Tech Thread - Nissan Frontier, Navara, Pathfinder.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
323fsport

Re: Tech Thread - Nissan Frontier, Navara, Pathfinder.

Postby 323fsport » August 5th, 2010, 9:49 am

I'm trying... so far, i'm ensuring that it has been noted that i've observed the strange noise/occurrence... want to ensure that they have it in their records...

Postby Greypatch » August 5th, 2010, 10:00 am

show dem you not messing around.

salesman
manager
lawyer letter

(talk hard and make plenty noise when it have ppl in the showroom)

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » August 5th, 2010, 12:22 pm

lighthammer wrote:Nope - no leakes, fluid levels looking the same so far.

Anywhere else besides N&M would be able to diagnose & service this?

check PS pump belt tension and condition

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » August 15th, 2010, 10:56 am

I thibk my van blight
Spent yesterday waxing her. She looking perfect, coming from gym and a stupid vagrant tryin to squeeze through traffic abd scrape the whole side of d van, jah
Tryin to see if i could get it micro fine out
The tail light scratch too

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 15th, 2010, 11:15 am

Jhonnie,

Tru Value now has the Turtle Wax colour magic bottle in BLACK available. I went and bought 2 bottles myself earlier this week, in case they don't restock again anytime soon.

I can verify that it does work (to a certain extent though). Tried the red-bottle on my sister's civic (the melongene-coloured paint job) and the chip-stick filled in the small scratches nicely.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » August 15th, 2010, 11:27 am

Goin there now to get some, i hav to get it buffed out, prob take it mon or tues to do that, its 3 long scratches, one on the back door and 2 on d tray , im seeon the back door has d deepest scratch.
Hmm my poor baby ;(

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » August 15th, 2010, 2:41 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:Goin there now to get some, i hav to get it buffed out, prob take it mon or tues to do that, its 3 long scratches, one on the back door and 2 on d tray , im seeon the back door has d deepest scratch.
Hmm my poor baby ;(

quixx scratch remover

http://www.quixx-usa.com/

been looking for it here no luck amazon for it yess

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » August 15th, 2010, 7:26 pm

jhonnieblue wrote: I think I blight
Spent yesterday waxing her. She looking perfect, coming from gym and a stupid vagrant tryin to squeeze through traffic abd scrape the whole side of d van, jah
Tryin to see if i could get it micro fine out
The tail light scratch too

fixed. poor van ent tuh blame 8-)

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » August 18th, 2010, 3:19 pm

well she had get a lil touch up paint, scratch went all d way down to the base coat
by sat shell be good as new

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » August 19th, 2010, 3:49 am

good....next stop, de pundit

snowman

Postby snowman » August 19th, 2010, 8:36 am

Carrying Snowy to Mileage Mack tomorrow for a tune up, change up the filters, fluids, brakes blah blah blah.

She feels a lil underpowered lately. You can feel it when acceleration. Kinda sluggish. But still powerful enough to outrun the other vans out there. Wanted to do a k&n drop in also. Heading to laughlin for alignment.

My only issue isn't with the van itself but the carryboy. It shakes a lot. But it isn't open. Dunno how to stop it. It annoys me.

Postby Chimera » August 19th, 2010, 10:03 am

snowman wrote:My only issue isn't with the van itself but the carryboy. It shakes a lot. But it isn't open. Dunno how to stop it. It annoys me.

Lol one of my padna one does pop open anytime he hit a pothole or speed over a hump

snowman

Postby snowman » August 19th, 2010, 10:27 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
snowman wrote:My only issue isn't with the van itself but the carryboy. It shakes a lot. But it isn't open. Dunno how to stop it. It annoys me.

Lol one of my padna one does pop open anytime he hit a pothole or speed over a hump

It sounds like it will. Carrying it to get tightened today.

snowman

Postby snowman » August 23rd, 2010, 10:25 am

Laughlin and De Gannes is crap.

