you thoughts on "PH" drivers ?

QG

Re: you thoughts on "PH" drivers ?

Postby QG » March 18th, 2009, 10:35 am

slick wrote:
buzz wrote:we know most "PH" drivers cause traffic, drive like cnuts, feel they own the road, play loud annoying parlor dub, the list goes on....

the same could be said for maxi taxi drivers

maxi's are famous for that.

0awg

Postby 0awg » March 18th, 2009, 10:38 am

I say down with the ph cars, park them home & come trincity mall car park & thief cars to sell & make $$$.
why work hard to make small change / an honest dollar, thiefing cars in trincity mall car park have more $$$ in it, nobody cares, nobody sees so you gettin away scott free. people who can afford to shop at trincity have plenty money, they doh travel, they always have cars, if we thief thier cars they might not even miss it, the $$$ to buy a new car its small change for them.

I agree, charge them 15k - 20k for runnin ph.

QG

Postby QG » March 18th, 2009, 10:48 am

Maserati wrote:jeeze :( :(
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161453369

I agree that there is a demand for PH taxi's as in some areas without them it is almost impossible to travel.

I totally agree with that statement.

But the Gov't can crack down on ALL PH cars and arrange something with H cars to carry citizens home.
PTSC buses comes in handy as well, there just need to be some well organised plan to take good effect.

H cars don't usually work at late hours....Gov't can arrange Police officers and post them at taxi stands until maybe 11pm or so. (ONLY A SUGGESTION).....Or Gov't can provide safety at bus terminals with the use of standby police officers, and create a proper REVISED bus route to accomodate citizens.

0awg

Postby 0awg » March 18th, 2009, 10:54 am

QG wrote:

But the Gov't can crack down on ALL PH cars and arrange something with H cars to carry citizens home.
PTSC buses comes in handy as well, there just need to be some well organised plan to take good effect.

you see what I said in my previous posts, taxi men eh care to work, half the time is not even thier own car, they doh care for it, they not willing to go off route etc, they does ee bout thier personal buisness & not passangers, during peak hours they have thier favourite passangers.

ptsc buses cant go all wher cars can & there are places that not safe to walk in the night (if you had a daughter, wil you have her walking the road all hour the night?)

QG wrote:
H cars don't usually work at late hours....Gov't can arrange Police officers and post them at taxi stands until maybe 11pm or so. (ONLY A SUGGESTION).....Or Gov't can provide safety at bus terminals with the use of standby police officers, and create a proper REVISED bus route to accomodate citizens.

the key words here is can.

they can do plenty things but dont. pple travelling late in the night is not an issue, everybody have cars, we reach first world status (yuh forgot that oh what?).
Last edited by 0awg on March 18th, 2009, 10:58 am, edited 2 times in total.

QG

Postby QG » March 18th, 2009, 11:01 am

Soundwave wrote:
QG wrote:
Maserati wrote:jeeze :( :(
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl ... =161453369

I agree that there is a demand for PH taxi's as in some areas without them it is almost impossible to travel.

I bolded some of your words, do you see where you went wrong...

LMAO :lol: ....okay sir, i hear yuh.

But what I suggested is a good strategy...but I am sure they may not even think about doing that :(

I better call my padna MR. ROODAL MOONILAL and let him address it in Parliment

QG

Postby QG » March 18th, 2009, 11:04 am

0awg wrote:
QG wrote:

you see what I said in my previous posts, taxi men eh care to work, half the time is not even thier own car, they doh care for it, they not willing to go off route etc, they does ee bout thier personal buisness & not passangers, during peak hours they have thier favourite passangers.

ptsc buses cant go all wher cars can & there are places that not safe to walk in the night (if you had a daughter, wil you have her walking the road all hour the night?)

QG wrote:

the key words here is can.

they can do plenty things but dont. pple travelling late in the night is not an issue, everybody have cars, we reach first world status (yuh forgot that oh what?).

Well everybody don't have car...and ppl may be doing evening classes and will need transport to go home lol.
So it's all up to the GOV'T to see about the commuters...This country needs plenty prayers.

Postby 16 cycles » March 18th, 2009, 11:06 am

There is already a legal way to go about registering car and driver for taxi service.

Why skip the law?

Just make the charge 5 times the total cost for changing out car to H or even invite guys to register for a period of time - legalize them and then enforce existing laws.

Protect both driver and passenger
Last edited by 16 cycles on March 18th, 2009, 11:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Maserati » March 18th, 2009, 11:10 am

Thing with public transport in T&T it may not be 100% suitable for certain areas..by that I mean in some areas a bus sure as hell ain't going to make it thru those narrow roads, or the service may not be sustainable ($$) .

