Police/traffic wardens entering your vehicle

sotf

Police/traffic wardens entering your vehicle

Postby sotf » December 28th, 2011, 3:37 pm

So my aunt was pulled over by "highly intelligent" traffic wardens and asked to produced her license and insurance. Apparently on her insurance the date was not clearly written (got smudged or something), so they told her that she had to go the station. The warden proceeded to enter her car and told her to drive to the police station.

Her car was locked up and the key taken while the officers made the diary entry. She was not allowed to explain herself before the entry was made. She was also treated quite rudely, that it brought her to tears (she is over 60 btw). They contacted her son and he then contacted the insurance company who in turn faxed a copy of the insurance which indeed showed the insurance was valid.

After all of this, they told her that she still has to go to court because of the entry in the station diary.

Now I know that the intelligence of the poice service is as high as a snake's waistline so nothing here surprises me, but I have a question:

Can the police or traffic wardens enter your vehicle and demand you to drive them to a police station?

Re: Police/traffic wardens entering your vehicle

Postby TRAE » December 28th, 2011, 3:38 pm

he go hold a strain with that one yes...

Postby S_2NR » December 28th, 2011, 3:42 pm

sotf wrote:Now I know that the intelligence of the poice service is as high as a snake's waistline

hosssss... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

this killed me.

Postby RBphoto » December 28th, 2011, 3:52 pm

Of course he can ride..... $5:00.00 for short drop though :|

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » December 28th, 2011, 3:55 pm

Not without a search warrant... even in road blocks I believe unless there is due cause aka yuh smellin like rum/weed/*insert random illegal substance*..etc Maybe someone else knows more facts, but im not letting anyone into my vehicle that I do not personally know.

Postby AllTrac » December 28th, 2011, 3:57 pm

sotf wrote:Now I know that the intelligence of the poice service is as high as a snake's waistline

HAHAHAHAHAHAH Ah love it! lol :lol: :lol:

Postby foss » December 28th, 2011, 3:59 pm

DrunkenMaster16 wrote:Maybe someone else knows more facts, but im not letting anyone into my vehicle that I do not personally know.

sando by 1 jive...

Sorry to hear OP... Police service on fb and thing now... make a complaint or send it to the papers.. better yet call the hotline thingy..

Postby AllTrac » December 28th, 2011, 4:00 pm

tell dem bout de snake waist line to!! tell dem!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » December 28th, 2011, 4:09 pm

sotf wrote:So my aunt was pulled over by "highly intelligent" traffic wardens and asked to produced her license and insurance. Apparently on her insurance the date was not clearly written (got smudged or something), so they told her that she had to go the station. The warden proceeded to enter her car and told her to drive to the police station.

Her car was locked up and the key taken while the officers made the diary entry. She was not allowed to explain herself before the entry was made. She was also treated quite rudely, that it brought her to tears (she is over 60 btw). They contacted her son and he then contacted the insurance company who in turn faxed a copy of the insurance which indeed showed the insurance was valid.

After all of this, they told her that she still has to go to court because of the entry in the station diary.

Now I know that the intelligence of the poice service is as high as a snake's waistline so nothing here surprises me, but I have a question:

Can the police or traffic wardens enter your vehicle and demand you to drive them to a police station?

Hard luck. Those traffic wardens are one lazy bunch.
I wouldn't even let a policeman in my car to 'drive him to the station'. Get your own dam car...or better yet follow me on foot.

They always on 'patrol' on the main road near st. augustine; but once it starts to drizzle they all run away and men start driving on the wrong side of the road again....

I dont believe they can enter your car; I'm sure a law must have been passed to give them powers to 'charge' you; maybe someone can pull it up..all the lawyers floating around here.

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » December 28th, 2011, 4:09 pm

AllTrac wrote:tell dem bout de snake waist line to!! tell dem!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Trini Hookah » December 28th, 2011, 4:18 pm

crossdrilled wrote:Of course he can ride..... $5:00.00 for short drop though :|

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » December 28th, 2011, 5:13 pm

File complaint with TTPS Complaints Authority and to Jack Werner..

dem Wardens dem is Jack personal 'Police'.

konartis

Postby konartis » December 28th, 2011, 5:30 pm

well firstly...only a police officer in uniform can stop your vehicle....they alone can ask for your documents, and NO! they cant get into your vehicle and tell you to drive them/drive the vehicle for themselves...if a police/litter wardens i mean traffic wardens jumps into your vehicle and tell you to drive to the station, that alone is kidnapping...yes...it is...he is holding you against your will and taking you somewhere without your consent, the only time a police can take you against your will is when you are arrested, and a traffic warden without any power of arrest can't tell you to go anywhere, proper procedure would be for them to wreck the car and take it to the station, cause if they have a suspicion of the insurance not being valid, the continuance of the offence shall not be allowed...SO..make a report to the police complain authority, then take a lawyer and fill a suit, stating that she was traumatized, forced to drive under duress, yelled, cursed and abused all the way to the station, and on top of that..the insurance was good and they maliciously attempted to prefer a charge to cover their mistakes by the illiterate thinking officer, who acted in malice when he realized he made a mistake! any more advice, feel free to msg me....I HATE THESE ASSES!!

