Redman wrote:I heard on the 95.5 yesterday they said that from 2010 to 2015 I think...there were 100 marriages to minors
66 hindu
13 Muslim
the rest mixed religions Catholic,Christian etc .
Its not a religious necessity so I dont see why the need to keep the laws on the books.
abducted wrote:All that just to say your christians don't support child marriage, but islam does.
Christians and muslims supported child marriage and slavery for centuries. One just got a jolt of modern morals while the other still holding on to ancient customs. Can't change what was written and done.
meccalli wrote:abducted wrote:All that just to say your christians don't support child marriage, but islam does.
Christians and muslims supported child marriage and slavery for centuries. One just got a jolt of modern morals while the other still holding on to ancient customs. Can't change what was written and done.
No, all that to point out the ignorance in the statements highlighted in your post and the pathetic sources used to justify it. It is well known in history of the custom of marriage around puberty and likewise with Jews at that time which is why I pointed out the mortality aspect. Life began early and ended early, the average life expectancy was around 40 and that's generous. What's highlighted is culturally and temporally relevant to a first century Judaic community. Christianity has no history of child marriage nor slavery. We aren't living in the first century where we dig holes and pronounce well being to cure diseases any more, and neither is child marriage necessary to ensuring the economic viability of a household .
EmilioA wrote:Christianity has no history of child marriage nor slavery
thanksyou for confirming thatHabit7 wrote:all other religions have practitioners who engage in child marriage as a tradition, and as a prescription
abducted wrote:thanksyou for confirming thatHabit7 wrote:all other religions have practitioners who engage in child marriage as a tradition, and as a prescription
Numbers 31 15"Moses said to them "have you allowed all the women to live?" he asked them. 16"They were the ones who followed Balaam's advice and enticed the Israelites to be unfaithful to the LORD in the Peor incident, so that a plague struck the LORD's people. 17Now kill all the boys. And kill every woman who has slept with a man, 18but save for yourselves every girl who has never slept with a man.meccalli wrote:EmilioA wrote:Christianity has no history of child marriage nor slavery
Thanks for bolding it, important point.
EmilioA wrote:meccalli wrote:abducted wrote:All that just to say your christians don't support child marriage, but islam does.
No, all that to point out the ignorance in the statements highlighted in your post and the pathetic sources used to justify it. It is well known in history of the custom of marriage around puberty and likewise with Jews at that time which is why I pointed out the mortality aspect. Life began early and ended early, the average life expectancy was around 40 and that's generous. What's highlighted is culturally and temporally relevant to a first century Judaic community. Christianity has no history of child marriage nor slavery. We aren't living in the first century where we dig holes and pronounce well being to cure diseases any more, and neither is child marriage necessary to ensuring the economic viability of a household .
Christianity has no history of child marriage nor slavery![]()
abducted wrote:Numbers 31 15"Moses said to them "have you allowed all the women to live?" he asked them. 16"They were the ones who followed Balaam's advice and enticed the Israelites to be unfaithful to the LORD in the Peor incident, so that a plague struck the LORD's people. 17Now kill all the boys. And kill every woman who has slept with a man, 18but save for yourselves every girl who has never slept with a man.meccalli wrote:EmilioA wrote:Christianity has no history of child marriage nor slavery
Exodus 20"If a man strikes his male or female slave with a rod and he dies at his hand, he shall be punished. 21"If, however, he survives a day or two, no vengeance shall be taken; for he is his property.…
Leviticus 25:44 Your male and female slaves are to come from the nations around you; from them you may buy slaves.
This is not about slavery though. Just about stating what our laws are on child marriage and the practices of the religions that require those laws.
desifemlove wrote:http://www.christiananswers.net/q-aig/race-blacks.html
firetruck the bible lool.
meccalli wrote:abducted wrote:Numbers 31 15"Moses said to them "have you allowed all the women to live?" he asked them. 16"They were the ones who followed Balaam's advice and enticed the Israelites to be unfaithful to the LORD in the Peor incident, so that a plague struck the LORD's people. 17Now kill all the boys. And kill every woman who has slept with a man, 18but save for yourselves every girl who has never slept with a man.meccalli wrote:EmilioA wrote:Christianity has no history of child marriage nor slavery
Exodus 20"If a man strikes his male or female slave with a rod and he dies at his hand, he shall be punished. 21"If, however, he survives a day or two, no vengeance shall be taken; for he is his property.…
Leviticus 25:44 Your male and female slaves are to come from the nations around you; from them you may buy slaves.
This is not about slavery though. Just about stating what our laws are on child marriage and the practices of the religions that require those laws.
The history of Israel isn't synonymous with the history of Christianity, you can refer to the religion thread for clarification of your quotes. The topic has been exhausted, multiple times. It makes no sense posting irrelevant lines of text with no temporal or tribal context. There's a lot more before and after.desifemlove wrote:http://www.christiananswers.net/q-aig/race-blacks.html
firetruck the bible lool.
Do you even read what you post? For the record, Hebrews were most likely dark skinned.
desifemlove wrote:they weren't black though. that said, yuh picking and choosing whih parts to follow. and ignoring "render unto Caesar" God himself doh want his teachings to be involved in politics.
Curtms wrote:Marriage lol.
Kids having sex normal normal lol.
You are a chrisitian apologist, you twist facts to prove to yourself that christianity is the basis for all morality and then ignore the parts that show otherwise, your contribution should be ignored.Habit7 wrote:desifemlove wrote:they weren't black though. that said, yuh picking and choosing whih parts to follow. and ignoring "render unto Caesar" God himself doh want his teachings to be involved in politics.
Firstly "render to Caesar" doesnt mean stay out of politics. It was Jesus saying dont try to use allegiance to me as an excuse not to pay taxes and get the Romans to arrest me for sedition (Matt 22:15-22). Also you are unaware that John the Baptist spoke out against Roman governor Herod marrying his brother's wife and was beheaded. The Apostle Paul, the main author of the New Testament, chastised the politicians of his day including Felix of "righteousness, self-control and the judgment to come" (Acts 24:25). So the Bible has no problem with its teachings influencing politics.
Most of this talk about child marriage has been hammered out in the Religion Thread and was raised especially be me to show that it was Christianity that was at the forefront for carving out a space for children as protected individuals particularly against sexual exploitation. As societies changed and the age of childhood extended (eg. at 13 a Jewish boy became a man-Bar Mitzvah) to now 18 as the cutoff point, marriage became only acceptable after then.
Marriage is a religious concept that recently (in history) the state approves of. In Christianity children are not married. Western culture has been shaped by Christianity. If you want t be secularist, whatever age you come up with is arbitrary because you are adopting religious principles with no basis.
Twist it how you wantWe believe that not only should most people marry, they should marry in their youth. The Bible speaks of the “wife of thy youth” (Prov. 5:18; Is. 54:6; Mal. 2:14-15) and “children of the youth” (Ps. 127:4). Scripture also speaks of not letting children pass the flower of their age (1 Cor. 7:36) … Leaving the physically mature young man struggling with fornication and leaving the physically mature young woman wallowing in fruitless, barren celibacy—these are both unscriptural and ungodly actions.