Child marriage in Trinidad & Tobago

abducted

Child marriage in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby abducted » May 19th, 2016, 11:34 am

KNOW YOUR FACTS

Under Civil Marriage law you must be 18 years of age to marry in Trinidad and Tobago, but exemptions may be granted on religious grounds. The minimum age for Muslim marriages is age 12, and the minimum age for Hindu marriages is age 16.
http://rgd.legalaffairs.gov.tt/laws2/alphabetical_list/lawspdfs/45.02.pdf
Muslim Marriage and Divorce Act Chap. 45:02
8. The age at which a person, being a member of the Muslim
community, is capable of contracting marriage shall be sixteen in
the case of males and twelve in the case of females.

Hadith
Bukari Volume 5, Book 58, Number 236 :

Narrated by Hisham's father
Khadija died three years before the Prophet departed to Medina. He stayed there for two years or so and then he married 'Aisha when she was a girl of six years of age, and he consumed that marriage when she was nine years old.
http://www.sahih-bukhari.com/Pages/Bukhari_5_58.php

http://rgd.legalaffairs.gov.tt/laws2/al ... /45.03.pdf
Hindu Marriage Act Chap. 45:03
11. (1) The age at which a person, being a member of the
Hindu faith or religion, is capable of contracting marriage shall be
eighteen years in the case of males and fourteen years in the case
of females.

Hinduism and Islam practice child marriage but also Christians
http://www.newadvent.org/cathen/08504a.htm
A year after his wife's death, as the priests announced through Judea that they wished to find in the tribe of Juda a respectable man to espouse Mary, then twelve to fourteen years of age. Joseph, who was at the time ninety years old, went up to Jerusalem among the candidates; a miracle manifested the choice God had made of Joseph, and two years later the Annunciation took place.
https://discover-the-truth.com/2013/09/30/marriage-of-mary-to-joseph-the-carpenter/
‘History of Joseph the Carpenter’ also confirms that Mary was 12 years old when betrothed to Joseph. Chapter 3 and 4 states:
3. Now when righteous Joseph became a widower, my mother Mary, blessed, holy, and pure, was already twelve years old. For her parents offered her in the temple when she was three years of age, and she remained in the temple of the Lord nine years.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Child_marriage#Religion
Christian ecclesiastical law forbade marriage of a girl before the age of puberty.[28] Hindu vedic scriptures mandated the age of a girl's marriage to be adulthood which they defined as three years after the onset of puberty.[29] Jewish scholars and rabbis strongly discouraged marriages before the onset of puberty,[21] but at the same time, in exceptional cases, girls ages 3 through 12 (the legal age of consent according to halakha) might be given in marriage by her father.[30][31]

Historically within the Catholic Church, prior to the 1917 Code of Canon Law, the minimum age for a dissoluble betrothal (sponsalia de futuro) was 7 years in the contractees. The minimum age for a valid marriage was puberty, or nominally 14 for males and 12 for females.[33] The 1917 Code of Canon Law raised the minimum age for a valid marriage at 16 for males and 14 for females.[34] The 1983 Code of Canon Law maintained the minimum age for a valid marriage at 16 for males and 14 for females.

trump2016

Re: Child marriage in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby trump2016 » May 19th, 2016, 11:49 am

Last edited by trump2016 on July 7th, 2016, 6:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby meccalli » May 19th, 2016, 1:40 pm

That's a great site you have there op, you know that piece of pseudepigrapha on Joseph details his age of death at 111. smh.

abducted

Postby abducted » May 19th, 2016, 2:28 pm

that don't make it inaccurate, this woman still alive today at 116
http://abcnews.go.com/Lifestyle/116-yea ... d=39167407
Argue with the Catholic Church who putout that information

Postby meccalli » May 19th, 2016, 2:35 pm

You agree with perpetual virginity too?

abducted

Postby abducted » May 19th, 2016, 2:49 pm

don't matter, I don't agree with child marriage, just showing what these religions and laws state, take it up with them

Postby meccalli » May 19th, 2016, 3:52 pm

That's the whole point, it doesn't. Your source cherry picks from a pseudepigraphal document full of anachronisms to support one view and discard another to make the act of child marriage seem acceptable by appealing to widespread practice among religions in light of criticisms against islamic customs as it relates to the practice in today's world.

abducted

Postby abducted » May 19th, 2016, 4:46 pm

All that just to say your christians don't support child marriage, but islam does.
Christians and muslims supported child marriage and slavery for centuries. One just got a jolt of modern morals while the other still holding on to ancient customs. Can't change what was written and done.

