What do you think about employers forcing employees to be vaccinated?

ScHoolboySoloQ

Re: What do you think about employers forcing employees to be vaccinated?

Postby ScHoolboySoloQ » July 13th, 2021, 9:39 pm

hover11 wrote:I believe this is the trial before the mark of the beast , look how easy ppl are willing to take this vaccine for the need to work...no man shall buy or sell without the mark, I'm not even a devout Christian, far from it actually but you have to admit this whole situation is one big experiment
ScHoolboySoloQ wrote:
Les Bain wrote:Are the covid anti vaxxers solely opposed to the covid vaccines though? Because my initial thought after hearing their explanations is that any sinister vaccine theory (chip, mark of the beast, illuminati blah blah) most likely got sneaked in nice and quiet in your infancy.

Most of them are solely opposed to covid vaccines. Bill Gates increased the amount of covid anti vaxxers with his speech about 'depopulation', then we have our PM saying people in this country is 'living too long'. Those words create an unsettling feeling among the population and feeds our natural instinct to create a conspiracy about an activity or entity we do not fully understand. I have been hearing about the mark of the beast since Sunday school, these recent events along with access to technology just amplified it. It's really nothing new.

I agree that this whole vaccine is a big experiment since the manufacturing was rushed but the phases were overlapped to cut down times. So as soon as Phase 1 was about 75% complete, Phase 2 was started. I will hold off a bit from taking the vaccine, not that I don't trust the science, it's just the politics.

Postby paid_influencer » July 13th, 2021, 9:54 pm

nah this covid vaxx is not the mark of the beast. We doh have electronic vaxx records so you could burn you vaxx card and nobody would know you were vaxxed. Even the CMOH need you to photocopy your vaxx card if you want something from them, because them cyar pull up who get and who didn't get.

i feel plenty people just do not trust the institutions to be straight with them. When you grow up in a corrupt society, you expect the institutions to be corrupt. And from there, all the theories (both true and false theories) gain wings.

Postby j.o.e » July 13th, 2021, 10:12 pm

People who don’t want to get jabbed should be made as uncomfortable as possible. Me’em care

Postby De Dragon » July 13th, 2021, 10:23 pm

Apparently no one has heard of allergies, history of blood clots?
Also it is still apparent that many people are still NOT getting that even being fully vaccinated does not make you immune to Covid, so if vaccinated staff are serving unvaccinated people, the risk is lower to the unvaxxed, not eliminated totally.
I believe no one should be forced to take any vaccine, and it is unfortunate, IF true that Mario's chose that route rather than education and moral suasion.

Postby Ben_spanna » July 13th, 2021, 10:37 pm

I can respect a persons decision to not vaccinate , but then those same ppl, should also respect their employers choices and that of their fellow employees to vaccinate.. if you choose not to, then you should respect your work place decision that you are not wanted there and turn in your resignation.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » July 13th, 2021, 11:01 pm

This whole thing with prioritizing vaccinated staff just comes down to businesses wanting to be on Rowley D. They know how powerful a Rowley PNM is so, they don't want to be on the wrong side.

Postby RedVEVO » July 13th, 2021, 11:54 pm

paid_influencer wrote:correcting myself: Sinopharm is approved for breastfeeding women in T&T.

http://www.news.gov.tt/content/sinophar ... and-tobago

Only the Sinopharm COVID-19 vaccine has been approved for use by breastfeeding women in Trinidad and Tobago

No vaccine has been granted approval for use by pregnant women in Trinidad and Tobago.

Pregnant women should not receive any COVID19 vaccine.

CDC in the USA says as follows:

" .. Pregnant and recently pregnant people are more likely to get severely ill with COVID-19 compared with non-pregnant people. If you are pregnant, you can receive a COVID-19 vaccine. Getting a COVID-19 vaccine during pregnancy can protect you from severe illness from COVID-19. If you have questions about getting vaccinated, a conversation with your healthcare provider might help, but is not required for vaccination.

