Re: Starbucks coming to T&T

Postby skylinechild » January 30th, 2016, 8:28 pm

# hongwingdrinker #notaffected

screwbash

Postby screwbash » January 31st, 2016, 5:54 am

all the talk about what tasting good and the service is irrelevant. These next 2 years or so is to support local if not make it yourself. Support royal castle and if not fry yuh own chicken. Support local grocery and not the chinee grocery, local grocery hire yuh neighbour youths and keep them off the street and crime and they earn some $$. the chinee grocery only have chinee wuking dey and they watch yuh like you come to teif all the time.Buy sunshine cereal rather then kellogs and now is carnival drink carib and carib products instead of coors and johnny.

Postby DVSTT » January 31st, 2016, 6:35 am

mars wrote:
konartis wrote:Rituals coffee is really good, always great service...

This...

I find their quality is very inconsistent. One day it'd taste excellent, next day its watered down and lacking.

Postby S_2NR » January 31st, 2016, 7:25 am

lol royal castle lol

douglaking

Postby douglaking » January 31st, 2016, 9:01 am

S_2NR wrote:lol royal castle lol

What wrong with royal castle?

konartis

Postby konartis » January 31st, 2016, 9:42 am

douglaking wrote:
S_2NR wrote:lol royal castle lol

What wrong with royal castle?

Their quality is good, but the service is the facking worst boy...

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 31st, 2016, 11:26 am

screwbash wrote:all the talk about what tasting good and the service is irrelevant. These next 2 years or so is to support local if not make it yourself. Support royal castle and if not fry yuh own chicken. Support local grocery and not the chinee grocery, local grocery hire yuh neighbour youths and keep them off the street and crime and they earn some $$. the chinee grocery only have chinee wuking dey and they watch yuh like you come to teif all the time.Buy sunshine cereal rather then kellogs and now is carnival drink carib and carib products instead of coors and johnny.

Postby Spitfir3 » January 31st, 2016, 2:44 pm

love the chillers at rituals my only gripe is its kinda on the expensive side if Starbucks is even more pricey then i really could care less

Postby teems1 » January 31st, 2016, 4:24 pm

DVSTT wrote:
mars wrote:
konartis wrote:Rituals coffee is really good, always great service...

This...

I find their quality is very inconsistent. One day it'd taste excellent, next day its watered down and lacking.

Doesn't Rituals use pre ground Lavazza?

Starbucks grind their coffee beans before each espresso shot, so it is expected to be more consistent.

Postby pugboy » January 31st, 2016, 7:36 pm

No rituals grinds their beans also,
However beans go stale after a week
So saying somebody uses whole beans is a moot point
Likewise the tamp pressure and grind size makes a big difference in the product.

Postby K74T » January 31st, 2016, 7:39 pm

stev wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Hope they get better reviews than Denny's in Trinidad

hope the 1st pic of Starbucks on tuner isnt upside down :|

:lol: ars

Postby desifemlove » January 31st, 2016, 10:48 pm

eh.....overrated. Costa better.

Postby dougla_boy » February 1st, 2016, 12:05 pm

Coffeebeanry> Rituals.....

Rituals is tooz

screwbash

Postby screwbash » February 2nd, 2016, 7:05 am

support local.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 2nd, 2016, 8:37 am

What's the point of supporting local when Rituals uses only foreign sourced coffee mixes, purchases foreign milk, the cups and equipment all come from foreign. Heck if you go to some Rituals even the staff aren't local. Basically just the owner local but US$ still needed by that entity to survive.

Postby eliteauto » February 2nd, 2016, 8:42 am

US$ are needed for almost all entities to survive wrt raw materials, however with Rituals there is no franchisee fee to pay to a multinational hence the call to support local, Rituals has franchisees up the islands that money returns here

Postby Dizzy28 » February 2nd, 2016, 8:56 am

eliteauto wrote:US$ are needed for almost all entities to survive wrt raw materials, however with Rituals there is no franchisee fee to pay to a multinational hence the call to support local, Rituals has franchisees up the islands that money returns here

Agreed.