Carried her for an alignment (van was pulling to the left slightly and steering wheel wasn't centred) but they made it worse. The wheel still isn't centred and the van is pulling to the left increasingly.

ravist

Postby ravist » August 24th, 2010, 10:48 am

K&Ns are good but i think it will get the internals very dirty.... i had one and honestly made no difference then i took it out and replaced it with the original ....van doing 15,556kms and fuel sending unit gone through, at least that's what massey said cuz my fuel gauge crazy like a$$ right now and might have to wait until next service cuz they out of stock on that part..
sorry to hear bout them scratches padna, might really have to buff out.....

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » September 13th, 2010, 6:32 am

now i hearing my PS pump. slight noise off and on but it there. original fluid still there and clear as brand new. belts recently changed (<10K kms). PS fluid scheduled change is at 60K (now doing 49K)

will keep an eye (rather ear) on it :?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 13th, 2010, 6:51 am

Mine goes "rrrrrrr" everytime I'm locking the wheel left - right.

Got it checked out at N&M, this was their official report on the invoice:

"Steering wheel makes shuddering noise when locking left to right.
Steering rack greased. Pump Checked.
Normal Operation."

Cost - $300.00

The power steering still makes the noise.

*sigh*. Damned stealership.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » September 16th, 2010, 8:28 am

guys where in south sells amsoil oil SAE 15W-40 (round sando marabella area) i know they have place in couva selling it byt the out of stock
nav due for a tune up tom
i went with
http://www.amsoil.com/storefront/ame.aspx
this last time but is this just as good?

http://www.amsoil.com/storefront/pco.aspx

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 16th, 2010, 9:41 pm

Ask for Tony at Prolube.

They sell Amsoil, 4 gallons to a case.
They also have the amsoil cetane boost concentrate - $65 per bottle.

They sell by wholesale, since they supply the companies like McEarney Motors with Amsoil.

Their warehouse located in Diego Martin but Mr tony said he can arrange to drop-off or pickup.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 30th, 2010, 6:40 am

So fellas, how allyuh navara's running?

This thread real quiet - looks like allyuh navara's and ting running smooth?
Anybody have anything to report? :D

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 30th, 2010, 7:33 am

did my 40k service yesterday...

went in because of an ABS failure, turned out to be a sensor, so that was changed under warranty
noticed the truck smoking a bit recently, cleared a code on the pump and it stopped.....

got to say, first time i am completely pleased with my service at massey...truck running sweet

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 30th, 2010, 7:47 am

Nice nice... Any major problems sop far?

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » September 30th, 2010, 8:44 am

hav my overdueeeeee 15k sat, the truck on 17500km now
just burning a bit more disiel than usual, but no smoking
still hav to get the scratch repaired

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 2nd, 2010, 11:30 am

biggy82 wrote:now i hearing my PS pump. slight noise off and on but it there. original fluid still there and clear as brand new. belts recently changed (<10K kms). PS fluid scheduled change is at 60K (now doing 49K)

will keep an eye (rather ear) on it :?

Are you still hearing any whirring noise from the PS pump?

I'm still hearing it on my frontier, the "rrrrrrrr" noise when it's locked to one side and i'm turning into a sidestreet. The missus confirmed it, she heard the noise as I was backig out of the driveway the other day.

Spoke to my mech about it, he said it's either the pump or the steering rack, the rack may be a bit worn.

Will have to take it apart soon to inspect it, and will post pics.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 2nd, 2010, 11:36 am

jhonnieblue wrote:hav my overdueeeeee 15k sat, the truck on 17500km now
just burning a bit more disiel than usual, but no smoking
still hav to get the scratch repaired

So, jhonnie
did you go for your servicing?
How much did it cost you meng?

How much does servicing cost you on average at N&M?
They had trouble in the past wrt servicing but I think they recently changed service managers so they may have some new policies there with regards to customer care.

I took the frontier in july to have the turbo checked and hoses resealed (not including the stoopid boost-sensor hose.. grrr...) and the power-steering pump checked. Cost me $430 for that servicing.

I made sure to be very specific when I told the lady at the service desk what I wanted to have done, otherwise I'm sure they'd have done a whole lot of random crap like "checked headlight bulbs" and "refilled indicator fluid" and charged for it.

