Cheap dentistry in the Port of Spain area?

pami soyalin

Cheap dentistry in the Port of Spain area?

Postby pami soyalin » March 10th, 2020, 11:23 pm

Doesn't have to be in POS, anywhere in the North really like San Juan is fine too.

I just want a simple molar extraction or first stage of root canal where the pulp is killed.

I went into a few places supposed to be budget and they want 800 just to start, if need X-rays or they need to go below gum line it just on and on adding costs for what should be a basic extraction!

Ask a friend she said she went to one for an extraction, by the time she actually out the door it was altogether 1,600 nah this crazy sheit might as well go to the USA for the work at that price.

So basically yea help someone out I just looking for the cheapest place just to get a tooth yanked no frills! :cry:

Re: Cheap dentistry in the Port of Spain area?

Postby teems1 » March 10th, 2020, 11:34 pm

POSGH or Mt Hope

Postby RedVEVO » March 11th, 2020, 2:24 am

You can go to the UWI School of Dentistry in Mt Hope ..

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » March 11th, 2020, 3:42 am

Dr Ablack is really good and for extraction. She is located in chaguanas though.

Postby goalpost » March 11th, 2020, 4:32 am

OP dont cheap out on issues with ur teeth.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 11th, 2020, 4:41 am

check Caribbean Smiles in central....dental offices in p.o.s and environs cater for the big boys, so yuh gonna get big boy prices

QM

Postby QM » March 11th, 2020, 6:23 am

Before they do any procedure they should do proper X-rays. Any dentist with a practicing certificate should do this. Otherwise you seeing a technician.

There is more to an extraction/root canal than just removal/filling of the tooth. You want to do a proper assessment.

Otherwise where you saved a few dollars will cost you much more in the long run.

The minimum cost this should be, 400 for X-rays, 200 for consult. 600 + for extraction and root canals will cost upward of 1000 as well.

Extraction will be the cheaper option but you should always try to save a tooth. Your dentist will advise.

Postby maj. tom » March 11th, 2020, 6:29 am

Once you say root canal that is money to spend. Can't cheap out on dentistry because the services and skills are well worth the money. Else, go Mt. Hope Dentistry school.

btw OP how you know it's a simple tooth extraction alone? How the dentist would know without x-rays? How you believe that a molar extraction is "simple" ??

Postby pugboy » March 11th, 2020, 6:38 am

many good dentists no longer do the root extraction part of the root canal due to the complexity it can be
they refer you to a dentist who specializes in that root removal part as it can be quite involved depending on the case

they then do the repair fill part.

Postby RedVEVO » March 11th, 2020, 8:07 am

OP just go to the UWI Dental School ..

It's FREE

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 11th, 2020, 9:28 am

ditto on dental school.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 11th, 2020, 9:38 am

The Dental School isn't free anymore. My FiL uses there (he believes in the public health system) and last year he said they started a nominal fee. Still wouldn't be anything like what a commercial dentist charges.

Postby Chimera » March 11th, 2020, 12:18 pm

Borrow a cordless drill, use a 3/64 metal bit, snort a line of coke and do it yourself . Yuh done know what yuh want anyway. Why pay someone else.

Postby De Dragon » March 11th, 2020, 5:22 pm

Cheap and dentistry don't belong in the same sentence.

Postby Rovin » March 11th, 2020, 5:33 pm

OP like he doh have a clue on what dentist does or a root canal cost , none of it is no lil simple thing , man need a dose of information & reality

yrs ago when i did 2 root canal i realise what locals charge is almost same as d going rate in d usa cause doh feel d local dentists eh know how to google & charge too

tuner already have a bunch of topics on this so u can do a search ... :|

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 11th, 2020, 5:38 pm

RedVEVO wrote:^^^

OP just go to the UWI Dental School ..

It's FREE

He would have a wait and well those in dental school would be experimenting on his mouth. For something like a root canal you dont want people experimenting. However, he would have at least 5 dentists on his mouth

Postby redmanjp » March 14th, 2020, 1:03 am

just make sure surroundings hygienic and dentist/assistant not coughing while your mouth wide open fuh covid to enter

Postby Chimera » March 14th, 2020, 8:33 am

Nah man.
Alot of people come from the usa to do their dental here if they insurance doesnt cover it abroad

What costing you $6000 tt here costing a easy 3000 us
Rovin wrote:OP like he doh have a clue on what dentist does or a root canal cost , none of it is no lil simple thing , man need a dose of information & reality

yrs ago when i did 2 root canal i realise what locals charge is almost same as d going rate in d usa cause doh feel d local dentists eh know how to google & charge too

tuner already have a bunch of topics on this so u can do a search ... :|

Postby Rovin » March 14th, 2020, 10:19 am

^^^ well at that time yrsss ago i had inquired & it was about d same back then , i eh doubt costs gone up from then to now ...

QM

Postby QM » March 14th, 2020, 10:55 pm

pami soyalin wrote:Doesn't have to be in POS, anywhere in the North really like San Juan is fine too.

I just want a simple molar extraction or first stage of root canal where the pulp is killed.

I went into a few places supposed to be budget and they want 800 just to start, if need X-rays or they need to go below gum line it just on and on adding costs for what should be a basic extraction!

Ask a friend she said she went to one for an extraction, by the time she actually out the door it was altogether 1,600 nah this crazy sheit might as well go to the USA for the work at that price.

So basically yea help someone out I just looking for the cheapest place just to get a tooth yanked no frills! :cry:

What was the outcome?

Postby shogun » March 15th, 2020, 3:18 pm

^What he asked.

lol @ "cheap dentistry" BTW.