mitch wrote:
copper_shot wrote:guys i'm in the process of completing my home theatre
i need an all in ONE remote solution to replace a couple remotes
i'm considering the logitech harmony line, but i need help in deciding which model
have you all had an experience with any particual model? I don't want to overspend on one thats overpriced, but i like the idea of the colour and touch screen.
also does it work via infrared from the remote itself?
do i have to point at the equipment?
or do i have to install sensors facing the equipment?
i know i'm asking some google questions, but i want some first hand experience from ppl here..
crazybalhead wrote:copper_shot wrote:guys i'm in the process of completing my home theatre
i need an all in ONE remote solution to replace a couple remotes
i'm considering the logitech harmony line, but i need help in deciding which model
have you all had an experience with any particual model? I don't want to overspend on one thats overpriced, but i like the idea of the colour and touch screen.
also does it work via infrared from the remote itself?
do i have to point at the equipment?
or do i have to install sensors facing the equipment?
i know i'm asking some google questions, but i want some first hand experience from ppl here..
I've had the logitech 550 for about two years. It works for the most part and has a lot of user control. You can set up time delays, power on offs all kinds of stuff, but if you have slightly obscure equipment, it will take some fiddling.
A couple months ago it started to do real sheit, like freeze and stop working. Also the buttons are horrible. You had to squeeze the volume buttons to get them to work. Which I hated, those are the buttons you use the most.
The activity based menus are excellent, press watch DVD keeep it pointed at the system and it would swith aspect ratios, change settings on amp and start DVD all with one one button. But Like I said it takes some fiddling on the internet based software to get it to work properly. I would say you need to be techie to figure it out, you can't give an average user this to get it working right.
So Last week it finally just stopped working. I'm trying to get my hands on a 650 right now, the buttons look better and has gotten similar reviews to the 550, and I don't need anything as fancy as the harmony 1.
crazybalhead wrote:Thanks Raptor, a padna in Houston, if He doesn't get it I will let you know by next week. That's a DAMN GOOD PRICE BTW.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I've been using a Harmony 900 since November last year and its been PERFECT
I use it to control my lighting, air conditioning, blinds as well as the usual TV, receiver, cable box and PS3
this thing can control almost anything! and it's RF so you don't have to point it at the devices
As CBH said, there are activity "macros" that you can set up.
When I press "Watch a Movie" on the remote's touch screen it turns on the TV, the receiver and the PS3, turns on the air conditioner and sets it to 20` and the fan speed to low, closes the blinds, sets the receiver to "Input PS3" and then lowers the lights in the room. Now all the hard buttons on the remote relate to movie watching functions: play, skip, root menu etc relate to the PS3, while volume relates to the receiver and aspect ratio and video settings relate to the TV. You can also assign custom buttons to the touch screen, lets say you want to control a specific device.
There are ways to set macros with lower models like the 550 where when you press Pause the movie will pause and the lights come up just a bit to let you answer your phone or get a snack; pressing play will start the movie and lower the lights to off.
these remotes are very powerful and convenient
All of this take little programming as everythign is done onyour PC
Plug your Harmony remote via USB to your PC
You select the make and model air conditioner/tv/receiver etc, click "add device" and all the functions for that device will be added to your Harmony remote. I am yet to find a device not listed, even a Lasco standing fan was there.
sharkman121 wrote:
am in awe.... never even knew these existed.
I have way to many remotes myself, this may be a worthwhile investment.
ru$$ell wrote:MRS,this may be a shot in the dark,but have you tried formatting it on FAT/FAT32/NTFS file system and see which one works?
iPod compatibility and connectivity :
Connect your iPod product to the front USB port and access all of your favorite music*4
4. This device supports the following models: iPod™ touch, iPod™ classic, iPod™ Nano 1st, 2nd & 3rd generation, iPod® 4th& 5th generation &iPod® Mini. Using the iPod’s USB connector.
Rip CDs to your USB drive :
Easy MP3 ripping to your USB drive so you can take your favorite songs on-the-go.
Smart Remote Control :
Convenient, one-touch access for key activities like watching your TV, listening to the radio, watching a DVD, or playing back MP3s from the USB port.
mitch wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:mitch wrote:apparently my optical cable is causing the sound the 'skip' on my speakers (Z5500). cos it's not happening when i use a normal 3.5mm cable.
anyone ever had problems with an optical cable?
and i guess i shouldnt really bother to buy another one since with the set up i have coming, i only need to use an hdmi cable to get both video and sound from the tv right?
why do you want to take sound FROM the TV??
Ideally your TV should be a video display panel only
your source (bluray or DVD player) will deliver both audio and video via HDMI to your receiver and then the reciever will send the audio to your speakers or amps and send the video to your TV
what about the cable box?
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:mitch wrote:what about the cable box?
the cable box is a source device and should plug into your receiver either via analog coaxial, component, composite or HDMI depending on your cable box
really, only one HDMI cable from your receiver needs to be plugged into your TV. Infact that is the ONLY thing you need to plug into your TV.
ru$$ell wrote:hmm,i think this is all the USB is for meng.taken from sony's site:iPod compatibility and connectivity :
Connect your iPod product to the front USB port and access all of your favorite music*4
4. This device supports the following models: iPod™ touch, iPod™ classic, iPod™ Nano 1st, 2nd & 3rd generation, iPod® 4th& 5th generation &iPod® Mini. Using the iPod’s USB connector.
Rip CDs to your USB drive :
Easy MP3 ripping to your USB drive so you can take your favorite songs on-the-go.
Smart Remote Control :
Convenient, one-touch access for key activities like watching your TV, listening to the radio, watching a DVD, or playing back MP3s from the USB port.
http://b2b.sony.com/Solutions/product-detail.do?prodId=SEL-M-184102&catId=SEL-yf-dnser-44435
noshownogo wrote:Duane you have to hook up receivers/adapters to all devices you wish to control using the Harmony 900?
Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:So after a purchasing a phillips brand that went gone bad within months, what youre saying is that i cant plug my thunbdrive into this usb port and it reads whatevers on it?
There must be a way to use a mass storage drive to not upload but watch the movies contained on it...
mitch wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:mitch wrote:what about the cable box?
the cable box is a source device and should plug into your receiver either via analog coaxial, component, composite or HDMI depending on your cable box
really, only one HDMI cable from your receiver needs to be plugged into your TV. Infact that is the ONLY thing you need to plug into your TV.
unfortunately, i still have analog cable
Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:cable boxes have hdmi port?