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-nc ... nancy.html

Postby redmanjp » July 14th, 2021, 1:45 am

They can't and shouldn't fire u for refusing the vaccine but they can make health and safety measures to protect themselves and their customers. So perhaps keep u home and u get a stipend of maybe $500 per month and once cases go back to 15 as the AG suggested everyone should be allowed to work vaxxed or not.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » July 14th, 2021, 4:48 am

paid_influencer wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:BOYCOTT THEY MC. if workers are not respected then the organization is disrespectful to all daily and small money workers. so boycott they mc,

well wait a second. I hear people saying if the workers unvaxxed they putting customers at risk so: boycott dey mc. Then when the company say they only giving hours to vaxxed employees, also boycott mc.

so is damned if you do damned if you don't[/quote

is not about if you take the jab or not. it is better if the workers take the vaccine to stop the spread. if you found out one worker has chicken pox, hiv/aids,red eye or some other sickness where there is no vaccine is sure none of you will buy food there. the issue is they cannot and should not fire the workers in a smartman way just because the worker refuse the vaccine an as it is small money basic salary jobs with little education required or young no work experience adults in the position there is no reason to bully the employee to do something or get fired. is this what the 84 yr old white man do to the 17 yr old girl? no media house pressing the story. did he tell her he will fire her if she dont open she legs? all these big business owned by the 1% or their families and again we have another useless labour minister? we need to protect the small workers as these is the one that work to buy 'brands' in clothes/shoes, they want a little ride and they buy from small shops an drink in the bar on the corner on a friday /saturday. the fry chicken and pizza place can find another job for the employee rather than fire them but as the article say "we need to make money", its all about the $$$.

Postby Les Bain » July 14th, 2021, 7:41 am

daring dragoon wrote: we need to protect the small workers as these is the one that work to buy 'brands' in clothes/shoes, they want a little ride and they buy from small shops an drink in the bar on the corner on a friday /saturday. the fry chicken and pizza place can find another job for the employee rather than fire them but as the article say "we need to make money", its all about the $$$.

That's an interesting perspective but what you suggest should be done? These workers are also the same ones doh want to wear masks or social distance, and always up in a gathering.

They're also the same workers who want to sprinkle holy water and burn dry orange peel in a store if they hear one of the employees is a bullerman.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » July 14th, 2021, 7:43 am

you do know that employees can sue for disparate treatment discrimination right? Also, as stated by the judge for the industrial court, how can employers try to enforce something that is not law? So good luck to all those companies that pushing this mandatory vaccination and basically having unvaccinated staff as unemployed. Lawsuits coming.

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » July 14th, 2021, 7:49 am

elec2020 wrote:you do know that employees can sue for disparate treatment discrimination right? Also, as stated by the judge for the industrial court, how can employers try to enforce something that is not law? So good luck to all those companies that pushing this mandatory vaccination and basically having unvaccinated staff as unemployed. Lawsuits coming.
Industrial courts protects the employers. You have to spend thousands just to win a case that's very much stacked against you .

Postby 88sins » July 14th, 2021, 7:52 am

Your employer pays you a salary to fulfill a role & function within the organization. You are essentially selling your time, and leasing the productivity that your body can provide. So no employer has the right or the authority to demand that ANYONE, not employees & definitely not customers, take a substance into their body that they do not want in their body. At most, he can say "I not selling to persons that not vaccinated", that eh go last long.
As to whether or not they can penalize workers that don't take it, and cite that the unvaccinated ones would be putting other employees & customers, that is just stupidity exposing itself. Because if mask wearing, hand washing, physical distancing and sanitizing has worked to stop the spread for the last 18 months, what makes these employers think that they have the right and that the employee should be forced to accept one option that he does not want, for the sake of a salary?Particularly when there are alternatives that the employee can continue to use, and these alternatives have been proven over the last year and a half that they can keep both workers and customers safe and minimize the risk of transmission of this particular infectious disease.

If the employee takes the vaccine under duress, and suffers a negative reaction as a side effect and dies, is the employer willing to face a murder or manslaughter charge? probably not. Is he willing to bear the financial responsibility to disburse compensation to the employee's next of kin? definitely not. Can't have your cake & eat it. If you want to be able and allowed have the authority to make these kinds of decisions on what other people put in their body (which is an extreme power to have by btw), just so you can make a dollar, you have to accept the ALL the extreme liabilities as well if they do occur

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » July 14th, 2021, 7:53 am

Saw that there is a "vaccinate to operate" drive going on that they are pushing to vaccinate at least 75% of staff before reopening. Given the statistics of the covid 19 virus and the handling/politicizing of every aspect and the fear mongering going on, will hold off on vaccinations until I can hold someone accountable if anything adverse happens to me and that is my right. Why should that be an issue?
There is no going back to "normal"