Just be very specific when filling out the form and tell them what you want done, and put a note for them to call you with a quotation and permission before doing any major servicing.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » October 2nd, 2010, 3:32 pm

well i never had any probs so far
had it done today, 15 k service, took my own oil amsoil and well every third service now is free so no service charge, just the oil filter which was 167 vat inclusive
so overall not bad,van running reall goodthey just did the usual checks...20k is diseil filter and air filter change out, and tire rotation
i saw them doing suspension checks, took about 2 hrs inclusive of washing the van
nice thing is that i wont have to change oil till 25k.

but the service is real good in morvant i find,when i had the prob with my turbo they identifiied it and changed everything under warranty. i dint even think at the time it cud be a turbo prob.
the service guy even put me onto a good painter the do the repairs on the scratch cause he saw it.
so yeah they improving a lot

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 2nd, 2010, 10:15 pm

^ that's good to hear man, very reassuring to know that N&M making efforts to improve their customer service and after-sales maintenance.

I'd only hope that the Navara's won't run into problems later on down the line.

Had a look around on this website - http://www.motorsm.com/complaints/category-posting.asp?cls=465.

Seems most of the problems are arising out of the D40 ST-X version of the Navara; the one sold in Australia.

Has anyone had any similar problems like the ones listed on that site?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 3rd, 2010, 3:42 am

Right...
So I did some reading and tried to do a meta-review of all the different forums on problems with the D40.

Most common problem = early clutch wear & tear

Turns out most of the Navara's problems come from the ST & ST-X versions which are sold in Australia. A common occurrence with the earlier model navaras (2005-2007/2008) is clutch slipping & eventual clutch burnout. Apparently the D40 Navara uses a dual-mass flywheel to convert power from the engine into the driveshaft & eventually driving the wheels.

Dual mass flywheels are lighter and less heavy-duty than single-mass flywheels, hence they have less vibration & less noise. This makes them suitable for performance cars or higher-specc'd cars. However they're not as durable as single-mass flywheels, hence when they're used in ways not intended by the manufacturer they tend to degrade a lot faster than originally designed.

Here's a couple articles about dual-mass flywheels:
http://www.high-impact.net/transmission_and_gear/DualMassvsSolidFW.htm

http://www.cartechautoparts.com/dual-mass-flywheel/

Keep in mind that these dual mass flywheels are designed in a precise way, with specific loads, applications & driving situations in mind by the engineers. Once these limits are exceeded, the fly-wheel disintegrates at a faster rate. Eg. Towing trailers heavier than spec and at faster speed than recommended (a common thing in the UK and Australia, since trailer-camping is so popular there) or carrying heavier loads than recommended. Also, doing engine-modifications such as ECU-piggybacking to increase horsepower can create more power from the engine than the DMF can handle.

Newer versions of the Navara have less risk of clutch degradation, since Nissan now uses an upgraded Differential disc & pressure plate - however care should be taken when driving a manual-transmission D40 Navara.

Be sure not to ride the clutch too often, don't feather the clutch often. Also don't use the clutch to hold the truck while stopped on an incline or hill while waiting to go forward. Nissan also discourages using the clutch for engine-braking except for emergency situations.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » October 3rd, 2010, 10:22 am

well i dont see that happening here much, goin over the rated weight
plus my nav auto so no probs there yet, besides i does real baby her
she dont even run more than 120 except on the rare occasions late at nite

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 3rd, 2010, 11:14 am

^^ valpark drags orrrr???

Lol nah that stuff illegal boy, stay far away. :) :)

I'm not sure if the Thailand-made models have the same problems with the clutch, I think it's mostly a problem with the first set made in 2005-2008 from Spain. From what I've read so far, the Thailand models tend more to have problems with the fuel & injection systems than the transmission.

I believe it's got more to do with the target markets - the UK & AU markets do a lot of towing and off-road rough driving, while our market here does a lot of on-road driving but with low-quality diesel.

I'll look more into it and keep you updated.

Jhonnie, what's the specs on your Nav?

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”