Postby Redman » May 19th, 2016, 4:53 pm

I heard on the 95.5 yesterday they said that from 2010 to 2015 I think...there were 100 marriages to minors
66 hindu
13 Muslim
the rest mixed religions Catholic,Christian etc .

Its not a religious necessity so I dont see why the need to keep the laws on the books.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » May 19th, 2016, 4:56 pm

Redman wrote:I heard on the 95.5 yesterday they said that from 2010 to 2015 I think...there were 100 marriages to minors
66 hindu
13 Muslim
the rest mixed religions Catholic,Christian etc .

Its not a religious necessity so I dont see why the need to keep the laws on the books.

And I sure most of those minors are 16-17. if you even just raise the marriage age to 16 . It will kill most of the controversy and not actually affect much in practise.

Postby meccalli » May 19th, 2016, 5:30 pm

abducted wrote:All that just to say your christians don't support child marriage, but islam does.
Christians and muslims supported child marriage and slavery for centuries. One just got a jolt of modern morals while the other still holding on to ancient customs. Can't change what was written and done.

No, all that to point out the ignorance in the statements highlighted in your post and the pathetic sources used to justify it. It is well known in history of the custom of marriage around puberty and likewise with Jews at that time which is why I pointed out the mortality aspect. Life began early and ended early, the average life expectancy was around 40 and that's generous. What's highlighted is culturally and temporally relevant to a first century Judaic community. Christianity has no history of child marriage nor slavery. We aren't living in the first century where we dig holes and pronounce well being to cure diseases any more, and neither is child marriage necessary to ensuring the economic viability of a household .

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » May 19th, 2016, 5:49 pm

meccalli wrote:
abducted wrote:All that just to say your christians don't support child marriage, but islam does.

No, all that to point out the ignorance in the statements highlighted in your post and the pathetic sources used to justify it. It is well known in history of the custom of marriage around puberty and likewise with Jews at that time which is why I pointed out the mortality aspect. Life began early and ended early, the average life expectancy was around 40 and that's generous. What's highlighted is culturally and temporally relevant to a first century Judaic community. Christianity has no history of child marriage nor slavery. We aren't living in the first century where we dig holes and pronounce well being to cure diseases any more, and neither is child marriage necessary to ensuring the economic viability of a household .

Christianity has no history of child marriage nor slavery :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Habit7 » May 19th, 2016, 6:15 pm

With the exception of Islam which holds up Muhammad's as exemplary for all men, all other major religions have practitioners who engage in child marriage as a tradition, and as a prescription.

Wrt slavery

Be informed

Postby meccalli » May 19th, 2016, 6:18 pm

EmilioA wrote:Christianity has no history of child marriage nor slavery

Thanks for bolding it, important point.

Postby desifemlove » May 19th, 2016, 7:29 pm

ban it.

tell me where Jesus said to marry as kids?

this ent no theocracy, if people does want dat, piss off to Iran or the Vatican...

abducted

Postby abducted » May 19th, 2016, 7:32 pm

Habit7 wrote:all other religions have practitioners who engage in child marriage as a tradition, and as a prescription
thanksyou for confirming that

Re: RE: Re: Child marriage in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Habit7 » May 19th, 2016, 7:34 pm

abducted wrote:
Habit7 wrote:all other religions have practitioners who engage in child marriage as a tradition, and as a prescription
thanksyou for confirming that

Sorry I meant to say not as a prescription

Hedge

Postby Hedge » May 19th, 2016, 7:42 pm

The majority of traditional hadith sources state that Aisha was married to Muhammad at the age of six or seven, but she stayed in her parents' home until the age of nine, or ten according to Ibn Hisham,[11] when the marriage was consummated with Muhammad, then 53, in Medina.[12][13][14] This timeline has been challenged by a number of scholars in modern times.

abducted

Postby abducted » May 19th, 2016, 8:02 pm

meccalli wrote:

Numbers 31 15"Moses said to them "have you allowed all the women to live?" he asked them. 16"They were the ones who followed Balaam's advice and enticed the Israelites to be unfaithful to the LORD in the Peor incident, so that a plague struck the LORD's people. 17Now kill all the boys. And kill every woman who has slept with a man, 18but save for yourselves every girl who has never slept with a man.

