Camden Airport? PM Announces

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Re: Camden Airport? PM Announces

Postby Rudman » May 25th, 2011, 12:09 pm

Shango_13 wrote:beginning of Airport corruption Part 2. Kamla and Jack want to make ah jail like Panday

Hmmm......so Ish is out and now this.... :|

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » May 25th, 2011, 12:15 pm

TK! wrote:wont mind another airport... or a few... small ones in the far reaches of the island... like mayaro and sanfernando.

those places are too far for most people to venture. plus the roads are bad, hence, a lot of trinis never get to see those parts of the island. and then there's the traffic to contend with.

Far reaches like San Fernando?...... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Shango_13

Postby Shango_13 » May 25th, 2011, 12:41 pm

not the first time kamla saw visions in the air

Postby crazybalhead » May 25th, 2011, 12:45 pm

Mudboy wrote:
TK! wrote:wont mind another airport... or a few... small ones in the far reaches of the island... like mayaro and sanfernando.

those places are too far for most people to venture. plus the roads are bad, hence, a lot of trinis never get to see those parts of the island. and then there's the traffic to contend with.

Far reaches like San Fernando?...... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

TK from Tobago dan, you eh know that?

professor

Postby professor » May 25th, 2011, 2:20 pm

Around two years or more ago, Gary ?unt in a meeting with MATT and TTASA, said they stopped racing in Camden as they have plans to make the area an Avation Complex, they would be making new airstrips etc. I suppose the PP is going to go ahead with the plan.

rossi

Postby rossi » May 25th, 2011, 3:48 pm

Jesus Christ!
San Fernando is considered "far" ???? Are you mad?
What the hell you mean those "places" too far for most ppl to venture?
That trinis never get to see those parts of the island?
You hadda be smoking dog sh/t.

It's this type of backward thinking that stagnates certain people. Don't think because you're living up north you're far up the social ladder. If everyone had this type of thinking then people wouldn't go anywhere. How would they see new things and gain knowledge? If people just sat in one place with their thumb up their a$$ how would anything move forward?
Maybe south employees should just decide not to work for a month up north just because north "far"....

Postby K74T » May 25th, 2011, 3:53 pm

rossi

Postby rossi » May 25th, 2011, 3:55 pm

^^^yeah gimmih dat......yuh have Andrews too? It's best I mix them up.....I need a strong dose for the sh/t I just read.

Postby bluesteel29 » May 25th, 2011, 4:02 pm

wen allya famalay take in sick n ya cah get proper medical attention in trinidad yall can use this new airport to fly out n do surgery...great job kamal

Postby Damien » May 25th, 2011, 4:04 pm

What d phoq I reading here boi

xtech

Postby xtech » May 25th, 2011, 4:04 pm

rossi boy it is true............in my 10 years up in the West I have met people who never went further than Chaguanas or Caroni.

Some even say Grand Bazza so far they have lived their whole lives in the East West Corridor. An they was just ordinary folks living Caranage, Diego

I was amazed no reason to get emo not all are rich an famous an with a finger stuck up dey...........just accept it
Last edited by xtech on May 25th, 2011, 4:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby crazybalhead » May 25th, 2011, 4:05 pm

rossi wrote:

Jesus Christ!
San Fernando is considered "far" ???? Are you mad?
What the hell you mean those "places" too far for most ppl to venture?
That trinis never get to see those parts of the island?
You hadda be smoking dog sh/t.

It's this type of backward thinking that stagnates certain people. Don't think because you're living up north you're far up the social ladder. If everyone had this type of thinking then people wouldn't go anywhere. How would they see new things and gain knowledge? If people just sat in one place with their thumb up their a$$ how would anything move forward?
Maybe south employees should just decide not to work for a month up north just because north "far"....

I tell Mg Man that SUnday gone, he only showing off how he from the city. These forkin Princes Town people feel they too superior to we humble robert village tableland folk.

Postby tr1ad » May 25th, 2011, 4:05 pm

hence why north/south is always a disconnect

let south people disconnect the oil/gas lines nah

Ry an

Postby Ry an » May 25th, 2011, 4:19 pm

Yeah for real tr1ad all the oil & gas in the southland

Postby rollingstock » May 25th, 2011, 4:36 pm

Rell -->

in here :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby bluesteel29 » May 25th, 2011, 4:37 pm

rossi

Postby rossi » May 25th, 2011, 5:19 pm

pioneer wrote:That will explain why everybody have oilsand an call it dey lawn down south

Clearly you prove my point. You're from Trincity not so?
:lol: Don't act so dread nah man, take ah drive down south sometimes, it won't hurt.
Ah sure yuh have family living south.

Postby Habit7 » May 25th, 2011, 5:19 pm

My $1 Guyanese (or TT$0.02)

St. Lucia and St. Maarten/Martin are both islands smaller than us and both having 2 commercial airports, so the idea of Trinidad have two airports is 'normel.' I even remember on a trip to the military museum in Chaguaramas the guide said in WWII Trinidad had up to 40 airstrips! Piarco was just choosen to be the international gateway when the Americans left and all others fell out of use such as Wallerfield (the largest outside of USA at that time), Carsen Field and Camden to name a few.

A few years ago Colm Imbert bandied about them adding a parallel runway to the north of the airport. To me this would be a better idea to increase air traffic in Trinidad, we already have two terminals there and the current domestic facilities are not overburden. We have to have another runaway that can handle jets in the event an aircraft crashes and damages the one runaway we have.

