1% Attacks stupid Holidays

Postby zoom rader » June 2nd, 2018, 2:26 am

Here we go again , 1% attacks the Trini population

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2018-06- ... ay-comment

Businessman Gerald Aboud has issued a formal apology over comments he made on his Facebook page referring to this week’s back-to-back holidays— Indian Arrival Day and Corpus Christi.

In his apology, Aboud said he feels “hurt” but promised to “lick my wounds and recover because I am not one to stay down.”

Aboud’s comment of: “Two stupid holidays in the middle of the week” was screen shot and posted to a group page accompanied by the comment “1% disrespecting the 99%,” which quickly went viral on social media. The comment caused a lot of backlash and racist comments. Aboud is the chief executive officer of Starlite Group Limited.

Aboud, in a subsequent post, clarified that his initial comment was not “an attack on the public.”He further explained that his comment was based on the lack of productivity and challenges faced by most businesses due to the share number of public holidays in T&T, especially when they occur in close proximity to each other.

“There was absolutely no disrespect meant to undermine celebration of our East Indian heritage yesterday (Wednesday) or of Corpus Christi today (Thursday), (I myself am a Roman Catholic), I am and have always been a huge supporter of the equal treatment of every creed, race, gender and religion,” Aboud said.“Saying this I am reminded of and always mindful of our watchwords of Discipline, Production and Tolerance, my remarks were a reflection of the impact of so many public holidays on the first two. I humbly apologise if anyone was offended it was not my intention,” he added.

In another post, Aboud again apologised and added that he was plunged into deeper hurt by the matter in which it was handled by the public.

“Of course they were never intended against any race because I would be insulting myself. Honestly, I am quite hurt by the way this matter was handled. In highlighting with what I think is broken in society the matter was turned against me. Many asked why I didn’t respond earlier, that is because I did not feel it was necessary to defend a comment that was not against any group,” Aboud said.

In a release issued yesterday by the Starlite Group Limited, it condemned the “malicious attack” made against Aboud.

It even added that the group is not affiliated “with any political agenda,” “We at Starlite do all we can to promote good business practices and actively support our local entrepreneurs irrespective of the colour of your skin or the religion you may choose.

“We work with community leaders and local vendors to do the very best that we can to improve our country, but we are not perfect. We will continue to strive towards excellence, setting ourselves as an example of how we would like to see other areas of our community,” the release added.

In June 2017, chairman of the Global Brands Group of Companies, Mario Sabga-Aboud had also issued a statement apologising for statements he made in the CNN production, ‘Parts Unknown’ that featured T&T.

Sabga-Aboud received much criticism after he said that while people of Syrian descent represented one per cent of the population, they were the ‘most powerful’.

In the conversation that followed during a family dinner with ‘Parts Unknown’ host Anthony Bourdain, another family member made reference to the diminishing middle-class and expressed fear that it would no longer serve as a buffer between the “haves” and the “have nots”, leading to possible civil commotion.Sabga-Aboud did apologise and admitted that his words were “careless” and misrepresented himself and his values.

Re: 1% Attacks stupid Holidays

Postby RedVEVO » June 2nd, 2018, 2:34 am

Every time I go Ritually for a shake down ..

They ask me if I want whipped cream for an extra $5.00

Postby RedVEVO » June 2nd, 2018, 2:38 am

Summary per above article :

" ... Gerald Aboud’s comment of: “Two stupid holidays in the middle of the week” was screen shot and posted to a group page accompanied by the comment “1% disrespecting the 99%,” which quickly went viral on social media. The comment caused a lot of backlash and racist comments. Aboud is the chief executive officer of Starlite Group Limited .. "

Postby 88sins » June 2nd, 2018, 5:47 am

if he really want to make up for it he could recommend they make one more holiday, & call it Syrian Departure day

fatboy slim

Postby fatboy slim » June 2nd, 2018, 6:09 am

but why make a stupid comment like this in the first place? I guess gerald aboud is looking for the attention whore award.

kstt

Postby kstt » June 2nd, 2018, 6:30 am

I never know holidays does affect trafficking????

Postby hydroep » June 2nd, 2018, 6:32 am

These people make their insensitive comments and then quickly follow protocol by giving some general insincere apology but their message has already been sent. We would do well to follow their example, for instance:

Perhaps Mr. Aboud and his like-minded compatriots should jump in those containers — the same ones used to ship "baby powder" — and ride out.

Oh, "I humbly apologize if anyone was offended, it was not my intention". It was just meant to highlight the fact that there are countries with less calendar holidays so local businessmen who have a problem can go there and set up shop. Just trying to assist my fellow citizens, is all...:|

Postby zoom rader » June 2nd, 2018, 6:51 am

This is not the first time he's made racists comments

Postby pugboy » June 2nd, 2018, 6:53 am

Say what you want and humbly apologize

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » June 2nd, 2018, 6:54 am

i really dont think the man was trying to insult the nation .
To many people look in this country over analyze everything and can find a fault with it .
And I agree with him it is really 2 stupid holidays . I am sure half of the country dont even know the meaning of Corpus Christi.

Postby 88sins » June 2nd, 2018, 7:07 am

pugboy wrote:Say what you want and humbly apologize

u mean say what you really think about the entire population & when ppl show u they ain't gonna let it slide offer a fake apology quick.

hong kong phooey wrote:i really dont think the man was trying to insult the nation .