However our biggest problem is not purchase local but to actually adjust out spending patterns. Do we really need that cup of foreign coffee? (and for the liberalists out there - yes the Guvament can legislate how you spend your money)

Postby eliteauto » February 2nd, 2016, 9:02 am

oh I totally agree with you on spending pattern adjustment, some ppl are going to be slow to adapt, some ppl are going to be in denial for a long while and some won't need to change as they can afford it regardless of how the breeze blows. We've been so "Americanized" in how we eat drink, party, communicate and socialize, in how we measure our lives that we crave every possible "thing" to define us and make us "special". Business owners know and feed off of that and will give us what we think we want and are willing to pay for. Trinidad is an image society buddy

BRZ

Postby BRZ » February 2nd, 2016, 9:27 am

screwbash wrote:all the talk about what tasting good and the service is irrelevant. These next 2 years or so is to support local if not make it yourself. Support royal castle and if not fry yuh own chicken. Support local grocery and not the chinee grocery, local grocery hire yuh neighbour youths and keep them off the street and crime and they earn some $$. the chinee grocery only have chinee wuking dey and they watch yuh like you come to teif all the time.Buy sunshine cereal rather then kellogs and now is carnival drink carib and carib products instead of coors and johnny.

heres a Thought- maybe YOU look like a bandit? :idea:

Postby Les Bain » February 2nd, 2016, 11:26 am

From the perspective of a black coffee drinker, all them social coffee outlets could suck it.

Glad for who can afford/enjoy that scene, especially in these times though.

Postby K74T » February 2nd, 2016, 1:27 pm

eliteauto wrote:oh I totally agree with you on spending pattern adjustment, some ppl are going to be slow to adapt, some ppl are going to be in denial for a long while and some won't need to change as they can afford it regardless of how the breeze blows. We've been so "Americanized" in how we eat drink, party, communicate and socialize, in how we measure our lives that we crave every possible "thing" to define us and make us "special". Business owners know and feed off of that and will give us what we think we want and are willing to pay for. Trinidad is an image society buddy

/thread

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » February 3rd, 2016, 1:08 am

Starbucks will be the new place to be seen by the wannabes. LOL.

I just hope they hire a competent enough staff that can fill a Venti Iced Skinny Hazelnut Macchiato, with Sugar-Free Syrup, Extra Shot, Light Ice, No Whip order. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby stev » February 3rd, 2016, 1:27 am

$40 ah mocha-shita-crapo

Postby zoom rader » February 3rd, 2016, 5:21 am

AbstractPoetic wrote:Starbucks will be the new place to be seen by the wannabes. LOL.

I just hope they hire a competent enough staff that can fill a Venti Iced Skinny Hazelnut Macchiato, with Sugar-Free Syrup, Extra Shot, Light Ice, No Whip order. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Competent staff in Trinidad?

Extensive training is needed to overcome that.
Even when they get training they put on a fake customer act, eg KFC and Pizza Hut dealings.
It's like they robotic and just going through the motions, they don't care about customers in Trinidad and worst in Tobago

Postby S_2NR » February 3rd, 2016, 6:21 am

AbstractPoetic wrote:Starbucks will be the new place to be seen by the wannabes. LOL.

no way somebody who cant even get more than 5 o levels following that. i suspect they will need a number system like kfc for different items.

Postby pugboy » February 3rd, 2016, 6:22 am

staff turnover is the problem with many of the fast food places
although subway seems to be able to keep their staff

BRZ

Postby BRZ » February 3rd, 2016, 7:59 am

S_2NR wrote:

no way somebody who cant even get more than 5 o levels following that. i suspect they will need a number system like kfc for different items.

Not too sure its an Act, its quite possible that many of these "trainees" have the same memory as a gold fish and probably similar IQ, then again that's what the aspirations of THUG life is all about- to have the glorious job in the fast food business.

Postby j.o.e » February 3rd, 2016, 8:33 am

BRZ wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

Not too sure its an Act, its quite possible that many of these "trainees" have the same memory as a gold fish and probably similar IQ, then again that's what the aspirations of THUG life is all about- to have the glorious job in the fast food business.

Trinis are their own worse enemy, a setta elitist jackasses. Your blanket stereotyping is what will make a decent young person who maybe trying to make ends meet while studying and bettering themselves shy away from doing a job and maybe giving you good service.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 3rd, 2016, 9:02 am

Good staff in local fast food joints are few and far between but they do exist. Sadly they are outnumbered by the "Eh.......Wha yuh want?" staff and their good work generally goes unnoticed.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » February 3rd, 2016, 9:34 am

Its simple, when you get good service you TIP, and when you get bad service, or the person serving is too damn busy on their phone and you have to wait, then suck salt- no tip for you.