Ok guys I have a pc here running XP and it keeps shutting down on its own intermittently, sometimes it even powers itself on. I reset the CMOS, changed the power supply and still the same issues. Can anyone shed some light on what may be the problem
it powers itself on or is it that it wakes up on its own?? self power ons, oh, um, does it randomly power itself on or is it that sometimes it crashes and a lil bit after it crashes it powers on? is that it?
could be a short on case power switch.. u can try disconnecting the case and reset power leads from the motherboard, then power up by shorting the pins with a flat edge screw-driver. if it power down on it's own then it can be a motherboard issue.
is a great prog for checking heat on your system... leave it all on auto for the while...
use this to monitor the how your fans work and the over heat.. if it get too hot chances are it will shut down...
here's the deal, if ur pc is old and ur case is not in good condition, it could be that ur case is conducting ...if u sometimes get shocked from ur pc case, thats the problem...
i getting the random powering on and off, the case is good and I never got shocked. I really feel is the motherboard that gone through. I had to unplug everything bcuz it keep restarting without full boot
sounds like a electrical shorting problem (machine powering up on its own), since u changed the power supply it cant be that, its either the case power buttons or the MotherBoard pins
If the machine is turning itself off intermittently then it means that your CPU temperature is reaching a high level and it's shutting down as a precaution. Check your CPU fan to see if it spins when you turn the machine on. It may be dirty or it may have gone bad.
When you say it is powering on, is this after a while (like 5 mins) or do you mean it's restarting as soon as it shuts down?
hustla_ambition101 wrote:i getting the random powering on and off, the case is good and I never got shocked. I really feel is the motherboard that gone through. I had to unplug everything bcuz it keep restarting without full boot
Still unplug the power switch from the mobo to rule it out.
Boy I going and call the man and tell him take d damn pc to a certified professional, not a part time quack (me). I swapped hard drives and I end up flicking up mine, end up losing meh boot manager and had to dload system recovery disk, is a good thing I have 2 pcs. I really want to help d fella out but.....
Powers itself on you say.....wa kinda voodoo thing is that...pelt it way. For serious though, could be a motherboard issue or maybe your power switch sticking. One easy way to check is to remove the switch from the MB and just jump it manually and see if it shuts off while using it, if it doesn't well switch problem, if it does, MB problem.