Postby hover11 » July 14th, 2021, 7:55 am

What nonsense are you talking about industrial court is for the worker, they sèe the worker as the disadvantaged one in most cases and once you have a trade union there is no cost attached.....I think you a little confused industrial court is not a court of lawyers but where trade unions reign
Kickstart wrote:
elec2020 wrote:you do know that employees can sue for disparate treatment discrimination right? Also, as stated by the judge for the industrial court, how can employers try to enforce something that is not law? So good luck to all those companies that pushing this mandatory vaccination and basically having unvaccinated staff as unemployed. Lawsuits coming.
Industrial courts protects the employers. You have to spend thousands just to win a case that's very much stacked against you .

Postby 88sins » July 14th, 2021, 8:03 am

hover11 wrote:What nonsense are you talking about industrial court is for the worker, they sèe the worker as the disadvantaged one in most cases and once you have a trade union there is no cost attached.....I think you a little confused industrial court is not a court of lawyers but where trade unions reign
Kickstart wrote:

well somebody has no idea how trade unions operate :lol:
You think union dues are not part of the cost? Are they simply donations, and the union doing the worker a favor by representing them?
Apparently you didn't know that trade unions also take a percentage of the judgment in the event of a victory in the court. So if you win your case and you get a judgment of 100K in compensation, you think you getting the entire 100K after the employer forwards the payment to the union? If you lucky, you getting 90% of it, but I've seen contracts where the union takes 30% of the judgment.

Postby Ben_spanna » July 14th, 2021, 8:08 am

With the slow down and financial threat to so many smaller companies, you will be surprised how EASY it is to make some job redundant and due to lack of work they can be dismissed legally!

thats all you have to know

Postby hover11 » July 14th, 2021, 8:20 am

You comparing 100 dollars a month union fee as that of hiring an attorney in a high court matter.....just to speak to the lawyer for consultation alone is 500 , filing of documents in the court summons and all the other processes will round u up in the range 20 to 30k and if you win they still want a piece of your earnings ....I have won industrial court matters and it was much cheaper than taking an attorney at my side as this is an employee Industrial relations issue not a civil or criminal issue trade unions are best suited for these matters
hover11 wrote:What nonsense are you talking about industrial court is for the worker, they sèe the worker as the disadvantaged one in most cases and once you have a trade union there is no cost attached.....I think you a little confused industrial court is not a court of lawyers but where trade unions reign
Kickstart wrote:

well somebody has no idea how trade unions operate
You think union dues are not part of the cost? Are they simply donations, and the union doing the worker a favor by representing them?
Apparently you didn't know that trade unions also take a percentage of the judgment in the event of a victory in the court. So if you win your case and you get a judgment of 100K in compensation, you think you getting the entire 100K after the employer forwards the payment to the union? If you lucky, you getting 90% of it, but I've seen contracts where the union takes 30% of the judgment.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » July 14th, 2021, 8:24 am

^ again industrial court. This essentially would be a deliberate vindictive action on the part of management to force the workers to accept unreasonable terms. At the end of the day, the only well known job where you have to take vaccines is in medicine. In other jobs that is not a condition for employment (I have had 4 different jobs in my life and they never asked me for my vaccination card). To change the terms of employment for current employees or to dismiss them because you not getting your way will open the gates for a class action lawsuit.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » July 14th, 2021, 8:25 am

Kickstart wrote:

ok ZR. Like you get banned again

Postby paid_influencer » July 14th, 2021, 8:54 am

RedVEVO wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:correcting myself: Sinopharm is approved for breastfeeding women in T&T.

Only the Sinopharm COVID-19 vaccine has been approved for use by breastfeeding women in Trinidad and Tobago

No vaccine has been granted approval for use by pregnant women in Trinidad and Tobago.

" .. Pregnant and recently pregnant people are more likely to get severely ill with COVID-19 compared with non-pregnant people. If you are pregnant, you can receive a COVID-19 vaccine. Getting a COVID-19 vaccine during pregnancy can protect you from severe illness from COVID-19. If you have questions about getting vaccinated, a conversation with your healthcare provider might help, but is not required for vaccination.

