*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

triniangie

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby triniangie » July 5th, 2010, 7:59 pm

wow - great stuff here (doh id hav to go google the very basics)... inspired me to take up my own lil project

so far, iv got a really huge wall n lots a space :/

Postby UML » July 5th, 2010, 8:02 pm

mitch wrote:Image

thx mitch

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » July 8th, 2010, 7:45 pm

guys i'm in the process of completing my home theatre

i need an all in ONE remote solution to replace a couple remotes

i'm considering the logitech harmony line, but i need help in deciding which model

have you all had an experience with any particual model? I don't want to overspend on one thats overpriced, but i like the idea of the colour and touch screen.

also does it work via infrared from the remote itself?
do i have to point at the equipment?
or do i have to install sensors facing the equipment?

i know i'm asking some google questions, but i want some first hand experience from ppl here..

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » July 8th, 2010, 7:47 pm

^duane should give you some heads up on that.

Postby crazybalhead » July 9th, 2010, 6:27 am

copper_shot wrote:guys i'm in the process of completing my home theatre

i'm considering the logitech harmony line, but i need help in deciding which model

have you all had an experience with any particual model? I don't want to overspend on one thats overpriced, but i like the idea of the colour and touch screen.

i know i'm asking some google questions, but i want some first hand experience from ppl here..

I've had the logitech 550 for about two years. It works for the most part and has a lot of user control. You can set up time delays, power on offs all kinds of stuff, but if you have slightly obscure equipment, it will take some fiddling.

A couple months ago it started to do real sheit, like freeze and stop working. Also the buttons are horrible. You had to squeeze the volume buttons to get them to work. Which I hated, those are the buttons you use the most.

The activity based menus are excellent, press watch DVD keeep it pointed at the system and it would swith aspect ratios, change settings on amp and start DVD all with one one button. But Like I said it takes some fiddling on the internet based software to get it to work properly. I would say you need to be techie to figure it out, you can't give an average user this to get it working right.

So Last week it finally just stopped working. I'm trying to get my hands on a 650 right now, the buttons look better and has gotten similar reviews to the 550, and I don't need anything as fancy as the harmony 1.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » July 9th, 2010, 9:25 am

crazybalhead wrote:
copper_shot wrote:guys i'm in the process of completing my home theatre

I've had the logitech 550 for about two years. It works for the most part and has a lot of user control. You can set up time delays, power on offs all kinds of stuff, but if you have slightly obscure equipment, it will take some fiddling.

A couple months ago it started to do real sheit, like freeze and stop working. Also the buttons are horrible. You had to squeeze the volume buttons to get them to work. Which I hated, those are the buttons you use the most.

The activity based menus are excellent, press watch DVD keeep it pointed at the system and it would swith aspect ratios, change settings on amp and start DVD all with one one button. But Like I said it takes some fiddling on the internet based software to get it to work properly. I would say you need to be techie to figure it out, you can't give an average user this to get it working right.

So Last week it finally just stopped working. I'm trying to get my hands on a 650 right now, the buttons look better and has gotten similar reviews to the 550, and I don't need anything as fancy as the harmony 1.

$850.00 - by order

Postby crazybalhead » July 9th, 2010, 9:26 am

Thanks Raptor, a padna in Houston, if He doesn't get it I will let you know by next week. That's a DAMN GOOD PRICE BTW.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » July 9th, 2010, 9:37 am

crazybalhead wrote:Thanks Raptor, a padna in Houston, if He doesn't get it I will let you know by next week. That's a DAMN GOOD PRICE BTW.

shipment should be leaving mt-end

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 9th, 2010, 10:16 am

I've been using a Harmony 900 since November last year and its been PERFECT
I use it to control my lighting, air conditioning, blinds as well as the usual TV, receiver, cable box and PS3

this thing can control almost anything! and it's RF so you don't have to point it at the devices

As CBH said, there are activity "macros" that you can set up.
When I press "Watch a Movie" on the remote's touch screen it turns on the TV, the receiver and the PS3, turns on the air conditioner and sets it to 20` and the fan speed to low, closes the blinds, sets the receiver to "Input PS3" and then lowers the lights in the room. Now all the hard buttons on the remote relate to movie watching functions: play, skip, root menu etc relate to the PS3, while volume relates to the receiver and aspect ratio and video settings relate to the TV. You can also assign custom buttons to the touch screen, lets say you want to control a specific device.

There are ways to set macros with lower models like the 550 where when you press Pause the movie will pause and the lights come up just a bit to let you answer your phone or get a snack; pressing play will start the movie and lower the lights to off.

these remotes are very powerful and convenient

All of this take little programming as everythign is done onyour PC
Plug your Harmony remote via USB to your PC
You select the make and model air conditioner/tv/receiver etc, click "add device" and all the functions for that device will be added to your Harmony remote. I am yet to find a device not listed, even a Lasco standing fan was there.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 9th, 2010, 10:59 am

Just hooked up my 40" SONY BRAVIA NX700 Series HDTV. together with the DAV-DZ170 home theater system.

