shaneelal

Central Bank to launch $50 note

Postby shaneelal » June 15th, 2012, 6:30 am

Story Created: Jun 14, 2012 at 10:50 PM ECT
Story Updated: Jun 14, 2012 at 10:50 PM ECT

Trinidad and Tobago is getting new money.

The Central Bank will launch a new $50 currency note on June 20 at the bank's main concourse in Port of Spain.
The note is being issued to commemorate Trinidad and Tobago's 50th independence anniversary, an invitation to the launch said.
The country already uses $1, $5, $10, $20 and $100 notes as well as coins as currency.
The Central Bank also recently offered for sale Diamond Jubilee coins.

Coins were minted to commemorate the 60th anniversary of Queen Elizabeth II's reign.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/business/Central_Bank_to_launch__50_note-159143505.html

Think it's a good idea.

Re: Central Bank to launch $50 note

Postby pugboy » June 15th, 2012, 6:38 am

time to make a $1 coin

Postby K74T » June 15th, 2012, 6:41 am

IBequipped2ripp :lol:

Centric

Postby Centric » June 15th, 2012, 6:48 am

Just like the CHOGM $100 note, I'm sure it would only be for a limited time....

Postby maj. tom » June 15th, 2012, 7:09 am

Time to replace the $1 bill with a $1 Coin like Canada. And maybe even a $2 coin.

Small population, it won't take long to cycle it.
Europe and Australia did it too, and most other developed countries, even Brazil. USA's current population is refusing to accept it, but there is a $1 coin there too and it has always been used in the past before the 1960's.

The United States Government Accountability Office says it would save them over $5.5 billion over 30 years if they use $1 coins instead of bills.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 15th, 2012, 7:22 am

Stick to 1dollar bill, cyah pelt coins at a stripper

Sent from my BlackBerry 9300 using Tapatalk

Postby Stephon. » June 15th, 2012, 7:31 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Stick to 1dollar bill, cyah pelt coins at a stripper

:lol: :lol: :lol: nah but you can insert it though

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » June 15th, 2012, 7:31 am

Cool...

Postby SmokeyGTi » June 15th, 2012, 7:36 am

interesting..although i can't help but wonder if we are becoming like jamaica or guyana...

when you do something it becomes easy for prices to gravitate upwards to the next number easily divisible by 50

kual

Postby kual » June 15th, 2012, 7:38 am

so bodi gone up?

Bareback

Postby Bareback » June 15th, 2012, 8:16 am

pugboy wrote:time to make a $1 coin

You smoking crack? You want to walk around with 5 one dollar coins in your pocket jingling like fat white arse in a red suit.

Canada has this and a $2 and it is a freakin pain unless you want to be gay and have a man purse to carry it around.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » June 15th, 2012, 8:30 am

dat is 50 dollars more than I have in my pocket :(

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 15th, 2012, 8:33 am

Stephon. wrote:

:lol: :lol: :lol: nah but you can insert it though

you can insert,slide,push..all kinda thing :lol: :lol:

Postby Greypatch » June 15th, 2012, 8:38 am

indeed...

Postby SR » June 15th, 2012, 8:45 am

its probbaly to match movietowne prices

Postby Sky » June 15th, 2012, 8:53 am

I have a feeling the $1 coin may be worth more than it's worth.

Postby Habit7 » June 15th, 2012, 8:57 am

As progressive as a $50 note is, I think we need to counteract counterfeiting.

I suggest polymer notes like Austrailia

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 15th, 2012, 9:03 am

I wonder what colour it will be?

Yellow? orange?

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » June 15th, 2012, 9:05 am

the $50 note we had b4 looked like the $20 bill or is it the $1.. I can't remember

Bareback

Postby Bareback » June 15th, 2012, 9:09 am

Sky wrote:I have a feeling the $1 coin may be worth more than it's worth.

If its worth is more than it's worth then it's worth is worth a whole lot more than it's actual worth because it's worth will be more than it's worth is calculated to be worth!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » June 15th, 2012, 9:09 am

they should consider making a $500.00 note cause the value of the $100 dollars is really not as it was before.

Postby maj. tom » June 15th, 2012, 9:12 am

uncle sam wrote:the $50 note we had b4 looked like the $20 bill or is it the $1.. I can't remember

Yes it did look like the old $1. According to Wikipedia it was introduced in 1977 and circulated for only a very short time. There was a post with pics on tuner before:

http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?t=440722&p=6231621 (Scroll down)

Also:

zoom rader wrote:Image
Last edited by maj. tom on June 15th, 2012, 9:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Sky » June 15th, 2012, 9:18 am

Bareback wrote:
Sky wrote:I have a feeling the $1 coin may be worth more than it's worth.

If its worth is more than it's worth then it's worth is worth a whole lot more than it's actual worth because it's worth will be more than it's worth is calculated to be worth!

Don't you mean it's worth will be = it's worth + it's worth?

Postby zoom rader » June 15th, 2012, 10:13 am

maj. tom wrote:
uncle sam wrote:the $50 note we had b4 looked like the $20 bill or is it the $1.. I can't remember

Yes it did look like the old $1. According to Wikipedia it was introduced in 1977 and circulated for only a very short time. There was a post with pics on tuner before:

http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?t=440722&p=6231621 (Scroll down)

Also:

zoom rader wrote:Image

This is my note and its forsale.

Postby maj. tom » June 15th, 2012, 10:15 am

^ that's why I left your quote in for your credit.

Postby 1UZFE » June 15th, 2012, 10:19 am

wonder wat the tuner (dfankz) in the "misc bargain" forum has to say bout this...

Postby DVSTT » June 15th, 2012, 10:21 am

Did they sell all the Diamond Jubilee coins already?

Postby Mark! » June 15th, 2012, 10:30 am

[goonies]fifffty dollor bill!!! fifffty dollor bill!!! fifffty dollor bill!!! fifffty dollor bill[/goonies]!!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 15th, 2012, 10:36 am

Fiddy

Ten, ten, ten, twenties and them fifties b.....

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » June 15th, 2012, 10:39 am

good idea ...