Exodus 20"If a man strikes his male or female slave with a rod and he dies at his hand, he shall be punished. 21"If, however, he survives a day or two, no vengeance shall be taken; for he is his property.…
Leviticus 25:44 Your male and female slaves are to come from the nations around you; from them you may buy slaves.

This is not about slavery though. Just about stating what our laws are on child marriage and the practices of the religions that require those laws.
Last edited by abducted on May 19th, 2016, 8:12 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby desifemlove » May 19th, 2016, 8:05 pm

EmilioA wrote:
meccalli wrote:

Christianity has no history of child marriage nor slavery :lol: :lol: :lol:

i beg your pardon? if you are black, then your ancestors' enslavement was justified by it.

Postby desifemlove » May 19th, 2016, 8:07 pm

Postby desifemlove » May 19th, 2016, 8:09 pm

i saw ms. burke and some imams on Hema this morning.

if we need religious laws, she shouldn't eat prawns. the bible say it wrong. i wanna petition rowley to ban prawns, only to shut she up, and live by the sword, die by the sword.

Postby meccalli » May 19th, 2016, 10:42 pm

abducted wrote:
meccalli wrote:

Numbers 31 15"Moses said to them "have you allowed all the women to live?" he asked them. 16"They were the ones who followed Balaam's advice and enticed the Israelites to be unfaithful to the LORD in the Peor incident, so that a plague struck the LORD's people. 17Now kill all the boys. And kill every woman who has slept with a man, 18but save for yourselves every girl who has never slept with a man.

Exodus 20"If a man strikes his male or female slave with a rod and he dies at his hand, he shall be punished. 21"If, however, he survives a day or two, no vengeance shall be taken; for he is his property.…
Leviticus 25:44 Your male and female slaves are to come from the nations around you; from them you may buy slaves.

This is not about slavery though. Just about stating what our laws are on child marriage and the practices of the religions that require those laws.

The history of Israel isn't synonymous with the history of Christianity, you can refer to the religion thread for clarification of your quotes. The topic has been exhausted, multiple times. It makes no sense posting irrelevant lines of text with no temporal or tribal context. There's a lot more before and after.
desifemlove wrote:http://www.christiananswers.net/q-aig/race-blacks.html

firetruck the bible lool.

Do you even read what you post? For the record, Hebrews were most likely dark skinned.

baigan

Postby baigan » May 19th, 2016, 10:59 pm

I personally think they should raise marriage to 21..no 18 and 19 year old should be getting married lol

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » May 20th, 2016, 2:13 am

Marriage lol.
Kids having sex normal normal lol.

Postby desifemlove » May 20th, 2016, 8:47 am

meccalli wrote:
abducted wrote:
meccalli wrote:

The history of Israel isn't synonymous with the history of Christianity, you can refer to the religion thread for clarification of your quotes. The topic has been exhausted, multiple times. It makes no sense posting irrelevant lines of text with no temporal or tribal context. There's a lot more before and after.
desifemlove wrote:http://www.christiananswers.net/q-aig/race-blacks.html

firetruck the bible lool.

Do you even read what you post? For the record, Hebrews were most likely dark skinned.

they weren't black though. that said, yuh picking and choosing whih parts to follow. and ignoring "render unto Caesar" God himself doh want his teachings to be involved in politics.

Postby meccalli » May 20th, 2016, 9:12 am

desifemlove wrote:they weren't black though. that said, yuh picking and choosing whih parts to follow. and ignoring "render unto Caesar" God himself doh want his teachings to be involved in politics.

Not sure where you're trying to go with the issue of black people, but records of Josephus give insight to Moses' involvement with the Ethiopian/ empire of Kush government and mirrored in the bible by his sub-sequential marriage to princess Tharbis who's descendants were Kushite/Hamite. Moses himself was thought to be egyptian in appearance.
This isn't a political thread, politics and governance aren't synonymous either. That's why you won't see me involved on the multiple political threads, God's word however is extremely pertinent in good good governance and in decision making. As for cherry picking, that's on the rest of you, the Bible isn't a guide for religion. My case is simply based on the misrepresentation of apocryphal text in op's post.