The CDC's recommendations are based on Pfizer, Moderna and J&J, none of which are available here right now. Those vaccines are materially different to what we have here.

The MoH doesn't have enough information available on Sinopharm to classify it as safe in pregnancy. Since that is the only vaccine we have => we have no vaccines to recommend to pregnant women right now.

Postby paid_influencer » July 14th, 2021, 9:06 am

vaccine confusion going to be a thing. too much emphasis on "vaccine now" and not enough emphasis on the limitations of your vaccine.

no, you can't stop wearing masks, social distancing when you get vaccinated. You can't "get back to enjoying life," as AMCHAM is advertising. If we don't make it clear to people they can't do what they see Americans and Europeans doing - we will fall down the same trap that other "highly vaccinated" countries have fallen down.

Postby 88sins » July 14th, 2021, 9:06 am

hover11 wrote:You comparing 100 dollars a month union fee as that of hiring an attorney in a high court matter.....just to speak to the lawyer for consultation alone is 500 , filing of documents in the court summons and all the other processes will round u up in the range 20 to 30k and if you win they still want a piece of your earnings ....I have won industrial court matters and it was much cheaper than taking an attorney at my side as this is an employee Industrial relations issue not a civil or criminal issue trade unions are best suited for these matters
Kickstart wrote:

well somebody has no idea how trade unions operate

You say there is no cost, when there in fact is a cost, and when I show you the cost you trying to downplay it. Ok

You work for a company, and the day you start working you paying union dues at a rate of 100/mth. So let's say that you retain consistent regular employment in the organization for a span of say 15 years, all the while making regular payments to the union to represent you in the event that something does happen where you need representation, but nothing happens, so they keep getting your $100/mth for doing nothing. But according to you, that is ok, because is only $100/month. So moving on...

By the end of your 15th year paying dues, something happens where you now need representation. Now, you have already paid them $18000. And then, they will tell you that you have to keep paying dues while they resolve the matter, and they LOVE to draw things out longer than it should take, so they keep you on the line for another 5 years while your matter gets resolved, sucking another 6K out of you, for a total of $24000 in dues. And now, at the end of your case, they want a piece of your judgment, and lewwee say that in their contract they taking 30%, and your in the end you get a judgment for $200K. That's another $60K
By the time they done, you paid them $84K, for a $200K judgment. They gone with almost half yuh money. But you cool with that.

No attorney could charge that much, & I know that for a fact. But go ahead, let d trade onion keep robbing you blind

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » July 14th, 2021, 10:51 am

daring dragoon wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:BOYCOTT THEY MC. if workers are not respected then the organization is disrespectful to all daily and small money workers. so boycott they mc,

well wait a second. I hear people saying if the workers unvaxxed they putting customers at risk so: boycott dey mc. Then when the company say they only giving hours to vaxxed employees, also boycott mc.

is not about if you take the jab or not. it is better if the workers take the vaccine to stop the spread. if you found out one worker has chicken pox, hiv/aids,red eye or some other sickness where there is no vaccine is sure none of you will buy food there. the issue is they cannot and should not fire the workers in a smartman way just because the worker refuse the vaccine an as it is small money basic salary jobs with little education required or young no work experience adults in the position there is no reason to bully the employee to do something or get fired. is this what the 84 yr old white man do to the 17 yr old girl? no media house pressing the story. did he tell her he will fire her if she dont open she legs? all these big business owned by the 1% or their families and again we have another useless labour minister? we need to protect the small workers as these is the one that work to buy 'brands' in clothes/shoes, they want a little ride and they buy from small shops an drink in the bar on the corner on a friday /saturday. the fry chicken and pizza place can find another job for the employee rather than fire them but as the article say "we need to make money", its all about the $$$.

Correct me if I'm wrong but the vaccine doesn't prevent you from getting and spreading the virus.

Postby hover11 » July 14th, 2021, 11:01 am

Long and short answer..... No
Wraith King wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

Correct me if I'm wrong but the vaccine doesn't prevent you from getting and spreading the virus.

Postby adnj » July 14th, 2021, 11:05 am

Wraith King wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

Vaccination has been shown to lower transmissibility and reduce chance of infection.

"Researchers identified nearly 5,000 cases of breakthrough infection in previously vaccinated people, and determined how much virus was present in their nose swabs. Compared to unvaccinated people, the amount of virus detected was significantly lower in those who got vaccinated.