That is why ph and regular taxis are around they can go areas where a bus cannot etc..unless the public transport commission purchases some smaller vehicles like those the size of maxis which can be used for certain routes.

Postby 16 cycles » March 18th, 2009, 11:11 am

^ don't give gov't another excuse to spend money to buy smaller buses.

just legalize the existing PH fellas

0awg

Postby 0awg » March 18th, 2009, 11:13 am

QG wrote:Well everybody don't have car...and ppl may be doing evening classes and will need transport to go home lol.
So it's all up to the GOV'T to see about the commuters...This country needs plenty prayers.

they does want our votes, not so? they dont do anything for us in return.

as far as they are concerned, nobody does be travellin in the night, nobody doin evening classes. it only have uwi students who stay around campus area, nobody goin to sch pass caroni & works south or lives there.

doh travel in the night rent a room in hyatt & stay, patronise the place man. everybody rich, we have plenty $$$

pato

Postby pato » March 18th, 2009, 11:31 am

16 cycles wrote:Just make the charge 5 times the total cost for changing out car to H or even invite guys to register for a period of time - legalize them and then enforce existing laws.

Protect both driver and passenger

I have to agree with this point, this might help some of the guys out who have been trying to get registered but for some screw up in the past they were not able to register.

I used to live south a few years ago and i know what the situation is to travel to places such as San francique and Penal rock rd from the hrs of 7:00pm till, u cannot get any H cars , your only hope is the p cars.

eekipoo

Postby eekipoo » March 18th, 2009, 11:32 am

I would like to put all of you who complaining about the PH drivers in POS 4pm in the evening to get by me only using H taxis i bet you the furthest you will reach is chaguanas.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 18th, 2009, 11:51 am

eekipoo wrote:I would like to put all of you who complaining about the PH drivers in POS 4pm in the evening to get by me only using H taxis i bet you the furthest you will reach is chaguanas.

is there some kind of GPS unit that governs down the range of H cars with legit taxi badges?

the taxi drivers association needs to get up and get
by removing the illegal PH drivers there would be less competition on the stands and so more profit and easier plying for legit taxi drivers - they need to do their part by improving their routes.

the PH system is deep rooted in T&T because for decades it has been allowed to fester and it would be difficult to convince the population that it is time to amputate.

16 cycles wrote:just legalize the existing PH fellas

why dont they do the right thing and go pay for their freakin taxi badge?

Postby noshownogo » March 18th, 2009, 11:56 am

all those willing to comply and go through the formal process of becoming legitimate should be given the chance.

tigerlily

Postby tigerlily » March 18th, 2009, 12:08 pm

if road side food vendors like the doubles men need to get food badges, then the PH drivers should get some kind of permit too for plying their trade...
its just another form of "every body do what yuh want nah man"...

QG

Postby QG » March 18th, 2009, 12:11 pm

Duane has a good point there too...PH drivers can pay for their taxi badges.

pato

Postby pato » March 18th, 2009, 12:12 pm

the taxi drivers association needs to get up and get
by removing the illegal PH drivers there would be less competition on the stands and so more profit and easier plying for legit taxi drivers - they need to do their part by improving their routes.

Well padna, d only competition i know of is when ah taxi or P car pull up on the stand and about 15 people rushing to get into the taxi. As you rightly said the taxi association needs to take a stand by improving their routes, but who could make sure that there will be ah H taxi on the stand at nights ? You cannot dictate the hours of working for the taxi men daz where the fellaz who come out to make a lil extra cash after work does make.

In sando after 5:00 pm it does be real hard to get H taxis going couva , siparia, and point side. And when one pull up is real mess to get in that taxi.

I know cause when i was down south i had to travel to school /home/work on a few occasions already.

0awg

Postby 0awg » March 18th, 2009, 12:17 pm

pato, tuner hav men who $$$ tall, they never had to travel, they probebly eh even know what a taxi stan look like....
Last edited by 0awg on March 18th, 2009, 12:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

pato

Postby pato » March 18th, 2009, 12:37 pm

0awg wrote:pato, tuners hav men who $$$ tall, they never had to travel, they probebly eh even know what a taxi stan look like....
I hear yuh........ my bad but I new to tuner :lol:

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » March 18th, 2009, 2:00 pm

0awg wrote:pato, tuner hav men who $$$ tall, they never had to travel, they probebly eh even know what a taxi stan look like....

Well seeing as youre stuck on the whole rich man syndrome, id certainykl hope that rich people can tell the difference between LEGAL and ILLEGAL procedures! :roll:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 18th, 2009, 4:41 pm

ALL this??

the police are not saying "doh run taxi in all them back road" all they saying is if you are running PH then get a taxi badge!!!

so i dont see HOW this will prevent ppl from reaching home!!!
the SAME ph taxi that takes you home now just has to go and get a legal taxi badge and then all will be good!

