Why are trinis such bad pedestrians?

Postby Habit7 » December 6th, 2011, 1:46 pm

I am fed up of having to navigate away from some "off-roader" in a 4x4 (with a suspension that can take a jolt as long as my leg just because he is trying to avoid a re-patched spot in the road) while a pedestrian is walking on the side of the road with their back towards me and either talking on their phone or abreast of the person next to them.

What make is worst is that there is a pavement to walk on but "its too high,""it missing covers," or "ah going right dey"

A couple times I to gently slap them with a side view mirror but I don't think this a efficient way of re-educating the nation.
Last edited by Habit7 on December 6th, 2011, 1:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Oleander

Re: Why are trinisl such bad pedestrians?

Postby Oleander » December 6th, 2011, 1:49 pm

Because too many Trinis suffer from Iron-Monkey and Bounce-Mih-Nah Syndrome.

GeneralHonda

Postby GeneralHonda » December 6th, 2011, 1:58 pm

I know what you mean. A time this guy was harassing a woman about the size of her backside. He was walking with his head turned and drifted right into the side of my car. I saw him and had stopped but when he walked into it if you could have seen the look on his face and the amount of people laughing at him.

Pedestrians have a poor metality when it comes to this but this is where jay walking comes in and the need for crossings and enforcing the use. Hard to do but it can be done. What grinds me is people only stopping on the road to pick up and let out. If there is a shoulder or it is wide enough fine but this stopping in the middle and staring you down crap is a case.

Will it ever change? :(

GeneralHonda

Postby GeneralHonda » December 6th, 2011, 2:00 pm

Oleander wrote:Because too many Trinis suffer from Iron-Monkey and Bounce-Mih-Nah Syndrome.

Iron Monkey, I like that one.

Bezman

Re: Why are trinis such bad pedestrians?

Postby Bezman » December 6th, 2011, 2:01 pm

born in the gutter, walk in the gutter... true story...

Postby TRAE » December 6th, 2011, 2:01 pm

they forget that the sidewalk is for pedestrians and the road is for auto----

yesterday i see this gyul crossing the road Curepe there- eyes on the BB- man almost bounce she, she start to cuss him and a next oman start to cuss too... mind you he light on green and she eh watch the road yet eh

Postby crazybalhead » December 6th, 2011, 2:05 pm

Woman run in front my car last night on the beetham. Fun times. Also, a guy ran across UNDER the walkover in El Socorro.

I feel Trinis like the excitement. And if I hit that woman, everybody would have looked at the car and say "he was speeding". Yup 80kmph, but that does not matter. [/rant]

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » December 6th, 2011, 2:10 pm

Into POS today the traffic wardens were directing traffic @ intersections and this guy walks across like normal even though she's calling cars to come forward and arguing with her to boot :\

Postby A172 » December 6th, 2011, 2:11 pm

Because we live in a Talk Nah society.

Postby Hook » December 6th, 2011, 2:13 pm

Saturday night a yute man, had to be early 20's, dark clothing, darted across the highway in front mih car before Claxton Bay flyover and proceeded to climb over that wire railing thing they built between the n/bound and s/bound

at that point I thought: "they wouldn't be taking that risk if those wires were electrified"

anybody remember the video game "Carmageddon2:Carpocalypse Now"? remember there's a cheat code for pedestrian suicide mode? I feel somebody insert d code

Postby nervewrecker » December 6th, 2011, 2:13 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Woman run in front my car last night on the beetham. Fun times. Also, a guy ran across UNDER the walkover in El Socorro.

I feel Trinis like the excitement. And if I hit that woman, everybody would have looked at the car and say "he was speeding". Yup 80kmph, but that does not matter. [/rant]

If is the same car I thinking about, you can give me a gentle bounce or two anytime. :P

But yes, is the 'bounce meh, yuh go mine meh' mentality. I tired say anytime I bounce it have nuttin remaining to mine.

Postby K74T » December 6th, 2011, 2:15 pm

A172 wrote:Because we live in a Talk Nah society.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 6th, 2011, 2:16 pm

crazybalhead wrote:Woman run in front my car last night on the beetham. Fun times. Also, a guy ran across UNDER the walkover in El Socorro.

Under the walkover is a game for a prize. Hah to be, the amount of ppl do it.

Postby Habit7 » December 6th, 2011, 2:19 pm

yeah but at least with the road hogs, hitting them will give u insurance money to fix the bounce and other scratches you might have.

These stray pedestrians will dent your car, cuss you, and try to extort money from you claiming they have big lawyer :roll:

Postby nervewrecker » December 6th, 2011, 2:42 pm

floor it when you see them. only a crazy person will stand in front of a speeding madman.

Postby Stephon. » December 6th, 2011, 2:57 pm

To be honest, i used to beat up about this but now I'm just over it. If I see someone running across the highway and I see that I may hit them, I just take my foot off of the gas so I don't hit them. It just isn't worth it anymore.

The only particular place that pisses me off is in front of city gate, those animals could overdo something.

Other than that, I'm comfortable, I listening to my gaga and I cruising down the road. Not gonna let people that walk like that bother me anymore, they will get ran over by an ignorant driver sooner or later.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » December 6th, 2011, 3:03 pm

because the majority of the population are wild jackarses? just a guess

If they are on your side, pass close enough to them and BUSS ONE BIG faking KAPPLAT clout in dem arse, ive done it many times.
it seems to work better than bouncing them from my experience.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 6th, 2011, 3:08 pm

Stephon. wrote:To be honest, i used to beat up about this but now I'm just over it. If I see someone running across the highway and I see that I may hit them, I just take my foot off of the gas so I don't hit them. It just isn't worth it anymore.