Of course he wasn't trying to insult the nation. He actually did it. Do not be fooled by the fake apologies ppl make after they say what is truly on their mind & in their heart

fatboy slim

Postby fatboy slim » June 2nd, 2018, 7:21 am

hong kong phooey wrote:i really dont think the man was trying to insult the nation .
To many people look in this country over analyze everything and can find a fault with it .
And I agree with him it is really 2 stupid holidays . I am sure half of the country dont even know the meaning of Corpus Christi.

so i guess emancipation and spiritual baptist day are stupid as well, oops i apologize.
Last edited by fatboy slim on June 2nd, 2018, 7:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » June 2nd, 2018, 7:22 am

I think that was made from a business point of view. We have so many holidays and generally outside those holidays have some of the lowest productivity levels. Most business owners hate the fact there are so many holidays esp during low economic times. His commiwas taken out of context and has nothing to do with racial disparity or any 1% references.
It's small minded Trinidadians that can't see beyond their stupidity at the bigger picture.

fatboy slim

Postby fatboy slim » June 2nd, 2018, 7:24 am

and celebrating the birth of christ is Bull crap too :twisted: :twisted: eat, drink and stuff yuh belly. Oops I apologize.

fatboy slim

Postby fatboy slim » June 2nd, 2018, 7:51 am

I am deeply sorry for all my stupid comments on this topic. :fist:

Postby SR » June 2nd, 2018, 8:00 am

From a buisness perspective carnival is far worse than any 2 holidays in a week. From mid january until the week after carnival productivity level drops from workers and there is high levels of absenteeism. How come nobody complain about those 2 stupid NON public holidays.

fatboy slim

Postby fatboy slim » June 2nd, 2018, 8:04 am

SR wrote:From a buisness perspective carnival is far worse than any 2 holidays in a week. From mid january until the week after carnival productivity level drops from workers and there is high levels of absenteeism. How come nobody complain about those 2 stupid NON public holidays.

Exactly

kstt

Postby kstt » June 2nd, 2018, 8:30 am

To many holidays? Why dey doh open facking businesses whole day on Saturday and Sunday if they wanted to make money.

Banks too!!

People leaving home in the morning in the dark and returning in the dark in the week and weekend allyuh want to close half day or not open at all?!!

Sunday is a normal shopping day everywhere else in the world!

kstt

Postby kstt » June 2nd, 2018, 8:40 am

jhonnieblue wrote:I think that was made from a business point of view. We have so many holidays and generally outside those holidays have some of the lowest productivity levels. Most business owners hate the fact there are so many holidays esp during low economic times. His commiwas taken out of context and has nothing to do with racial disparity or any 1% references.
It's small minded Trinidadians that can't see beyond their stupidity at the bigger picture.

FB_IMG_1527943160691.jpg

Postby 88sins » June 2nd, 2018, 9:00 am

jhonnieblue wrote:I think that was made from a business point of view. We have so many holidays and generally outside those holidays have some of the lowest productivity levels. Most business owners hate the fact there are so many holidays esp during low economic times. His commiwas taken out of context and has nothing to do with racial disparity or any 1% references.

Productivity can and often does be a direct reflection of how workers feel about their job/employer. So that said...if you pay minimum wage, you can either expect minimum work effort & work ethics, or you can expect to be disappointed, & you will not have the productivity you hoping to get, thus it will eat into your profits.

But that aside, if allyuh only kno what some of these ppl really think about & would like to do with all Trinis if they could, it go surprise plenty ah allyuh.

Postby hydroep » June 2nd, 2018, 9:00 am

That "from a business standpoint" is a double edged sword. Yes they lose some days but some businesses do benefit from certain holidays e.g. the increased sales during Christmas.

I guess that's where his whole "useless" argument came into play...i.e. HIS business does not benefit from Indian Arrival day and Corpus Christi. But if he was raking in the sales ah sure he woulda keep he arsehole shut...:|

Postby 88sins » June 2nd, 2018, 9:05 am

air tight

Postby Morpheus » June 2nd, 2018, 9:25 am

From a pure business point of view I understand what he is saying.....but as mentioned above, if they were PHs that your businesses surely profited from you'd "shut yuh skunt".
"Sincere" apology after you already said it. Worse yet in that type of forum?
"That making any sense?"

Average

Postby Average » June 2nd, 2018, 9:30 am

Know what's worse than his comments? The ones who suck up to his type.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 2nd, 2018, 9:35 am

And life goes on as usual for the 1%...and the trinis who oppose them via fb would still support them business wise

Postby Gladiator » June 2nd, 2018, 9:41 am

SR wrote:From a buisness perspective carnival is far worse than any 2 holidays in a week. From mid january until the week after carnival productivity level drops from workers and there is high levels of absenteeism. How come nobody complain about those 2 stupid NON public holidays.

Because it is a period of absolute consumption..... cha ching$$$$$

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 2nd, 2018, 9:56 am

This is typical of people like him with plenty money, they think that they sheiting ice cream and they are above everybody else.

People like him are the types that would perform human experiments if the law permitted it.

I like my Holidays, I get paid for it and not have to go to work. For the hard work I do I am underpaid so these Holidays in my book are justified. Is this guy willing to pay workers extra if these Holidays were abolished? I bet not so let him piss off.

Postby zoom rader » June 2nd, 2018, 9:58 am

The 1% don't see carnival as wasted days.

Just look who's who in Harts

Postby zoom rader » June 2nd, 2018, 10:01 am

kstt wrote:To many holidays? Why dey doh open facking businesses whole day on Saturday and Sunday if they wanted to make money.

Banks too!!

People leaving home in the morning in the dark and returning in the dark in the week and weekend allyuh want to close half day or not open at all?!!

Sunday is a normal shopping day everywhere else in the world!
Sunday is not normally shopping day in Europe , UK is .
Last edited by zoom rader on June 2nd, 2018, 10:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 2nd, 2018, 10:04 am

The 1% don't see carnival as wasted days.

Just look who's who in Harts

This is because Carnival is a PNM thing, so to insult Carnival is to insult the PNM supporters since the Syrians run the PNM party.