Having a problem dunno if you guys can help. There's a USB port on the unit as can be seen at the bottom right hand corner.
When any flash drive is inserted or device connected through the port, these messages is shown on screen."[Operation not possible]".& "[Unsupported Device]"
Anyone here with experience with these units with regards to fixing this issue?
I searched online but to no avail.

Postby sharkman121 » July 9th, 2010, 11:07 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I've been using a Harmony 900 since November last year and its been PERFECT
I use it to control my lighting, air conditioning, blinds as well as the usual TV, receiver, cable box and PS3

this thing can control almost anything! and it's RF so you don't have to point it at the devices

As CBH said, there are activity "macros" that you can set up.
When I press "Watch a Movie" on the remote's touch screen it turns on the TV, the receiver and the PS3, turns on the air conditioner and sets it to 20` and the fan speed to low, closes the blinds, sets the receiver to "Input PS3" and then lowers the lights in the room. Now all the hard buttons on the remote relate to movie watching functions: play, skip, root menu etc relate to the PS3, while volume relates to the receiver and aspect ratio and video settings relate to the TV. You can also assign custom buttons to the touch screen, lets say you want to control a specific device.

There are ways to set macros with lower models like the 550 where when you press Pause the movie will pause and the lights come up just a bit to let you answer your phone or get a snack; pressing play will start the movie and lower the lights to off.

these remotes are very powerful and convenient

All of this take little programming as everythign is done onyour PC
Plug your Harmony remote via USB to your PC
You select the make and model air conditioner/tv/receiver etc, click "add device" and all the functions for that device will be added to your Harmony remote. I am yet to find a device not listed, even a Lasco standing fan was there.

am in awe.... never even knew these existed.

I have way to many remotes myself, this may be a worthwhile investment.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » July 9th, 2010, 11:12 am

MRS,this may be a shot in the dark,but have you tried formatting it on FAT/FAT32/NTFS file system and see which one works?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 9th, 2010, 11:47 am

^ good point, I think the PS3 does not read NTFS, so it would be a good assumption that any other BD player from Sony may be likewise.

Those all-in-ones end up having more limitations than features IMO

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 9th, 2010, 11:51 am

sharkman121 wrote:

am in awe.... never even knew these existed.

I have way to many remotes myself, this may be a worthwhile investment.

yup, switch to "Watch TV" and all the controls automatically switch to the FLOW cable box instead - you choose whether the volume control is for the TV, cable box, amp or receiver when setting it up. So everything is seemless once you sit down on your couch.

I even use it to dim lights in other rooms, in case I forgot to turn off the kitchen light 8-)

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 9th, 2010, 12:53 pm

ru$$ell wrote:MRS,this may be a shot in the dark,but have you tried formatting it on FAT/FAT32/NTFS file system and see which one works?

Ok kool....

(please explain how exactly im to go about this)

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » July 9th, 2010, 1:02 pm

^lol, stick said usb drive in pc,make sure you aint got no important stuff on it,if so,back it up.Right click flashdrive,click format,under capacity,you'll see file system,start from FAT,then FAT32,etc,put whatever you wanted played back (from what i've read online,this system can only play back audio) if it doesnt work,rinse and repeat while selecting a new file system before you format it.

Snags

Postby Snags » July 9th, 2010, 1:04 pm

^Shakes his head@Ru$$ell*

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 9th, 2010, 1:04 pm

plug the thumb drive into your PC
make sure you have no important data on the drive as this will erase everything on the drive.
right click on the drive in windows explorer
select "Format..."
Select NTFS, FAT or FAT32 under "File System"
Check Quick Format

try each one

Snags

Postby Snags » July 9th, 2010, 1:10 pm

Ru$$ell just lost both his thumbs due to his stupidity (a pipe fell on it and he has to wait for it to heal :) ) and still he was able to whip out a response faster than you, Duane. *Approves speed typing course for Duane* This is just a big drain on our hundreds of thousands of dollars.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » July 9th, 2010, 1:11 pm

hmm,i think this is all the USB is for meng.taken from sony's site:

iPod compatibility and connectivity :

Connect your iPod product to the front USB port and access all of your favorite music*4

4. This device supports the following models: iPod™ touch, iPod™ classic, iPod™ Nano 1st, 2nd & 3rd generation, iPod® 4th& 5th generation &iPod® Mini. Using the iPod’s USB connector.

Rip CDs to your USB drive :

Easy MP3 ripping to your USB drive so you can take your favorite songs on-the-go.

