Re: PNM 2.0: Penny in Charge

Postby The_Honourable » May 1st, 2025, 12:41 am

Rowley's last act since they didn't offer their resignations like Rohan

Postby hover11 » May 1st, 2025, 1:23 am

The party in my opinion has taken several steps backward with this decision. Today, the unc appears more inclusive than the PNM, imagine that lol

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 1st, 2025, 5:42 am

they could ah put ah indian woman as opposition leader like sindoora, she have a big mouth.

Postby gastly369 » May 1st, 2025, 5:59 am

Wonder if penny practice she yeng yeng yeng yeng

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 1st, 2025, 6:03 am

The pnm is changing. What you need to see is that, PNM becoming what their base wants: a solid tribal group. No dei nonsense, just hardcore synchronised views. They will have the odd inclusion specks in between but the big posts remain for Them. And that is very appealing. If I am right, kams barely getting she 5yrs, unc gone again in 2030.

Postby sMASH » May 1st, 2025, 6:37 am

viedcht wrote:The pnm is changing. What you need to see is that, PNM becoming what their base wants: a solid tribal group. No dei nonsense, just hardcore synchronised views. They will have the odd inclusion specks in between but the big posts remain for Them. And that is very appealing. If I am right, kams barely getting she 5yrs, unc gone again in 2030.
Same ting I seeing...
They getting a line up that the base will support and they coming out with a vengeance.
...the base, NOT the leader .

No days off fir kamala, and elections they mobilizing

Postby hover11 » May 1st, 2025, 6:59 am

viedcht wrote:The pnm is changing. What you need to see is that, PNM becoming what their base wants: a solid tribal group. No dei nonsense, just hardcore synchronised views. They will have the odd inclusion specks in between but the big posts remain for Them. And that is very appealing. If I am right, kams barely getting she 5yrs, unc gone again in 2030.
It seems to me no matter how bad PNM treats these ppl the most they will do is withhold their vote. Never switching sides they believe that is never the answer. I will understand the life of a PNMite.

Postby MaxPower » May 1st, 2025, 7:11 am

Morning Jason,

You going for 8am today?

Would you say that you now have a sense of motivation to work?

Postby hover11 » May 1st, 2025, 7:13 am

MaxPower wrote:Morning Jason,

You going for 8am today?

Would you say that you now have a sense of motivation to work?
Max,

I'm on vacation till September bro....i happy for my comrades who slave there everyday. I focusing on my business atm.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » May 1st, 2025, 7:35 am

sMASH wrote:
Same ting I seeing...
They getting a line up that the base will support and they coming out with a vengeance.

OK, so they will get more votes in laventille and Diego Martin. People in her own constituency didn't vote for her and Rowley supporters would hit her a Manning if they coulda get access to licoto right now

Postby sMASH » May 1st, 2025, 7:50 am

Mmoney607 wrote:
sMASH wrote:
Same ting I seeing...

OK, so they will get more votes in laventille and Diego Martin. People in her own constituency didn't vote for her and Rowley supporters would hit her a Manning if they coulda get access to licoto right now
Party above self.

The individual means nothing , only the party is important.

They needed to purge Rowley and his regime ...and they got that done.
In dojng so, they got a moderate non controversial figure head in the visage of penny, so nobody can complain and hold back support.

The pnm slaves don't care about the leader they care about the plantation. Nothing else matters but the plantation .
Rowley and his cohorts was dragging it down, and they get rid of him and put a new face they can work to rebuild the plantation.

My next expectation is that the purge the Indian and dem from the executive. Because they need to reclaim the pnm identity.
And is a good ting cause them is a set ah snake too.. Me eh want them near me neither.

When Rohan said he was the only honest Indian, concerning the pnm clan he was right.

Postby paid_influencer » May 1st, 2025, 7:53 am

true true

turning back that calcutta ship

Postby hover11 » May 1st, 2025, 7:58 am

I see PNM spinning it as the men have destroyed Trinidad and Tobago. Hmm feminism is strong now i guess

Postby alfa » May 1st, 2025, 8:06 am

sMASH wrote:
Same ting I seeing...

No party has ever been able to defeat the PNM two terms in a row. As frustrated as the population was the merely withheld their vote but still didn't take commit 'treason ' by voting yellow. It'll be foolhardy to believe UNC winning a next term
Whatever big plans they have for the citizenry and especially for the neglected UNC areas ( think south uwi, children's hospital and the schools near heritage penal) they better do it NOW.

Postby bluefete » May 1st, 2025, 8:13 am

I am not into the race issue at all.

Stuart Young was imposed by Rowley to become PM against the wishes of the others. The rank and file were not given a say in the issue.

The internal members went along because they were bullied (the irony) and did not have the balls to stand up against Rowley.

Stuart's heritage was a non- issue as far as I am concerned.

If you want to understand how the dynamics changed in the election consider this:

Voter turnout in the PNM forever strongholds of Laventille was about 36%. The UNC got thousands of votes there. You mean to tell me that Laventille people are racists?

Yes, the PNM won but the dynamics are changing.

That last letter in which Rowley revoked the Deputy Political Leadership of Imbert and Gadsby-Dolly was a savage move because they supported Penny. Talk about a bitter man.