The only particular place that pisses me off is in front of city gate, those animals could overdo something.

Other than that, I'm comfortable, I listening to my gaga and I cruising down the road. Not gonna let people that walk like that bother me anymore, they will get ran over by an ignorant driver sooner or later.

It is time the dotish gov't put crossing guards there on a long term basis, drivers think they have the right of way because its a road and pedestrians think they have the right of way because its a zebra crossing.

On another note I used to cross with a "bounce meh nah attitude" but when you on the receiving end it real annoying so I stopped, when anyone gives me a chance to cross a road is level pace I going with and if the other side is busy I tell them a kind go ahead I will cross when its totally clear and its up to them to wait or go.

BTW is every month we go have a pedestrian thread so

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » December 6th, 2011, 3:17 pm

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:because the majority of the population are wild jackarses? just a guess

If they are on your side, pass close enough to them and BUSS ONE BIG faking KAPPLAT clout in dem arse, ive done it many times.
it seems to work better than bouncing them from my experience.

nah, i think the worst place in Trinidad for that is in chaguanas....at 4 key places

1.) anywhere around busy corner
2.) around the Curepe taxi stand by kfc
3.) when driving across March street to go across the Chaguanas Main road to enter
Trial Street.
4.) Crossing Ramsaran Street by the Traffic lights at mid centre mall :x

Postby Trini Hookah » December 6th, 2011, 3:17 pm

Why is Trinidad the only place a pedestrian would leave pavements of both sides of the road, to walk on the road itself? Konig, Enkei and the lot making shoes now?

Another thing why do they insist on crossing on a corner? Especially blind corners?

Postby Habit7 » December 6th, 2011, 3:42 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
Stephon. wrote:To be honest, i used to beat up about this but now I'm just over it. If I see someone running across the highway and I see that I may hit them, I just take my foot off of the gas so I don't hit them. It just isn't worth it anymore.

It is time the dotish gov't put crossing guards there on a long term basis, drivers think they have the right of way because its a road and pedestrians think they have the right of way because its a zebra crossing.

On another note I used to cross with a "bounce meh nah attitude" but when you on the receiving end it real annoying so I stopped, when anyone gives me a chance to cross a road is level pace I going with and if the other side is busy I tell them a kind go ahead I will cross when its totally clear and its up to them to wait or go.

BTW is every month we go have a pedestrian thread so

I will have to disagree with both of you all right there. Though today I ride in executive comfort and opulence....I never forgot where I came from.

95% of the road, I as a driver have right of way, but when there is a zebra/pedestrian crossing, I act like there is an invisible traffic light that I would have to obey even if it took 5 mins to change. Likewise, in City Gate as far as you know you just came out and you are only taking a couple seconds to cross the road. The problem is that 50 people having that idea equals to what appears to the driver as everyone taking cool calm time. Have a heart and thank God you have the comfort of your car.

Postby Stephon. » December 6th, 2011, 4:07 pm

Oh I'm sorry, I didn't mean directly in front of city gate, I meant by city gate lights by the intersection.

Postby Country_Bookie » December 6th, 2011, 4:17 pm

The problem at City Gate zebra crossing is the crossing guards who routinely lets abt 3-5 cars pass and then hold up d stop sign to let pedestrians cross. Then again, she probably studying the few morons who does find it hard to wait 30 seconds to cross the road and would rather take their chance crossing against 5 lanes of moving cars.

lostallos101

Postby lostallos101 » December 6th, 2011, 6:12 pm

it is a problem in trinidad....nearly hit someone because she was on her bb and she watch me like "yuh shud have hit me"...a next time this woman crossing the road like an idiot taking her merry time and a fella with a turbo car blow d horn...she stop and start cussing d man so all he did was do a burnout and yuh see how fast dat woman shut up and shoot across d road, d look on her face..priceless

i just chill out and watch dem, doh make sense stressing out urself bout ignorant people

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 6th, 2011, 6:57 pm

dais why ah buy one ah dem ocean liner/locomotive airhorns and leggo some blasts in dey inconsiderate mudarse!!!!

Postby nervewrecker » December 6th, 2011, 8:48 pm

Steups, drive off the road & try to run dey mc over. Bet you they think twice bout playing iron monkey again....I know one person who not walking in front a car again. :lol:

Postby Chimera » December 6th, 2011, 9:00 pm

Hook wrote:Saturday night a yute man, had to be early 20's, dark clothing, darted across the highway in front mih car before Claxton Bay flyover and proceeded to climb over that wire railing thing they built between the n/bound and s/bound

:o the ghost of claxton bay strikes again.

Postby stev » December 6th, 2011, 10:07 pm

drive up close to d people walkin off d pavement and hold down yuh horn. dey sure to move.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 6th, 2011, 10:16 pm

all the jaywalkin they jaywalkin if you hit them with your vehicle you wrong no arse eh!!!

Postby Habit7 » December 6th, 2011, 10:18 pm

stev wrote:drive up close to d people walkin off d pavement and hold down yuh horn. dey sure to move.

you dont live in Trinidad dont you, pull that stunt when secondary school just over...