you been to POSGH recently? african fuh so, some of them can't even speak english properly

Postby Spitfir3 » January 15th, 2014, 11:28 am

pete wrote:Chinese people don't eat what we call "chinese food" :|

this..chinese people don't eat the food they sell
they mostly eat plain rice or you see them sippin on some sort of herbal tea

also i agree with exodus increasing the prices of fast food won't do much, people would just bicker about it for a while and then go about buying the same food again
nobody is forcing you to eat like an unhealthy slob all the time

Postby desifemlove » January 15th, 2014, 11:29 am

Look at we diet though:

- Roti
- Doubles
- Saheena
- Pies
- KFC
- Global fast food (I does see Wendy's here now)

Yeah, we still eat provisions and callalloo and stuff, but then given how we eat, Dr. Khan has a point :lol: :lol:

And rum, Carib, White Oak, Puncheon, etc. well yuh de idea.

I think we need to have large scale yam, dasheen, plantain, etc. fields. And perhaps put a tax on fried food products.

People will flame me, but it's my honest belief that in the next few decades countries globally will ban fried foods. :D

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » January 15th, 2014, 11:34 am

Fearless wrote:
uncle sam wrote:increase the availability of healthy food and have a wider variety... drop taxes/ subsidize organic

i don't think building another 2 hospitals with no workers to put in them would help, and have you been to POSGH recently? african fuh so, some of them can't even speak english properly

That is why i said outsource more doctors... POSGH doesn't even have room to sit... The population growing, the hospital isn't... When I pass by casualty and see them people waiting.. It does hurt muh heart!

Postby DFC » January 15th, 2014, 11:34 am

just so you know.

HOW MANY CALORIES ARE IN A SUBWAY TURKEY BREAST SALAD
A Subway Turkey Breast Salad is available in a 328 gram serving that contains 110 calories with 20 of those calories coming from fat. The Subway Turkey Breast Salad also contains 2 grams of fat, 11 grams of carbs, and 12 grams of protein.

HOW MANY CALORIES ARE IN A SUBWAY VEGGIE DELITE SALAD
A Subway Veggie Delite Salad is available in a 271 gram serving that contains 50 calories with 10 of those calories coming from fat. The Subway Veggie Delite Salad also contains 1 gram of fat, 9 grams of carbs, and 3 grams of protein.

HOW MANY CALORIES ARE IN SUBWAY FAT FREE ITALIAN DRESSING
Subway Fat Free Italian Dressing is available in a 57 gram serving that contains 35 calories, 7 grams of carbs, and 1 gram of protein.

HOW MANY CALORIES ARE IN SUBWAY RANCH DRESSING
Subway Ranch Dressing is available in a 57 gram serving that contains 290 calories with 270 of those calories coming from fat. Subway Ranch Dressing also contains 3 grams of fat, 3 grams of carbs, and 1 gram of protein.

Postby DFC » January 15th, 2014, 11:38 am

1 Doubles is approx 141 kcal

eyeballz

Postby eyeballz » January 15th, 2014, 11:40 am

Greater accountability needs to be placed on our own doctors and nurses. I know one personally(a nurse), goes to work for 6am, back home by 9(cuz she tired) for about a two hours and then back home for the day by 1pm. smh

As with all gov't offices, no one working there gives a chit

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » January 15th, 2014, 11:40 am

Lol @ subway perceived as being healthy.
Lol more @ low calories being perceived as being better for you.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 15th, 2014, 12:09 pm

Calorie count doesn't matter. I eat all kinda crap sometimes, but I maintain an exercise regime which ensures I do not gain weight.
The two go hand in hand.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » January 15th, 2014, 12:10 pm

New_SPECIES wrote:
teems1 wrote:
pete wrote:I can only imagine the nutritional facts for a box of chinese food. If ya think Mc Donalds is bad then you really shouldn't be eating that.

How come I rarely see any obese Chinese persons then?

They cook over high heat with lots of grains/veggies for a short time.

What is questionable are the sauces/salts they use when cooking (lots of MSG).

If you remove those from the equation, the basic Chinese stir fry isn't too bad for you.

You serious?

"Chinese stir fry isn't too bad for you"...

Like you forgetting the nasty habits of dem fast food chinee people? Or yuh just don't know?
And wat about all the old, stale, used, second grade ingredients that 99% of dem use?

FACT:
All... every single one.. of dem chinee places in POS, was closed down at least once by the Ministry of health for Rats, Rotten Goods, Nasty Kitchen, Deplorable Conditions!