More virus in the nose has been linked to greater infectiousness and increased risks of onward transmission.

These studies show vaccination is likely to substantially reduce virus transmission by reducing the pool of people who become infected, and reducing virus levels in the nose in people with breakthrough infections."

https://www.gavi.org/vaccineswork/mount ... -does-work

Postby hover11 » July 14th, 2021, 11:32 am

Tell me more
adnj wrote:
Wraith King wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

Vaccination has been shown to lower transmissibility and reduce chance of infection.

"Researchers identified nearly 5,000 cases of breakthrough infection in previously vaccinated people, and determined how much virus was present in their nose swabs. Compared to unvaccinated people, the amount of virus detected was significantly lower in those who got vaccinated.

More virus in the nose has been linked to greater infectiousness and increased risks of onward transmission.

These studies show vaccination is likely to substantially reduce virus transmission by reducing the pool of people who become infected, and reducing virus levels in the nose in people with breakthrough infections."

https://www.gavi.org/vaccineswork/mount ... -does-work
tapatalk_1626276649147.jpg

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » July 14th, 2021, 1:55 pm

^ lol

Netherlands has administered at least 17,773,305 doses of COVID vaccines so far. Assuming every person needs 2 doses, that’s enough to have vaccinated about 51.3% of the country’s population.

https://graphics.reuters.com/world-coro ... therlands/

Postby RedVEVO » July 14th, 2021, 6:32 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

The CDC's recommendations are based on Pfizer, Moderna and J&J, none of which are available here right now. Those vaccines are materially different to what we have here.

The MoH doesn't have enough information available on Sinopharm to classify it as safe in pregnancy. Since that is the only vaccine we have => we have no vaccines to recommend to pregnant women right now.

The available data on the COVID-19 vaccine BIBP in pregnant women are insufficient to assess either vaccine efficacy or vaccine-associated risks in pregnancy. However, this vaccine is an inactivated vaccine with an adjuvant that is routinely used in many other vaccines with a documented good safety profile, including in pregnant women. The effectiveness of the COVID-19 vaccine BIBP in pregnant women is therefore expected to be comparable to that observed in non-pregnant women of similar age.

In the interim, WHO recommends the use of the COVID-19 vaccine BIBP in pregnant women when the benefits of vaccination to the pregnant woman outweigh the potential risks. To help pregnant women make this assessment, they should be provided with information about the risks of COVID-19 in pregnancy

https://www.who.int/news-room/feature-stories/detail/the-sinopharm-covid-19-vaccine-what-you-need-to-know

https://www.who.int/news-room/feature-s ... ed-to-know

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » July 15th, 2021, 4:28 am

Les Bain wrote:
daring dragoon wrote: we need to protect the small workers as these is the one that work to buy 'brands' in clothes/shoes, they want a little ride and they buy from small shops an drink in the bar on the corner on a friday /saturday. the fry chicken and pizza place can find another job for the employee rather than fire them but as the article say "we need to make money", its all about the $$$.

That's an interesting perspective but what you suggest should be done? These workers are also the same ones doh want to wear masks or social distance, and always up in a gathering.

They're also the same workers who want to sprinkle holy water and burn dry orange peel in a store if they hear one of the employees is a bullerman.

padnas idk where you working or who by you is a batty boy but poor people are the one who spend money and that is why they are poor. they take big loan to buy fancy cars, wear brands, play lotto and roulette, drink alcohol everyday and some buy/use drugs to ease their stress of being poor. they will try to buy iphones and ipads, have plenty children and all them good stuff. The rich dont spend money and that is why they are rich. a rich man will buy a soda and drink it an watch you sweat bullets and give you nothing, a poor man when you visit their house to do some kind of work will give you lunch and send the children out the road to the parlour to buy a soda each for each worker there. my point is more has to be done to protect minimum wage workers, to protect the middle to lower class of workers because without them the economy gone tru.

one last point for the pizza place. anyone ever notice that on a fortnight Friday you would see many ah poor man when he get paid take his wife an kids to the very pizza place and 'treat' them to a pizza etc or fry chicken. ever saw a rich man do that? or does the maid make the pizza home in their outdoor brick oven?
Last edited by daring dragoon on July 15th, 2021, 7:10 am, edited 1 time in total.