PC Techs I need some help

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 27th, 2010, 6:01 pm

Ok guys I have a pc here running XP and it keeps shutting down on its own intermittently, sometimes it even powers itself on. I reset the CMOS, changed the power supply and still the same issues. Can anyone shed some light on what may be the problem

FullStop

Postby FullStop » April 27th, 2010, 6:16 pm

it powers itself on or is it that it wakes up on its own?? self power ons, oh, um, does it randomly power itself on or is it that sometimes it crashes and a lil bit after it crashes it powers on? is that it?

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » April 27th, 2010, 6:16 pm

is the cpu heatsink dirty / fan in check?

auto-novice

Postby auto-novice » April 27th, 2010, 7:57 pm

could be a short on case power switch.. u can try disconnecting the case and reset power leads from the motherboard, then power up by shorting the pins with a flat edge screw-driver. if it power down on it's own then it can be a motherboard issue.

zondafan

Postby zondafan » April 27th, 2010, 8:02 pm

do you get any error msg ?

if so write it down next time...
what you could do is check if it is over heating.. that can be a prob

http://download.cnet.com/SpeedFan/3000- ... 67444.html

is a great prog for checking heat on your system... leave it all on auto for the while...
use this to monitor the how your fans work and the over heat.. if it get too hot chances are it will shut down...

FullStop

Postby FullStop » April 27th, 2010, 8:41 pm

here's the deal, if ur pc is old and ur case is not in good condition, it could be that ur case is conducting ...if u sometimes get shocked from ur pc case, thats the problem...

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 27th, 2010, 8:49 pm

i getting the random powering on and off, the case is good and I never got shocked. I really feel is the motherboard that gone through. I had to unplug everything bcuz it keep restarting without full boot

FullStop

Postby FullStop » April 27th, 2010, 9:05 pm

harddrive, if it loops on startup...

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 28th, 2010, 5:45 am

dang ok, i'll switch wit one of mine to confirm

achillies

Postby achillies » April 28th, 2010, 6:23 am

sounds like a electrical shorting problem (machine powering up on its own), since u changed the power supply it cant be that, its either the case power buttons or the MotherBoard pins

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » April 28th, 2010, 10:23 am

If the machine is turning itself off intermittently then it means that your CPU temperature is reaching a high level and it's shutting down as a precaution. Check your CPU fan to see if it spins when you turn the machine on. It may be dirty or it may have gone bad.

When you say it is powering on, is this after a while (like 5 mins) or do you mean it's restarting as soon as it shuts down?

mediahouse

Postby mediahouse » April 28th, 2010, 11:05 am

check uh Cpu fan.
Check uh Ram.
Check uh powersupply.

If all fails check stamina man

Postby Sky » April 28th, 2010, 12:23 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:i getting the random powering on and off, the case is good and I never got shocked. I really feel is the motherboard that gone through. I had to unplug everything bcuz it keep restarting without full boot

Still unplug the power switch from the mobo to rule it out.

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » April 28th, 2010, 12:26 pm

its a motherboard problem for sure i had the same problem and had to change it with the powersupply as well....

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 28th, 2010, 5:46 pm

It has to be motherboard, steups....

FullStop

Postby FullStop » April 28th, 2010, 8:18 pm

is like this, power supply good, so random startups means electrical short in power switch, powersupply/case board

random restarts before boot completes, a loop, harddrive

cutoff and delay before restart is cpu/heatsink/fan malfunction/ overheat

organize

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 28th, 2010, 8:32 pm

Boy I going and call the man and tell him take d damn pc to a certified professional, not a part time quack (me). I swapped hard drives and I end up flicking up mine, end up losing meh boot manager and had to dload system recovery disk, is a good thing I have 2 pcs. I really want to help d fella out but.....

Remy9

Postby Remy9 » April 28th, 2010, 11:12 pm

tell him to geh a new computer yes fixin dem ole pc's is ah waste of time an money

Mr. Wheeler

Re: PC Techs I need some help

Postby Mr. Wheeler » October 19th, 2016, 5:08 pm

Wake on LAN Activity sometimes does these funky seemingly cold start.....

You can disable in BIOS

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 19th, 2016, 6:44 pm

If it powers ON randomly,its a motherboard problem.

Maybe even the power switch. DIsconnect the switches and see if it powers on randomly.

Also, make sure nothing electrical touching the case, could be a short.

Could be some conductive dust between the power pins as well. Clean that

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 19th, 2016, 7:45 pm

install windows 10 :P

Sunic

Postby Sunic » October 19th, 2016, 8:27 pm

Motherboard problem. Had the same issue

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » October 20th, 2016, 9:01 am

Powers itself on you say.....wa kinda voodoo thing is that...pelt it way. For serious though, could be a motherboard issue or maybe your power switch sticking. One easy way to check is to remove the switch from the MB and just jump it manually and see if it shuts off while using it, if it doesn't well switch problem, if it does, MB problem.

nissan4life

Postby nissan4life » October 20th, 2016, 9:11 am

any of you guys realise this man computer probably dead and buried already. Op ask this since 2010.lol

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » October 20th, 2016, 10:59 pm

Talk bout bumping ah ole thread....I eh even watch that date na, I didn't think somebody would do that lol.

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 21st, 2016, 12:00 pm

weyyyys, look how I get ketch

Mr. Wheeler wtf man?

why the ass? :lol:

Postby Spitfir3 » October 21st, 2016, 12:08 pm

apparently Mr. Wheeler needed some closure for not being able to answer the question back then, hopefully the computer soul can move on now

Postby K74T » October 21st, 2016, 12:39 pm

This thread brings back memories of XP. Only 2 weeks ago I upgraded to Win 7. #cavemanlife

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » October 21st, 2016, 1:36 pm

K74T wrote:This thread brings back memories of XP. Only 2 weeks ago I upgraded to Win 7. #cavemanlife

Xp is the best! Still running it

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 21st, 2016, 7:41 pm

Built new systems so long ago lol, can't even remember what had caused the problem