Postby 16 cycles » March 18th, 2009, 5:42 pm

^ agree with Duane

when i said legalize - meant make them go through the already established process

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 18th, 2009, 5:50 pm

^ like 90% of T&T MISSED this point completely!!!

instead of spending money to buy 20" crims, drop low, 20lb of tint and sticker and hard pong spend a lil bit to pay for the legal taxi badge and ply your route
:idea:

Postby Maserati » March 18th, 2009, 5:57 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ like 90% of T&T MISSED this point completely!!!

instead of spending money to buy 20" crims, drop low, 20lb of tint and sticker and hard pong spend a lil bit to pay for the legal taxi badge and ply your route
:idea:

them fellars don't think along those lines..

metalgear2095

Re: you thoughts on "PH" drivers ?

Postby metalgear2095 » March 18th, 2009, 5:58 pm

buzz wrote:If we are to fix the problem of the illegal plying a vehicle for hire, shouldn't we first address the problems that many commuters face with the current public transportation system ?

seriously though - we are all too familiar with a similar situation
"govt doh provide us with a race track so we hadda race on the streets"

now we all know that kind of thinking is wrong

regardless if there is a race track or not, street racing is still illegal and wrong
and whether there is good public transport or not, running PH is illegal and wrong

6 of one and half a dozen of the other

illegal is illegal

20 PH drivers were murdered in 2008
clearly the characters plying this trade are either overly and unnecessarily being subjected to the wrath of criminals and murderers, which makes their job far too dangerous to be allowed to continue OR they themselves are tied up in the criminal circles.

Now we have to ask how many licensed taxi drivers running the same routes as the murdered PH drivers were also murdered, if any at all, and what is the inherent difference between the two that one ends up with a far more dangerous job than the other. Surely it cant be a taxi badge that is protecting them? - otherwise Batman should keep a T&T taxi badge in his utility belt!!!

:idea: :idea: :idea:

The PH drivers usually work later than the H drivers and so are at greater risk of getting robbed. I don't have a problem with them because a lot of the time they are the only ones there. Public transport is crap and everyone can't afford a car so until something is done to improve public transport ph drivers are a necessity. Just pass by trincity mall at night. many people, only ph cars.

Postby buzz » March 18th, 2009, 6:36 pm

so why is it we cant see H cars after dark ?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 18th, 2009, 6:50 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:The PH drivers usually work later than the H drivers and so are at greater risk of getting robbed. I don't have a problem with them because a lot of the time they are the only ones there. Public transport is crap and everyone can't afford a car so until something is done to improve public transport ph drivers are a necessity. Just pass by trincity mall at night. many people, only ph cars.

so why them PH cars dont go and get a taxi badge? then that way police wont harass them! :idea:

buzz wrote:so why is it we cant see H cars after dark ?

if the PH cars get a legal taxi badge then they will become H cars and then there will be H cars in the night! :idea:

A33_VQ35

Postby A33_VQ35 » March 18th, 2009, 7:02 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:The PH drivers usually work later than the H drivers and so are at greater risk of getting robbed. I don't have a problem with them because a lot of the time they are the only ones there. Public transport is crap and everyone can't afford a car so until something is done to improve public transport ph drivers are a necessity. Just pass by trincity mall at night. many people, only ph cars.

so why them PH cars dont go and get a taxi badge? then that way police wont harass them! :idea:

buzz wrote:so why is it we cant see H cars after dark ?

if the PH cars get a legal taxi badge then they will become H cars and then there will be H cars in the night! :idea:

That's not how it was put across. If they had say there would be a grace period for PH drivers to acquire taxi badges then a crackdown then fine. But they want 2 jus "buss dong" on them jus so that not right. When u pull them off the road overnight, then what happens 2 the commuters.

I'm not sayin its right, but majority of ph drivers not criminals, so don't treat them like. I 4 one have had 2 depend on Ph to reach home many times when "route" taxis stopped work an without them is walk i would've had 2 walk my ass home from sando.

So don't bash!!!

Postby wagonrunner » March 18th, 2009, 7:18 pm

interesting, this evening on a talk show, quite a few drivers called in. both H and PH.
the H drivers claim they pay taxes via dues to their taxi association(s), but nobody was willing to give the figure how much.
think that figure could be a deterrent to the PH men. was once told, they estimate yuh past income and "tax" you accordingly.

anyone of us wiling to give up a 40+% just so?
if that was the case, wouldn't motorsport be happily chugging along with yuh know who at the helm?