Laventille West (Lowest Turnout)
LVW
Central Government Election
PNM hold
Electorate: 25147
Turnout: 35.2%
Rejected: 36
Margin: 43.2%
Swing: -14.4%
Candidate Party Votes Share Change
Kareem Marcelle
PNM 6096 69.1% -3,214
Rodney Stowe
UNC 2291 26.0% +967
Nathaniel Thomas
PF 429 4.9%

Laventille East/Morvant
LVM
Central Government Election
PNM hold
Electorate: 25231
Turnout: 38.8%
Rejected: 22
Margin: 26.3%
Swing: -22.8%
Candidate Party Votes Share Change
Christian Birchwood
PNM 5837 59.8% -4,519
Robert Mitchell
UNC 3270 33.5% +1,305
Christopher Alexander
PF 577 5.9%
Steve Stephens
APP 75 0.8%

Postby zoom rader » May 1st, 2025, 8:35 am

The closing of Petrotrin affected the entire south. Everyone was affected from doubles vendors to banks.

A very bad decision

Postby sMASH » May 1st, 2025, 8:45 am

zoom rader wrote:The closing of Petrotrin affected the entire south. Everyone was affected from doubles vendors to banks.

A very bad decision
If kamala restart the refinery , pnm might lose south for good.

Postby alfa » May 1st, 2025, 8:54 am

zoom rader wrote:The closing of Petrotrin affected the entire south. Everyone was affected from doubles vendors to banks.

A very bad decision

Yes but they closed in 2018 and still won 2020.
It's something more in the mix now

Postby hover11 » May 1st, 2025, 9:03 am

alfa wrote:

A very bad decision

Covid happened bro , ppl panicked

Postby sMASH » May 1st, 2025, 9:14 am

hover11 wrote:
alfa wrote:

A very bad decision

Covid happened bro , ppl panicked
Plus, it take time to realize the benefits they advertised of shutting it down weren't coming.
It took time for the effects to be proven.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 1st, 2025, 9:28 am

alfa wrote:

No party has ever been able to defeat the PNM two terms in a row.

Hold on:
2000....unc19-pnm17
then the three c00leez defect with effect
2001... pnm18-unc18
ah forget robbie wording something something spiritual et cet
2002... pnm20-unc16 till the 2007 flex.

(I yapping from memory, correct mih mistakes dey)

Postby The_Honourable » May 1st, 2025, 9:42 am

alfa wrote:
sMASH wrote:
Same ting I seeing...

No party has ever been able to defeat the PNM two terms in a row. As frustrated as the population was the merely withheld their vote but still didn't take commit 'treason ' by voting yellow. It'll be foolhardy to believe UNC winning a next term
Whatever big plans they have for the citizenry and especially for the neglected UNC areas ( think south uwi, children's hospital and the schools near heritage penal) they better do it NOW.

Actually, UNC beat PNM two terms in a row... 1995 with help from the NAR and 2000 all by themselves. We would easily forget because UNC collapsed within a year when Ramesh, Ralph and Sudama left the party to form Team Unity. They opposed UNC together with the PNM forcing Panday to call an election as he had a minority government that couldn't get anything passed in Parliament.

As for the PNM base, sMash and viedcht is correct, and it's much deeper than that. Most in the PNM base have always felt that afro trinidadians have regressed in many areas that other groups have "taken over" such as Education, Business, Professional Services, Public Service, etc. They felt that the only thing they had was Government. Now with the blatant attempt to assent an Indo-Chinee who represents the business class over a party that has been supported by afro-trinidadians for close to 70 years, many could not stomach that. With the election loss, Rowley got punished and Penny understands the assignment. The "1%" will go back to the modus operandi of operating in the background and support a black candidate who most importantly seeks their interest but also is liked by the base. Yes, the base will come with a vengeance because they are more rabid outside of government than inside. Once Penny harness this, Kamla's term against the PNM means war.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 1st, 2025, 9:43 am

viedcht wrote:
alfa wrote:

No party has ever been able to defeat the PNM two terms in a row.

Hold on:
2000....unc19-pnm17
then the three c00leez defect with effect
2001... pnm18-unc18
ah forget robbie wording something something spiritual et cet
2002... pnm20-unc16 till the 2007 flex.

(I yapping from memory, correct mih mistakes dey)

Technically UNC did
They won in 1995 (with NAR's two Tobago seats) and then won again in 2000.

Postby sMASH » May 1st, 2025, 10:08 am

So wait nah,
1990 coup
RamjackG
Spiritual guidance
Email-gate

These are the kinds of reasons why pnm took back power ??? Not so much because the alternative was performing badly ?

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » May 1st, 2025, 10:30 am

Alfa is one of them kamla haters that trying to appear neutral now

dogg

Postby dogg » May 1st, 2025, 10:49 am

Well now PNM and UNC are even with both having feeble weak leaders.

Postby zoom rader » May 1st, 2025, 10:49 am

alfa wrote:

A very bad decision

A fluke win in 2020

Postby zoom rader » May 1st, 2025, 10:51 am

sMASH wrote:So wait nah,
1990 coup
RamjackG
Spiritual guidance
Email-gate

These are the kinds of reasons why pnm took back power ??? Not so much because the alternative was performing badly ?
Low voter education

It's years i have been saying Trinidad lacks reasoning & logic education

Postby zoom rader » May 1st, 2025, 10:52 am

dogg wrote:Well now PNM and UNC are even with both having feeble weak leaders.
Why?

Because u cant get ur contract from UNC

Ur just a greedy injun

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 1st, 2025, 11:11 am

alfa wrote:

A very bad decision

A fluke win in 2020
No bai. Murder rate was little over 100 ,all roads paved, no increases in fuel, and the introduction of foreign used cars . Country was actually well run by the late great Bas. At 18 18 in 2001 he should have been reinstated