Smart Remote Control :

Convenient, one-touch access for key activities like watching your TV, listening to the radio, watching a DVD, or playing back MP3s from the USB port.

http://b2b.sony.com/Solutions/product-detail.do?prodId=SEL-M-184102&catId=SEL-yf-dnser-44435

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 9th, 2010, 1:23 pm

mitch wrote:
mitch wrote:apparently my optical cable is causing the sound the 'skip' on my speakers (Z5500). cos it's not happening when i use a normal 3.5mm cable.

anyone ever had problems with an optical cable?

and i guess i shouldnt really bother to buy another one since with the set up i have coming, i only need to use an hdmi cable to get both video and sound from the tv right?

why do you want to take sound FROM the TV??
Ideally your TV should be a video display panel only

your source (bluray or DVD player) will deliver both audio and video via HDMI to your receiver and then the reciever will send the audio to your speakers or amps and send the video to your TV

what about the cable box?

the cable box is a source device and should plug into your receiver either via analog coaxial, component, composite or HDMI depending on your cable box

really, only one HDMI cable from your receiver needs to be plugged into your TV. Infact that is the ONLY thing you need to plug into your TV.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 9th, 2010, 2:57 pm

mitch wrote:what about the cable box?

the cable box is a source device and should plug into your receiver either via analog coaxial, component, composite or HDMI depending on your cable box

really, only one HDMI cable from your receiver needs to be plugged into your TV. Infact that is the ONLY thing you need to plug into your TV.

unfortunately, i still have analog cable :?

Postby noshownogo » July 9th, 2010, 3:03 pm

Duane you have to hook up receivers/adapters to all devices you wish to control using the Harmony 900?

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 9th, 2010, 3:10 pm

cable boxes have hdmi port?

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 9th, 2010, 3:12 pm

ru$$ell wrote:hmm,i think this is all the USB is for meng.taken from sony's site:

iPod compatibility and connectivity :

Connect your iPod product to the front USB port and access all of your favorite music*4

4. This device supports the following models: iPod™ touch, iPod™ classic, iPod™ Nano 1st, 2nd & 3rd generation, iPod® 4th& 5th generation &iPod® Mini. Using the iPod’s USB connector.

Rip CDs to your USB drive :

Easy MP3 ripping to your USB drive so you can take your favorite songs on-the-go.

Smart Remote Control :

Convenient, one-touch access for key activities like watching your TV, listening to the radio, watching a DVD, or playing back MP3s from the USB port.

http://b2b.sony.com/Solutions/product-detail.do?prodId=SEL-M-184102&catId=SEL-yf-dnser-44435

So after a purchasing a phillips brand that went gone bad within months, what youre saying is that i cant plug my thunbdrive into this usb port and it reads whatevers on it?
There must be a way to use a mass storage drive to not upload but watch the movies contained on it...
Last edited by Mr. Red Sleeper on July 9th, 2010, 3:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » July 9th, 2010, 3:17 pm

noshownogo wrote:Duane you have to hook up receivers/adapters to all devices you wish to control using the Harmony 900?

^ what he said..

if the control is RF, what interconnects it to the devices?

i'm curious to know how you did the lights as well? does it come with a remote relay box?

i know theres a reciever box for the PS3

my thing is i want to control
a/c, ps3 bluray, dvd, tv, surround sound and possibly lights with one click
but i'm concerned with exposed wires, so do i have to install sensors facing the devices??

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » July 9th, 2010, 3:34 pm

^i believe its like a universal remote you program on your pc, you just select the device/model number and your set.If devices far away,just use the blasters that come with it and your set,i am subject for correction from duane.

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:So after a purchasing a phillips brand that went gone bad within months, what youre saying is that i cant plug my thunbdrive into this usb port and it reads whatevers on it?
There must be a way to use a mass storage drive to not upload but watch the movies contained on it...

dont shoot the messenger,lol,sony said it,not me

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » July 9th, 2010, 3:36 pm

ok after finding nothing on logitechs site i found this

it comes with an "IR Blaster" which emits the signals to the components, usually placed on the shelf where the components are

my question is, would devices not facing that blaster work? eg. devices on the bottom shelf
and the a/c unit that is mounted at ceiling height?
also the lights, what do i need to control that?

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » July 9th, 2010, 3:51 pm

^you need a IR remote lightswitch/dimmer. Something like this

http://cgi.ebay.com/Lutron-600W-Maestro-IR-Dimmer-Remote-Control-/160451289929?cmd=ViewItem&pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item255ba46349

as for the remote,duane should help you there since he has one.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 9th, 2010, 4:13 pm

mitch wrote:
mitch wrote:what about the cable box?

unfortunately, i still have analog cable :?

so do I

I plug my analog cable box into the receiver

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:cable boxes have hdmi port?

if you get the FLOW HD PVR box, I believe it has HDMI out