Postby Habit7 » May 20th, 2016, 9:52 am

desifemlove wrote:they weren't black though. that said, yuh picking and choosing whih parts to follow. and ignoring "render unto Caesar" God himself doh want his teachings to be involved in politics.

Firstly "render to Caesar" doesnt mean stay out of politics. It was Jesus saying dont try to use allegiance to me as an excuse not to pay taxes and get the Romans to arrest me for sedition (Matt 22:15-22). Also you are unaware that John the Baptist spoke out against Roman governor Herod marrying his brother's wife and was beheaded. The Apostle Paul, the main author of the New Testament, chastised the politicians of his day including Felix of "righteousness, self-control and the judgment to come" (Acts 24:25). So the Bible has no problem with its teachings influencing politics.

Most of this talk about child marriage has been hammered out in the Religion Thread and was raised especially be me to show that it was Christianity that was at the forefront for carving out a space for children as protected individuals particularly against sexual exploitation. As societies changed and the age of childhood extended (eg. at 13 a Jewish boy became a man-Bar Mitzvah) to now 18 as the cutoff point, marriage became only acceptable after then.

Marriage is a religious concept that recently (in history) the state approves of. In Christianity children are not married. Western culture has been shaped by Christianity. If you want t be secularist, whatever age you come up with is arbitrary because you are adopting religious principles with no basis.

Postby De Dragon » May 20th, 2016, 3:03 pm

Curtms wrote:Marriage lol.
Kids having sex normal normal lol.

Different social issue bro. How many times big hardbacked men have sex with underage girls and then to avoid the stigma/shame they marry, have a few kids, have mostly miserable lives and split up with all involved having to bear the burden of the ordeal. 15/16 year olds have no business marrying, or having kids when simply kids themselves.

abducted

Postby abducted » May 20th, 2016, 4:04 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Firstly "render to Caesar" doesnt mean stay out of politics. It was Jesus saying dont try to use allegiance to me as an excuse not to pay taxes and get the Romans to arrest me for sedition (Matt 22:15-22). Also you are unaware that John the Baptist spoke out against Roman governor Herod marrying his brother's wife and was beheaded. The Apostle Paul, the main author of the New Testament, chastised the politicians of his day including Felix of "righteousness, self-control and the judgment to come" (Acts 24:25). So the Bible has no problem with its teachings influencing politics.

Most of this talk about child marriage has been hammered out in the Religion Thread and was raised especially be me to show that it was Christianity that was at the forefront for carving out a space for children as protected individuals particularly against sexual exploitation. As societies changed and the age of childhood extended (eg. at 13 a Jewish boy became a man-Bar Mitzvah) to now 18 as the cutoff point, marriage became only acceptable after then.

Marriage is a religious concept that recently (in history) the state approves of. In Christianity children are not married. Western culture has been shaped by Christianity. If you want t be secularist, whatever age you come up with is arbitrary because you are adopting religious principles with no basis.
You are a chrisitian apologist, you twist facts to prove to yourself that christianity is the basis for all morality and then ignore the parts that show otherwise, your contribution should be ignored.

"Historically within the Catholic Church, prior to the 1917 Code of Canon Law, the minimum age for a dissoluble betrothal (sponsalia de futuro) was 7 years in the contractees. The minimum age for a valid marriage was puberty, or nominally 14 for males and 12 for females.[33] The 1917 Code of Canon Law raised the minimum age for a valid marriage at 16 for males and 14 for females.[34] The 1983 Code of Canon Law maintained the minimum age for a valid marriage at 16 for males and 14 for females."

We believe that not only should most people marry, they should marry in their youth. The Bible speaks of the “wife of thy youth” (Prov. 5:18; Is. 54:6; Mal. 2:14-15) and “children of the youth” (Ps. 127:4). Scripture also speaks of not letting children pass the flower of their age (1 Cor. 7:36) … Leaving the physically mature young man struggling with fornication and leaving the physically mature young woman wallowing in fruitless, barren celibacy—these are both unscriptural and ungodly actions.
Twist it how you want