So if yuh also take all dat out from d equation... den wat yuh hav?

Actually went to a chinest rest on Cipriani Boulevard over 10yrs ago, and there was a mouse walking around in the fluorescent fixture above...man i hightailed outta there yes!!

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » January 15th, 2014, 12:13 pm

Yes yes,
But I was referring to quality of calories.
No form of fast food could ever be of high quality, I'd take a bowl of provisions and fish over a subway salad anyway

Postby UML » January 15th, 2014, 12:25 pm

believe it or not the traffic situation is a main factor for this...we leave home early for work and return home late. we eat out because there is no time to cook at home, so fast food is the only option.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » January 15th, 2014, 12:28 pm

DFC wrote:Trinis sick, lazy and stink and LAWLESS.

:idea:

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 15th, 2014, 12:36 pm

UML wrote:believe it or not the traffic situation is a main factor for this...we leave home early for work and return home late. we eat out because there is no time to cook at home, so fast food is the only option.

Six hour staggered working days then. Some move early and done move late...

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » January 15th, 2014, 12:37 pm

UML wrote:believe it or not the traffic situation is a main factor for this...we leave home early for work and return home late. we eat out because there is no time to cook at home, so fast food is the only option.

Agreed

Anna J

Postby Anna J » January 15th, 2014, 12:48 pm

Trinidadians ARE sick, lazy and disgusting.

He is right about the part where many people are there because they forgot to take their medication.

You also have media influencing these whales that "I'm not fat, I'm thick" and "Big girls need love too"......No, they need a treadmill.

Don't blame the obesity on the availability of fast food.

A Science Teacher Lost 37 Pounds After Eating Nothing But McDonald’s
http://www.buzzfeed.com/rachelzarrell/a-science-teacher-lost-37-pounds-from-an-experiment-where-he

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » January 15th, 2014, 12:57 pm

DFC wrote:1 Doubles is approx 141 kcal

i doubt

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » January 15th, 2014, 1:02 pm

The min of heath speaking the truth, but the healthcare system is still a mess, so nobody wins.
Govt not going to upset the business community and the healthcare system will continue to go down the drain.

and for Anna J,
check out

these are the less graphic videos

Postby Rainman » January 15th, 2014, 1:06 pm

uncle sam wrote:

i doubt

http://recipes.sparkpeople.com/recipe-c ... ipe=401143

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » January 15th, 2014, 1:10 pm

desifemlove wrote:Look at we diet though:

- Roti
- Doubles
- Saheena
- Pies
- KFC
- Global fast food (I does see Wendy's here now)

Yeah, we still eat provisions and callalloo and stuff, but then given how we eat, Dr. Khan has a point :lol: :lol:

And rum, Carib, White Oak, Puncheon, etc. well yuh de idea.

I think we need to have large scale yam, dasheen, plantain, etc. fields. And perhaps put a tax on fried food products.

People will flame me, but it's my honest belief that in the next few decades countries globally will ban fried foods. :D

That will never happen!

How then will those mega drug and medicine providers will make money?
Drugs to "reduce the symptoms" rather than cure!

Allyuh need to see the bigger picture here... is not just a Trinidad ting.

Bad Diet causes:
Heart Disease, High Blood Pressure, High Cholesterol, Diabetes, Cancer, Blindness etc etc...
All of which are supported by Billion Dollar medicine industries!

Why would they want to "drop" the price of un-healthy foods?
Especially since most of the times it is only the poorer more uneducated part of the population that are allowing themselves to get over-weight.
They encourage these people to choose a un-healthy lifestyle to pump regulatory drugs in them and keep the business making millions!

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » January 15th, 2014, 1:11 pm

3 doubles is my entire calorie intake for the day.. lol

Postby RASC » January 15th, 2014, 1:14 pm

I spoke about this a while back.
Was labelled a racist by the "I eat product with flour, water and oil everyday" crew.

*shrugs shoulders*

This was around the first major price hike by the nfm. I said it was actually a blessing in disguise. They were pissed at me for not being upset at the hike in doubles.

I wonder where they are now... probably dead from heart failure-no doubt they're probably impotent and suffer from erectile disfunction also.
Oh well---->

Postby DFC » January 15th, 2014, 1:15 pm

Rainman wrote:
uncle sam wrote:

i doubt

http://recipes.sparkpeople.com/recipe-c ... ipe=401143

wow.

worse than i thought.