However, if south people think that there is need for an airport closer to them, build it in San Fernando or somewhere further south, Couva is still kinda 'Central' and it it kinda far in from the highway.

Postby toyolink » May 25th, 2011, 6:29 pm

A second airport which targets domestic passenger carriers is in my opinion not a bad idea.In fact carriers such as NHSL and others have used the Camden facilities for many decades to carry offshore personnel to work.
The development of the Camden facilities into something bigger may also from a risk management point of view provide a useful landing alternative in cases of emergencies eg natural disasters,shut down of Piarco.
Further many international corps. in the oil and gas business who move senior execs. by private aircrafts may find a facility like this quite attractive (1 day meetings etc.) logistically.
The state already owns the Camden area and if I am not mistaken,I do believe certain civil aviation requirements are already in place.
I however will admit that health,feeding and housing the nation and taking care of our childrens security I believe must be given priority above all else.This having been said the priorities I have identified cannot be achieved in the absence of initiatives/projects designed to improve our commercial circumstances.

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » May 25th, 2011, 8:20 pm

pioneer wrote:Well this is just another way for them to land their cocaine into trinidad then off to the UK.

Makes perfect sense to me.

How many ministers have chiren hiding in foreign countries even before becoming a minister?...and WHY?...y not have them here n let dem walk the same streets the people who voted them in power walk daily?...what are they afraid of?

you prove why retards shouldnt have access to d internet.

Postby Habit7 » July 14th, 2011, 9:14 am

Maharaj to ‘give life’ to Central airportBy Clint Chan Tack Wednesday, July 13 2011

DEVANT MAHARAJ yesterday said one of his top priorities as this country’s new Transport Minister will be “to give life” to Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar’s promise to build an airport at Camden in Couva.

The Prime Minister made this promise when she addressed a rally at Mid Centre Mall, Chaguanas on May 24 to commemorate the first anniversary of the People’s Partnership coalition government.

Persad-Bissessar said the proposed airport would handle domestic flights in the first instance, from Trinidad to Tobago, and could be expanded later on to handle international flights.

Speaking with Newsday at his temporary office on the sixth floor at Nicholas Towers in Port-of- Spain, Maharaj said it was his intention to ensure the Camden Airport which Persad-Bissessar envisioned becomes a reality.

“I will be working assiduously to ensure that promise is realised,” he said. Maharaj added that presently the airstrip at Camden needs to be expanded to handle the increased amount of helicopter flights from the heliport there to the country’s offshore oil facilities.

Maharaj said he does not yet have the technical staff to undertake a study to find out whether the proposed airport is economically viable. Noting questions have been raised in the public domain about whether the country needs a third airport when it already has the Piarco and Arthur NR Robinson International Airports, Maharaj said he would need to speak with Finance Minister Winston Dookeran about whether Government could afford to construct another airport given the state of the country’s economic affairs.

Another initiative which Maharaj said he wants to expedite is the establishment of a regional fast-ferry in this country. Persad-Bissessar spoke about this initiative at the recent Caricom Heads of Government Meeting in St Kitts and Nevis.

Expressing confidence that the schedules for all Government ministries would soon be approved and released, Maharaj said, “I have no anxiety for the Ministry of Transport and its relationship with the Ministry of Works or any other ministry for that matter.”

Maharaj said in the absence of having a schedule, he has had “icebreaker” talks with Caribbean Airlines chairman George Nicholas III and heads of some other agencies which he believes should fall under his purview.

Maharaj again dismissed reports there was a conflict of interest regarding his temporary office at Nicholas Towers.

“This whole floor and other floors were rented by the previous administration. This office here was utilised by a former minister in the Office of the Prime Minister. Whether or not I am in occupation of it or not is part of a total package rental. My occupation here is a temporary one and I don’t see there is any conflict of interest,” he said.
http://newsday.co.tt/news/0,143789.html

Postby S_2NR » July 14th, 2011, 10:31 am

HAH!

:popcorn:

07baracuda

Postby 07baracuda » July 14th, 2011, 11:26 am

Airport in camden,
I think they should centralize the airport and done the story because when people from south need to go to the airport it`s hard because to get there u have to leave home many hours before to cater for trafic weather clongs on the road etc.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 14th, 2011, 11:31 am

rofl @ san fernando being "too far".....

this country so fkn small but it too far......HOWEVER I understand the point of the bad roads in that they make the journeys tedious and seem so much longer than it should be....that perspective I agree with!!!

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » July 14th, 2011, 11:55 am

what they should do is to Reocate the entire beetham estate to camden and utilitize the beetham as a better located Air strip.

Postby honda hoe » July 14th, 2011, 12:01 pm

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:what they should do is to Reocate the entire beetham estate to camden and utilitize the beetham as a better located Air strip.

a beethamite was in d back ah d ranger orrr?

Postby K74T » July 14th, 2011, 12:05 pm

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » July 14th, 2011, 12:07 pm

honda hoe wrote:
RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:what they should do is to Reocate the entire beetham estate to camden and utilitize the beetham as a better located Air strip.

YUP! right after i was finished with yuh gyal, the beethamite took up the left over scraps!

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » July 14th, 2011, 12:09 pm

MC an dem.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » July 14th, 2011, 12:31 pm

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:
honda hoe wrote:

YUP! right after i was finished with yuh gyal, the beethamite took up the left over scraps!

ummm seriously... Image

evo-sti what ever bredfruit... yuh working yuhself up over nothing. carefull you doh get a heart attack!