Re: Camden Airport? PM Announces

Postby TRAE » July 14th, 2011, 3:26 pm

ah mean people in south it go be good but---- kamala yuh mad or wha

Postby Habit7 » July 14th, 2011, 3:37 pm

It takes like 15 mins to get from the highway to Camden anyway, just drive to Piarco!

However, build an airport Sando, it will boast the city's economy and it closer for south ppl.

Postby Habit7 » September 7th, 2011, 10:52 am

Karim: Proposed Central airport could handle domestic flightsBy Innis Francis innis.francis@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Sep 6, 2011 at 11:54 PM ECT

Story Updated: Sep 6, 2011 at 11:54 PM ECT

Several parties have already signalled interest in the proposed development of the airstrip at Camden, which may become an airport for domestic flights.

This according to Minister of Science, Technology and Tertiary Education Fazal Karim, who said Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar never said the airport would be built, but that a feasibility study would first be done.

Speaking at the opening of the Energy Chamber Learning Centre at Atlantic Plaza, Point Lisas, Karim said the 5,000 feet of existing runway had enough surrounding land to expand the airstrip if necessary.

Karim said, "The Honourable Prime Minister did say on May 24, there was going to be a feasibility study.

"We have never said that an airport was going to open tomorrow, or next week, and the feasibility study is looking at the potential of that airstrip for domestic links in the first instance."

He said, "We have interested parties who want to have the servicing of aircraft and various other forms of associated manufacture towards that airstrip."

Karim also said Government had approved $16 million, to pay for persons seeking to access GATE funding for technical and vocational education training (TVET) programmes.

"We are being very cautious to ensure that the programmes we want to finance and offer to the people of this country are demand-led and industry-relevant. It is a contractual agreement with GATE when you sign the form. We expect that you will return and serve the people of Trinidad and Tobago, because they have invested in you."

Karim said, "This happens on the level of national scholarships, and additional scholarships.

"Currently we have a list of returning scholars We are at this time placing them in various ministries and government offices and into the private sector."

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Kar ... 52488.html

Postby pete » September 7th, 2011, 11:57 am

So will they be having all domestic flights going through that airport or just a few a day?

If all then what happens to people who come into Trinidad via Piarco and want to go to Tobago? Do they now have to take a taxi to get to the next airport?

IMHO it's a total waste of money that could be spent better or just saved.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » September 7th, 2011, 12:44 pm

This gov't is a fcuking joke oui.....as if trinidad so flicking big to warrant another airport
So why all them south people driving the car for? W hat is the purpose of allowing 6year old F-used cars in the country for? Not for people to drive?...stEUPS