Postby pioneer » December 28th, 2011, 5:37 pm

Well to become ah police all yuh need is 3 CXC pass, so all dem losers finish cxc n join de police tuh geh ah wukk

Now this is the end result.

Yet police demand more pay, for what? :lol:

So people who buss their ass in school and other disciplines/trades should just be on the back burner while people who have nothing else to do in life join the police and army, and collect ah fat salary cuz dey have 3 cxc.

In the US you need a first degree to join the police, hope Gibbs takes note.

Then again all dem derelict donkeys go run to dey union n start tuh brey.

Postby UML » December 28th, 2011, 5:41 pm

all that bachannal for error in insurance date/ lack of insurance????

worse case scenario....say the driver did NOT have insurance...what will happen?...is that not a ticket-able offence? (correct me if im wrong...i asking)

if so, there was no need for all of that and the driver was within their right to refuse anything other than a ticket

btw i not helping no one out...by giving them a drop.....if them taking action against me!!!

Postby rollingstock » December 28th, 2011, 5:59 pm

How come this become a bash police ched when is facking traffic wardens do dey sheit?

No advice for you!

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 28th, 2011, 6:04 pm

Some people over 60 really shouldn't be driving, she have to be senile to allow a TW to jump in she car to go to any station. If the TW had a problem with the insurance, call the nearest police station and let them do an escort

flower95

Postby flower95 » December 28th, 2011, 6:19 pm

does traffic wardens have any powers to begin with ?

Postby Ted_v2 » December 28th, 2011, 7:03 pm

flower95 wrote:does traffic wardens have any powers to begin with ?

can anyone give a rundown of their power?

wey rs??

sotf

Postby sotf » December 28th, 2011, 7:05 pm

Thanks for the feedback people.

I believe that a lot of these things happen because the majority of the population, is not aware of its rights. I will advise her to file a complaint, if she is willing (I hope she does). Most people so disenchanted with the system they try to stay clear of dealing with it and that is part of the problem.

Postby gastly369 » December 28th, 2011, 7:12 pm

i swear is toon town we does be living in sometimes oui :|

playerskrew

Postby playerskrew » December 28th, 2011, 7:27 pm

daiz why ah taximan drag ah 3line fuh 1 ah dem in sando d odda day, wase ah effin time we.....

Postby rollingstock » December 28th, 2011, 7:51 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:
flower95 wrote:does traffic wardens have any powers to begin with ?

can anyone give a rundown of their power?

wey rs??

Standing in the centre of the road like a traffic cone, tha's about it :?

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » December 28th, 2011, 8:00 pm

vrampersad14 wrote:
crossdrilled wrote:Of course he can ride..... $5:00.00 for short drop though :|

I_See_What_You_Did_There.jpg
I_See_What_You_Did_There.jpg (84.16 KiB) Viewed 3518 times

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 28th, 2011, 8:15 pm

UML wrote:all that bachannal for error in insurance date/ lack of insurance????

worse case scenario....say the driver did NOT have insurance...what will happen?...is that not a ticket-able offence? (correct me if im wrong...i asking)

if so, there was no need for all of that and the driver was within their right to refuse anything other than a ticket

btw i not helping no one out...by giving them a drop.....if them taking action against me!!!

for your question: they would impound the vehicle...

sotf

Postby sotf » December 28th, 2011, 8:16 pm

They told her that she still has to go to court because of the station diary entry, but the case will be thrown out.

So why couldn't you verify the woman's information before writing anything?
Why not put an ammendment to the entry stating the facts and let the police officer do the explaining in court?
She should have ask them why they can't rip the page out of the diary like some other stations....

konartis

Postby konartis » December 28th, 2011, 9:37 pm

the traffic cones dont...under the motor vehicles act...in other words..they are useless, they cause traffic all facking over, stop you for no reason and then talk a pack ah sheit...

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 29th, 2011, 12:29 am

that is a case of kidnapping......your family should hire a good lawyer and press charges.....

she could even go onto to say the warden interfered with her or treated to molest her in the car...!!

that warden is an ass for doing this......your family should take full advantage of his stupidity and get him fired!!!!!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 29th, 2011, 12:36 am

pioneer wrote:Well to become ah police all yuh need is 3 CXC pass, so all dem losers finish cxc n join de police tuh geh ah wukk

exactly....there is this guy...left school about 5 years ago....total loser.....cant even spell to save his blasted life......but somehow got his 3 cxc subjects........

usually limes on the block......saw him the other day and lo and behold he is now a police working in POS....man WTF.....I was like nah boi TTPS really gone thru!!

Postby BrotherHood » December 29th, 2011, 1:04 am

Why does it still have to reach to court?

The magistrate will indeed throw out the case and scold the traffic warden and charging officer for wasting the court's time. What a waste.